Weddings

Aurora Cellars Estate Reviews

Aurora Cellars Estate

Aurora Cellars Estate

Lake Leelanau, MI
Rating 4.8 out of 5, 26 Reviews
View more information

26 Reviews

Rated
4.8
out of 5.0
Recommended by 95% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.7 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.8 out of 5

Awards

  • 26
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner

33 User photos

Sort by:
  • Alicia
    Alicia Married on 10/17/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Great Location

    Such a beautiful venue! Entire staff was great with handling everything despite the terrible weather. We ended up having our ceremony in the tent due to wind and rain, but it was cozy and intimate which was great. We stayed at the farmhouse for the weekend and it was absolutely lovely. The vineyard and venue grounds are breathtaking and everyone enjoyed the location. Also received many compliments on the wine!
  • Heather
    Heather J. Married on 08/15/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Best day ever at the most gorgeous venue

    Kristi was amazing and so easy to work with throughout the planning process. The venue is beyond gorgeous and so spacious! Loved everything about having my wedding here
  • Justine
    Justine I. Married on 08/01/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Aurora Cellars is the best place to have a wedding!

    My husband Tom and I love Aurora Cellars! We had our wedding at Aurora Cellars 8-1-2020 and it was truly the most beautiful and happiest day of our lives! I fell in love with Aurora Cellars the first time we visited. I remember having a moment during our first tour of the Estate Property where I could envision all of our friends and family there having a great time. That’s when I knew this was the place we were going to get married.

    The ceremony site is so romantic! It was definitely one of the main parts of this venue that sold me. The big lush willow tree in front of the pond is breathtaking - I still get chills every time I see it! It was such an intimate and naturally beautiful place to say our vows and I do’s.

    The reception tent is such a lovely setting for a large outdoor gathering. The bistro lighting and chandeliers are charming touches to enhance this outdoor space. Watching all our guests enjoying dinner together at the big beautiful farm tables decorated with floral was a wonderful thing to see. Luckily we had perfect weather for our wedding so we kept the sides of the tent off. But if it does rain, there are sides that can be put on the tent and heaters in the tent if it gets cold.

    The farmhouse is amazing! This was another big part about the venue that sold me. The farmhouse was built in 1875 so it has a lot of unique history and character. It has been beautifully renovated to become this perfect mix of old world charm with modern day design. There are three wonderful gathering spaces in the farmhouse – the dining room, kitchen and living room, all of which are beautifully decorated. The dining room was a great place to eat breakfast with the wedding party the morning of and the morning after the wedding. The kitchen was the perfect place to do hair for the bridesmaids and myself – plenty of seating room, counter space, electrical outlets, etc. The living room was the ideal place for the wedding party to gather in before the ceremony. There are three big beautiful bedrooms upstairs that have plenty of closet space, extra pillows, blankets, towels, etc. I used one of the upstairs bedrooms to get ready in and do my first look pictures with my bridesmaids – it was very special. I loved the unique butler’s pantry - it was the perfect place to store all our extra wedding décor. There are also two very nice bathrooms in the farmhouse (one upstairs and one downstairs) and each one has a shower. The downstairs bathroom just off the butler’s pantry is bigger and had perfect lighting to do wedding makeup for my bridesmaids and myself. The best part about the farmhouse is that it is included in the venue price for you to stay in from Thursday – Sunday! I could not find another venue in Michigan that offered a deal as great as this! Having the farmhouse, ceremony site and reception site all next to each other made everything so convenient and easy!

    All our wedding planning and communication with Aurora Cellars was handled through the Events Manager – Kristi Brown. Our experience with Kristi was so wonderful from beginning to end. She made us feel like part of the Aurora Cellars family ever since our first meeting with her back in December of 2018. She is so friendly, professional, fun, trustworthy, knowledgeable and resourceful. She really helped us in the beginning by giving us great vendor, lodging, and transportation recommendations. We had great communication with her every step of the way and she always responded in a timely manner. She really knows what she is doing and we were so lucky to have her! She is amazing and truly a special member of the Aurora Cellars team.

