Angelicus String Quartet Reviews

19 | Rochester, NY
See photos, pricing and details

19 Reviews for Angelicus String Quartet

Recommended by 99%

19
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 4.9
Sort by:
  • User4355704 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    These ladies were fantastic and a pleasure to work with! The first time I heard them play, I cried (happy tears of course)!! Many of my guests remarked how beautiful their music was before and during the ceremony. I would highly recommend this group!

  • E

    Erica · Married on 09/20/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Angelicus String Quartet is fantastic!! They played at our ceremony and cocktail hour, and added the romance and whimsy we were looking for :) Our guests have been raving for weeks!

    The music entertained our guests as they arrived and took their seats, and made my walk down the aisle feel so special!

    The ladies were so easy to work with. We live in Chicago, so all of our planning was done via phone and email, and they were very accommodating! Their only request -- four chairs -- no problem! They are true professionals!!

    They played all our special requests, and in my opinion, performed for a very reasonable price. They are well worth the value, and I am so happy they were part of our special day!! I highly recommend them!

  • M

    Melanie · Married on 08/02/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    All of the stars! Angelicus was incredible--they learned several (difficult!) songs for us so that we could customize the ceremony to exactly what we wanted. They let me listen in on a practice session so I could get an idea of how everything would sound, and even were willing to let me record them so that my fiance could hear them as well. Music is very important to us, and the care and professionalism showed by Angelicus is really unparalleled. I heartily recommend them to anyone looking for a talented quartet with a fantastic range of music.

  • T

    Theresa · Married on 09/28/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    These ladies are incredible!

    We had them do very traditional wedding music at our Catholic wedding mass. It was gorgeous and not a beat was missed!

    Remember that $$ does not equal quality - Angelicus is very reasonably priced and they are incredibly talented!

    They were on time and started playing the second they got to the church.

  • User2555324 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Angelicus was wonderful! Maxine made us feel very comfortable and right at home when we met with her to plan our ceremony music. She had us over to her home and played samples for us, which was very lovely! She helped us put together the perfect set of music as we told her a few types of things we liked. She made it easy for us, and was so very friendly and professional. I would highly recommend them. Great value too!

  • L

    Laura · Married on 08/16/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Angelicus String Quartet played during the ceremony and cocktail hour of my August 16th wedding at Belhurst Castle. I was soooo impressed by the high quality and great value of these ladies! After choosing the quartet, my mother, sister, and myself were personally invited to the home of Maxine, who was absolutely lovely. Not knowing much about classical music, she was full of fantastic suggestions and even played background to the song "I Will," which my sister personally sung during the ceremony. The week of the ceremony my sister had strep throat and was unsure if she would be able to perform. The night before the ceremony, she decided she did want to perform, and this was not a problem with the Angelicus String Quartet! Thanks so much for a great job! I would highly recommend this quartet!!!!!

  • Katrina

    Katrina · Married on 06/08/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wonderful!! Their music is beautiful! They work with you to meet your budget and Maxine is so so friendly! Highly recommend!

  • S

    Sandra · Married on 03/02/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Very professional and so helpful. They played such beautiful music for our son's wedding in just 5 days. Would highly recommend this group to anyone.


  • A

    Anthony · Married on 09/09/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I just wanted to thank you again for everything on Sunday. It couldn't have gone any better. Perfect weather, beautiful music, everyone had a great time. And it was very easy to work with you. I can't tell you how many people came up to us and complemented us on the quartet. It was just perfect. If any of our friends have upcoming weddings I'll make sure that your name comes up.

    On behalf of Krista and I, Thank you so much for a truly perfect wedding!

  • Tara

    Tara · Married on 08/04/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I couldn't have been happier with the Angelicus String Quartet! We had them play as a part of our wedding ceremony and our dinner hour at the reception. Their level of musical talent and professionalism is truly unmatched by any others. They were able to accommodate all of our requests and were willing to work alongside other musicians as well (vocalists, hand bell group, trumpeter, etc). Thank you for helping to make our day so beautiful!

  • Melissa

    Melissa · Married on 07/01/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I live in Atlanta and got married in Canandaigua, NY so it was very important that the vendors I worked with for our wedding were extremely flexible and responsive. Maxine was exactly that.

    My husband and I selected some very non-traditional music for the ceremony. At our music sampling meeting, Maxine was able to tell us which of our song selections would sound best in the ceremony and which songs were not as tuneful. She even played each song for us so that we could get a sense of whether or not we agreed. We really appreciated the feedback she gave us. She also was able to recommend a song for our mothers and grandparents to walk to. This saved us a great deal of time, since we did not have to go searching for another song.

