BeautyMark Reviews

41 | Lorton, VA
See photos, pricing and details

41 Reviews for BeautyMark

Recommended by 100% of couples

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0

Awards

41
Order by:
  • A

    Abby · Married on 09/02/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kim is a dream come true!

    Kim is an incredibly gifted makeup artist and a salt of the earth human being. She was warm and responsive from my very first inquiry email, and I knew when I met her for a trial back in December 2017 that her professionalism, skill, flexibility, and sense of humor would make her the one for me and my big crew (10 bridesmaids and 2 moms).

    On our wedding day in September 2018, Kim and her additional artist Sheree were all set up when we arrived at our venue (and Kim even brought cookies!). Kim and Sheree balanced efficiency and attention to detail flawlessly across all 13 of us, which is no easy feat! Kim personally made me feel so at ease as she referenced her photos and notes from my trial while also ensuring I loved the wedding day look at key junctures. The end result was perfect for me--a natural look that made me feel like the most beautiful version of myself. Kim also graciously stayed late to help with one of my bridesmaids with a heat and humidity-induced face meltdown...!

    Kim is so easy to talk and laugh with, and she exudes a genuine warmth and care that cannot be learned. I honestly did not want to say goodbye as we all headed to the ceremony! I cannot recommend Kim enough and will absolutely be knocking down her door next time I'm in need of professional makeup in the DC area. Thank you for everything, Kim--we love you!

    Sent on 11/05/2018
  • A

    Alice · Married on 12/16/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amidst all the options a bride can have in choosing a makeup stylist, Kim is hands-down the best person to work with. My bridal party, my Mom, and my husband's Mom felt incredible beautiful in their own skin. I had a range of ethnicities in my wedding party along with a range of makeup personalities (heavy vs natural). Kim was able to work with each person to enhance their natural beauty and style. Each bridesmaid felt elegant and the mothers felt very comfortable and beautiful for photos. The trial is a must as it allows you and Kim to get to know each other. Kim is a lovely person who truly gets to know you and cares about your emotional well-being on your wedding day. She is a consummate professional, but also just kind and magnetically funny. My own wedding make up basically made me feel like a bride. If you're hesitating with your decision, I would strongly recommend Kim for your wedding day. She's a rare find.

    Sent on 03/23/2018

    BeautyMark's reply:

    What a beautiful review, it means so much to me...not only that you took the time to write this but most importantly that you were pleased. I enjoyed getting to know you and your family. I do hope we will stay in touch as you have become a treasured friend. Thank you so much.
    Big Hugs,
    Kim
  • A

    Arlene · Married on 08/26/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kim Giammaria is such a talented makeup artist. She makes you look so natural looking and beautiful. She has a delightful personality and is fun to work with. On the day of the wedding, she pretty much did everything from makeup to fixing hair to providing support. Besides feeling beautiful, you enjoy your time with her. Kim made the day special.

    Sent on 11/06/2017

    BeautyMark's reply:

    Thank you so much for this kind review. I enjoyed you so much! I can't wait to see more of your photo's
  • P

    Patricia · Married on 08/27/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    When looking for a make-up person for my daughter's wedding I waited until 5 months before the wedding like every timeline recommended. Please don't wait that long - there is no reason to wait once you have a wedding date. Do your research and go for trials with enough time to make sure your choice is available for your date. We looked for information online and it was overwhelming so we turned to some of the vendors that I had contracted for the wedding and Kim Giammaria's name came up from different sources. When the wedding photographer told us Kim had done her bridal make-up I contacted her right away - we were lucky she was available, I checked her reviews and immediately booked a trial for my daughter with her. And I didn't need to look any further. Kim is such a neat lady: warm, fun, beautiful and super talented. The trial was a success: she starts off with a natural make-up, takes pictures; adds more make-up, takes more pictures until you feel the make-up is "you, only better". She is very accommodating and loves her work. And loves everything about her work: she told me she likes to even help the bride get dressed. The day of the wedding she came promptly to my daughter's hotel and started working early on mothers, grandmothers, bridesmaids, aunts and finally, the bride. My daughter got married in late August in an outdoor garden ceremony in a beautiful venue in Washington DC: it was hot! So I had asked Kim to come with us to the venue and touch up my daughter's make-up after the First Look and after the ceremony so that she wouldn't be sweaty and shiny and she gladly came with us. She did that and helped us not only with make-up, she is a calm and soothing presence and she even helped ME zip up my dress! The girls looked beautiful, the make-up was beautiful, we were all very happy! Between the make-up and Kim's magic, we all felt beautiful... I would recommend Kim in a heartbeat. I just can't say enough wonderful things about her.

