Apertura Reviews

54 | Pasadena, CA
See photos, pricing and details

54 Reviews for Apertura

Recommended by 99%

54
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 5.0
Sort by:
  • P

    Philip · Married on 06/28/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Apertura is the BEST, and Ray and his assistant worked hard and closely with us to ensure the photo look amazing. Well we didn't interview many photographers face to face, but after the first meeting with Ray, we knew that he was the one. He cares a lot about his customers and tried very hard to build a relationship with them. Ray and his assistant worked very hard at our wedding day, he showed his professionals and cares not just being a photographer, but also being a good friend.
    Ray is a very skillful photographer, probably one of the best I've known. Ray is definitely a genius to use natural light and flash light, work with environment and people.

    He arrived the venue a day before to get himself familiar with the environment, and he was with us for the entire wedding - before a ceremony to the end of the ceremony. He makes us feel very natural and comfortable. Most importantly, we didn't notice his existence while taking all these AMAZING photos. He even worked very hard until the end of the wedding to ensure we can get some beautiful night photos :)

    His pricing was reasonable, and he was also very careful about his travel expense to ensure no unnecessary expenditure.

    We have much more good things to say about him, but I think his average 5 star review speaks for his work ethic, the quality of the photos, and his effort.

    Lastly, yes, we strongly recommend him to be your wedding photographer, you will not be disappointed.

  • K

    Kristine · Married on 02/07/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our wedding day was one of the most emotion-filled days of our lives.

    One that I hope I will always remember. But if I don't, the photographs I received would be enough to remind my future self of the love that was shared that day. It was filled with every type of love imaginable; that between a husband and wife, friend-to-friend, father-to-daughter, or mother-to-son.

    To say the least, Ray Soemarsono does not just capture photographs. He captures emotions. He captured our joy, apprehension, and anticipation through still frames of our goofy smiles, tears, and worried facial expressions. He was there, sharing in every bit of it. This is not your typical, posed wedding photography. I can look at every picture and am brought back to exactly how I felt at the moment it was captured.

    They will remain some of my favorite photographs ever taken!

  • E

    Emmanuelle · Married on 05/03/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Words cannot adequately explain how amazing Ray at Apertura is! My husband and I flew Ray and his team out to our destination wedding in Turks & Caicos and it was worth every penny. Not only is he an incredibly talented photographer, he's a wonderful friend and person to know. Our family and friends didn't even realize he was our photographer. He blended right in. He captured every moment we could have dreamed of and was so easy going. He went above and beyond from the very first moment we met him for the engagement photos to the actual wedding. We loved his work so much that we flew from DC to LA for the engagement shots and then had his team with us in Turks & Caicos.

    He shot our pre-wedding day celebrations (even without pre-planning them with him). His artistic touch is really what differentiates him from the other photographers. It's a very intimate, natural, and in-the moment look that is edgy and cool. The wedding album is to DIE for. The best thing was that we didn't even have to pick out the photos. We had over 1,500 photos and he told the best story that we could have imagined. I wish we lived closer to Ray to have him capture our other life moments but don't worry - we'll be flying back to LA to ask for his creative services as our family grows.

    Ray and his team were so professional; being on-time and super prepared for every moment. They scouted the island, the venue, and everything in between to ensure we got the best light and shot. We are really so lucky that we met Ray and don't regret selecting him as our photographer.

    If you get a chance to work and meet him, I highly recommend it. Best ever!!

    We love him!

  • C

    Cindy · Married on 02/01/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    In my opinion, your wedding photographer is probably one of the most important if not the MOST important element in your wedding. At the end of a whirlwind wedding day, it's the only thing that remains to document the joy, love, and excitement. To say that I was very picky when selecting my wedding photographer is an understatement. After reviewing their portfolios, we both agreed that Erwin of Apertura had it all. We didn't just want a photographer that did the wedding basics...bride looking sweet and romantic, bride and groom gazing lovingly at each other, bride and groom holding each others hands against an accent wall, posed pictures of your groomsmen and bridesmaids lined perfectly next to you, etc. We wanted a photographer that COULD do that but will give us MORE. We wanted a photographer with an impeccable artistic eye, one who will capture moments that not even you notice or anyone else notices is happening. We wanted a photographer that uses lights and shadows and composition to portray mood and ambience. We wanted photos that were so unique that you can imagine seeing them in an art gallery. Erwin did just that.

