Beauty By Darlene (Hair Stylist) Reviews

14 | Jacksonville, FL
See photos, pricing and details

14 Reviews for Beauty By Darlene (Hair Stylist)

Recommended by 99%

14
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 4.8
  • Average response time 5.0
Sort by:
  • User1372221 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Darlene Smith did my hair as well as my wedding party. She did such a great job with everyone I still love looking at the pictures. I felt so beautiful on my special day and owe it to Darlene. She was right on time and we were even ahead of schedule. Darlene was always very easy to get a hold of, was very patient with me, and gave me great suggestions. I would recommed her in a heartbeat to anyone who is looking for someone who does beautiful work, professional, and also personable.

  • C

    Christine · Married on 11/05/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I used Darlene for my wedding hairstylist, and I couldn't be happier with how it looked! It looked absolutely perfect for me and my dress. I had many people comment with how beautiful my hair looked. She also did my 4 bridesmaids' hair, which also turned out wonderful. I was originally nervous since my bridesmaids couldn't decide what kind of hairstyle they wanted until I made them look at all the magazines I bought during my wedding planning process, but Darlene was able to make them look great even though they didn't tell her what they wanted until they came in to get their hair done for my wedding! She was very easy to communicate with, and couldn't comment enough on how wonderful everyone looked. I would recommend using her to anyone!

  • A

    April · Married on 04/09/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I am soooo happy I went with Darlene for our wedding hairstylist! Myself and my 2 bridesmaids had Darlene come on site to style our tresses on the big day. It was the best decision I could have made. Darlene was professional and friendly and we felt like she was part of our bridal party! I was very indecisive in the months leading up to the big day regarding my hairstyle choice. I could not decide what I wanted to due to the lack of density and the thin fine quality of my hair. Our wedding was a Vintage Hollywood theme and my hair needed to be the perfect compliment to the silver screen era. I was petrified. Darlene worked with me via email to really nail down the style and what we could and could not do with my hair type. Even when she showed up to our site I did not know which of two I would go with! Well, I was not disappointed and Darlene made my hair look FABULOUS!! I was soo happy with it and she nailed the look! I received so many compliments and my photos came out glorious! Darlene is the cream of the crop and a true professional! She is gifted, people; Hire her. It will be the best thing you ever did for yourself. Her pricing was not over the top and her talent is second to none. My girls and I were glowing thanks to you Darlene!

  • R

    Rachel · Married on 03/05/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Darlene was very sweet, personable and helpful in selecting hairstyles to suit each one of my bridesmaids, myself and my mother. She did excellent work, and she did it quickly! In three hours she worked through 6 different hairdos, ending up with all of us being on time for photos. She was awesome!

  • A

    Anh · Married on 12/11/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Darlene is very professional in hairstyling as well as doing her business. I feel very comfortable working with her. I would definitely recommend her.

  • L

    Luz Marina · Married on 10/30/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Darlene did an amazing job on may hair and my brides maid's hair she also did my Mother in laws hair. Darlene came out to the Casa Monica Hotel in St. Augustine on one of the busiest weekends Fla/Ga Weekend. I was so happy that she came to us it saved us so much time! She was on time(even a little early) and was very professional. The whole thing was very affordable as well. My hair stayed beautiful throughout the whole day. I absolutely loved the work she did!

  • M

    Michelle · Married on 04/17/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Darlene did an amazing job on may hair and my maid of honor's hair! She came out to the house which saved us so much time! She was on time(even a little early) and was very professional. The whole thing was very affordable as well. My hair stayed beautiful throughout the whole day, even on the beach. I absolutely loved the work she did!

  • L

    Lindsey · Married on 04/11/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Darlene was my stylist for an outdoor wedding alongside the very windy St. Johns River! My hair was amazing all day and even throughout the next day! I planned my wedding from over 1,000 miles away, so choosing Darlene as the hair stylist for our wedding day was based on her extensive list of positive reviews. They all turned out to be true. She was very professional and thorough. I met Darlene for the first time the day of the wedding and was completely comfortable with her immediately. She was very friendly, positive, and arrived right on time! She got to work creating my style based off of a mash-up of images that evoked the look I was going for. She did a great job and everyone absolutely loved my hair! I just wish I lived closer so I could go to her for all of my hair needs!

  • N

    Nicole · Married on 05/08/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I can't say enough good things about Darlene. Her work is awesome and her prices are very reasonable. She did my extensions at her salon, and then traveled to my wedding venue a couple days later to do my hair for the big day. She was prompt and did the hairstyle exactly as I described to her. Highly recommended!

  • S

    Ashley · Married on 01/03/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Darlene Smith is a hairstylist affiliated with Simply Different Salon in Jacksonville (I actually found her advertisement on Craigslist.com). I never got the chance to do a trial run with her before my wedding, but it didn't matter because she did a fabulous job! She far exceeded my expectations so I'd give her an A+. I've decided that I'm going to use her from now on for all of my regular hair appointments. As an added bonus, she specializes in all different kinds of hair extensions.

  • C

    Ashley · Married on 01/03/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I hired Darlene Smith from Mosaic Salon in Jacksonville to do the hair for my wedding which was held in St. Augustine. I originally found her on Craigslist and, right from the start, you could tell how friendly she was just by the tone of her emails. She answered all of my questions and was extremely helpful. I knew I wanted to wear hair extensions for my big day because my real hair is very thin, and Darlene was the perfect person for the job because she specializes in all different types of extensions (and attends on-going training for it). She had no problem making the drive down to St. Augustine, and her prices were very reasonable. I was so pleased with her work that I now use her for all of my regular hair appointments. I would recommend her to all brides!

  • K

    Kathryn · Married on 01/15/2011

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I had a 10:30AM wedding and needed a hairstylist that could meet me anywhere (which ended up being a bathroom at my parents house). I found Darlene online and was completely satisfied with her style and service. She was on time, able to work in tight quarters (tiny bathroom), and most importantly...she really considered my likes and dislikes. After my hair trial, I was able to provide feedback and give additional input to perfect my wedding hair look. I was completely blown away on how well she adjusted my hair style to fit my preferences. My hair looked so good I decided to ditch my veil completely! I only marked a half star on value for cost since it was much more expensive than going to a salon, but it couldn't have been done without her! Highly recommend!

  • K

    Krissy · Married on 07/18/2011

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      3.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Darlene did an amazing job on my hair for my cruise ship wedding! It was absolutely perfect, and even lasted all through the next day! She also did my sister/M.O.H.'s hair, and that came out lovely as well. Darlene came to our hotel and finished our hair in plenty of time for us to finish packing up, get ready and check out. She was very nice, and knew exactly what she was doing. I really cannot express how helpful it was that she traveled to our hotel and styled us early, since we needed to be at the cruise port early in the morning. And the results were fantastic!!

  • User3136988 · 2+ years ago

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Darlene is awesome! She is super friendly and embraces your vision.