    Sent on 09/27/2016
  • K

    Kirby · Married on 06/20/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I'm very happy that I selected Kim to be my wedding makeup artist! She went above and beyond to make sure I looked amazing and that all of my bridesmaids looked amazing as well! She is beyond sweet and I got along with her so well. I would recommend her to anyone who is looking for a fantastic makeup artist on their special day! You can't go wrong!

    Sent on 10/01/2015
  • Kate & Mike

    Kate · Married on 05/23/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kim was absolutely amazing to work with! I did a trial with Kim and we hit it off, she was comforting and listened to any input I had for the makeup. Kim was so sweet she even touched up my mom during our trial which was the night of my engagement party and made a little custom lip gloss to last me the night.

    As someone who doesn't wear a ton of makeup, I was a little nervous about the entire makeup portion of the wedding day. Kim is calming and easy to work with. The best thing about Kim is that she knew how to do a nice balance (enough for pictures, but I still looked like myself)! When the wedding day came around she was great and made me and all the bridesmaids look gorgeous. I would highly recommend Kim.

    Sent on 12/29/2015

    BeautyMark's reply:

    Dear Kate,
    Thank you for the kind and thoughtful review! I enjoyed working with you and getting to know you, I wish you a wonderful New Year!
    Warm Regards,
    Kim
  • User5474456 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kim did makeup for my engagement photos as well as my wedding photos. I absolutely love her work!! She spend so much time with me at our trial to make sure the look was exactly what I wanted. I highly recommend Kim. She was so much fun to work with. Her personality and attitude made my wedding day! She brought so much joy to our day!! My bridal party's makeup was amazing, they looked so classic and gorgeous. I highly recommend working with Kim not only because of her beautiful makeup but because of the joyful spirit she brings to the day as well.

    Sent on 09/27/2015
  • L

    Lindsay · Married on 11/08/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I am so glad I picked Kim to provide my makeup services on the day of the wedding. All of her makeup looks were flawless and she is so kind and fun to have around. She made me feel super comfortable when I had a moment of nerves and everyone loved her. Setting up trial times was also a breeze and she was super easy to book.

    Sent on 04/01/2015

    BeautyMark's reply:

    Lindsay ...thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review. I enjoyed being a party of your wedding day!
  • L

    Laura · Married on 10/18/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kim was the last vendor I booked but probably the most important. What is more important than looking beautiful on your wedding day? I must tell you, I am no spring chicken. I am 50 years old and Kim made me look and feel 10 years younger. I felt beautiful and you can't put a price on that. Kim's work speaks for itself, but there are so many other reasons to book her. My first interaction with her was on the phone when I called to determine her availability. We talked for quite a while - she wanted to hear all the details about the wedding. She seemed so NICE and I felt very comfortable with her. I didn't book a trial with her right away because her pricing is a bit more than other vendors, but I can assure you she is worth it. Kim will go out of her way to make sure you love the way you look and will jump through hoops to make that happen. I had a hard time finding a lipstick that I loved and no matter how many we tried on or how many times I changed my mind, Kim never lost patience with me. I felt like a guest in her home, not a potential client. On the day of the wedding, Kim got me dressed, soothed my nerves, and was there armed with double-stick tape to keep straps up and shoes in place. Amidst all the chaos, Kim was a haven of professionalism and calm.