    It seems like I can go on and on singing the praises of Erwin's photography...but the icing on the cake is that Erwin is just a GENUINELY nice guy! He's sweet, calming, professional, and just one of those people you just want to spend more time with.

    Hiring Erwin of Apertura was the most important decision in our wedding planning. It is definitely an investment. But think of your wedding album as the first family heirloom that you get to pass down to your children...that's priceless.

  • V

    Vanessa · Married on 07/20/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Apertura really knows how to create exciting wedding photos with a dramatic edge. My husband has an art background and he hardly entertained the idea of hiring any other photographer after looking through Ray's portfolio. Ray and his assistants were creative, passionate, and stealthy. Their technique and skill made for amazing candids and portraits. Lastly, we live in NYC, but Ray was always accessible and easy to work with despite the distance. We would most definitely recommend Apertura for photos that will impress for generations to come!

  • D

    Devianna · Married on 02/23/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    As a graphic designer and a professional photographer myself, I am very picky when it comes to determining the quality of a photo. Themes, concepts, poses, contrasts and angles are some of the many aspects of photography that I take into consideration when viewing a photo. That is why I hired Apertura as my wedding photographer as I know that they produce high quality pictures.

    During the wedding planning, my husband and I agreed that the wedding pictures are one of the most important areas that we should not be really skimping on, as they do last forever. I have heard many horror stories from my other friends where they tried to save a few bucks by going with a-whatever photographer and ended up regretting their decision. The photographer has no concept, took unnecessary/low quality pictures, and missed those special moments (and those moments are gone forever!).

    With Ray, we did not have this problem. Ray is a very talented photographer, extremely creative and possesses unique concepts. He is very professional and detailed oriented. Ray has never taken any wedding pictures in the venue of our choice, but he quickly adapted to it and captured the most amazing pictures that I have ever seen in my life. I just knew that we would remember those touching moments that Ray took of us for the rest of our lives!

  • M

    Margareth · Married on 01/19/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I lives in Indonesia, at the time when we booked Apertura, we have never met Ray, and had only seen his work from the website and at a wedding bazaar in town. Needless to say, we were nervous meeting him for the first time 3 days before our wedding. However, Ray is so warm, loving, open heartedness, and soon we were chatting it up like old friends. His personality is quite remarkable that he's able to make you feel comfortable and make it seem that you've known each other for ages. And what's more, his talents rivals his personality. His fierce passion for what he does, is astounding, and his pride of his work truly shows in the pictures he took. He's professional and very efficient! As some may know, Indonesians have very elaborate weddings that lasts up to 20 hour long. And Ray has been with me from the get-go with his A-game, and lasted the whole marathon-long wedding day. I am truly grateful for his contribution and presence at my wedding. He's able to meet my criteria and makes the whole family happy with his work. A bride can't ask for a better photographer. We thank you and your team for documenting the start of our marriage in a way that it still brings tears of joy whenever we open that album you made especially for us.

  • T

    Tiffany · Married on 12/15/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We spent a lot of time looking at various wedding photographers. After hearing friends' regrets about not choosing better wedding photographers, we decided to be very particular in our search and made our photographer a high priority. We narrowed it down to a couple photographers, met with them, and then chose. We loved both of our choices, but ultimately chose Apertura. We couldn't decide between Ray and Erwin because they both have such great creative vision, so we booked them both!

    Apertura is not cheap photography. However, we believe it's important to budget for the best photographers you can afford because pictures last a lifetime.

    For our engagement photos, we visited the Angeles National Forest and did a quirky Halloween afternoon/evening shoot. We had so much fun and the photos were a great mix of silly, scary, and breathtaking. One photo in particular is so unbelievably beautiful that it looks like a painting - it seems too amazing to be real!

    Our wedding and reception were indoors, and Ray and Erwin did a great job of capturing the mood and special moments of the day. In addition to really documenting the different experiences and emotions, they also took some great artistic shots. Our wedding was a blur, but we can relive the day through all of our photographs.

    Ray and Erwin also put together a slideshow and albums for us and it was clear that they spent a lot of time and thought. While there are other photographers out there who can photograph your wedding adequately, Ray and Erwin will capture the special moments that others miss. They also do a great job with finding the right places and opportunities for those one in a million shots where the lighting is just right and everything about the shot is perfect. Additionally, they are two really great guys - very professional and responsive to the needs of their clients, but also fun to spend time with. We are so happy we chose them!

