Beechwood Hotel Reviews

23 | Worcester, MA
See photos, pricing and details

23 Reviews for Beechwood Hotel

Recommended by 93%

23
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner

4.7 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.7
  • Professionalism 4.6
  • Flexibility 4.8
  • Value 4.7
  • Average response time 4.5
Sort by:
  • Ashley

    Ashley · Married on 06/04/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had a Wedding Bruncheon at the Beechwood & it was wonderful! We were looking for someplace to have a meal after our morning ceremony & the Beechwood was perfect for what we were looking for. The Event Coodinator Erin Kutz was great to work with - she answered all the questions that I had & helped book our rooms for the evening before - she even coordinated having our decor put out. The service the day of the brunch was also great - the girl who was our waitress was super sweet & said she loved wedding which made me smile. We also ate at their in house restaurant the night before & the food was great! The day turned out great thanks for them

    Sent on 06/14/2017
  • User7338392 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our wedding was about 6 months ago and we got the opportunity to work with Elisabeth. We were looking for a venue that would be beautiful, had history and was not an hour or two away from the nearest airport as most of our family would have to travel from out of State. I also wanted to marry in a church but didn't want the hassle of having to travel from church to venue to hotel. When went to see the Beechwood I instantly liked the entrace, the stained glass dome, the stairs that lead to the area where the wedding would be held. But what really got me was seeing they had a Chapel. I saw it and instantly fell in love with it! The carved angels on the beams and the stained glass "windows" were beautiful! Its size was perfect! I knew then that the Beechwood Hotel was exactly the place we were looking for! Elisabeth, their coordinator, was extremely responsive and helpful. She kept me updated every step of the way and they were very understanding and accommodating to my husband's "schedule" as he is on active duty. She was there for the wedding rehearsal. On the day of our wedding she was there every step if the way. She made sure rooms for our guests (all family) and myself were reserved, ready, and that no one lacked anything during their stay. She also made sure the decorations, that we brought in, were beautifully arranged at the reception and coordinated with videographer, photographer and DJ every aspect. She also took special care of our family with special diatary restrictions. We had our ceremony, cocktail hour, and reception at the hotel. Everyone was saying how beautiful everything was. Elisabeth made everything run smoothly and perfect! To top it all, when we got to our room, after the reception had finished, we had Champagne and strawberries waiting for us. It was an extra special touch we were really not expecting! We couldn't have wished for anything better! God bless!

    Sent on 10/22/2016
  • J

    Justice · Married on 08/28/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We booked our rehearsal dinner at Ceres Bistro inside Beechwood Hotel. We also stayed at Beechwood for the rehearsal night and wedding night. We had the Jr Suite, which was spacious and nicely appointed. The hotel staff was great. We requested tall chairs, an extra mirror, an extension cord, and a power strip to be delivered the morning of the wedding. When we returned from our mani/pedis everything was waiting in the room for us. They were great about our request for early check in and late check out. They also put certain people in rooms close to us per our requests. This is definitely the place to stay when in Worcester.

    Sent on 09/05/2015
  • User4581418 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We hosted an engagement party for our son and future daughter in law. The Beechwood was a perfect setting. Yvonne helped us with the room planning and set up. Everything was perfect. The staff was very helpful. We decided to have a casual setting and menu that would allow our guest to mingle and get to know each other. We started with a cheese and cracker tray which was amazing, and then had food stations with salad, pastas, carving station and a desert station. The food was fabulous with many compliments from our guest. I would highly recommend the Beechwood for this type of event.

    Sent on 12/01/2014
  • S

    Sara · Married on 09/13/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I couldn't be happier with the services at the Beechwood Hotel. From day 1 of planning- Yvonne, the event coordinator, was an absolute pleasure to work with. We had a very big wedding - 250 people, and Yvonne kept everything organized and on track during the entire planning process. I trusted her completely with my vision and she pulled it off perfectly. From the seriously delicious food, to the beautiful set up to the room, to the ease of the check in process for the guests, I wouldn't have changed a thing.