    And one other thing - she takes beautiful pictures. Kim will not overstep her bounds where professional photographers are concerned, but when my photographers were setting up at the alter, she was there to document the moment my father saw me for the first time along with those last few moments of me as a single woman walking toward her destiny. Those images are priceless to me.

    Kim, you are a true artist and the love for your craft shows. Thank you for making me look and feel my best and for all the little things you provided that day. I couldn't have picked a better makeup artist.

    Sent on 12/04/2014

    BeautyMark's reply:

    Wow....this is beautiful ...you have made my day. I do love what I do and I am so happy that I helped in making your day beautiful ! Thank you so much Laura, for taking the time to write this beautiful note!
  • L

    Lana · Married on 10/12/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I absolutely loved Kim! Let me start by saying there were a lot of things about my wedding that didn't mean that much to me, from some respects I guess you could say I was a pretty relaxed bride.

    The #1 thing that really mattered to me was my makeup though. At first I thought I would even do my own because of how incredibly picky I am. After being told that was a really bad idea from a number of folks I decided to do some trial runs.

    Hands down Kim was the best and most professional! She was awesome about communicating everything right up front via email. Her response rate was amazing and she was happy to answer any questions. She accommodated my crazy work schedule and let me do my trial on a Saturday, which was really helpful. At the trial she provided water and snacks, which was such a nice touch. I filled out a form and we talked a little so she could get to know what I'm looking for better. Once she completed my trial she had me provide lots of feedback so she could really perfect the things I was looking for. She took pictures as well to be sure to remember what I was looking for.

    After booking Kim for my wedding she was again very accommodating in regards to the makeup schedule for both me and my bridesmaids. The day of she was an amazing advocate for me and kept me calm all during the makeup process. She was super sweet and a great listener in regards to what I wanted to change up last minute. She really understands how a bride is feeling the day of and goes above and beyond to make everything perfect. I could not have been more happy with Kim. She also has great products and my makeup lasted all night, even my lashes! Strongly recommend Kim for all your wedding needs!

    Sent on 11/23/2014
  • S

    Stephanie · Married on 10/19/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I met Kim through one of my bridesmaids that also used her. I knew immediately that I wanted to hire her. She was such a calming element throughout the "getting" ready process and I'm so glad to have had that! She offered to stay longer to make sure I didn't need any additional touchups. She listened to my thoughts and concerns and talked me through different looks and we picked one that I absolutely loved! All of my bridesmaids looked absolutely amazing as well. She was always flexible, thoughtful, and caring. I could tell she wanted me to be absolutely happy with my look and I never had any doubt that she could get me there. She is absolutely priceless and I'm so happy I made the decision to work with her! I would give her a million stars if I could! LOVE YOU KIM!! xoxo

    Sent on 11/06/2013

    BeautyMark's reply:

    What a lovely review! I appreciate your kind words and your thoughtfulness. You know I adore you and I am so happy I could a part of your wedding day….thank you taking the time to let me know how pleased you were…it truly has made my evening! Hugs!
  • G

    Gretchen · Married on 10/12/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kim was amazing to work with and beyond helpful on my wedding day. Kim effortlessly made up 9 of us in a chaotic hotel room on the day of my wedding. Kim knew the exact amount of makeup to apply in order for all of us to look natural and not overdone in all photos and for it to last throughout the entire day/night! I cannot describe Kim as just a makeup artist, because she truly is so much more! Aside from her beautiful talent as a makeup artist, Kim really knows every detail that goes into preparing for a wedding. Once Kim had completed everyone’s makeup, without hesitation, she stepped in and helped everyone finish getting ready, including buttoning up my gown up for me! She took beautiful pictures throughout the morning and shared them with me only a couple days after my wedding, which was a very nice treat!! Kim has a presence about her, which allows her to get things taken care of swiftly, professionally, and with great thought and care, all while making everyone involved feel at ease. I highly recommend Kim and would gladly use her again!