    I really appreciated Kristi’s optimism, positive outlook and flexibility especially during the last few months leading up to our wedding in the midst of the COVID pandemic. Tom and I were really nervous we were not going to be able to safely have our wedding but Kristi assured us that we could and she made sure extra safety precautions were put in place for us to do so. Luckily the venue is very large and all outdoors so it was very easy for all the guests to social distance. Kristi provided us with a separate 20 x 30 dance tent at no additional cost. This was a great addition so that dancing could be kept separate from the reception tent and guests who did not feel comfortable being around the dance floor could socially distance from it. No more than 10 people sat in rows at the ceremony site and at the tables in the reception tent and each table/row was spaced apart by at least six feet. Sneeze guards were put up at the bar and appetizer tables. Extra bathrooms were put in place and they were cleaned every 2 hours. Hand sanitizer was provided on each table for the guests. Guests were required to wear their masks if not eating or drinking or if unable to stay at least 6 feet from others. Kristi even helped us make a last minute change for our rehearsal dinner when the governor announced new restrictions on gatherings the day before (no gatherings of more than 10 people indoors). She helped us change the location of our rehearsal dinner from the Aurora Cellar’s Tasting Room to the Estate Property in order to be in compliance with the governor’s new order. Kristi and the Aurora Cellar’s team were so amazing throughout this whole process. She stayed up to date on the COVID restrictions, made sure the venue was following all the precautions and ensured that we all still had a great time celebrating! I want to give a huge thank you to Kristi and the rest of the Aurora Cellars Team! You all are the best and we couldn’t have had a better wedding!

    Last but not least I just want to say that Aurora Cellars has amazing wine! Our favorite sparkling wine is the Serata Demi-Sec. Our favorite white wines are the Pinot Gris, Luminous and Late Harvest Vignoles. Our favorite red wines are the Cabernet Franc, Radiance, Blaufränkisch and Rosso.

    If you are interested in getting married at a winery in northern Michigan this is the one to do it at!
  • S
    Summer D. Married on 08/04/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    We had the most amazing day ever

    Aurora is the best place hands down to have a wedding, Kristie, Ava and the rest of the staff literally go above and beyond and they made our wedding day so special. Me and my husband joe keep saying we would relive this day over again and not change a thing! The venue is perfect and so beautiful and the wine is so good! If your indecisive on where you should get married look no further.. this is your place. I am so thankful for everything they did for us to make it such a seamless and beautiful wedding. I have gotten so many compliments from so many people saying this was the most beautiful and fun wedding they have been to, thank you so much aurora cellars for creating so many beautiful memories for us. We also rented out the beautiful cottage on the vineyard and loved it so much and are definitely talking about renting it out again next summer!!!
  • J
    Julie G. Married on 07/20/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Miracle Under the Willow

    The venue had us when we saw the beautiful willow tree nestled next to a landscaped brook of water over looking the estates gorgeous vineyard. The tent with concrete floors, twinkle lights and beautiful beaded chandeliers make for a lovely intimate setting for a reception . The team at Aurora is professional, passionate, and responsive. After a year of planning and every detail thought out with special care , the only thing we could not control was the weather . We had rain (pouring rain) hours before the wedding and back up plans in place to hold ceremony under the tent . Thirty minutes prior to the wedding the sky’s parted and our events planner Miranda from Sincerely Ginger walked in and asked us to make the last call. She said the team from Aurora were drying off every chair !!! Kristi was not going to have us be the first wedding not under the Willow.
    The team , the venue , the cottage for getting ready make for a magical place to be married .
  • Nicole
    Nicole Married on 06/22/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Beautiful venue, great inclusions, helpful coordinator

