Ariel Johnson Reviews

65 | Biddeford, ME
See photos, pricing and details

65 Reviews for Ariel Johnson

Recommended by 100%

65
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0

2 User photos

Ariel Johnson 1
Ariel Johnson 2
Sort by:
  • Maria

    Maria Fraser · Married on 06/29/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Professional and Fun!

    We had the pleasure of working with Ariel on our wedding day! Ariel was extremely responsive and thorough in her communication. She maintained a professional attitude throughout every part of our wedding process and it is clear that she is committed to making you look beautiful while maintaining ethical beauty practices. For example, Ariel strictly uses cruelty-free beauty products.

    After my trial, I realized some of the products did not react well with my skin. Ariel was super understanding and had me come back for a second trial. This certainly eased my concerns and everything turned out beautifully! She showed up early, awake and prepared, and made sure we finished before schedule! I had a bit of a melt-down about flowers during my application and Ariel was so calming during the situation. She truly made myself and my girls feel beautiful and I cannot thank you enough for being so fabulous throughout each step of the way!

    Sent on 07/24/2019
  • K

    Katie Lozano · Married on 06/15/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    She is a pro!

    Ariel was fantastic! She was very professional in her communication leading up to our wedding day. Her studio in Bath, Maine is beautiful and Instagram/Pinterest worthy! She made me feel very at ease and comfortable, and did my hair and makeup exactly as I had envisioned it. On top of her absolutely flawless technique, she uses high end, cruelty free products, which was important for me. My bridesmaids and I had so much fun with Ariel, I highly recommend her!

    Sent on 07/17/2019
  • H

    Heidi · Married on 07/21/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    All I can say is WOW! Ariel seriously is wonderful! She was the sweetest person to work with and was absolutely amazing with hair! She truly made me feel like a princess on my wedding day. She also did an amazing job doing my bridesmaids hair as well, they all looked absolutely stunning! She is to easy to talk to and communicate with and really spent the time looking at photos and getting everything just right. She is phenomenal!

    Sent on 08/08/2018
    Ariel Johnson 3
    Ariel Johnson 4
  • A

    Alison · Married on 09/30/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ariel is amazing. She did my makeup in my friend's wedding and I knew then I wanted to use her again for my own wedding! My wedding was a semi-destination wedding and my schedule was crazy so I didn't get to see her again until the hair and makeup trial...2 days before the wedding. She was extremely accommodating throughout the entire planning process and came to me to do the makeup trial. I actually preferred doing the trial close to the wedding. I trusted her completely and was very happy on the day of the wedding! Her airbrush technique is awesome and my mother, mother-in-law, and bridesmaids loved that the makeup didn't look too heavy. The morning of the wedding couldn't have gone smoother without rushing. Highly recommend her!!

    Sent on 10/09/2017
  • B

    Bre · Married on 09/09/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ariel is a gem! She is talented, patient, sweet, and such a pleasure to work with. I felt comfortable telling her what I wanted because she is so understanding, and clearly wants to make sure you are happy. And you will be, she is such a talent!
    She did makeup for my whole party as well as my hair. She brought along a great team to help with hair. The morning felt calm and not at all rushed because she budgets just the right amount of time. I am so, so glad Ariel was part of our day she was a huge part in starting the day off just right!

    Sent on 10/26/2017
  • Laura

    Laura · Married on 08/26/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ariel is talented, honest, and personable. I am so glad I booked her services for my wedding last month. When I first booked Ariel in summer 2016, I had no idea of my plans for my wedding a year later - I just had a date and a venue, and I knew I wanted to use her services. Ariel was flexible in working with me and staying in touch over the course of the year. I did my trial two days before my wedding, and she was so lovely to me and my mom. Ariel took the time to explain things, answer questions, and provided great feedback. The morning of the wedding, she and her helpers from Bonnie's A Cut Above were fantastic - they were relaxed, skilled and chatty. Ariel is a winner, and she made me feel beautiful for my wedding. She helped initially with hair for everyone and then focused on make up while the other ladies finished up the bridesmaids hair. We were ready early on our timeline and her promptness kicked off a smooth wedding day. Ariel has done weddings with 15 bridesmaids before - even though she is a one-woman show, she has excellent contacts around New England to handle bigger weddings. We loved her!

