Barbara Ann Michaels, Jester of the Peace Reviews

169 | New York, NY
See photos, pricing and details

169 Reviews for Barbara Ann Michaels, Jester of the Peace

Recommended by 100%

169
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0

8 User photos

Barbara Ann Michaels, Jester of the Peace 1
Barbara Ann Michaels, Jester of the Peace 2
Barbara Ann Michaels, Jester of the Peace 3
Barbara Ann Michaels, Jester of the Peace 4
Barbara Ann Michaels, Jester of the Peace 5
Barbara Ann Michaels, Jester of the Peace 6
Barbara Ann Michaels, Jester of the Peace 7
+ 2
Sort by:
  • E

    Estefania · Married on 05/25/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Perfect Ceremony!

    Barbara was amazing! She made our small ceremony exactly what we wanted!

    Sent on 12/31/2018
  • Kimberly

    Kimberly Wittmayer · Married on 04/19/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Best Choice for an Officiant

    Our experience with Barbara was better than we even had hoped. It was as if we had known her for years. She was a friend (even though we had only really just met). She prepared for the ceremony and created something that was personal, unique and truly special. I highly recommend her; you will not be disappointed.

    Sent on 05/01/2019
    Barbara Ann Michaels, Jester of the Peace 11
    Barbara Ann Michaels, Jester of the Peace 12
  • M

    Molly · Married on 04/13/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    A truly perfect ceremony!

    Our ceremony was everything we'd hoped and much, much more, all thanks to Barbara.

    She brought tremendous kindness and humor to telling our story, and every part of working with her—from our very first chats through the wedding day—was a pleasure. Guest after guest sang her praises and asked us how long we'd known her, or even how we were related!

    i can’t recommend Barbara highly enough.

    Sent on 05/04/2019
  • N

    Nina · Married on 09/22/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We just got married at a wonderful place in Central Park in New York City on 9/22/2018. Barbara was our Officiant. From the first time we spoke with Barbara through today — WE LOVED HER!! Our ceremony was beautiful and it was wonderfully done by Barbara!!!

    Sent on 10/04/2018
  • F

    Fiona Goh · Married on 08/26/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Such joy working with Barbara

    Nothing short of a pleasure working with Barbara who took pains to get to know us (remotely no less as we are based in Singapore) n telling our story w much sincerity n love.

    Sent on 10/21/2018
  • D

    David · Married on 07/21/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We are thrilled that we selected Barbara Ann Michaels as our Wedding Officiant. Barbara is a professional who takes the stress out of planning the perfect ceremony. She listens carefully and then works with you to create a unique presentation of your love story. Barbara is an artist who is easy to work with and reviews every detail from beginning to end. She is a walking encyclopedia on "everything wedding". You can ask her for advice on photographers, accessories and traditions and have excellent answers in an instant.
    When the big day finally came, Barbara's delivery was superb and our guests alternated between laughter and tears of joy. Our personalized ceremony spoke volumes about how our love story came to life and set the tone for the rest of the day.
    Thank you Barbara for a job well done!

    Sent on 09/30/2018
  • Andrew

    Andrew · Married on 07/14/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Simply Perfect!

    From our initial contact with Barbara Ann, we knew we were in good hands. We documented our love story, the basis of our ceremony, from a starting point that was founded in caring interviews Barbara Ann conducted with us individually. From this exercise of having us each relive how we came together, what we mean to one another, how our families are blending, and the vision we share for our future together, Barbara Ann designed a ceremony that was unique to us. As the big day approached, we finalized the details together, Barbara Ann reassuring us at each step. And, as we readied ourselves for what is often a ‘nervous moment’, Barbara Ann held our hands in hers, told us that our only job was to love each other and repeat after her, we were reassured that everything would be perfect. It was. The comments we received from our guests praising the beauty and spirituality of the ceremony speak volumes more than I can attest here. People were touched, deeply. Barbara Ann’s warmth kind spirit were a source of joy felt by everyone, the two of us first and foremost.
    Elizabeth and Andrew