    When the wedding day came, the group arrived on time and played beautifully. It was a rather windy day and at one point one of the music stands blew over. Amazingly, the music didn't skip a beat. The musician just casually got up and shared music with another one of the members of the group.

    I cannot recommend this quartet enough. They play beautiful music and are a pleasure to work with.

  • R

    Rebecca · Married on 08/06/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Angelicus String Quartet did an amazing job during our ceremony! We met with Maxine a few weeks before the wedding and she helped us pick out all of our music. She made suggestions for the different parts of our ceremony and played them for us on her violin. We went with a traditional approach, but also had some unique songs to make our ceremony extra special. The quartet sounded incredible on our special day. They were also very reasonably priced. So glad we chose them!

  • S

    Sarah · Married on 10/02/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    AMAZING! This quartet was so wonderful to work with- so professional and the music was perfect. My husband wrote the music for our processional and many quartets said that they wouldn't play something that wasn't in their repertoire already- Maxine was so sweet and even played us a little of it during our pre-wedding meeting. They are so perfect!

  • S

    Suzanne · Married on 06/21/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Would use this quartet again in a heartbeat. We met with Maxine a few weeks prior to the wedding, as I had some questions about the music. She was able to play every song I requested and made me feel as ease and comfortable with how the ceremony would proceed. We only wish we could've heard more of their music (instead we were out doing pictures for cocktail hour!)

  • A

    Andrea

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Angelicus String Quartet played music at our traditional Catholic Wedding at St. Boniface on 2/18/17. The music entertained our guests as they arrived and took their seats, and they made my walk down the aisle extra special.

    The ladies in the Quartet were professional, helpful, and easy to work with. Planning was done mostly through email, but we did meet one time prior to the wedding with the church’s music coordinator to make sure we were all on the same page.

    We are thrilled that the Angelicus String Quartet was a part of our special day. We were so impressed by the high quality and talent of these musicians, and received so many compliments. We definitely recommend their services to family and friends.

    ~ Andrea & John

  • A

    Andrea

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Angelicus String Quartet played music at our traditional Catholic Wedding at St. Boniface on 2/18/17. The music entertained our guests as they arrived and took their seats, and they made my walk down the aisle extra special.

    The ladies in the Quartet were professional, helpful, and easy to work with. Planning was done mostly through email, but we did meet one time prior to the wedding with the church’s music coordinator to make sure we were all on the same page.

    We are thrilled that the Angelicus String Quartet was a part of our special day. We were so impressed by the high quality and talent of these musicians, and received so many compliments. We definitely recommend their services to family and friends.

    ~ Andrea & John

  • User3783852 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I used a string duo for at my wedding for the ceremony music and although I didn't hear them playing before, what I can remember from my entrance and ceremony, it was beautiful. It really set the mood and I am so happy we had them there. Jenny was also very responsive and flexible. Highly recommend.

  • C

    Chelsea · Married on 09/08/2012

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We used a trio of musicians from Angelicus String Quartet for our ceremony music. Maxine was extremely helpful and responsive throughout our planning process even arranging versions of Seasons of Love and Never Gonna Give You Up for us. The music was beautiful and perfectly complemented our ceremony.

  • B

    Bethany · Married on 07/26/2012

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I used Angelicus String Quartet for my recent wedding in Canandaigua, NY. I feel bad that I didn't get to meet all of the members of the quartet because they did a great job for the music for my ceremony and brunch. It was a great day and they even volunteered to come down and play on the lawn for the ceremony even though there was a chance of rain. Overall I was extremely satisfied with their performance the day of and would recommend them for future brides.

    A few things, do confirm your appointments with Maxine, I had made an appointment with her that happened to fall through the cracks, and I kept emailing her trying to confirm the appointment we had set earlier. I finally called her and found out she had completely forgotten about it (and apparently wasn't getting or checking the emails I had been sending).

    Do go to your meeting prepared, with a good idea of what music you want. I didn't do this step and it meant the meeting we had was not very productive. I knew the type of ceremony I was having (casual, outdoors, non-traditional) and a few of the songs I wanted played (Enya's Wild Child for my entrance) and I was hoping she would be able to help me pick out other music from their repertoire that would work for my wedding. However, her suggestions were all of the super-traditional wedding music you hear at every church wedding and I felt some resistance when I tried to probe for other non-traditional ideas. I even mentioned that it seemed strange to have all this super formal music in the beginning and then have Enya all of the sudden out of nowhere. In the end, she really wasn't helpful at selecting music. When I left the meeting I wasn't happy with how it went or the music that was picked, it just didn't work for my wedding at all. I went home that night, did the necessary research and sent her the songs I wanted played. She was flexible and had no problems switching and playing the songs I asked for and they turned out beautifully.

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review