    Sent on 09/12/2017
  • Halesjade

    Haleigh · Married on 09/24/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ariel was my hair stylist and makeup artist for my wedding day on September 24, 2016 in Southport, Maine. She is amazing! She was easy to communicate with during planning, always quick to answer questions, and went above and beyond to make sure I was happy. We did a hair and makeup trial about a month before my wedding so we got to meet and I instantly loved her down-to-earth personality and enthusiasm. She was so nice and I felt so comfortable with her. Plus, I absolutely loved the airbrush makeup and hair style that she did on me and didn’t need to change a thing! On the day of the wedding, she made sure to stick to the timeline and got everyone finished in the perfect amount of time. It was so fun getting ready in the morning with my bridesmaids, and Ariel fit right in with us! All 6 of my bridesmaids loved their hair and makeup- she made everyone feel beautiful! Ariel is so talented and I feel so lucky that I got to work with her. I highly recommend her!

    Sent on 10/17/2016
  • D

    Kate · Married on 08/27/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    There is truly no one better than Ariel when it comes to gorgeous hair and make-up! She was like a friend throughout the entire wedding planning process and put me at ease on my big day. She had our whole wedding party looking stunning and feeling great. She is highly professional, responsive and does amazing work. I highly recommend Ariel!

    Sent on 01/07/2017
  • K

    Kelly · Married on 07/14/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I can't say enough about Ariel! She was amazing from the first time I met her for my trial! I showed her a picture of my vision and she went with it! We got ready at the wedding venue, so she traveled and brought another stylist to help with all the girls. Our hair and makeup was beautiful!! We had an outdoor wedding, and we all looked great late in to the night! Ariel was very easy to communicate with and responsive to all our needs! Thank you Ariel, you made our day extra special!!

    Sent on 10/04/2016
  • A

    Alyssa · Married on 06/25/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had Ariel do the hair and makeup for our bridal party. I am SO glad we chose her! She was so easy to contact via email and phone when we had questions. She was prompt to get back to us every time. On our wedding day Ariel arrived on time, and even stayed after a little while to help me with my veil! She was so friendly and all of the bridesmaids loved their look! She listened carefully to each girls request on hair and makeup. I would HIGHLY recommended her!

    Sent on 07/02/2016
  • M

    Molly · Married on 06/19/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ariel was wonderful in every way – HIRE HER! Most importantly, she made me feel so stunningly beautiful, and I could tell from the way my now husband looked at me that day (and after the trial), that he agreed! Ariel is an amazing listener, she took my minor revisions into consideration to make everything just perfect! As a New York City girl, I loved that she has classy and trendy city sophistication standards as well as business professionalism mixed with her utterly sweet Maine charm. Ariel is fantastic at taking a picture and creating a mirror image with any hairstyle. She was also able to complete hair and/or make-up for eight women before my wedding and was willing to stick around to freshen me up in between the first look and the ceremony!

    Further, Ariel’s contract is straight forward and easy. From the moment I found her website online, through contract negotiations, to such a fun trial and wedding day prep, Ariel was amazing!!

    Sent on 07/11/2016
  • K

    Kelly · Married on 06/18/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I cannot say enough about how great it was working with Ariel. I had her do my hair and makeup for my engagement photos as well as my wedding. She was extremely responsive over email and helped to organize makeup and hair for 8 people (bridesmaids + mothers). On my wedding day, it felt like a good friend was there to hang out with us. She fit in perfectly and all of the girls looked gorgeous. I can easily say that I have never felt as beautiful as I did on my wedding day and have Ariel to thank for that. The airbrush makeup lasted ALL night and I have a lot of skin redness. Ariel also made me beautiful hair clips that went perfectly with my dress and created my hair style perfectly with very little direction. THANK YOU ARIEL!!

