Ashley's Salon Reviews

18 | Biddeford, ME
See photos, pricing and details

18 Reviews for Ashley's Salon

Recommended by 97% of couples

4.8 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.8
  • Professionalism 4.8
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 4.8
  • Average response time 4.9

Awards

18

4 User photos

Order by:
  • K

    Kaitlyn · Married on 08/08/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ashley was fantastic!

    I can not thank Ashley enough for her time and expertise. She was willing to come on-site this summer for a small wedding. She gave each bridesmaid the time and attention they wanted. She made me (bride) feel like a princess. I received many compliments due to her work. She KNOWS her stuff, which makes the process so much easier. She can look at photos and put it into action. Her skill level is impressive!

    I highly recommend Ashley. She is affordable, professional, patient, and kind. Can’t ask for more on your special day!

    Sent on 08/13/2020
  • M

    Melanie · Married on 08/10/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great job - Wedding/Bridesmaid Makeup!

    Thank you Ashley (and your assistant) for the wedding!
    I did some major shopping around, and she came out to be the most reasonable, and I also got to have her come over to do my wedding makeup at the hotel we were staying. Her and her assistant (which was her mother) were very kind and professional. We had 5 bridesmaids + a flower girl and my (bridal) makeup and hair so there was a lot going on! She did exactly what we asked, and there was no up charge for the eyelashes which was great! Thank you for making my wedding great and doing a great job!!

    Sent on 09/11/2019
  • E

    Erin · Married on 09/22/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ashley's Salon is by far the best salon I have ever been to. I have been going to the salon for years. They do exactly what you request and the prices are very reasonable. Very friendly, very reliable, and you will LOVE your hair and makeup for your special day. Ashley did my hair and makeup for my engagement photos and I got so many compliments. I am planning to have Ashley's Salon do the hair and makeup for myself and bridesmaids on my wedding day. If you book this salon for your day, you will feel beautiful. I highly recommend them!
    (The price listed below is for the hair and makeup for my engagement photos)

    Sent on 09/14/2016

    Ashley's Salon's reply:

    Thanks so much for your great review! I'm so glad I got to do your hair and makeup for your engagement photos and I'm so looking forward to doing your wedding day as well :)
  • A

    Adela · Married on 08/18/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ashley's Salon was the perfect choice for my wedding. She and her mom are incredibly skilled with hair - I knew I wanted braids in my up-do and that not everyone does braids well but Ashley sure does. I have long hair and a lot of it and she did a fantastic job with it. Ashley's approach to makeup is also great - enough so the photos look great but not so much that my husband didn't recognize me. She also did hair and makeup for my bridal party and a few members of my family, which was a lot of work, but she and her mom pulled it off no problem. I should also say that they traveled to my venue, arrived on time, and had us ready on time, which saved us a lot of stress. Great job ladies!

    Sent on 09/09/2018
  • E

    Erin · Married on 11/04/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ashley traveled to our wedding venue on 11/4 to do hair and make up for myself and the bridal party. Everyone looked gorgeous! As someone who has been in multiple weddings, I can say I have never been in one where all of the bridal party was happy with their hair and make up-- except with Ashley, everyone loved their look and were very satisfied. She was friendly, accommodating, reasonably priced and everyone was ready with time to spare. Would highly recommend!

    Sent on 11/17/2017
  • Kelsey

    Kelsey · Married on 09/17/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ashley's work on my hair quite literally stole the show. I received more compliments about my hair than I did my dress and it was the talk of the night.

    Ashley was quick to respond to my messages and questions and was so easy going. She was upfront and honest about things I would need to achieve the style I was looking for and also extremely flexible with any indecisiveness my bridesmaids had about whether or not they were getting their hair done and what they wanted.

    I took a chance and hired her without a hair trial, as we were 4 hours away from her location, and she did not at all disappoint. I had a reference image for the style I wanted and she somehow made it even better. She also did hairstyles for my mother and 2 of my bridesmaids and all of them looked absoluetely gorgeous.

    Her pricing was also super reasonable, which was what attracted me to her services in the first place. My hair was only $80 and my girls' paid $60. Her travel fee, for an hour and a half drive, was only $50. She arrived on time and finished within the timeframe we discussed.

    I am so happy with her work and my decision to hire her!