  • S

    Shinning · Married on 10/01/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ray is the best! my husband and i immediately fell in love with Ray's works when we saw Apertura's website!Ray is loving, funny, and off course, so talented!
    we were happy that we had other engagement photos token by Ray, so that we got a chance to know him better. we were really stiff and shy at first, but Ray helped us loosen up with his sunny personality. and the photos turned out AMAZING!!
    After the engagement shot experience, my husband and i got into the mood really soon on the wedding day. Ray and his team did a excellent job capturing the motion of us and the beauty of our venue.
    it brought back so mush memories when we saw the photos after the wedding. Ray definitely captured every detail of our special day. and off course, made us 10 time better looking!!
    i have to say i'm a lucky bride that had Ray as my photographer. it was a pleasure working with him. he gave us a documentary of our wedding that will last forever.

  • A

    Amelia · Married on 09/15/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Erwin was wonderful to work with. He is a true artist and has an eye for the most unique concepts of vision and lighting. The memories that he captured were so vivid you could almost reach out and touch the person. What we liked best about Erwin and his team is that they were fun, had great sense of humor, worked hard but they never interfered throughout our day. Erwin and his team were virtually undetectable. Erwin was able to capture the beautiful moments as well as the unscripted moments. We had so much fun that day and Erwin was able to capture so many memories that we would've missed out on.

    We also had a day after shoot. We met up with Erwin and he was just as friendly and fun as he was the day of our wedding. Always up for anything!! Erwin just goes above and beyond to do his best and get the best quality shots. He will run, position himself on the ground, basically do whatever it takes to get the best shot.

    On the day we viewed the gallery, our family was so impressed with the quality and the uniqueness of the images. Everyone commented on how "fresh" the images were and not just your standard wedding images.

    We were so impressed by his professionalism and his dedication to his craft. A truly unique individual! We highly recommend Erwin!

  • T

    Traci · Married on 08/18/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Erwin captured our day and the uniqueness of our wedding in ways we never imagined!!! He was very responsive in regards to communication and detail oriented in regards to wanting to know what were the details/people that were important to us for him to capture. Throughout my whole interaction with Erwin, he maintained upmost professionalism, a pleasant sense of humor, and more importantly a sincere reverence. The day of the wedding Erwin was very present but never intrusive. And through that he captured honest, true, sometimes raw moments. My husband and I not only consider Erwin an amazing addition to our wedding day, but we consider him a great addition to our lives as a friend. Thank you Erwin for everything and allowing us to see ourselves, our loved ones, and our love in such an amazing light.
    Traci McMinn-Joubert

  • N

    neg · Married on 06/16/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I just happened upon Apertura's website when searching for wedding venues online. We both fell in love with their style and the unique way they captured the vibe and energy of the couples and their weddings. So we set up a meeting with Ray and my entire family. Each us quickly fell in love with his talent and passion for what he does. That is very evident in the quality of what he puts out. Once the big day came they handled everything with great professionalism. All I kept hearing from my family and friends the next was OMG your photographers were amazing. They were everywhere. On the floor, behind the chairs and in the middle of the crowd. And the results are fabulous. We have the most beautiful pictures that captured the amazing memories of our big day. We didn't interview any other photographers because we both new from the beginning that Apertura was it. And after meeting Ray there was no reason to even shop around for us. I would HIGHLY recommend them without a trace of a doubt. They're absolutely amazing at what they do.

  • M

    Massimo · Married on 05/26/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I were recently married in Newport Beach, CA and we were fortunate enough to have Ray from Apertura take our wedding photos.

    We met Ray and Erwin when they shot a friend’s wedding in Italy (I’m sure you’ve all seen the photos!) in 2010 and we struck an immediate friendship with both of them, given their relaxed style and fun loving attitude.

    So, when my now husband and I got engaged, the first thing we agreed on was that we wanted Apertura to shoot our special day. Bear in mind, our wedding had a certain ‘degree of difficulty’ in that we live in Australia, but were getting married in California…

    All in all, working with Ray was extremely easy – he’s a consummate professional with a great eye for the creative, and more importantly, candid shot.

    We could not recommend Ray (or Apertura) more highly. They have produced breath-taking photos of our wedding day that we will no doubt cherish for years to come.

