Bear Trap Dunes Reviews

10 | Ocean View, DE
See photos, pricing and details

10 Reviews for Bear Trap Dunes

Recommended by 100% of couples

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0

Awards

10
Order by:
  • L

    Lori · Married on 09/15/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful venue with an amazing staff!

    My husband and I chose Bear Trap as our venue for our wedding on 9/15/18, and we couldn't be happier with our decision! The primary issue we were having in our venue search was getting responses when we had questions. This was not the case with Bear Trap Dunes. Erin, Chelsea, and Craig were all very responsive to any email or phone call and assured that all of our needs were met. I can't say enough about them and their willingness to be so flexible, even with a hurricane in the forecast that looked as though it was going to hit the day of. Chelsea made sure that we were on the same page so that even if it did hit (luckily it went south), we had the plan down and I had full trust that things would go smoothly. The food was amazingly prepared by Jessie and his staff. He was very flexible in allowing us to create the menu we pictured and it all turned out PERFECTLY. The staff was very accommodating and so helpful. We still to this day get compliments on how well everyone was treated. The clubhouse and course are absolutely beautiful and made for amazing pictures! Everyone especially loved the outside area with the firepits looking out on the course. If you are in search of the perfect venue with an amazing staff and coordinators, look no further!

    Sent on 01/02/2019
  • M

    Meghan · Married on 01/20/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I was married in January and our reception was at Bear Trap. Erin and the entire Bear Trap staff went ABOVE and BEYOND to make our wedding everything we dreamed of. Erin was easy to work with and was always available to talk, wedding related or not. She was willing to do anything and everything to help alleviate stress...including offering to help make my hotel gift bags. I always dreamed of a winter wedding and Erin made sure my rustic winter beach theme carried through the entire reception. Erin, and the entire Bear Trap staff even bent over backwards to ensure my favorite food was including on the wedding night...my night was capped off with the most epic hot dog bar you could ever imagine. Yes...odd request... but it just goes to show the team at Bear Trap will do anything to help make your wedding dreams come true. Not only was bear trap the perfect venue...the food was AMAZING. Craig helped customize our menu to exactly what we wanted and was extremely knowledgeable in regards to food. He was able to make suggestions based on what we liked and what fresh foods were in season (which was January in our case).
    Cannot say enough great things about Erin and the entire Bear Trap crew!

    Sent on 03/21/2018
  • M

    Mandy · Married on 05/06/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We can't even begin to thank everyone at Bear Trap Dunes enough for giving us the wedding weekend of our dreams. From the day we first took a tour and met Lindsay we knew it would be the perfect place for us! Erin was our wedding coordinator and she went above and beyond for us with every detail to make our day perfect! Going through the planning process seemed effortless, any idea we had they made it happen for us. The venue was beautiful in their newly renovated room. We chose to add the tent which was beautifully strung with lights and it connected to our reception room to make one big party! We had planned on having our ceremony outside at The Bear Trap Dunes however it did rain (for only the time of the ceremony) and the staff was amazing to help us move the ceremony into the tent! Our guests also stayed at many of the condo rentals in the community which made it feel like a weekend getaway! The scenery from the patio allowed us to have the most beautiful wedding photos! Everything was picture perfect! They also allowed us to have our golden retriever Sadie to be our flower girl and walk down the isle with everyone! Throughout this process everyone we came in contact with at The Bear Trap Dunes made us feel so welcome and seemed so genuinely excited for us! Erin- you are a blessing and we can't thank you enough! Thank you so much to the Staff at Bear Trap Dunes you truly made us feel like we were apart of the family there!

    Sent on 08/21/2017
  • T

    Tracy · Married on 04/23/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Bear Trap Dunes is simply amazing. The coordinator that was there when we started the wedding planning process left about 3 months before our wedding (a bride's worst nightmare!!). However, Lauren Katz filled in for her and quickly became my new favorite person. She was so responsive, so knowledgeable, so calm and confident. She really put us at ease. The new coordinator was hired about a week before our wedding - so we got 2 coordinators on the day-of! We had the ceremony on the lawn outside the Dunes room, overlooking the golf course. So beautiful. The dinner reception was inside, and dancing was outside under a tent. I am a big DIY-er, and I had boxes upon boxes of DIY decorations. Lauren and her team set them up flawlessly - I was truly amazed! They also took everything down and had it ready to be picked up the next day. I didn't have to worry about a thing! The food was incredible also! All of our guests had an amazing time and I owe a lot of that credit to Lauren and the rest of the Bear Trap team. Highly recommend!!!

    Sent on 05/31/2016
  • E

    Erik · Married on 10/18/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We simply cannot say enough wonderful things about Bear Trap Dunes. Natalie and I were grateful to have had the opportunity to work with Carrie Baker and her top-notch team. Because we were from New Jersey, we were nervous that it was going to be difficult to coordinate all that needed to be coordinated for our dream Delaware wedding, but thanks to everyone at Bear Trap Dunes, we soon realized that it was as easy as pie! Everyone involved with our wedding were extremely professional and provided quality customer service. They went above and beyond the call of duty were able to successfully help us with creating a memorable wedding ceremony and reception.