    We just held our wedding for 140 guests at Aurora Cellars Estate and could not be happier with the entire process and how everything turned out! Kristi is the events coordinator at Aurora and she is top-notch. No question or inquiry went unanswered, she was present for every site visit and was truly an expert on not only the venue, but on the entire Leelanau peninsula and local vendors. It's because of her organization and meticulous planning that our day went over without a hitch! The on-site farmhouse was such a wonderful amenity to the venue package. I loved getting to watch my day come together from start to finish, all while getting pampered inside with my bridesmaids. The only complaint is that we got married during fruit fly season, so we had some unexpected guests at our rehearsal dinner and in the house. Nothing a few traps couldn't fix! Overall, highly recommend this beautiful venue for your wedding weekend!
  • Sheri
    Sheri B. Married on 09/02/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Great Experience

    Allison and I had a wonderful experience with having our wedding at Aurora Cellars! Kristi and her team did a great job of making our day so special. Plus they have great wine, so we will be back on our next trip to Traverse City! :)

    Aurora Cellars Estate's reply:

    Sheri, we loved celebrating with you and Allison on your most special day, please visit soon!

    Kristi
  • T
    Tracy Married on 06/02/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The setting was perfect!! Staff was extremely accommodating, easy to work with, and very responsive. Kristi from Aurora was always available and really made sure we had the best experience possible! She had a bottle of wine with a personalized note waiting for us in the farm house. Kristi even went to her house to get a Kitchenaid mixer so that our wedding cake could be made at the farm house the day before the wedding. Everything Aurora includes with their venue we could not find anywhere else. We cannot recommend and praise them enough!
  • C
    Caitlin Married on 09/30/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Aurora Cellars was the perfect venue for our wedding! They truly went above and beyond my husband and my expectations. Not only is the venue gorgeous, but Kim was great to work with and met our every need. The staff also made sure everything was in tip top shape and was on top of everything from start to finish. And on top of that, we were able to stay in the beautiful farmhouse on the property, which was the perfect place to get ready with my bridal party. I could not have imagined a more beautiful and perfect place to get married and we cannot wait to come back to visit for our anniversary next year! I would recommend this venue to anyone looking to get married in Northern Michigan!
  • A
    Ashlee Married on 08/12/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Gorgeous venue with attentive staff!
  • A
    Anna Married on 07/29/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Most beautiful venue with everything you need on site! The farmhouse was beautiful and so was the tent. The staff is AMAZING and the wide was GREAT!
  • P
    Paul Married on 07/15/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Great wedding venue. Kim is wonderful to work with.
  • L
    Leslie Married on 10/01/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We can't say enough great things about our experience having our Wedding at Aurora Cellars. From the farmhouse to the vineyards, everything was perfect. Kim is wonderful to work with and makes things super easy. And to add to all of that, the wine is FANTASTIC!!!! We recommend Aurora Cellars to everyone we talk to.
  • C
    Carrie Married on 08/27/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We couldn't have been happier with Aurora Cellars for our Wedding reception last August! It rained like mad but the venue was beautiful and everyone had an amazing time! Kim and all the staff at Aurora were professional and answered all of our questions in the weeks leading up to the event...made the day a breeze!!!
  • S
    Stephanie Married on 08/27/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Couldn't have picked a better venue! The staff and the fast response time was just beyond amazing!!
  • L
    Leaanne Married on 06/11/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    My daughter's wedding took place at the beautiful Aurora Cellars on June 11, 2016. Since I was new to the area and my daughter had recently moved out of the state I relied heavily on Kim's expertise and recommendations. Kim and her staff were available every step of the way. Always positive, helpful, and accommodating! I highly recommend this wedding venue. This special day was picture perfect for our family. Cheers to Kim, Kara, and the wonderful staff!??
  • A
    Adrienne Married on 05/28/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    When my fiance and I booked Aurora Cellars as our wedding venue, not much was done with the property as they were redoing the grounds. We took a leap of faith and I could not be happier with our decision! They kept us abreast of the updates as they happened and all the promises that were made prior to the renovation had exceeded our expectations by the time our wedding came around. Kim was amazing- her responsiveness was great and she made herself available any time we needed her help. We received so many compliments on the venue and the location- it was absolutely picturesque. We also stayed at the farmhouse which was beautiful and so convenient. I couldn't be more pleased with our choice to use Aurora Cellars as our venue!