    Sent on 10/16/2018
    Barbara Ann Michaels, Jester of the Peace 13
  • P

    Paul · event on 06/30/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    50th Wedding anniversary ceremony in a small Church....Barbara interviewed each person separately for an hour or two..She then prepared a 4 page summary of our lives together..she delivered a very professional and moving presentation to our family and friends from the alter..and having each of them provide something special from our 50 years together..Barbara lead the way and reassured us to be calm and trusting as she has years of wedding experience to draw on..and she was right..everyone was super pleased with the event.

    Sent on 07/15/2018
  • P

    Priscilla · Married on 06/18/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Coming from Australia to NYC for our wedding was made easy with Barbara - we could not have ask for a better day. We highly recommend Barbara and can't rate her high enough. Barbara was an excellent Celebrant - she is a fantastic communicator and organiser. Best of all, she's a very nice person.

    Sent on 07/30/2018
  • J

    Jill · Married on 09/23/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    It was truly a pleasure working on our ceremony with Barbara! She is a very talented story teller and we received many compliments from our guests on her delivery and on our vows, which were tailor made for us. Neither my husband or I are religious and we were not sure how to create a ceremony and vows that would be meaningful, personal, and interesting to others. Barbara walked us through her process of telling our story and creating the ceremony we wanted. We are also not very sentimental and are a bit more reserved. Barbara understood our style and never had us do anything that felt unnatural to us. She had good recommendation to make things more unique and personal that helped us create our ceremony. We highly recommend working with Barbara to share your love story!

    Sent on 10/25/2017
  • P

    Paul · Married on 09/17/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Barbara is absolutely amazing! From the beginning to the final moment, she helped us through the entire process with ease, excitement, and splendor. She made our ceremony more than the usual process, she helped make it a moment to treasure and adore forever! She handled so much of the process and challenges that it made everything go so smoothly for our perfect moment. Barbara is amazing and she possesses a unique talent to bring love and happiness to each couple she assists in there special moment of marriage. She even had great ideas and recommendations for other aspects of the ceremony which proved extremely successful! I full-heartedly recommend Barbara and words are just not enough to express how AWESOME she really is!

    Sent on 10/22/2017
  • C

    Chelsea · Married on 09/16/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We reached out to Barbara last minute to officiate our wedding. She was flexible and easy to work with, even though we gave her a super tight time frame. Our ceremony was perfect - exactly how we wanted it. She takes direction and makes you feel comfortable with whatever decisions you make about your day.

    Sent on 10/20/2017
  • J

    Jenette · Married on 07/02/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    What a pleasure it was working with Barbara Ann Michaels!! I feel truly lucky we used her for our wedding ceremony. She had the most beautiful way with her words!!
    Her soft spoken, kind and sincere ways exceeded our expectations in every way
    Barbara always got back to us with any questions or concerns we had very quickly, which really helped during such stressful planning days
    I hope everyone is as lucky as we were to be married by such a beautiful person like Barbara

    Sent on 11/01/2017
  • R

    Risa · Married on 06/10/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We absolutely loved working with Barbara! She is a true professional who immediately feels like a friend. The ceremony was one of the most intimidating parts of the wedding planning process, because we are not a traditionally romantic couple and didn’t know how to even begin expressing our love for one another in front of everyone we care about. However, Barbara took us step-by-step and showed us how we could be sweet and deeply personal without being cheesy or forced. She helped us put into words what love means for us: imperfect, enduring, fun, maddening, and a little bit nerdy. :) She had the extra challenge of combining Filipino Catholic and Jewish traditions into a non-religious ceremony and thanks to her openness to creative solutions, as well as her calm and nurturing energy, the combination of cultures felt seamless and even fun. Not to mention, her delivery on the day of our wedding was flawless. My husband and I got married almost 5 months ago, and our friends and family are still talking about how wonderful our ceremony was. So many people, including old friends, told us how much they enjoyed our story and combined traditions, and how it helped them know us better both as a couple and as individuals. If you want a totally unique ceremony and need someone to help guide you and collaborate with you, then look no further. Barbara Ann Michaels is the officiant for you!

