Barbara Watts, Certified Celebrant Reviews

49 | Alexandria, VA
See photos, pricing and details

49 Reviews for Barbara Watts, Certified Celebrant

Recommended by 100%

49
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0
49 Barbara Watts, Certified Celebrant Reviews
Sort by:
  • E

    Erin · Married on 10/07/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Barbara was just wonderful to work with, and we were extremely pleased with our ceremony. Barbara was open to all ideas and offered wonderful guidance on creating our own ceremony, tailor made to fit everything we wanted, especially including our 4yr old son. Barbara was responsive and easy to work with throughout the process. During the ceremony she took her time, and even when my poor husband almost completely passed out (!) she kept everything going very smoothly. Even with that "dramatic event", it seemed like our ceremony was hardly disrupted, and for this we truly appreciate her, and our ceremony has become unforgettable!

  • J

    J · Married on 10/07/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were absolutely delighted with Barbara as our officiant! She crafted a wonderful, personalized ceremony for us based on our responses to her questions and her meeting with us. She added elements to the ceremony that were so right for us - where she had clearly absorbed all our information, and chose just the right things that reflected us so well. She also incorporated areas of humor that went over very well. We received many compliments on our ceremony. She was great at our rehearsal and had everyone knowing how and what to do for their role. She gave thoughtful suggestions for our wine ceremony such as getting a lower table so we wouldn't be blocked by it thereby improving our pictures/video. Even the cards she provided for our vows were first class and professional. She was so easy to work with and very responsive. She worked with our vendors ahead of the ceremony including providing music cues to our string quartet. Barbara was the one thing we were not at all worried about before our wedding day. We knew she would be there in plenty of time and would make sure she did her part to ensure we had the best wedding ceremony possible. We know she made our wedding her priority. We could go on but suffice to say that having Barbara officiate at our wedding was the easiest and best vendor decision we made and we can recommend her without reservation or hesitation.

  • R

    Richard · Married on 09/30/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Barbara is a phenomenal lady who totally captured our thoughts and interests as our officiant. She interacted with us both in person and several times via email to develop a wonderful ceremony. We recommend her most highly.

  • G

    Gordon · Married on 05/21/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ms. Watts has so many positives in her favor, but the one that stood out for us was her insistence that she tailor our wedding to our preferences, and that the ceremony be a symbol of our love for each other.

    We thoroughly enjoyed having her officiate at our wedding.

  • T

    Tingting · Married on 05/20/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We love Barbara!! She is absolutely fabulous and so easy to work with! We wanted a short, non-religious ceremony, and she delivered beyond our expectations. She is super detail-oriented, organized, and communicative. She is also punctual, patient, and flexible. She created a customized ceremony based on our answers to her questionnaire that is unique to us. Our guests LOVED Barbara and her funny stories during the ceremony and said it was the best wedding ceremony they ever been to. We highly recommend Barbara!

  • L

    Lindsey · Married on 04/22/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Choosing Barbara as our officiant was the BEST decision we made. From the very first e-mail, Barbara made us feel like family. She was so involved in our personal story and made a ceremony personalized to us. She was incredibly communicative and organized. My husband and I felt so comfortable with Barbara from the beginning. She made sure we had everything for our ceremony submitted and designed well before our wedding so we had absolutely nothing to worry about. She ran our rehearsal, and made sure everyone was on the same page. Our ceremony was the most beautiful half hour of our lives, and our guest could not stop talking about it at our reception. We cannot recommend Barbara enough!!!

  • A

    Angela · Married on 03/11/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    After our first meeting with Barbara we were convinced she was the right officiant for us! She was very experienced and guided us through all of the steps to write our personalized ceremony! All of our guests loved her too!
    The fee was fantastic given all of the services Barbara provided! We would recommend her a million times over!
    Amazing experience! Thank you Barbara!

  • S

    Sarah · Married on 02/17/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Barbara is a dream come true. We chose Barbara as our celebrant and it was the best decision we could have made. She met with us and got to know us as a couple and as individuals. After completing a questionnaire for her, she created the most beautiful personalized vows I have ever heard. The vows captured our story and the love we had for each other in the most perfect way imaginable. Barbara is kind, thoughtful, professional and responsive. She will work with you to create the wedding of your dreams. Everything was organized and she even worked with our venue and DJ to create our vision exactly as we imagined. We have received so many wonderful compliments on our wedding ceremony. Everyone has said it was personal, intimate, funny and filled with love and joy. We highly recommend Barbara and will always cherish the efforts and beauty she put into our wedding. Thank you Barbara!