  • M

    Marisa · Married on 05/26/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We worked with Erwin from Apertura as he was also the lead photographer for my brother's wedding. Not only does he have an artistic eye (both with architectural landscapes and lighting), but he also places the couple at ease. He gets to know the personalities and selects poses and places that will highlight the couple's bond. I would highly recommend Apertura, and in particular, Erwin, as he did an amazing job on both our engagement and wedding shoots.

  • Jason

    Jason · Married on 03/04/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our experience with Apertura was first class. They are very thorough throughout the whole process. We can feel and see that they are very passionate and conscientious about the quality of the images that they produced. Our wedding was documented in a very honest and poignant fashion. We could not have been more satisfied with our experience.

  • R

    rita · Married on 01/28/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I had our wedding in Indonesia in January. When we got back to California, we decided to do another photo shoot with Apertura here. We met with Ray and connected right away. Ray is very professional and responsive. When we came to see his portfolio, we were blown away even more than before when we were browsing the website :) We decided right away on the date of the shoot. The day of the photoshoot was a very pleasant and memorable experience. One month later, we were very excited to see the preview. Ray rushed the album per our request so we can show our parents while they are visiting. We got the album last weekend (a few weeks sooner) and of course, we were blown away as it was amazingly beautiful. It was worth every dollar spent. It is an investment...something we will treasure for decades to come :) Thank you so much, Ray for such an amazing work of art. We will definitely recommend you to friends and relatives. All the best, Apertura!

  • W

    Wayne · Married on 11/06/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    As a wedding photographer myself, wedding photography was the most important part of our wedding day. After following Ray's working for many years, I was glad that he was able to photograph my wedding. We could not have asked for anything better! We wanted a photographer who could capture every special moment that happened on the wedding day without being intrusive. Ray delivered above and beyond what we expected. Every photograph that we received was worth every penny that we spent. The investment was totally worth it. We couldn't be happier with our wedding photos! Thank you, Ray!

  • M

    m · Married on 10/01/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    BOOK ERWIN! This is the third family wedding Erwin has done for us! We are so amazed at his work that we couldn't imagine leaving the job of capturing such an intimate and special event as a wedding to anyone but Erwin. He is wonderfully charming, making him very easy to work with - seriously, he's like family! You will not find the standard group posed pics (unless of course you ask for them specifically!). Rather, his incredibly keen eye for the silly, the unique, the beauty, and the emotion will assure that the pics you get will be like no other. I find it so easy to recall the details of the day when I look back at his shots. He captures the moments, the looks, and the details that most photogs would not likely think to capture. Erwin does not dictate the day or take over your wedding day! He is very much in the background and lets the events flow naturally - yet another measure of his professionalism. If you want unique pics of a day you never want to forget, BOOK ERWIN!

  • K

    Katherine · Married on 10/01/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    There are plenty of things to worry about on your wedding day, but how your photos turn out should never be one of them. This will never be the case if you book Apertura. Truly Erwin is an artist in his own right. Luckily we had the privilege and honor of having him be a part of an experience you only get once in a lifetime. He has a knack for capturing those special moments, those quiet moments when you take it all in, thinking no one is watching. In looking back at my pictures, I can’t help but to continuously feel thankful that his ever-watchful eye caught many moments that most photographers would have missed; a slow dance to no music when everyone else is busy eating, the look on my husband’s face when he saw me for the first time, a sly glance here and there, a fork hitting a glass, requesting the couple kiss—which we always happily obliged. If there is one thing you should never skimp on, it should be your photos. Flowers die, dresses fade from their original pristine white, and food is forgotten, but these photos will help us relive our moment for the rest of our lives. We will forever be thankful for Erwin’s graceful touch and wonderful eye. Give yourself one less thing to worry about and book him as soon as possible.

  • C

    Caroline · Married on 09/16/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I met Erwin Darmali over 3 years ago at our good friend's Joy + Brandon's wedding. Erwin also shot their amazing engagement photos, so that's how we got introduced to Apertura. Prior to meeting him at the wedding, my husband (boyfriend at the time) and I scoured the internet to find every photo shot by Apertura in existence. Truth be told, we were quite obsessed. We made a quick introduction towards the end of their reception, and we told him we don't know when it is... but.... we want him to shoot our wedding. Without hesitation, his genuine smile appears, he takes a look at my red hair, and he says, "definitely." Fast forward 2 years, and here I am about to call Erwin... will he remember us? Not only did he remember us (and my red hair), he said he's been waiting to shoot our wedding. Him and I talked like old friends catching up. In 2 years, there was never a hesitation nor doubt that it was going to be Erwin shooting our wedding. It was always him. Over the months leading up to the wedding, there were countless emails/calls/texts with questions, plans, schedules, updates, and all were answered promptly. He couldn't have been more helpful and patient through the whole process.