    Sent on 07/06/2016
  • M

    Meghan · Married on 06/10/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ariel was wonderful. I've never felt so beautiful thanks to her! I met Ariel at the trial just one week before my wedding and she was open to my ideas but also expressed her opinions to help me come to decisions around my hair flowers and lipstick color. She arrived right on time for my wedding and she was super flexible with timing (we were moving faster than expected and so there was some downtime where she had to wait around before doing my hair/makeup but she was very cool with that). Everyone loved their hair and makeup and it looked good throughout the entire evening. Thank you so much. I would highly recommend Ariel to anyone for their hair and makeup needs!

    Sent on 07/06/2016
  • J

    Julia · Married on 04/02/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ariel was such a delight to work with before and during the wedding- she's unbelievably knowledgable about her work and also helped me feel like a part of the process. She's responsive, professional, and just really fun and easygoing. Highly recommend!

    Sent on 04/15/2016
  • K

    Kate · Married on 11/07/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ariel created stunning hair and makeup for my wedding. Not only did she make me, my bridesmaids, mother, and mother-in-law look amazing, she was such a pleasure to work with. She is responsive, prompt, prepared, and incredibly talented. She made a potentially stressful, hectic day feel relaxed and fun--we had a blast! I highly recommend her!

    Sent on 11/14/2015
  • S

    Sabrina · Married on 11/06/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    From the first moment that I got in touch with Ariel, she explained the process and services she offered clearly and concisely. During our trial, she was so patient with me and talked me through a lot of what she was doing since I had never had my hair or makeup done professionally before. She requested that if I wanted any changes to get in touch with her. I felt so bad showing her so many photos of ideas for hair and makeup, but Ariel assured me that they were all extremely helpful and the more photos that I had, the better because she could get a sense for what I wanted.

    On the day of the wedding, Ariel showed up early and breezed through my mother, mother-in-law, and my maid of honor's hair and makeup. When it came time for me, I mentioned that the florist was bringing flowers for my hair and she was so excited about it that it put me at ease since I wasn't entirely sure if I wanted flowers in my hair until that very moment. When the flowers arrived, I told Ariel that she could arrange them in any way that she saw fit and she knocked it out of the park! Everyone commented on how gorgeous my hair was and my makeup was beautifully done as well.

    Ariel went above and beyond any expectation that I had for my special day. Not only was she prompt and professional, she was also extremely sweet and provided me with encouragement to help calm my nerves leading up to the big moment. I'm so glad that she was there to share our special day and I would recommend her to everyone!

    Sent on 12/29/2015
  • C

    Cheryl · Married on 10/10/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ariel provided trials, hair and makeup for my entire wedding party including the flower girl. She was punctual and professional. She did an amazing job even though it was crowded and chaotic. Every member of my party loved their hairstyles and makeup. Thank you for making us look and feel beautiful!

    Sent on 11/28/2015
  • J

    Jenni · Married on 08/29/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I can't say enough about Ariel Johnson!! Leading up to the wedding she was very prompt in responding to all of my communication, we had a great hair/make up trial (she actually met me at Sally beauty supply to select extensions that best matched my hair) and I went into my wedding day feeling completely comfortable.

    The day of the wedding she was on time, organized and ready to go! She had 10 people to do for makeup not including my hair & make up - everyone looked absolutely gorgeous...very natural and the best versions of themselves. She was great about customizing a package that worked for me, traditional powder foundation for the bridesmaids and airbrush for me (which looked flawless and I would highly recommend).

    Ariel is very talented and up to date on technique and trends. I really couldn't of been happier with how I looked and the experience I had - make sure to reserve her early as she books up quickly!