    Sent on 11/05/2014
  • C

    Christina · Married on 08/16/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Yvonne is absolutely amazing! She kept me on track through out my entire wedding planning. She was professional and a pleasure to work with. The beechwood was everything I hoped it to be and fulfilled all my wishes!

    Sent on 09/26/2014
  • B

    Brenda · Married on 06/21/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our daughter's wedding was absolutely wonderful. From the planning to the actual event, the Beechwood provided impeccable service and gave us the elegant affair we had envisioned. Our Event Coordinator Yvonne led us through the planning stages with kindness and expertise, making sure all details were coordinated and executed perfectly. She was with us during the wedding ceremony and reception, helping us in every way and keeping us on time! The food was delicious. Lisa, our banquet manager, made sure our guests were happy and was invaluable in gathering together all the gifts and items at the end of the evening. The hotel is beautiful and all our guests were delighted to stay overnight. The entire staff from wedding day to brunch the following morning was outstanding.

    Sent on 06/25/2014
  • User4115618 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Beechwood Hotel was the first and only venue we looked at for our wedding. We fell in love with it right away! We didnt want people driving all over the place, so with the chapel being right one site we thought this was the perfect place. We worked with Yvonne and she was amazing!!! I honestly can't say enough good things about her as she was always available when I needed her more than willing to answer any questions and very flexible about meeting times, as my schedule was crazy. She made sure everything ran smooth not only the day of but also at our rehearsal. We also received tons of compliments on the food, which is exactly what you want to hear from your guests! We had an amazing time and I wouldn't have wanted to work with anyone else, Yvonne was great! The only little issue we had was during our open bar they seemed to run out of beer quite quickly, and our group happened to be big beer drinkers, so that was a little disappointing. But again in the grand scheme of things, everything went perfectly!

    Sent on 06/05/2014
  • B

    BARBARA · event on 12/06/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Everything was perfect. This was a combination party (Christmas and Surprise Retirement) and the professionalism of the staff and the help I received with Director was awesome. The room was beautifully decorated and the we had a reception before the dinner which was unbelievable. The staff was awesome with serving the appetizers and everyone felt so welcome and were able to mingle with ease. The food was great as well and the staff was very attentive to everyone. Everyone is still talking about the food and service they received. Those who spent the night were very impressed with the rooms, said they were like suites. I have done parties at different facilities and I would, without a doubt, look at the Beechwood for any other events that might come up, work wise or personal.

    Sent on 12/12/2013
  • User2680741 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We held our daughter’s wedding at the Beechwood Hotel in July 2013.
    The entire planning process was as smooth as possible from the day we went to the Beechwood on our venue search to the day of the wedding.
    Yvonne Caole was our consultant/planner. She was priceless! We appreciated how quickly and efficiently she handled every detail of our day. She was very knowledgeable in all aspects of the wedding planning. Yvonne returned our e-mails and phone calls very quickly. She made our day run smoothly and as a result we were able to enjoy every single beautiful moment without worrying about the reception details on the wedding day.
    The cocktail hour hors d’oeuvres and drinks were “out of this world.” The reception menu’s food was beyond words. I can’t say enough about how delicious everything was! Every course was prepared exquisitely and presented perfectly. The reception area was set up perfectly with beautiful tablecloths, napkins, chair covers and bows. The room looked amazing. The staff even set up a “Candy Buffet” for us. We held an “after party” at Ceres Bistro and a “morning after” brunch there also. We have had so many compliments on our wedding! Many of our guests also stayed at the hotel. The hotel rooms are pristine and perfect. The guests appreciated having a beautiful place to stay after a day at the wedding
    The entire Beechwood Hotel staff assured that our wedding was perfection in every way! I highly recommend the Beechwood Hotel for your wedding!