    Sent on 10/31/2017
  • C

    Christine · Married on 05/28/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    She's a sweetheart... we were able to have the wedding and ceremony that we wanted with the help of barbara..

    Sent on 06/07/2017
  • A

    Alden · Married on 04/29/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My fiance and I were looking for a non denominational officiant who would bring fun and joy to our day. When we found out that Barbara has gone to Burning Man, we knew we had found someone who, like us, is unconventional and appreciates moments of wonder and joy. And when she said that legally all we had to do was say yes, and that we could form the rest of the ceremony around whatever we wanted, we were sold. We chose the package in which she sent over questions separately to us to write out our answers ahead of time (and kept them secret from each other) and then surprised us with a few more questions live during the ceremony. I was questioning that decision when she started asking surprise questions in front of our family and friends, because I totally froze up, even though we had totally agreed to this, but she was a pro at goading us along, making us laugh, and bringing out the best in both of us. Our family and friends said it was a ceremony so full of love, honest, authentic, and from the heart. Here's what I've been recommending to brides: make sure your maid of honor has a handkerchief, because you don't want to be wiping the snot off your nose with the back of your hand like I did, because I was crying so much from the beauty and deep meaning of the ceremony.

    Sent on 07/24/2017
  • I

    Isamar · Married on 11/27/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We got married on a helicopter ride over New York City and our dreamed wedding was perfect thanks to Barbara! She wrote such beautiful words about my husband and I that captured our love story and the infinite love we share. Since the beginning, Barbara was very attentive and personal, which you need for the most important day of your life. Our wedding would've not been the same without her. Thanks Barbara!

    Sent on 01/29/2017
  • P

    P · Married on 10/08/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I could not have asked to meet a more perfect officiant for my wedding. We were looking for someone who would have excellent communication and an eye for detail. We also were looking for someone nondenominational, which Barbara is. She has done hundreds of ceremonies she told me. Barbara listened and reflected in her words exactly who we are as a couple. She added her own flavor to tie in our journey from many perspectives. Her approach to getting to know us and making suggestions of what we wanted to convey was in sync with what we wanted. She was open to do whatever we wanted and she is a gifted writer. You can tell from talking to her she is a gentle and positive soul. If you are looking for someone to tell your or you & partners' story to the people in your life with passion and impartiality I would recommend Barbara.

    Sent on 10/13/2016
  • P

    Peter · Married on 09/06/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Barbara was so helpful in the lead up to our special day, and ensured it really was a day to remember. As we are from the UK she helped us through the legal process too. Could not recommend highly enough!!

    Sent on 10/31/2016
  • E

    elizabeth · Married on 08/13/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wow. Wow. Wow. Barbara goes above and beyond for her couples and she WILL give you the absolute BEST ceremony you can ever dream of. She was truly the highlight of our wedding and was so incredible every step along the way. She made everything so easy was early and made sure we knew what was going on and took our feedback throughout the whole process. Everyone told us how she was their favorite part of the wedding and how they've been to so many weddings but this was hands down the best ceremony they ever saw and believe they ever will see.

    Barbara is so incredible at what she does because she truly cares about what she does and who she is marrying.

    So thank you so much again for all the incredible work you have done and for our making our special day a lot more special and leaving memories that will be remembered for lifetimes.

