Appear Photography Reviews

14 | Birmingham, AL
See photos, pricing and details

14 Reviews for Appear Photography

Recommended by 94%

14
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner

4.7 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.7
  • Professionalism 4.7
  • Flexibility 4.7
  • Value 4.7
  • Average response time 4.7
Sort by:
  • Martha

    Martha Johnson · Married on 10/20/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    BEAUTIFUL wedding photos!!

    Lynn with Appear Photography captured my engagement shoot and wedding day, along with his assistants. I can’t say how pleased my husband and I are with those photos, they are absolutely GORGEOUS. Lynn is a very skilled photographer and artist. He is very reliable and helpful, and made sure everything went smoothly on our wedding day. We even got a lot of outside pictures despite the rain. Can’t recommend him enough! He made sure to document all the special moments and we even ended up with photos of every guest (about 100 people) at our reception, dancing and having a good time.

    Sent on 12/13/2018

    Appear Photography's reply:

    Thanks so much for this sweet review! I had a great time capturing you and Collin on your wedding day!!
  • A

    Amanda Lunsford · Married on 10/01/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing!

    I need to say is he was absolutely amazing and its been 1.5 years and we're still so in love with every picture!

    Sent on 02/23/2019

    Appear Photography's reply:

    Thanks so much Amanda! Y'all make a gorgeous couple and I loved capturing the two of you! I look forward to seeing where your journey takes you!!
  • C

    Christie · Married on 10/22/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I just want to say how much I LOVE Lynn Cummings and Appear photography! Lynn has been the greatest from day one! I interviewed several photographers but then I saw some of Lynn's work online and fell in love with his pictures! After one conversation I knew he was the photographer I'd been searching for to capture our special day! He went above and beyond in everyway to make our day amazing! He is so friendly and professional, he pays attention to every detail, and he is incredibly thorough and well prepared. It really seems like he thinks of EVERYTHING! I'm so glad I made the decision to use Appear Photography! Lynn, thank you for working so hard to make our day so magical! If anyone is looking for a photographer I highly recommend Appear photography! Thank you so much for everything! I absolutely loved working with you and look forward to working with you and your wife in the future!

    Sent on 12/02/2016
  • M

    Mary Claire · Married on 10/15/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Lynn with Appear Photography photographed my wedding back in October, and I am so pleased!! With my crazy schedule I know I was not the easiest client, but Lynn was incredibly accommodating and super easy to work with! On the wedding day he and his assistant Vinn were very laid back and were there to capture every moment! I LOVE all of the pictures that I have seen so far and I can't wait to see the rest!! I would recommend Lynn and Appear Photography to anyone!! :))

    Sent on 12/14/2016
  • M

    Miranda · Married on 08/13/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Appear Photography's previous work spoke for itself, and my engagement, bridal, and wedding photos were no exception! We are extremely happy with our photos! We wanted lots of pictures of just my husband and me, and we sure did get that, and they are all STUNNING! We felt like models when we saw the pictures. There is not a single bad picture of either of us. It was very hard to pick out the pictures for our album because there were so many good ones. The ONLY negative I can think of isn't the photographer's fault, and it is that we don't have as many kodaks of our families as we would have liked, but that is because I didn't have the foresight to plan more down time for that. In addition to the beautiful pictures, he was easy to deal with and was actually very helpful in the planning process. He was extremely accommodating and flexible when scheduling the before-wedding portrait sessions, and was instrumental in helping me figure out the flow of wedding day. I am in a very busy healthcare graduate program, and did not have a ton of time to devote to the details, and my schedule was also very inflexible. The fact that Lynn bent over backwards to work around my schedule was amazing. He also went out of his way to help me make sure I thought of every scheduling detail necessary in order to perfect the timeline. He even helped me determine the order of family photos so that the flow would be smooth. He responded quickly to text messages, Facebook messages, and even called me if necessary. We met before the big day and discussed all the details, and it was no problem getting together with him. It was his idea to meet and I am glad we did, so that we were able to talk about the final details. To add to his beautiful work, quick responses, flexibility, and instrumental role in finalizing the timeline, he surprised us with a few very kind and unexpected gifts throughout the process. I would recommend Appear Photography to anyone!

    Sent on 11/22/2016
  • S

    Shelby · Married on 07/23/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My mom helped me find Appear Photography during the wedding planning process! Lynn was very responsive to all of our wedding day requests! He was great the day of and took the pictures I had previously requested. He also loves to surprise his brides with gifts along the way to make this time even more special! We loved having Appear on our wedding day & I hope you will too. The album he created was fabulous and it will be cherished for many years to come. Thank you Appear Photography!!

    Sent on 11/16/2016
  • C

    Courtney · Married on 06/11/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Lynn did a great job! Easy to work with, laid back and I have so many pictures to choose from that I love. He stays on top of everything, great responsiveness and lots of recommendations for other vendors. He helped make my wedding day flow with ease even in the 100 degree summer weather. Super nice guy!

