Skip to main content
Weddings

Avalon The Band Reviews

Avalon The Band

Avalon The Band

Holland, MI
5.0 out of 5 rating, 12 Reviews
View more information

12 Reviews

Rated
5.0
out of 5.0
Recommended by 100% of couples
  • Quality of service
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    5 out of 5 rating

Awards

  • 12
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2022 Winner

7 User photos

  • Blake
    Blake J. Married on 09/10/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing Band!

    Avalon the Band made our wedding a dream. They were able to quickly figure out music preferences and keep the vibes going all throughout the night. Absolutely loved how they made sure things were going according to plan by checking in with us, they learned specific songs to truly bring our vision to light, and were professional/courteous. We recommend them highly to anyone looking for a band!
  • Mandy
    Mandy H. Married on 06/18/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Avalon Band

    Way beyond the music! Rich brings not only musical talent, fun, professionalism but, a peace of mind. The assistance with ceremony mics, leading the flow of the evening, as well as, taking time to know us to make the evening extremely personal. Guests continue to tell us how personal the evening felt. Nothing canned and Rich played a big role in that for it to be a night of relaxation and joy.
    The sound is exceptional and ability to read the crowd is incredible.
    Rich and the Avalon Band will bring all their talents to your event for you to breath and enjoy!
  • Selga
    Selga M. Married on 06/04/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best decision ever!

    Hiring Avalon the Band for our wedding was the best decision!!! Rich and the guys were so easy to work with and a lot of fun. All our guests loved them as well, we keep getting more and more compliments. They played all the right songs and brought a great energy to our party.
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • S
    Stefanie S. Married on 10/09/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best Wedding Decision Ever--Hire This Band!

    This band was incredible!! I’m so happy we decided to go with them—they rocked all night! The number one thing guests were commenting on, I can’t tell you how many times I was asked, “Where did you FIND them?!” The songs they played were perfect; you can really tell they pay attention to the vibe of the crowd! They offer services for all sound needs throughout the day (mics for officiant, ceremony sound, cocktail hour, etc). Rich is an all-around good person: professional, kind, easy-going. Typically responds within a day, which I was so thankful for! And they’re completely affordable, it won’t cost you an arm and a leg to have great live music!! We knew we wanted a band but I hadn't had luck finding anyone close to us that was affordable, responsive, and had wedding experience, so we almost gave up and had a dj instead, but I'm so happy we found Avalon! I cannot say enough times they exceeded all expectations and made the reception so unforgettable! Thank you for all the energy and talent you brought to our special day!
  • N
    Nancy D. Married on 10/02/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Great Band

    Rich and Avalon The Band played at our daughter's wedding. They were awesome! Rich's communications skills were great, prompt and informative. He lead us through what to expect and gave us insight as this was our first wedding we hosted. They were able to handle sound for the wedding ceremony and it was set up without having to remind or ask, which was appreciated. Rich helped us find a string duo to play during the wedding ceremony too. Rich guided us through the beginning of the reception and helped facilitate the order of speeches and again provided sound for that. The band is great, fun and people danced all night. Rich is kind, honest and works very hard to make sure we had what we wanted. What more can you ask for!
  • Erika
    Erika Y. Married on 10/01/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best Wedding Band Ever

    Avalon the Band was the best decision for our wedding! The wedding party and every guest LOVED their vibe, music, and enthusiasm. They were easy to work with, totally amazing live, and just incredible. Scrap a DJ for your wedding or special occasion and go with a band...this band. Thanks for making our wedding day PERFECT!
  • T
    Todd G. Married on 06/26/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Great wedding band

    Rich did a great job communicating with us and doing sound/music for the ceremony. Avalon was high energy and a lot of fun at the reception too and got everyone out on the dance floor having fun. Would recommend!
  • G
    Gina L. Married on 06/08/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The music was awesome!

    We are so happy we got Avalon The Band! The planning process was fun and easy. The band sounded amazing and they played all the right songs to keep the dance floor hopping. Thanks again guys!
  • Theodore
    Theodore B. Married on 05/28/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    excellent and fun

    Rich and his band have played several parties at our home including a wedding. He and his guys are fun, professional, and work very hard to give everyone a great time. I couldn't recommend them more highly. I received many compliments on their sound as well.
  • Reba
    Reba G. Married on 05/01/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The absolute best band!!!