    Sent on 10/19/2013
  • J

    Janna · Married on 12/15/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I had my wedding at the Beechwood December 2012. Everything far exceeded our expectations!! We worked with Laurie who was very professional and helpful through the whole process. She and the entire staff made sure we didn't have to worry about anything on the big day. The ballroom looked spectacular for our winter wedding. We got so many compliments on the food and the service at the hotel from our guests. We are so glad we chose the Beechwood for our special day.

    Sent on 01/03/2013
  • P

    Pamela · Married on 06/30/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We chose The Beechwood as our wedding venue and it was the best choice we ever made! We worked with Laurie Parks who is phenomenal and made everything so so easy for us. She responded to my emails for over a year and a half the same day or next day!! She really made sure the night was perfect for us! Everyone loved the food! The atmosphere is great! The outside deck for cocktail hour is gorgeous! The rooms and service are top notch! This was the first place we looked at for a venue and nothing else came close to comparing!!

    Sent on 08/08/2012
  • J

    J · Married on 07/23/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I truly can't say enough about how happy my husband and I were about having our wedding at the Beechwood Hotel in Worcester. Every person we worked with there was genuine and extremely helpful. There were so many options to choose from, having the person at the Beechwood to help organize the event made it so much easier. I appreciated that the Beechwood was included so many choices in the packages. The food was unbelievable! From start to finish we had a great time planning our wedding and working with the people at the Beechwood. It is a beautiful place, the guest appreciate having the big doors/windows to see outside, rather than being in a closed in space. Because everything was so well taken care of I was truly able to relax and enjoy my entire day and evening. We loved that it was also a hotel, many of our guest stayed over night.

    Sent on 02/03/2012
  • J

    Jen · Married on 10/02/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our wedding at the Beechwood Hotel was AMAZING! We had our rehearsal dinner at Ceres Bistro, the Ceremony in the Chapel, the reception in the ballroom and our guests stayed at the hotel - it was VERY CONVENIENT. Though our wedding planner we had originally booked with had left, the new planner was able to pick up where she had left off. She helped us with time lines and coordinating everything. We didn't have to worry about anything on our wedding day! The package price is the best that we found anywhere - it includes 7 Hors d'œuvrs, champagne toast, soup or appetizer, salad, dinner, cake & ice cream truffle. They even set up our elaborate candy buffet with no extra charge. You get to pick the color Chiavari chairs, chair cushions, table clothes & napkins at no extra cost. I was able to bring all of my decorations earlier in the week for them to set up for me. Overall, the hotel went above and beyond ALL of our expectations.

    Sent on 10/31/2010
  • E

    Elena · Married on 01/30/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    If you're looking for a venue that will make your day perfect AND stress-free, I would highly recommend the Beechwood Hotel. We worked mainly with Emily, who was absolutely fabulous: professional, very helpful, and accessible. She helped me to coordinate all the details and put everything together the day of - and we had quite a few details to coordinate! The hotel staff was just amazing and their attention to detail impressed my whole family. They know how to handle weddings and make sure that everything runs smoothly. The hotel itself is beautiful and the space works quite well for weddings. And the food was incredible!!! From the appetizers to the main course, everything was delicious. I can't say enough - they made our day perfect!

    Sent on 02/16/2010
  • S

    sarah · Married on 08/01/2015

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our wedding at the beechwood at the chapel downstairs which was gorgeous and our reception up at the restaurant, it was overall wonderful. Food was AMAZING! Our banquet manager Paula was a peach! All were great especially Elisabeth Lane, she worked very well with us and answered all my questions promptly.

    Sent on 08/06/2015
  • User4738401 · 2+ years ago

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    The Beechwood provides a beautiful venue for a wedding. They are very accommodating and gave us the wedding of our dreams. From the multiple rooms, the food, and hotel rooms, this was a wonderful location that provided it all for our special day.