    Game day is finally here. Erwin and his second shooter arrives on time and immediately go to work. He had instant chemistry with everyone. I have 100% trust in him and just want him to do his thing. He stayed with me through out the whole day (which I loved), and he blended in so well. Our guests couldn't stop talking about how talented and dedicated he was through the whole night. He was extremely thorough. No detail went unpictured. Needless to say, after getting our photos back, his talent and hard work were definitely show cased. I felt incredibly lucky and so thankful that these pictures were my own.

    Plain and simple, Erwin Darmali is an atrist. His ability to tell a story without words, and connect emotion with time is unparallel. His focus is unforgiving and his dedication to deliver is his motivation. His ever so flawless coordination, calculated lighting, and ability to see unconventional angles is always done to perfection. I am forever grateful to him because through his awesome images, I can re-live the best day of my life, anytime I want to.

  • I

    Idyawati · Married on 09/11/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We knew Apertura by accident from our friend’s blogs. We’ve searched photographers for our wedding for quite a long time. We didn’t get the feeling so we kept on searching until we found Apertura. The first impression when we looked at Ray’s photos was “wow.. these were so good”. We should hire him for our wedding. Then we started to contact Ray by e-mail. Our wedding was held in Jakarta, Indonesia so we had to check the availability of Ray. Surprisingly, Ray is such a nice person. We chatted for almost an hour. That’s the longest chat for me with someone I just knew. We’re so happy that Ray were willing to come to Jakarta to shoot our wedding on September 11,2011.

    Time flew so fast. We received an e-mail from Ray saying that he would be coming on August 31. We’re really excited. So on September 1 we met Ray for the first time. We had a nice chat with Ray and some of our friends. Then come the big day. Ray was a well-prepared man. He kept us relax and made us laugh with his jokes. He’s a professional photographer. He’s so serious but still relax while working. How he got the angle for shooting was amazing. He had a great stamina. Shooting for almost 15 hours and still looked so excited. Really beyond our expectation.

    We’re so satisfied with our photos. Amazing. Awesome. Excellent. Superb. We can see the feeling from his photos. The angle and technique was so unique and excellent. What a warm and excellent work. We’re extremely satisfied with his work and we will absolutely recommend Ray and Apertura to our family and friends. Bringing Ray from CA to Jakarta was the best decision we made. For you who are still looking for photographers for your big day, we can say that Apertura is the best. It’s really worth every penny you spend. You won’t regret it at all.

  • C

    carol · Married on 07/23/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I would like to start off by writing that I usually never write reviews because I always expect service to be what you pay for. That being said, I am writing Ray from Apertura this review because my expectations were far surpassed.

    I did not know what I was looking for in a wedding photographer, so as suggested by a friend I looked at a bunch of recommended photographer's sites, and narrowed down a few to meet with based on my reactions to their photos. I knew I liked the photo journalistic style because I appreciate natural moments of the wedding day told in pictures. Ray from Apertura contacted me promptly after my inquiry and immediately sent me several examples of recent work. I loved his clean, elegant, and heart felt pictures and decided to meet with him when on my trip to Los Angeles the following week. After meeting Ray I decided to hire him because he had such a warm, but professional attitude and I immediately felt very comfortable with him. His work really did speak for itself but his level of dedication and passion was icing on the cake!

    My husband and I were thrilled to have our engagement pictures shot by Ray as this gave us an opportunity to get to know him and feel comfortable with him. My husband is very stiff when taking pictures and Ray coaxed him and directed him very well during the shooting process. Our engagement pictures turned out FABULOUS and I ended up buying the album that Ray put together beautifully!

    Day of the wedding Ray and his second shooter Maurice show up on time and are in great spirits, which was great to see because I was upset with a lot of last minute things that popped up the day of the wedding. Ray and Maurice blended in immediately and honestly I forgot that they were there taking pictures. Every guest at my wedding commented on how cool my photographers were because anytime there was an interesting or special moment that happened they were there to document it with a photo.