    We could not have been any happier with using Avalon the Band! They were incredible and kept the dance floor packed all night. Rich was awesome to work with, very responsive and customized the music selection for our tastes. We would hire them again in an instant!!
  • Abigail
    Abigail D. Married on 06/09/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Top notch wedding band

    They say things happen for a reason and our encounter with Rich and his band (Avalon The Band) was certainly just that. We (the bride and the groom) had originally signed a contract with another band, but due to Covid and regulations limiting crowd gatherings, we shifted our wedding from June to September and switched locations from an indoor venue in Grand Rapids to an outdoor venue in South Haven. Unfortunately, the original band was not available on the new date and we were left scrambling for a new band just months before the wedding. But this turned out to be such a blessing in disguise. We stumbled onto Avalon when the bride’s step-mom had chanced upon their website and had a great first conversation with Rich – he was pleasant, respectful and left a positive first impression. When we checked out the band’s website and the vides of their live performances, we knew we got lucky with this find. It did not take us long to decide to have Rich and Avalon perform at our wedding.

    There were several things that stood out about Rich and his band: (1) Avalon’s repertoire of music is extremely impressive. Don’t be fooled by their representative song list on their site; they actually have thousands of songs on their list (not kidding, it might be more as I don’t think there’s no song they can’t play) that range from Rock to Pop to Oldies and Classics. (2) The quality of this band is superlative. The groom is an amateur musician and has seen lots of world class bands in the past. Avalon’s performance was on point across the board – the vocals were full and rich, giving the songs a level of authenticity and a special live quality that almost all other live bands lack; the music was tight, polished and professional, making them sound like they’ve been touring for decades. They also brought their own lightshow that made the performance even more memorable as it felt like a professional concert. (3) What was most important was that Rich is a genuinely humble and good human being – after dealing with challenging and inflexible wedding vendors through the pandemic, this was a welcome reprieve. Rich was extremely professional, kind and flexible in working with us, and even though we were 3 time zones away, he stayed up late for calls and was extremely responsive with emails. We also had given him special requests for certain surprise songs which he had accommodated with ease. (4) Rich has a broad network of other talented musicians and he turned out to be a one-stop shop for all our music needs. He runs a music school and is plugged into the music community in Western Michigan. We were looking for a string quartet to play during the ceremony and he was able to find the perfect one (Brioso – please read separate review).

    Our overall experience with Rich was so amazing, we asked him to replace the other live musicians for the cocktail hour. Above all of this, Rich’s prices were extremely reasonable and were at a fraction of other quotes we had seen in the market. We wish we had found Avalon right from the start, but better late than never. The live band is one of the few things that people truly remember from weddings. Avalon gave such an impressive live performance that many felt they were at a professional, live rock concert and they ran to the dance floor dancing the night away with their shoes off – old people and young kids alike. Even days after the wedding, the guests were still talking about the music. Many at the wedding now know who Rich and Avalon are and they are excited to have them play at future events. One little suggestion for Rich and Avalon – please include more videos of your live performances on your website so people know how truly skilled you guys are at your craft. The decision to sign you will be so much easier with just a few more videos as your performances will speak for themselves. We scoured bands from all over Michigan and Chicago and you guys stood out for so many reasons. You are truly special and you totally rocked the night!

    https://www.avalontheband.com
  • P
    Patricia Married on 07/30/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Awesome band!!

    This band will NOT disappoint!!! Rich was so professional, we had a zoom meeting before to get details of what we wanted, very thorough! Rich even drove out of his way to go to the barn venue to scope out what we would need. He also had the sound equipment for the ceremony, played music before ceremony and played beautiful acoustics for cocktails. That does not even cover the music itself! They rocked the night! It was very hot on our day but the dance floor was never empty! I have had so many guests reach out to say how much they liked the band! Thank you Rich and the Avalon Band for giving my daughter and hubby a night they will never forget!