  • A

    Asa · Married on 11/27/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Barbara was great to work with. She helped us with ideas, but was also very receptive to the changes and ideas we had. We even ended up with some last second changes that she incorporated seamlessly. In the end, the ceremony really reflected our relationship perfectly.

  • K

    Kursten · Married on 11/13/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I am that bride that actually really doesn't like weddings, so I wanted a short, sweet ceremony that was sincere but authentic to my partner and I. Nothing sappy. Short and to the point in a way that reflected what getting married meant for us. Barbara was incredible. She was receptive to our ideas and responsive to our suggested edits. She had great ideas for how to incorporate our son into the ceremony in a way that was meaningful to all of us. She didn't try to push any ideas on us that we didn't like and in the end we had a ceremony that was pitch perfect and totally us. Our small group of guests commented several times after how perfect the vows and readings were for my husband and I and our relationship. Barbara also made things very easy and didn't require a lot of back and forth. Very efficient, reasonably priced, and just a lovely person to work with. I highly recommend.

  • J

    Jared · Married on 11/05/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Barbara delivered a ceremony for us beyond anything we could have expected. We still have guests saying to us how well they think Barbara did. She drafted such a complete and thorough proposal that captured everything that was important to us, but then also respected our input as we worked together to make the final product exactly what we needed. During the event, everything went so smoothly. The entire time, we were assured that we were in the capable hands of a professional. Barbara takes so many things off your mind as a couple planning an amazing day. We could not have been more pleased.

  • E

    Enrique · Married on 10/22/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dear Barbara, Thank you very much for the beautiful ceremony that you have prepared for our wedding last october 22. I will remember it forever. God bless you.
    Enrique Costa

  • N

    Nantika · Married on 10/22/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were so lucky to have Barbara as our wedding officiant. She is so sincere, kind and, very professional. She truly cared that the experience was perfect. It was such a great ceremony...we both loved it! Can't thank you enough for making it so great!

  • R

    Rachael · Married on 10/08/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Barbara was an absolute pleasure to work with from start to finish. My husband and I really wanted a very personal ceremony and Barbara executed that perfectly - I've had so many people remark on how beautiful and personal our ceremony was. She provided us with an extensive questionnaire that my husband and I really enjoyed filling out, and then took pieces of that and crafted a beautiful ceremony. Barbara made the whole process easy - from the initial meeting, to the planning and writing process, to the rehearsal and execution of the day we could not have done it without her. She was very flexible and accommodating , we had several last minute changes and added/removed pieces of the ceremony multiple times throughout the process and it was never a problem and she always had another draft ready for us within a day or 2. Barbara is truly amazing and it was a pleasure working with her throughout our wedding planning process!

  • C

    Cara · Married on 10/01/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Barbara was an absolute joy to work with! We live in a different state so did not get to meet Barbara face to face until a week before the ceremony. This was not an issue at all for us though as she was so kind from our first conversation that we felt like she already knew us. She understood that while neither of us are religious we really wanted a meaningful and memorable ceremony that was more than just the 5 minute legal stuff. She had us both fill out extensive questionnaires separately to really get to know us individually and our relationship. She then sent us lists of potential readings, ceremonies, and vows. We were nitpicking details up until the last few days and she was very understanding. The final product was more than we could of excepted, we got plenty of compliments on how special our ceremony was, and plenty a happy tear were shed all around. If you are looking for someone you will feel comfortable with, who will help you craft a unique, touching, and memorable ceremony I recommend Barabara with no reservations!

  • User6899748 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were so lucky to find and book Barbara especially because our wedding was fairly last minute. She was easy to work with and her rates are better than the other two officiants (who are also featured on this website) that I got quotes from who were not as personable, responsive, patient, or flexible. From our first contact I knew she would make our ceremony warm and personal. She had a lot of great ideas and readings for us to consider which was nice since we were a bit overwhelmed at first. There was also not much homework on our part which was a relief. From a quick questionnaire Barbara was able to put together a ceremony script that was absolutely perfect for us. The rehearsal was quick and painless. I'm so glad we had that time to go over all of the day of logistics the night before. And on the day of the wedding Barbara was early and ready to go. She was also dressed professionally but not stuffy. Our friends and family had nothing but rave reviews for her. We could not be happier with our decision to go with Barbara.

  • R

    Ruth · Married on 06/05/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Barbara is not only an incredible wedding Officiant/Celebrant, she is also one of the most kind and caring people my husband and I have ever met! Working with Barbara is so easy - she is quick to respond to questions and is extremely organized. We felt a connection with her from the moment we met and were very fortunate to have her perform our wedding ceremony. The way she shaped the ceremony made it very personal and intimate, which was exactly what we asked for. Her demeanor, poise and level of expertise is unmatched in our opinion. While a big part of a wedding is the reception, the ceremony is really the most important piece and our wedding day was made so much more special because she was a part of it. If you're looking to work with someone who truly cares about you and about performing a perfect ceremony, look no further than Barbara. We actually look forward to keeping in touch with her even though the wedding is over!

