Weddings

Behind The Lens Maui Reviews

Behind The Lens Maui View more information

118 Reviews

Rated
5.0
out of 5.0
Recommended by 99% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 5 out of 5

Awards

  • 118
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner

3 User photos

Sort by:
  • Lexa
    Lexa G. Married on 04/02/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Friendly, fast, quality work!

    So grateful I found Nicole @ Behind The Lens Maui. She was absolutely wonderful to work with, answering my endless questions prior to the ceremony and even guided me to the venue when we got lost. She provided pointed, clear direction to us and our guests for posing and captured the incredible candid moments from the day as well. Just as I had hoped and more!
  • T
    Tawnee Married on 08/17/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    ABSOLUTLY AMAZING!! Nicole was so amazing I don't even know how to explain our experience with her and how happy we were with our results but I sure will try !! From the very beginning she was always there asking what exactly we wanted and what our perfect vision would be for our special day and even up to a couple days before the event she was still in contact making sure everything was fine. When our big day arrived she showed up with a beautiful smile and personality which made us super comfortable and ready to roll. We got the shots we were wanting and shots that she came up with as well and boy were we happy! Out of all the different photographers in Maui we contacted she was the most reasonable priced and her work was one of our favorites so it worked out. Once we got our photos back we sat down and started to go through them and within the first couple started crying because they were so timeless and beautiful, we felt like we were back in that special moment all over again. Once we go back to Maui we will most definitely be getting into contact with Nicole for more photos whether it be family or fun photos ! Don't look anywhere else just book her !!
  • G
    Georgina Married on 07/27/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Working with Nicole was a truly wonderful experience. My fitness photoshoot was exactly what I envisioned and more. Nicole was able to capture my physique against the beauty of Maui. She caught my vision and we worked really well together. Communications with her were prompt and effective throughout the process. I highly recommend her for ANY special occasion photography she is visionary!

    Behind The Lens Maui's reply:

    Aloha Georgina,


    I wanted to say, " thank you" to you for taking the time to write a review for me, it was super awesome of you to do. I also enjoyed working with you and am so happy your enjoying the photos. Big hug, Nicole
  • S
    Shaleigh Married on 04/03/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Nicole did EVERYTHING I needed her to do. Absolutely amazing! You won't be disappointed.
  • D
    Debbie Married on 03/27/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Nicole was so friendly and professional not to mention focused on pleasing us. We had a small beach ceremony during which we didn't even know she was moving around and taking the most amazing pictures from multiple angles. After the ceremony, she found some excellent spots for more photos capturing the beautiful Maui sunset and coastline and succeeded in capturing our special occasion so very well.
    I cannot say enough good things about Nicole and we highly recommend her for your special event!
  • J
    Jennifer Married on 12/09/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Nicole from Behind the Lens Maui went beyond and above what a photographer does! She was amazing and help make our day wonderful! I can not thank her enough for all the work she did, with all the emails before the event, helping me with choosing and scheduling the wedding officiant who was also amazing and made us feel as he had known us. And her assistant Trevor Aka the octopus was just the best helping carry my bags and shoes, and the photos they took where amazing! We hope to use Nicole at Behind the Lens Maui next year for family photos. They also were very flexible due to rain and where able to change date.

    Behind The Lens Maui's reply:

    Aloha Jen,

    I can't thank you enough for the wonderful review you shared. It was great to meet you both and I'm so happy the weather ended up working out for both your wedding and trash the dress session. Thank you for choosing Behind The Lens Maui, Trevor and I can't wait for your family photos when you come back to visit us. :) Congrats!
  • J
    June Married on 09/06/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Very professional and knew just where to position us to get the best shots. Our photos are amazing. Would definitely recommend.

    Behind The Lens Maui's reply:

    Aloha!

    Thank you for taking time from your day to write a review for us at Behind The Lens Maui. It's so nice to know your enjoying your photos. Hope to see you on Maui in the near future.