    Aurora Cellars Estate's reply:

    Congratulations Adrienne and Matt. Beautiful Day with you all!!
  • A
    Ashley Married on 08/15/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    So far working with Aurora Cellars Estate has truly been a pleasure. Their enthusiasm, attention to detail, and quick response time has made this wedding planning a smooth and fun process! My favorite part about Aurora Cellars, besides their fantastic wine (added bonus), is how they really care about what you want and need out of a venue. They will go out of their way to make sure your wedding is everything you dreamed of and more! We can't wait for 8/15/15!
  • User2300538 2+ years ago
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    My now husband and I were looking for a venue for our wedding in the TC area. We stumbled across Aurora Cellars. We had a small wedding of 45. I worked with Kim and she was fantastic. She was very accommodating, easy to get a hold of and flexible. There is a farm house onsite as well that we stayed at during the wedding festivities....1 word....gorgeous. I would highly recommend this venue whether you are having a small wedding or large. They have updated their space to accommodate large weddings.

    Aurora Cellars Estate's reply:

    Thank you Monika, Beautiful Weekend Wedding. We love your photos under the willow!
  • Clare
    Clare R. Married on 06/15/2019
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Magical wedding venue!

    Hosting our wedding at Aurora Cellars was absolutely the best decision! It was such a joy to work with Kristi and the Aurora team. Our planning experience went so smoothly due to quick and easy communication, and the suggestions and assistance of Kristi. The space is so magical and our guests commented that it was the most beautiful setting they have ever attended a wedding at. The weather was looking especially rainy and cold for our day. I was feeling very upset and stressed, but Kristi and her team worked alongside our day of coordinator to create the perfect plan and back up plan. Thankfully, our day was perfectly sunny and warm...but it was so nice knowing we had a plan either way. In addition to the 3 bedroom farmhouse included in the wedding package , I absolutely recommend renting the vineyard cottage for the wedding party or wedding guests. It was such a cute space that was also conveniently located on the property. It was so nice to have my immediate family and the bridal party both stay on site for the weekend. Also, the wine was amazing! We are so happy with how everything turned out, and our wedding would have not been as perfect anywhere else

    Aurora Cellars Estate's reply:

    My Dear Clare, Team Aurora absolutely loved being a part of your special day, so thankful for your kind words. Please come visit as often as life allows!

    Kristi
  • K
    Kelly Married on 08/05/2017
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We absolutely loved our wedding at Aurora Cellars. We're from Texas and Kim and her crew made everything so easy to handle from afar. They were very accommodating and willing to do whatever kind of setup requested but also were happy to provide suggestions regarding what has worked well there in the past. They even allowed us to bring our dog to be part of the ceremony which was was extra special to us. We had so many compliments on how beautiful the location was and if I could do it all over again I wouldn't change a thing.
  • T
    Tuesday Married on 08/08/2015
    Rating 4.7 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Kim is extremely pleasant to work with as is everyone else that works at Aurora. Our wedding turned out beautiful and they worked hard to make sure it did. Kim was very open to any feedback I had and was super flexible as time went on and there was little changes here and there. She was also very familiar with my other vendors which made them working together seamless.
    The property is a perfect mix of charm and elegance. The farm house was so convenient I would have loved to stay all week. Definitely a great place to have a wedding.
  • User2344792 2+ years ago
    Rating 4.6 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Kim at Aurora Cellars was extremely accommodating and the venue itself was incredible given the amazing value we got having the rehearsal, ceremony and reception all at Aurora Cellars. Not to mention the fact we were able to stay at the beautifully restored vintage farm house on the property Friday-Monday. Highly recommended!
  • A
    Alissa Married on 07/01/2017
    Rating 4.1 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 3.5 out of 5
    We LOVED Aurora! The venue is incredible, the staff are great, and everything was pretty much perfect!