    Sent on 01/10/2014
  • J

    Joanna · Married on 09/14/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I had the happy honor of having Kim Giammaria from BeautyMark be the make-up artist for me and my bridal party for my wedding this past September. She was an absolute pleasure to work with, right from our first phone call to the wedding day. She was always super responsive- which I think would make any bride happy! Answered all my emails within a few hours at most. When we met for a make-up trial she had delicious snacks & drinks set up and made the whole trial so much fun. I admit that I was rather picky about choosing a lipstick/lip-color but she was so patient and we tried so many different things until we got just the right color. She definitely wanted me to be happy. The day of the wedding she was there bright and early. She was so sweet and calm which made the whole atmosphere wonderful. We even had extra people who asked for make-up at the very last minute, and Kim took it all in stride and was kind enough to do all the extra work we asked. All with a smile! Most importantly, Kim made me feel beautiful on my wedding day. I really felt like I had a friend with me that day, who truly wanted me to look my best. It wasn't just her skill & talent with make-up (which is tremendous!) but it was how she made me feel special. And I suppose that is what any woman would want on her wedding day. Thank you so much Kim for being a part of such a special day in my life!!

    Sent on 10/28/2013
  • W

    W · Married on 09/01/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I chose Kim Giammaria based on several data points: 1) she is listed as a preferred vendor of the Hay Adams Hotel where I got married, 2) she is recognized as one of the best makeup artists in the DC metro area according to Washingtonian magazine, and 3) I know her husband through his photography work at my company. Kim is very passionate about her work, and went above and beyond for me. She did my hair, helped me put on my wedding gown, and took a couple of my husband's favorite pictures of me at my makeup trial run and on our wedding day. I was very relaxed and happy walking into my ceremony because I had a wonderful time getting ready with Kim and my friends. I will go back to her for makeup lessons in the future. She is a sweetheart and so much fun.

    Sent on 10/27/2013

    BeautyMark's reply:

    Thank you so much for this kind review! I had so much fun with you and it was a pleasure....we need to get together soon!
  • User2938308 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kim was awesome to work with. She made my mom and I feel so comfortable from the moment we met her for my trial through my wedding day. She has a wonderful personality and great expertise as a makeup artist. On the day-of, she brought joy to the getting-ready process, and took great care on my makeup, my mom's makeup, and the makeup of each of my seven bridesmaids. I've had my makeup done for many weddings before, and Kim's work was by far the best I've experienced. If you want an experienced and detail-oriented makeup artist, I highly recommend Kim!

    Sent on 07/25/2013
  • M

    Mei-Mei · Married on 06/29/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kim Giammaria/BeautyMark makeup artist is amazing. Her 20+ years as a professional makeup artist shine through!

    I "interviewed" Five other makeup artists/companies, and selected Kim based on her calm demeanor and her amazing ability to transform anyone from drab to glamorous. She is skilled with makeup for photography/video/natural light and my wedding party looked beautiful and not overdone. Our wedding was both outdoor and the reception was indoors, and she mastered the makeup for both!

    Thank you Kim! You are amazing!!

    Sent on 10/02/2013
  • J

    Jovana · Married on 06/08/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    So much to say about Kim Giammaria! She knows her stuff, she has been in the business for a while. She is a true sweetheart, an amazing person and an incredible make up artist. She is super professional, takes her time and cares so much. She is a perfectionist, so you are NOT leaving her chair unless you are completely happy! :) I loved working with Kim! She took care of me and my big bridal party like its was no big deal and never was stressed for even a moment. Her personality calmed me down. On top of that, my look was just gorgeous exactly what I always wanted. Definitely highly recommend using Beauty Mark and Kim Giammaria, you cannot go wrong.