    The Bear Trap Dunes team helped us customize the dinner for our wedding, including an amazing four course meal. The menu included fall inspired dishes, such as butternut squash soup. The food was absolutely delicious! We also had an array of desserts and wedding cake. Carrie Baker also helped coordinate the ambience of the room and lightening. She even created a lounge area for our guests to relax after dancing and for the children to hang out. The room is very versatile.

    We were married outside on the premises and the weather was perfect. All of our guests stayed at the premises, as you can rent a wide variety of condos, townhouses, and homes right on site. It was so easy to get ready at the house we rented at Bear Trap and then walk out the door right to the wedding. Our guests were able to travel with their entire family -- including dogs, as many of the rentals are pet-friendly. The following day, Bear Trap Dunes set-up an breakfast for our guests. It was beyond what we expected and extremely tasty. We are so lucky to have had our wedding here.

    Sent on 10/18/2015
  • K

    Kelsey · Married on 10/04/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Bear Trap Dunes was our ideal location for our wedding reception. The staff was very attentive. Carrie Baker went above and beyond to make sure we had all the small details covered. She decorated the cake table last minute when the cake stand I bought was not strong enough to hold our cake. It looked fantastic! I did not have to worry at all knowing Carrie was overseeing the venue. Bear Trap rents a tent that connects from the banquet hall. It was unique that dinner was served inside and the dance floor and bar were located outside in the tent. Lighting was provided around the tent ceiling. We didn't need any extra fancy lighting to make the venue look beautiful. The food was delicious- many guests commented on the entrees we chose. Another added benefit of a reception at Bear Trap Dunes is the beautiful golf course in the background. Carrie provided my husband, photographers and I with two golf carts and we drove around the grounds getting pictures. The setting for our photographs were beautiful. We highly recommend Bear Trap Dunes.

    Sent on 01/27/2015
  • K

    Kelsey J. · Married on 05/10/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were the first wedding with Bear Trap Dunes after they switched management; we booked with the old management, so that was scary new menu and staff. Once we sat down with Carrie (event coordinator) we were put at ease, she was great, open to all options. She said they would honor the old menu if we were set on that, but the new menu was much better! We had a lot of great menu options and they were even open to non-menu items if you had something in mind. The chef was great too, our tasting was amazing, and unfortunately we were too busy socializing with our guest to really enjoy our meal the night of. Our guest still rave about how great the food was and it’s almost a year later! We even had gluten free and vegetarian options. We choose to do the buffet style and an open bar. Carrie was also great in the fact that she was able to communicate with all our vendors (DJ, photographers, officiant, etc…) to help them get the information they needed about the facility. The venue price was very reasonable and very beautiful! We had our ceremony outside in the front lawn area. In the back of the venue we set up the dance floor, cocktail bar, photo booth and gift table and our dinner and cake in the banquet room. The venue was also great because so many of our guests were not from the area and were able to rent houses and condos for the weekend of. We even had our rehearsal dinner at a house in the community with all of our friends and family. From the bartenders to the bus boys everyone was very professional and very helpful. The bus boy was even helping the guys with getting their flowers on their suits and bringing drinks to the bride and groom. Thankfully there was no event scheduled the night before ours so we were able to set up the day before, the things that had to be done the day of the great staff took care of. Our big day was perfect thanks to the staff at Bear Trap. If we had to do it over again I wouldn’t change a thing! Thank you again!

    Sent on 01/28/2015
  • J

    Jessica · Married on 12/01/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Bear Trap Dunes was where we held our wedding reception. Everything was amazing. The lighting, the set-up, and the team were what made the event such a huge success. Molly, the wedding coordinator, was brought in 2 weeks before our wedding. She took on our wedding and made it exactly what I had envisioned. Everything was just as I wanted it, she kept perfect track of time to make sure we didn't miss our exit. I didn't have a care or worry the entire reception. The food was to die for. Prime Rib was the biggest hit. I owe the final success of the event to Molly, her team, and DiFebo's Bistro. Thank you!!!!!!

    Sent on 12/12/2012
  • E

    Emily · Married on 05/14/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our wedding ceremony and reception at Bistro on the Green at Bear Trap Dunes. Originally, we had planned to have our ceremony on the beach but the weather wasn’t cooperating so we ended up having the ceremony under the tent at the Bistro. Charly, the event coordinator for Bistro, was amazing! She helped in every aspect of the planning from the time we booked the venue and I would not have been able to pull off the amazing wedding we had without her! The table setups, the layout, the food, the staff, everything was incredible! They were so dedicated, you would have thought we were the only party of the year! Everyone was so professional and seemed truly interested in our wedding and making sure everything happened exactly as planned! Our dedicated server for the night, Sandy, was amazing! She was with us the entire night to make sure everything we needed or wanted was taken care of and we couldn’t have been happier!
    I would definitely recommend Bistro on the Green to anyone who is planning an event, big or small. Everyone was so welcoming and friendly and made you feel like you were the most important person there!

    Sent on 05/23/2011