    Sent on 09/19/2017
  • K

    Kristen · Married on 09/01/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ashley did an amazing job on everyone’s hair and makeup! I seriously have never felt that pretty in my entire life. She was super nice and really worked with us to make sure our hair and makeup turned out just like we wanted. My hair and makeup stayed perfect the entire night!

    Sent on 10/01/2017
  • A

    Amanda · Married on 08/19/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ashley did an amazing job with myself and all of my bridesmaid's makeup! Everyone was very pleased and received many compliments from guests! The cost for makeup services was extremely reasonable! I highly recommend to any future bride!

    Sent on 09/02/2017

    Ashley's Salon's reply:

    Thank you! Everyone was lovely to work with.
  • S

    Sharra · Married on 06/11/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ashley was wonderful and very easy to work with! As an out of state bride I was very happy to work with someone who was so prompt at replying and who was able to work with my schedule. I would absolutely recommend Ashley and her team to anyone!

    Sent on 06/19/2017
  • H

    Haylee · Married on 05/13/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ashley did my hair and makeup, and she did a BEAUTIFUL job. She incorporated everything that I brought with me and requested. She was very pleasant and I left very happy!

    Sent on 09/15/2016

    Ashley's Salon's reply:

    Thanks for your review! So glad you loved the results and I hope your wedding was amazing!
  • V

    Vanessa · Married on 04/16/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ashley did an incredible job on all of my bridesmaids make up. It was a very natural yet glam look. The makeup stayed in place all day from the ceremony starting at 10am until the reception ended around 9!

    Sent on 09/18/2016

    Ashley's Salon's reply:

    Thank you for your review! You all looked beautiful and we are happy to hear you loved our work.
  • User7221655 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ashley did my hair and makeup as well as my 5 bridesmaids' for my wedding on 1-1-15. She was very accommodating and willing to travel on site to the hotel the morning of the wedding. I called Ashley a couple months before my wedding day to check on her availability and was extremely pleased to hear her pricing and the services she offered as compared to other hairdressers/makeup artists i had checked out. I was able to meet her for a trial prior to the big day and she looked at a few pictures i had pinned on pinterest and absolutely nailed the hairstyle i was looking for on the first try! She was even willing to try a few different styles at my trial, but didn't need to! We discussed a few tiny tweaks to the style that she would do on the actual day and she was able to recreate it even more beautifully for the wedding. She also did an amazing job on hair and makeup for my bridesmaids and did everything in a very timely fashion without feeling like we were being rushed. Six people is a lot to fit into one morning and she was able to do it without a problem and have us all ready and looking great on time for pictures! If you are looking for a talented, professional and accommodating stylist for your wedding day, call Ashley ??

    Sent on 09/19/2016

    Ashley's Salon's reply:

    Thanks for writing this review! We were so happy to do your wedding and I am so glad you loved how it all turned out!
  • K

    Kristen · Married on 10/11/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ashley is easy going, very professional, and takes alot of pride in her work. If your looking for an affordable, hard working, pleasant person to do your hair for your next special occasion she is your gal!!

    Sent on 09/15/2016

    Ashley's Salon's reply:

    We appreciate your review!! Thank you so much!
  • User7212462 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ashley was so flexable. When my original plan fell through only two weeks before my wedding my friend suggested her. She was amazing. She opened her salon on a day she was not opened to do my hair for my big day. She learned and successful did my hair style perfect for my big day! I have continued to see her for all my hair needs since. She listens and does just as you asks. I would recommend her for anyone who needs your special day to go just perfect or whoever needs just a great hairstyle.

    Sent on 09/17/2016

    Ashley's Salon's reply:

    Thanks so much for your review! I was happy to help last minute and so glad everything worked out great.
  • H

    Haley · Married on 09/03/2016

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    Ashley is wonderful!! She does great work and her ability to help you find the right look is so helpful! I highly recommend her!! My hair was up and stayed up- didn't budge one bit!!! And all 6 of my bridesmaids hair looked so beautiful- she created styles that they felt beautiful in. AND she's the sweetest, very kind - thanks for your beautiful work!!

    Sent on 09/27/2016

    Ashley's Salon's reply:

    Thank you for your review! We had a lot of fun and everyone was great to work with. The location was gorgeous!
  • K

    Katelynn · Married on 09/24/2016

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.5

    Ashley's Salon responds quickly to your inquiries. She's reasonably priced (I spent $65 for hair and make up), and she made me look amazing on my wedding day. I wish I could attach pictures to show how beautiful we all looked!