    Sent on 01/26/2015
  • User3182189 · 2+ years ago

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Our wedding coordinator Yvonne was AMAZING- very kind, professional, organized, knowledgable, detailed and accommodating.
    Our day was remarkable! The food Chef prepared was excellent. All of our guests raved. The staff were incredibly gracious, professional and caring.
    Our honeymoon suite was lovely.
    The staff at the front desk (one woman in particular), however, were rude, clueless and unorganized. This is the only reason I did not give 5 stars for everything. On the day of my wedding, a most stressful day, they made myself, my bridesmaids and hairdresser go on a wild goose chase to find the room we were supposed to be in. I was so upset.
    Otherwise, this is a place I would HIGHLY, HIGHLY recommend; as long as Yvonne is still the coordinator!

    Sent on 09/25/2014
  • User3397570 · 2+ years ago

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    I had some tension with the event coordinator at first because I felt like she didn't take me seriously as a customer, and the staff can be a little rude. But overall I had a really fabulous experience here for our wedding! The event coordinator came through at the end, and all was well. Good price for all the services provided.

    Sent on 08/21/2014
  • H

    Heather · Married on 05/27/2007

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      2.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.0

    I had a hard time getting in touch with the sales and catering managers after signing a contract with them. They were unresponsive and when I finally called enough times, they told me there had been a switch in the employees and the woman I was originally working with was no longer there. It would have been nice of them to tell me that and introduce the new employee to me. Once that got smoothed out, we were happy with their service.

    Overall I was quite satisfied with how the actual day went and got compliments on the food! I loved the brunch buffet and all its options. We also loved using their outdoor patio for our ceremony. It was the perfect day to be outside and allowed for our guests to easily enter the ballroom afterwards. Everything went smoothly and easily on the day.

    Sent on 01/29/2008
  • L

    natalie · Married on 11/12/2016

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    We will be using the space for a room block. They've been very flexible with having an elastic room block, they offer upgrades for everyone, and have been super helpful!

    Sent on 11/30/2015
  • D

    Danielle · Married on 07/18/2015

    1.0
    • Quality of service:
      1.0
    • Responsiveness:
      1.0
    • Value:
      1.0
    • Flexibility:
      1.0
    • Professionalism:
      1.0

    Let me preface by saying that my husband and I are very laid-back people. The Beechwood Hotel was truly bad enough to elicit negative comments from us. We were truly embarrassed by the Beechwood’s utter lack of hospitality. We booked a wedding block with the Beechwood for our guest's lodging. To emphasize our grievances more clearly and concisely, I'll list them below:
    1) The staff of the Beechwood convinced us to book a smaller block, promising a warning call and the opportunity to book more rooms as the hotel filled up. WE RECEIVED NO SUCH CALL, and we quickly RAN OUT OF ROOMS IN OUR BLOCK and THE HOTEL as a result. Many of our guests had to make alternative arrangements.
    2) Horrible customer service. We received numerous phone calls (>10 calls) from family and friends saying that the Hotel’s front desk was very rude to them during the booking process. They were also rude to us when we called. We complained about this to the wedding coordinator, but nothing was done about it.
    3) The awful customer service that prefaced our wedding was even worse in-person. The front desk was incredibly rude and snobbish to many of our guests and us.
    4) ROOM SERVICE FORGOT TO CLEAN OUR BRIDAL SUITE after I had used it to get ready with my bridesmaids. I was promised that it would be cleaned/ food would be removed during the hours of 2 PM - 11 PM when we were gone. It wasn't... So, we spent our wedding sleeping next to a stale pitcher/ glasses of mimosa. It was very romantic, lol.
    5) We later discovered that the HOTEL DIDN'T GIVE US A PROPER BRIDAL SUITE. They gave it to one of our guests instead.
    6) The hotel gave away the room of one of our guests and did not provide any compensation for their mistake.
    The 1/5 star rating is solely based on the hotel's elegant style, attractive aesthetic, and convenient location. Otherwise, we couldn't be more dissatisfied.

    Sent on 11/28/2015

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review