    My slideshow and gallery came about 2 months after my wedding and my family and I were blown away with the memories. I saw my wedding day through the pictures and was thrilled because I saw a lot of pictures that caught moments that I missed. Once my husband and I saw the portraits we were amazed at how unique they looked and how Ray really scoped great locations at the venue the day before to make sure our portrait time was used efficiently. Ray took portraits of us in locations that I've never seen other photographers shoot before at my venue (Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay)and it made me feel special.

    Communications with Ray are always prompt and cordial. I email him and always get a response back usually within a few hours. The quality of Ray's work is top notch and I am pleased to say that I was a very happy bride with lovely photos! :)



  • J

    Janet · Married on 06/18/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our wedding in LA on June 18th 2011 and Ray from Apertura was our photographer. Ray is an absolutely talented photographer and you could tell from his work without us further stressing the point. The very first time we found Apertura was from the recommendation of a wedding website. The first impression of seeing their portfolio was simply "wow". Looking into their work, we love not just their amazing skills of interesting composition, lighting and unique point of view, but most importantly, the quality that really stood out for us was how they beautifully told the story with their unique ways of capturing moment and documenting the big day. It was an amazing art work that carefully crafted upon your most important day. They are extremely creative. For example, we had macaron as one of our wedding favor, Ray improvised on the day by placing our rings on three different color macarons and created really fun memories. We were really pleased when we saw pictures like that afterwards and glad that we had him as our photographer. Of course you could tell how amazing their work is already by seeing their portfolio, but another very important factor is how Ray was very customer oriented. The very first impression of meeting Ray was that Ray was extremely friendly. He was very responsive the entire time. Since we were out of town, my husband and I had a phone conference with him to sort out details and met with him in LA before the wedding. His understanding and professionalism made us very comfortable and confident that we could let him document our big day. On the day of, Ray text'd me that he was very excited shooting our wedding before he arrived, that certainly made me feel very good. Following us running around for the 12-hour day, Ray was all very professional, cheerful and he directed you very well during wedding portrait and you won't feel uneasy at all. Another important thing is, Ray delivered our online gallery within 2 months of our wedding which reminded us of all those sweet memories just in time. At the end, we feel like we made a really good friend on top of having a great memory of our big day. Thank you Ray! We're looking forward to our album.

  • S

    Shannon · Married on 03/19/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Erwin Darmali shot my sister's wedding in '09. Before then, I had no idea what potential existed for wedding photos. The shots he was able to get, both in the portrait session and during the ceremony/reception (on the fly, mind you) were amazing.

    His work was so impressive that when I got engaged last fall, my (now) husband and I knew immediately we wanted to hire Erwin to shoot our wedding. Erwin made such an impression on my family that when I told my mom I was engaged, about the first thing out of her mouth was, "Are you going to hire Erwin?" This is also the woman who, upon seeing Erwin at my wedding, hugged him and said, "It's like you're family!" And it truly is. Erwin has a great disposition that allows him to fit right in. His enthusiasm for his job shows in his pictures. Half the time we didn't even realize we were being photographed. We have one shot from our reception where it looks as though Erwin told us to stand in the light just so. He didn't. His ability to capture moments as they happen is one of the things he does best.

    Our pre-wedding portraits also exceeded our expectations as Erwin was able to take what we are pretty confident are the best pictures of us ever.

    Understandably, wedding photography is not cheap, but Erwin is worth every penny. Over the years, I have heard horror stories of brides hating their wedding photos. But with Erwin, we knew what we were going to get back was going to be wonderful. So much so that I have friends who now, after seeing our photos and simmering with photo jealously have gone from happy for me, to jokingly less so.

  • J

    Jackie · Married on 11/04/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Long before we got married or even engaged, I became enamored with Apertura's photos. The way they captured raw emotion in their photos set them apart from other wedding photographers I'd seen.

    We booked Ray for both an engagement shoot in NYC and our wedding in Maui.

    Ray happened to be flying out to NYC for another engagement shoot and was able to find time to squeeze us in as well (saved on travel expenses). It was a great way to get to know him and see his work with us prior to the actual wedding.

    From the start, Ray was personable, made us feel at ease despite extreme weather conditions (sweltering summer heat in NYC for the engagement and torrential rain in Maui for the wedding)and was truly a pleasure to work with.

    Vanessa was our second shooter. We're so grateful that she was there to capture the small details of our wedding day that we never would have even noticed without having those photos. She was also VERY instrumental in portrait photos, giving the right kind of direction to balance out the portraits.

    We would love to work with Ray and Vanessa again :)



By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review