  • A

    Aron · Married on 04/23/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Barbara did a wonderful service officiating our ceremony and gave us great suggestions and options to choose from in wording for our ceremony. She put us at ease and helped us with our questions every step of the way and even after the ceremony day (after all, we've never been married before and she was helpful with information along the way!). She is a wonderful person and was a joy to have with us on our special day!

  • K

    Kelly · Married on 03/26/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I wish more life events required officiants as I would choose Barbara over and over. Such a master and professional. I will be sad to not have to frequently chat with her! She crafted the most personable, beautiful ceremony we could have ever hoped for! Creative, engaging, responsive and brilliant are some of the many ways I'd describe Barbara and her service. She compiled information from my now husband and I individually and gave options for content and created the most beautiful ceremony I've ever seen. My friends and family continue to compliment how fantastic the ceremony was even today two weeks post ceremony! Barbara is a joy to work with and she is beyond genuine and caring in her regard for the couple, what they want (since its their ceremony) and she's a complete pro at the rehearsal with the family and friends and of course on the big day! I can't wait to recommend Barbara to anyone i can! I am eager to get the copy she sends us of the ceremony and to creatively put it our bedroom as a centering memory for the rest of our lives. She's absolutely incredible- i honestly believe she was born to do this among her many other talents. Call her!!!!

  • D

    Dan & Erika · Married on 11/15/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    What an amazing experience we had with Barbara! She is so sincere, personable, and professional. She answered calls and responded to messages immediately; met with us face-to-face to get a real sense of who we are, what we were looking for, and how she could best meet our needs; collected additional information through individual questionnaires; and then took all of that information and wove it into a beautiful, personal ceremony that was perfect for us. We had ample opportunity to review and make any tweaks we wanted. And then she delivered the ceremony with just as much personality and professionalism as she'd shown throughout the process. We have had many, many compliments on the ceremony. Another thing we appreciated was her active attention to involving and engaging both of us. In planning the wedding, so many vendors focused only on the bride, but Barbara was inclusive from the beginning and made sure we were both represented in the ceremony. We highly recommend her as a Celebrant!

  • User5508051 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Before I say anything else, let me tell you we got WAY more compliments on our ceremony than any other aspect of the wedding. It was totally "us," modern, non-religious, and perfect.

    We loved working with Barbara during our wedding planning process. She was so warm, open, and understanding of all our wishes. She was the first wedding vendor who chose a date, place, and time for the initial meeting (at the Clarendon Whole Foods). To plan the ceremony, she gave us questionnaires to fill out, and that's where most of the ceremony material came from. She also incorporated all the aspects we wanted: passing of the peace, breaking of the glass, tribute to those not at our wedding, etc. She turned the first draft around promptly and made all our requested changes very quickly. On the day of our rehearsal, she was there before we were (!), listened to all our concerns, and smoothed over rough family edges. On the day of the wedding, she was early, in control, and ready to work, and she executed the ceremony perfectly.

    In conclusion, we're so glad we hired her. She was a perfect professional.

  • User5625862 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The first thing we heard walking out of the ceremony into our reception from our guests and family was, "WOW!" Our family loved how personal and utterly unique our ceremony was, and that is precisely why we chose Barbara to do it. No one else offered to build us a ceremony from the ground up to make sure it was 100% our own. From our first conversation, it was clear Barbara is dedicated to her brides, super flexible, and highly empathetic with the right degree of firmness to make sure your family stays on task on the day of. She spent many hours with us crafting our ceremony, and she was quick to offer her time for a rehearsal, sitting in hours of traffic on a late night to get there without a second thought. She provided us with handy printed versions of our ceremony for the day of, so we didn't have to worry about a thing, and she also sent us a keepsake version, which was a wonderful final flourish. Thank you, Barbara! You are a gem.

  • J

    Jessica · Married on 10/10/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Barbara was wonderful to work with from beginning to end. She truly cared that the experience was perfect. After the wedding, guests kept commenting on how wonderful Barbara and ceremony was. They said "she made the ceremony feel intimate and like she had known both of us forever." Absolutely wonderful!

  • R

    Rebecca · Married on 10/01/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Barbara was a fantastic officiant for our wedding. She was very flexible and wrote a beautiful ceremony!

  • A

    Ashley · Married on 09/26/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Barbara was amazing! Her ceremony was so beautiful and personal. She took the time to create a special day for us. I highly recommend her!

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review