    Sent on 09/16/2015
  • User5430666 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I LOVED working with Ariel! She's so sweet and thoughtful and has amazing instincts. I'm not a girly girl and don't wear a lot of makeup or do fancy things with my hair, so relied on her expertise to make me look beautiful on my wedding day. I felt amazing and was so relaxed working with Ariel. She was also patient and flexible with my mom and bridesmaids. They also looked gorgeous!
    We did a trial together a few months before the wedding and she remembered every detail so I didn't have to. I could not recommend Ariel more highly!!

    Sent on 10/04/2015
  • L

    Linda · Married on 08/15/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I'd never really thought about having someone do my make-up for our wedding but I am so happy I found Ariel. We met for a pre-wedding trial (hair and make-up) and she really listened to what I was after and came up with a beautiful, creative option that was simple, natural and completely classy, and lasted all day long. She also did hair on the day for my mum, my mother-in-law, and best friend, and everyone was really happy with her work. If you've never thought about having your make-up done professionally for your wedding, I would absolutely recommend it. Not only will your make-up look great in photos, but you feel like a Princess. Thank you Ariel.

    Sent on 10/11/2015
  • S

    Sara · Married on 08/05/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ariel was amazing. My hair and makeup was perfect. She was sweet, punctual, and professional. I highly recommend Ariel.

    Sent on 09/30/2015
  • M

    Meg · Married on 08/01/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ariel did my hair and makeup for my wedding and was amazing! I had very high standards as I used to be a professional cheerleader so I know quite a bit about "glam" hair and makeup. I also live out of state now so I didn't do a trial. Needless to say I was a bit nervous, but as soon as Ariel walked in the door I knew I was in great hands. She's very professional, really knows her stuff, and was a joy to hang out with. I loved my final look and it was something I definitely couldn't have done on my own. Ariel also did the makeup for my bridesmaids, mother, and mother in law and everyone was really happy and felt so beautiful. Could not recommend Ariel more strongly!

    Sent on 10/28/2015
  • K

    Krista · Married on 07/24/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ariel is an amazing hair stylist and makeup artist! It was a pleasure working with Ariel on my wedding day, as well as, throughout the year. She is responsive, professional, very talented, and has a great personality! Ariel helped create a really fun and happy atmosphere in the get ready room the day of my wedding. All of the women enjoyed their experience and their makeup was beautiful! Thank you, Ariel, for everything! You helped me feel beautiful and confident on my wedding day!

    Sent on 10/06/2015
  • B

    Bethany · Married on 07/18/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ariel was one of my favorite vendors we used for the big day. She is so sweet and easy to work with. It felt more like hanging out with a friend the day of the wedding than anything else. Well, a friend that made us gorgeous! :) She went out of her way to travel to me to do my trial, which was a life saver in the hectic weeks before the wedding. During the trial she didn't leave until I was 100% happy and felt like my look was complete. Before the trial I had heard mixed reviews about airbrush make up. After the trial there wasn't a doubt in my mind, it looked great and Ariel does an amazing job. It was nice to have one less thing to worry about. I have received numerous compliments about how stunning yet naturally beautiful I looked for the wedding and I owe that all to Ariel! She is amazing!

    Sent on 10/04/2015
  • M

    Michele · Married on 07/11/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    From the Mother of the Bride perspective, Ariel was a joy to work with from the initial contact to the prewedding consultation,right through the wedding. She has an easy going, pleasant personality coupled with an extensive knowledge base and and amazing talent for applying makeup and styling hair. She listened carefully to the ideas my daughter had for the look she had in mind for her wedding day. Ariel had great suggestions on how to achieve this look and used her talent and effective tools of the trade to make it happen. Both of our hairstyles were exactly what we wanted and looked great! The makeup was both natural and elegant looking. I would highly recommend Ariel to anyone looking for a talented beauty stylist. She was fun, professional, and really knew what she was doing!

    Sent on 07/16/2015

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review