    Sent on 11/19/2016
  • C

    catherine · Married on 05/21/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Lynn with Appear Photography truly went above and beyond. I originally chose him because of the questions he asked and friendliness and organization. I felt like he was the best option. I was blown away by how far he went above and beyond to make our special day perfect. He also went above and beyond through the engagement process with a Save the Date session, and Engagement Session. Not many photographers will travel to a special location for you just for the day. We truly could not have been any happier with our pictures and time we spent with Lynn and Appear Photography. We CANNOT wait to get our album back!!

    Sent on 11/16/2016
  • N

    Nikol · Married on 02/27/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I found Lynn through a business card a friend picked up randomly. I had a very specific budget for a photographer and he fit the bill AND his portfolio was just lovely. It was the exact style I wanted, and his silhouette shots are simply fabulous. In addition, we had some special circumstances that Lynn was happy to work around. He is very personable and flexible. He truly cared about us and sent surveys to us weeks before as well as an hour by hour schedule of what would take place on our big day. He even sent us our favorite video with our favorite movie candy in the mail a few weeks out with a note to take the night off and just enjoy each other. The day of our wedding, he kept everything [and everyone] running smoothly and documented the entire day beautifully. Our wedding photos were fabulous! It's so hard to choose which ones to get!

    Sent on 11/15/2016
  • T

    Tarah · Married on 10/10/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband first found Lynn and Lori over a year and a half ago, when he was planning his surprise proposal to me. He did a google search and found them and we haven't looked back. EVERY session/meeting/picture review we have had with Lynn has been phenomenal. He has always been organized, professional, and most importantly easy and fun to work with. Lynn has photographed our surprise proposal, engagement pictures, wedding pictures, and fall family pictures and each time we get pictures back I am blown away by what he is able to capture. You can tell how much he loves what he does. Prior to the wedding, he met with us multiple times to go over the day of timeline, which pictures we wanted to take, and just to check in with us. He was extremely flexible with us in scheduling meetings and times to meet to go over what we wanted. He had gorgeous shots in mind but was also very helpful when we had some ideas of our own. He is so easy to work with and we can't wait to do more shoots with him in the future!



    Sent on 06/17/2016
  • A

    Ashlei · Married on 10/29/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Lynn & Lori of APPEAR Photography are wonderful! They paid attention to what style photos we wanted, & created a very laid-back environment at every shoot, as well as at our wedding. They are willing to work with you in choosing a place for each shoot (engagement, bridal, etc.). We also made a few personal requests during our shoots that they did without hesitation. They are also capable of doing your Save-the-Date cards directly. You will not be disappointed...great people to do business with!

    Sent on 04/05/2012
  • Clarence

    Clarence · Married on 09/03/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We love Appear Photography so much we recommended them to all of our brides to be within our families!!!! Appear captured raw emotions and turned them into works of art. You can truly see the love that me and my husband share in our engagement photos. Simply creative and one of a kind!!! Thank you Appear!!!

    Sent on 09/21/2010
  • Danielle

    Danielle · Married on 10/17/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Appear Photography was great to work with. The package prices were afordable, and the pictures were beautiful. The photographer was flexible with my schedule for the engagement and bridal sitting pictures. I also had 3 photographers at all times the day of the wedding!

    Sent on 11/05/2009
  • J

    joy · Married on 09/26/2015

    0.4
    • Quality of service:
      0.5
    • Responsiveness:
      0.5
    • Value:
      0.5
    • Flexibility:
      0.5
    • Professionalism:
      0.5

    There is reason a review hasn't been written in 5 years. Our wedding pictures are an embarrassment. Lynn was a waste of money, energy and time. Result- no wedding book or acceptable photos to frame. Another photographer is trying to edit the photos to salvage something we can use
    unprofessional- Lynn never showed or followed up on meetings to discuss the wedding day timeline and look Then the day before the wedding he demanded a meeting. I rearranged my schedule, then the day of he called and moved the to make it more convenient for him
    no artistic ability- I gave Lynn multiple examples multiple times of the types of photographs I wanted. I got exactly what I told him I did NOT want. Lynn put my husband and me in the same cheesy pose for every picture
    no attention to detail- Lynn had to retake photos multiple times bc he missed things like a sheet showing under my dress Then once I saw the photos I was horrified by the lack of centering spacing lighting making sure everyone could be seen in photos
    unenergetic- Showed no desire to get the shots I wanted and was a real drag the entire wedding day Lynn was rude to my bridesmaids and mother He was moving in slow motion with no purpose or mission my wedding obviously was not a priority for him
    immature- Lynn slandered other brides and vendors While photographing me he was bad-mouthing the bride from the weekend before, criticizing what he considered her ugly dress and bad makeup job he badmouthed other photographers and my transportation vendor saying they hire drunks to drive
    unorganized- Lynn had no shot list didn't preview the venues or make a plan He was frantic on the wedding day showed no authority sense of urgency or desire to create beautiful images
    no direction- Lynn had no authority or direction, I had to be the one directing people, organizing people for photos. I wanted to enjoy my wedding day not be stressed out doing Lynn's job
    inattentive- no shot walking down the aisle, bride-groom&parents

    Sent on 08/10/2015

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review