    Nicole
  • K
    Kate Married on 09/02/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Nicole & her assistant, Trevor were AWESOME!!!! Nicole was very responsive through the whole process. She was open to phone calls, emails and texts whenever I needed her. She was able to coordinate a reschedule due to storms on our original wedding day. They both made us feel like family. I HIGHLY recommend working with Nicole Sanchez the owner of Behind the Lens Maui. She was just go great :)

    Behind The Lens Maui's reply:

    Aloha Kate,

    Many Thanks for taking the time to write a review for Trevor and I. We appreciate your sharing your experience with our potential clients. We hope you both enjoyed your special day and honeymoon on Maui. My best to you both. Sincerely, Nicole
  • L
    Lori Married on 04/30/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Nicole and her assistant Trevor were so professional and organized. We had a large party and they were able to handle all the photo requests that we asked for and then some. Nicole was extremely nice and was concerned about us and our stay even beyond the photo shoot. She ensured that we did not have to worry about anything. We would definitely recommend her to any of our friends. Tina & Lori

    Behind The Lens Maui's reply:

    Aloha Ladies,

    I wanted to reach out and say, " Thank - you" so much for writing us a review on Weddingwire. It was an honor to be a part of your special day and your family and friends are so amazing. Your both very blessed to be surrounded with so much love and support. Cheers to you both and I hope to see you two on Maui in the future. Sincerely,
    Nicole
  • M
    Maureen Married on 02/10/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Nicole and her assistant Trevor were easy to work with, friendly, and an all round joy to have as our photographer for our wedding. The pictures were phenomenal! We could not have been happier!

    Behind The Lens Maui's reply:

    Aloha! Thank you so much for taking time from your day to write us a review on Weddingwire. We really really enjoyed working with you and hope that you'll let us know when your coming back to Maui as we've love nothing more than to see you and maybe enjoy a cup of coffee with you both.

    Sincerely, Nicole
  • E
    Erika Event on: 01/04/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    First timers in Maui. First timers having a professional photo session as a family of 3. First time meeting Nicole and Trevor. We love love love love our pictures. Nicole was great with our son. She made the session so much fun that he was able to give her the best smiles ever. Trevor was wonderful. From the first moment we met him and welcomed us to Maui to the end of the session he had a smile on his face, we can tell he loves his job. Each picture is just as better as the other. I highly recommend Behind The Lens Maui. I give it a 10+

    Aloha,
    Del Real Family

    Behind The Lens Maui's reply:

    Thank you Ericka for writing us a review on Weddingwire. Trevor and I enjoyed working with you and your family. Let know when Carlos ( your son) gets his first modeling contract. Love that kid Hope to see you all in Maui one day in the near future.
  • M
    Maria Event on: 12/16/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Nicole at Behind the Lens Maui was truly fantastic to work with. We wanted relaxing and fun family photos while on vacation in Maui and that is exactly what we received! Nicole and her assistant were extremely patient with my children and were able to capture some terrific shots of them along the beach. Many thanks to BTLM for the memorable photographs of such a wonderful vacation - you are the best!!!
  • Robynne
    Robynne Married on 12/12/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    What a complete joy to work with Nicole and her team. She thoughtfully engaged us from beginning to end. She understood who we were, important guests to capture, our style, and what moments and elements were most important to us. She met us in person and walked the venue with us, laughed with us through the event, and helped us to move easily through the day. On top of it all, we images were gorgeous and made available to us to download within weeks. What service! Nicole has a great eye, and did such a phenomenal job. She would quite easily be the first person I'd call to capture any important event on the island.

    Behind The Lens Maui's reply:

    Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review on Weddingwire. It was certainly a pleasure to work with you both and I am so pleased that you are happy with the results. My best to you both from the bottom my heart. Sincerely, Nicole, Trevor and Ian.
  • S
    Susan Married on 12/08/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Thanks to Nicole and Trevor, my husband and I have beautiful memories of our Maui wedding! Because we hadn't met and were flying in for our wedding, Nicole called before we came to Maui and asked what I wanted her to capture in our our photos - and I got exactly what I asked for! Our photos capture the silliness and the romance of our relationship and they beautifully capture the special moments of our wedding day! Don't look any further for a photographer - you can't do better!