    Sent on 08/15/2016
  • N

    Natasha · Married on 06/26/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Barbara was amazing at our wedding. She created and performed a beautiful ceremony custom-made for us! After communicating via phone, Skype, and email, Barbara used all of our input and her talent in crafting our story. On the day of the wedding, she beautifully presented it with love.
    Barbara's calm and peaceful presence, personal engagement with us and the audience, sense of humor, and ability to be fully present and responsive were felt throughout the ceremony. After the wedding, many of our friends kept mentioning how unique and memorable the experience was for them. And we felt the same!
    Barbara combined our preferred traditions from Jewish and Russian cultures. She gracefully included my family from Belarus who were with us via Skype into the whole experience. It was a joy for my family on the other end of the world, for us, and for all the friends and family at the ceremony to be part of this connection.
    We are very thankful for having had Barbara as our wedding officiant and couldn't recommend her highly enough for your special day.

    Sent on 07/08/2016
  • K

    Karen · Married on 04/30/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    If you can’t book Barbara for your ceremony, you may consider changing your wedding date. ;)

    My husband and I were married in Central Park with just our immediate family in attendance. It was by design supposed to be a simple wedding, but it was one that nevertheless caused me a fair amount of stress. You see, I grew up as a biracial kid frequenting California nudist beaches with my parents, whereas my now-husband was raised in a traditional Jersey-Catholic family. So what to do with our ceremony? As we began to plan our day I found myself obsessing over what our family would be UPSET about. His mother would inevitably be upset that we weren’t getting married in a church. My mother would be upset that we didn’t invite all the cousins/aunts and uncles, etc. And then I got on the phone with Barbara…

    Barbara is one of those people that exudes calm and joy. It’s not like a namaste-yoga teacher walking around with incense, but rather like a supportive friend that listens, makes you laugh and just feel more confident and relaxed. Barbara reminded us that our wedding day was a celebration and that we should turn our attention to what would make us and our guests HAPPY. And, she was full of ideas! "How about we take some time for the bride and groom to talk about what made you fall in love? What if we passed the rings and allowed everyone to say a few words? How about we let the groom's mother read a passage from the bible and ask his brother if he'd like to say a few words to honor their later father?" She helped us make the ceremony OURS and the final result was an intimate affair filled with both tears and laughter. Everyone was in awe of Barbara and agreed that it was the most beautiful and thoughtful ceremony they had ever attended.

    Thank you Barbara!

    Sent on 11/04/2016
  • H

    Hayley · Married on 09/29/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Barbara Ann Michaels....what can I say?! We knew immediately when we met over Skype, that she was "the one". Her warm, genuine and unique nature matched the big smile you see in all her photos! It was really important to us that we be relaxed on our wedding day and that we have fun...and Barbara's energy was perfect for this. Throughout the whole process, Barbara emailed us back and forth, she was always so cheerful and made us so excited to celebrate our love, and to also meet her in person!

    We had an "improvised" ceremony, where Barbara asked us questions about each other & our relationship, that we answered live in front of our guests. We didn't know what she was going to ask, but knew the spontaneous aspect would make for a very natural and heartfelt ceremony. It was exactly that! In addition to our questions, Barbara had written a personalised ceremony that incorporated who we were as people, the nature of love, and our beliefs when it comes to love. She spoke some real truths in relation to love, that fit us perfectly.

    Her spirit and joy is contagious, she is the real deal. Our guests absolutely loved her and kept singing her praises! We are so grateful she she made our ceremony a real, true and heartfelt experience.

    After the ceremony Barbara took care of our marriage certificate, including traveling to multiple offices to obtain our apostille (as we are from Australia). We caught up again to collect our papers at a buzzing live music spot that Barbara recommended, as she knew our love for music, and it too, was perfect! We had a great time just hanging out with her! Barbara makes you forget she is an officiant, because she feels more like a friend. We cannot thank her enough for making our ceremony the highlight of our day and our life.

    Sent on 10/15/2015
  • E

    Emerald · Married on 09/25/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Barbara was the best officiant we could ever hope for. She conducted a dream wedding. She was calm, assertive, funny, wise and truly connected with our path onto married life. She has become a close friend out of this experience and someone with whom we hope to always share special memories.

    Sent on 10/20/2015

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review