    Sent on 07/02/2013

    BeautyMark's reply:

    Jovana,
    Thank you so much for this lovely review. You were a dream bride. I had so much fun working with you and your friends and family. All of your photo's that Matt took capture the love and joy you had that day. I look forward to seeing you in September!
    Thank you for taking the time to write this!
  • A

    Ana · Married on 03/09/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kim did a fabulous job I would recommend her for any occasion, everyone looked gorgeous!!! Dr. Ana Fraga

    Sent on 03/21/2013
  • M

    Maria · Married on 12/01/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kim did fantastic job on my wedding make-up. She made it look natural yet still bridal. She knew all the right colors. She also did a great job on my mom and bridesmaids. She was always available for any advice during the planning process. She was such a pleasure to have around on my wedding day. She even helped me get into my wedding dress. I definitely recommend Kim!!!

    Sent on 01/03/2013
  • L

    Lisa · Married on 07/20/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    (Our wedding date was years ago but while clearing out old emails I realized I never reviewed Kim!) I stumbled across Kim's website accidentally while researching wedding photographers. A former coworker alerted me to an amazing photographer (I immediately fell in love with his work) and saw that Kim often worked with him. I decided to reach out and she was great from day one!!! Kim provided makeup services on my wedding day; but she did much more than simply "provide makeup services." At the last minute (my now) husband and I called off our wedding. She was incredibly sweet, kind and professional about the entire situation. The following year we set a new date and Kim was able to be a part of our special day. I was pretty nervous on our wedding day but she truly made me feel beautiful and was a calming presence. When new friends see our wedding photos they always compliment my makeup! A very belated thank you to Kim from Mike and myself!!! We highly recommend her!!

    Sent on 03/08/2016

    BeautyMark's reply:

    What a wonderful surprise to read this today, thank you so much for taking the time to write this Lisa! I hope you are doing well! I can not tell you how much this note has made my day! Warm Regards, Kim
  • User2623123 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kim was amazing and I never felt prettier than on my wedding day! She was so accomodating and made me and my mom and grandma so comfortable. She added zero stress to my wedding day, the make-up lasted all evening and it didn't feel like I had any on at all. She is a breath of fresh air and I'd recommend her 1,000 times again!

    Sent on 08/27/2012
  • C

    Courtney · Married on 05/26/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kim did an excellent job doing the makeup for me and my bridesmaids the day of my wedding!

    Sent on 06/06/2012

    BeautyMark's reply:

    Thank you Courtney, I saw your pictures you look so beautiful!
  • C

    Carmela · Married on 05/12/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kim was absolutely great! She made me look my best on my wedding day and I couldnt have asked for more. She is professional, responsive, and really knew what I was asking for. Although she was a little bit pricier than other people I met with, it was really important for me to look stunning and she was worth every penny!

    Sent on 06/20/2012
  • S

    Anna · Married on 04/21/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kim was wonderful to work with! I loved the way she did my make-up for my wedding day - it was exactly the look I was going for. My wedding party loved her too - everyone looked so beautiful. I am so happy I found Kim and would definitely use her again and recommend her! She's super talented!

    Sent on 06/08/2012
  • M

    Maggie · Married on 03/31/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kim did my wedding make up this past weekend as well as my mother's and all of my 5 bridesmaids. Not only is her work stunning, but she is SO wonderful to work with. She has an incredibly calming presence and even though I was SO nervous and freaking out at one point, she had me totally at ease.

    She even helped me put on my wedding gown and did final touch ups on all the girls. She was with us from 10:30 am until seeing us off to the ceremony at 4:00 and thank goodness she was there. I can't say enough good things about Kim as a person and as a make up artist. I even had a bridesmaid who originally planned to do her own make up but decided to have Kim do hers when she saw how amazing everyone looked. The pictures i have seen so far are amazing. I am thrilled with her work!

    Thank you Kim!

    Sent on 04/03/2012