    Sent on 10/11/2016

    Ashley's Salon's reply:

    Thank you! I did get some pictures and put them in the Photos section. Your wedding looked beautiful!
  • S

    Sara · Married on 09/05/2015

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Ashley is amazing! If you want a friendly stylist who has creative talent, set up a time with her! She did amazing work for my wedding, making sure she was not only early, but came prepared because we had a consultation beforehand to find my perfect hairstyle. For affordable prices, friendly service, and great work ethic, book at Ashley's Salon!

    Sent on 09/15/2016

    Ashley's Salon's reply:

    Thank you so much!
  • K

    Katie · Married on 10/20/2018

    3.0
    • Quality of service:
      2.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      2.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Wedding Makeup

    I'm disappointed to have to write a negative review for Ashley's Salon, which I used on my wedding day. The three makeup artists that came to our location were incredibly friendly, upbeat and personable, however the services provided were less than I had hoped for. Each bridesmaid (7 of them) had there makeup completed, got up to look in the mirror and had to return to have the stylist fix something, such as blending the makeup so there was not a line across their face, have their entire eye makeup re-done, etc. The mother of the bride had to have her eye makeup completely redone, as it was smudged and uneven. One bridesmaid completely removed the makeup and did it herself as it was uneven and blotchy. Upon completion of my makeup, I noticed that no blemishes or sun spots had been concealed, resulting in one of the bridesmaids fixing it. By the time we got to the reception, our makeup was barely noticeably, and once again we had a bridesmaid go through and fix everyones makeup.

    Sent on 10/22/2018

    Ashley's Salon's reply:

    Everyone seemed very happy with our work, and several of the bridesmaids even said they loved it. We used the same brands of products I've been using for several years and brides often email me after their wedding saying it stayed so well, and as you can see from all my other reviews, my brides and wedding parties have always been happy with our work. We used primer, setting spray, and setting liquid which always makes it stay all day and night.

    We even asked everyone before we left if anyone needed a touch up or wanted anything changed at least twice as we always do. Everyone seemed happy and thanked us.

    We even got nice tips, so this review is a bit shocking to us.

    We start with a light layer of foundation because we find often people want a very natural look (especially when they don’t usually wear makeup), but the foundation is very buildable meaning you can apply more until it has the amount of coverage you want. (It’s a lot easier to add more than to remove it and start over). I show clients in the mirror what it looks like as I go, asking if they want more or less or anything different, giving them several chances to say something if they want me to change it, because I know some people are afraid to speak up.

    Some people want a very thin layer of makeup, especially if they don’t usually wear makeup, and some people want heavy coverage. If anyone wanted more coverage after we finished, they could have asked for it and we would have been happy to do that for them, so I wish you would have looked in the mirror again while we were there and asked me to apply more coverage if you wanted it. That would have been easy to do. Usually people let us know while we are there if they want something changed, so this is a first.

    As for the line on one bridesmaid’s face, I didn’t personally see it because I didn’t do her face makeup, but it was quite dark in the room (the sun was barely up) when we arrived so it was probably just an honest mistake that we quickly corrected when she asked us to.

    We had no idea you were unhappy. You should have just let us know. Even if you would have called me later that day I would have dropped everything and come back to do whatever you needed. I would have redone everything no problem if you'd asked me to.

    I'm still not sure why the eyeliner smudged on your mom, but it was only the eyeliner that smudged, not all of her eye makeup, and I fixed it right away. It was a gel eyeliner so either she opened her eyes before it dried (which happens sometimes even when we ask people to wait one minute before opening their eyes) but my assistant used a spare eyeliner I don't often use and maybe it just stopped working well, I'm really not sure.

    As soon I removed the eyeliner right away and re-applied it with the one I normally use, you came over and looked and even said it looked good after. So, again, you seemed happy.

    I'd much rather have someone tell me they don't like my work while I'm there so I can redo it than be afraid to hurt my feelings (it doesn’t hurt my feelings at all) and tell me after the wedding when it's too late.

    This situation could have been easily resolved on the day of.

    It seems like this was a big miscommunication. Someone should have said something. We would have been happy to do whatever you needed to make it right.

    I’ve done dozens of weddings for several years and this is the first negative feedback or review I’ve ever received.

    Also, you didn't contact me before posting this, so I was quite shocked.

    Again, we are very sorry.