    Behind The Lens Maui's reply:

    Aloha and thank you for taking the time to write a review for us at Behind The Lens Maui. We are please that your enjoying your photos and wish you two much love and happiness. Hope to see you on Maui one day soon.
  • E
    Erika Event on: 11/07/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Absolutely fell in LOVE with Nicole! From the moment I booked her, she was on point! She was responsive and a true professional... As far as the quality of her pictures...as soon as my husband and I viewed them, I was in AWE! WOW is all I can say... AMAZING PICTURES!!!!!! I think I was ranting for about two hours after viewing them! Nicole Sanchez is an amazing photographer, I would HIGHLY recommend her! KUDOS to behindthelensmaui!!!

    Behind The Lens Maui's reply:

    Awe thank you so much Erika. That was so sweet of you to take the time to write such amazing review. So glad you like your photos. You totally made my day. Thank you again. Nicole

    :)
  • N
    Neal Event on: 10/06/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Behind The Lens did an awesome job taking engagement photos in Maui for me and my fiance! Nicole, the owner, was great to work with. She guided us through the entire process. We loved our pictures - the clarity and backgrounds made each pic look like a beautiful post card! We will definitely have them take our wedding photos too next year. We highly recommend Behind The Lens to everyone!! Neal & Liane - Irving, TX.

    Behind The Lens Maui's reply:

    Aloha,

    It was a pleasure to meet you both while you were in Maui and I'm so happy you both are enjoying your photos. Thank you also for trusting me to capture you and I'm looking forward to working with you two again soon. My best to you both.
  • C
    Colleen Married on 09/11/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    My husband I were married in Maui. I absolutely loved working with Nicole and her staff at Behind The Lens Maui. She did a wonderful job, went out of her way to make sure we got the shots we wanted and was so much fun! I felt the price was very reasonable and our photos were beautiful!

    Behind The Lens Maui's reply:

    Aloha,

    I just saw this review you left and am so pleased your enjoying your photos. I also wanted to extend my thanks for taking time from your day to share your experience with others, that was very kind of you and I am greatful for the positive review. Thank you so very much. Sincerely, Nicole
  • C
    Clay A. Married on 06/30/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Thanks to Nicole at Behind the Lens Maui, our beach wedding was captured beautifully! We hadn't met Nicole prior to our big day (our wedding coordinator lined her up for us), and we couldn't have been happier. She was professional, friendly, and attentive to our requests, but more importantly she took spectacular pictures that we will forever cherish.

    At first, we were only going to have her at the actual ceremony. We ended up having her come to our reception as well, and we are so glad we did! She did a great job of staying out of the way (our reception area was rather small), while still capturing all of the beautiful photos that we could have hoped for.

    We absolutely recommend Nicole - she's fantastic!

    ~Clay and Kristin

    Behind The Lens Maui's reply:

    Aloha,

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review on WeddngWire. I really appreciate your sharing your experience and am so happy for you both. My best to you and your family and I hope to one day see you all in Maui again.
    Nicole
  • User2200427 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Excellent person and service!!

    Behind The Lens Maui's reply:

    Many thanks for taking time to write me a review. I really appreciate it.

    My best,

    Nicole
  • User2249916 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The pictures overall turned out amazing! We wanted photos to capture the vibrant colors of Maui and that is exactly what we got in the photos for our wedding day and the trash the dress photoshoot. We had several phone conferences to prepare and reiterate what we wanted. Nicole is very quick to respond if you ever have any questions! We were lucky enough to also meet before the wedding rehearsal to pick places we could take photos, which was great for saving time. We wanted creative, fun photos that caught the moments of our wedding, not posed smiles. Luckily with our group of guest, capturing raw moments during our wedding night wasn’t hard. The two assistant photographers, Ian and Trevor were a blast to work with. There were like Ninja’s, ready and able to capture anything that happened! The only downfall was at times it seemed like Nicole felt overwhelmed or unable to keep up with the group of guests we had. But, when we worked just with her and Trevor for the Trash the Dress, she was extremely fun, easy, and open to work with. Definitely a talented photographer. Although her energy didn’t quite match us, Nicole is a sweet, professional, and talented photographer to work with.

    Behind The Lens Maui's reply:

    Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. I appreciate your kind words as well as apologize to you if It seemed I was overwhelmed somehow in your eyes. You and your guests were certainly a high energy group but, I enjoyed every moment with you and your group but do have to admit, my feet were killing me by the nights end. I learned my lesson the hard way by wearing brand new shoes to an all day event, not smart on my part. Maybe it was the blisters rubbing my feet raw that gave me the overwhelmed appearance. I;m super happy you all had such a fab time, it was a amazing wedding. Congrats to you both.

    Nicole
  • L
    Louise Married on 05/10/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Nicole is a wonderful person and an equally wonderful photographer. Nicole was a pleasure to deal with right from the start (via emails from the UK) right to the moment we met her and Trevor (her lovely assistant) on the beach for our wedding day. Nicole is fun, professional and passionate about what she does- which completely reflects in her fantastic photography. We would thoroughly recommend Nicole (and Trevor :) for your photography- you will certainly not be disappointed. Nicole and Trevor...you are brilliant :) very best wishes, Louise & Ian xxx

    Behind The Lens Maui's reply:

    Oh my goodness, I am humbled by your words. Thank you kindly for taking the time to write us a review on weddingwire. I enjoyed meeting you and Ian and hope in the future you will be able to come back to Maui for a visit. My best to you both. Sincerely,

    Nicole
  • E
    Elizabeth Married on 04/25/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We married at Makena Cove Beach April 25 2015. That was the first time we met Nicole in person with her assistant, and she was really easy to get on with, it was as if we had known her for years! We had communicated mostly by email and had a couple of calls to clarify what we had in mind for the day. Nicole made the whole process seamless, she also acted as co-ordinator and included recommendations on beaches, the ministers, and even hair and makeup! That is not to mention the fabulous pictures she took of us on our very special day. We chose a sunset wedding and the pictures were outstanding, she captured the essence of us and gave us beautiful pictures we will treasure for years to come. If you are looking for something more than the average wedding snapshots I would highly recommend Nicole and Behind the Lens Maui.
  • User2087299 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Amazing photographer Nicole, she knew what to do and what we wanted. She made our day even more special. Will definitely recommend her. We love love our pictures.
    Thank you for making our day more special.

    Behind The Lens Maui's reply:

    Aloha,

    I'd thank you in person for the glowing review but, I'm not sure who took time from their day to write this review. Whoever you are, thank you for making my day and for writing such nice things. Sincerely,

    Nicole
  • User2023872 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Nicole Sanchez of Behind the Lens Maui was our photographer for our small beach wedding at Kapalua Bay, December 2014. She went far above and beyond what is expected of a professional photographer.

    We live in Toronto and had no idea how to pull this off. We just wanted something small and simple. Still, there are so many things to know and do. Nicole was basically my wedding planner and helped us decide on the best beach location for a sunset ceremony. She also pulled our beach permit, sent us all of the information and links on where and with whom to obtain our marriage license and gave us info on zillion other small but important details. She even recommended wonderful places to dine after the ceremony.

    Nicole quickly responds to all emails and also phoned me a few times to ask us our preferences, etc. She was a lifesaver to us and we could not have done it without her help considering how overly hectic our lives were leading up to the ceremony.

    Her photography is a work of art and we love our wedding pictures. We can never thank Nicole enough for making our day absolutely perfect!

    The Lum Smith Family.

    Behind The Lens Maui's reply:

    Aloha,

    I'm not sure who wrote this review but, it was very sweet of you to write such nice things. My goal is to give each and every client the best possible service so your words mean the world to me, thank you so much.
    Sincerely,

    Nicole
  • K
    Karen Event on: 12/27/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Nicole Sanchez from Behind the Lens Maui was an amazing photographer…my daughter and I had a photo shoot with her over the Christmas holidays and we had such a great time. In a short time she 'read' who we were as individuals and as a mother/daughter…so the photos reflect that. Beautiful day, lovely photos…highly recommend her!

    Behind The Lens Maui's reply:

    Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review Karen. It was so nice to be able to work with you and Sydney while you were on Maui. Hope to see you both very soon.

    Nicole