Weddings

Angel Oaks Events Reviews

Angel Oaks Events View more information

7 Reviews

Rated
3.6
out of 5.0
Recommended by 73% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 3.7 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 3.7 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 2.6 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.2 out of 5

Awards

  • 7
Sort by:
  • L
    Lauren Married on 07/18/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Caitlin did an amazing job! She was always flexible to work with and always available to talk with if I had a question. She always responded quickly to my questions and was very professional.
  • H
    Heather Married on 07/22/2011
    Rating 4.7 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 3.5 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I had such a blast for my wedding! Kathi went out of her way to make sure I had everything taken care of. The staff for the night was very helpful and all my guests were impressed with them. We had the entire space for the event and all of my guests had room to sit, stand, dance, wait in line at the bar, get food and anything else they wanted to do. Thank you soooo much for making my night carefree and awesome!! The only issue I had was the price. It was a little out of my budget, but Kathi made the money worth it. I started out dealing with the other coordinator and like everyone else was disappointed- but as soon as Kathi took over- she made it a point to meet me and my "ring bearer," Peanut. She always had a positive attitude and didn't mind when I called her at odd hours to double and triple check arrangements. I would most definitely recommend this venue as long as Kathi Boyd is the coordinator.

    Thanks again for everything!!!
  • veryhappygirl
    Sarah Married on 04/02/2011
    Rating 4.3 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 3.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 3.5 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The venue itself was awesome. Richard, the owner, was great and very helpful. The ability to flip the room was good, but there is not an actual dance floor which made dancing awkward. The venue coordinator was terrible! We have been informed that she has been replaced, but one must wonder why she was hired in the first place. She made every decision difficult. I could go on and on, but she won't be an issue for those using the facility in the future.

    Angel Oaks Events's reply:

    I would like to introduce myself. I am Kathi Boyd, the new director of The Grand Palace. It would be my honor to help future brides in any way possible from the Engagement Party, all the way through until the Wedding Reception.

    Please don't hesitate to call me. 281-367-3200
  • D
    Derrick Married on 03/05/2011
    Rating 4 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 2.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Loved this place, made the wedding look great. The management needs more help, very unfriendly didn't help my wife at all.
  • B
    Brittany Married on 03/05/2011
    Rating 3.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 0.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    This place is so beautiful and was the perfect place to have my wedding. It created a awesome scenary, and the pictures looked even better. The catering company they used was great, the food was hot, fresh and well seasoned when we got our plates.

    I only had one complaint with this place, it was the Coordinator that they have over the venue. I like any other bride have questions and theings always come up. Her attitude was just ridiculous, and every time we called or emailed she always responded with a attitude like we were bothering her. My planner had to continuously tell her to mind her tone. She constantly said rude comments and was just rude throughout the entire process. I would not recommend this property to anyone simply because no bride and/or family should have to deal with a person like that. If she would fix her attitude I'm sure they would get more business

    Angel Oaks Events's reply:

    Hi Brittany! Thank you so much for your review. As of April 1st Cathi Boyd is the NEW director at The Grand Palace. Please do keep us in mind for future events as we are working very hard to ensure that events at The Grand Palace are an excellent experience.
  • W
    Whitten Married on 01/19/2017
    Rating 3.2 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 2.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 2.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    Pretty nice venue. However, I think that the professionalism of the staff was seriously lacking. They were not very helpful or friendly to work with. I would pick a different venue!
  • K
    Kaitlin Married on 04/20/2018
    Rating 0.5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 0.5 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 0.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 0.5 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 0.5 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 0.5 out of 5
    I just had my wedding here on 5/4/2018 I was extremely disappointed. The staff here is extremely unprofessional. I was assured that the contract I signed was going to be upheld that was utterly false . This venue not only broke thier contract but also broke Texas state law. This venue is a disgrace to the charity banner they fly for thier " non-profit" organization. They double booked our event with two others. They lied about everything I was told would be done. After numerous times of checking on the progress on thier remodel efforts i was assured that everything would be perfect . This was not the case ! Walls were not painted , floors were not even swept and mopped much less fixed. There is no bridal sweet or place where Bride or groom can get ready. This place and its employees have no integrity. In my contact I signed with these people it was itemized out fully to tell you exactly what you get except you get nothing that is stated . We paid for but did not receive bar tenders , security guards , cleaned venue , also we had to set the place up our self . Also don't plan on setting anything up cause the only allow an hour before your event starts to setup . I was overwhelmed by how we were treated. What got me the most was they were the nicest people I ever met all the way until they got my full payment then they flipped the switch be very careful these people are con artist.

    Angel Oaks Events's reply:

    This review is wrong. Our remodel is completely finished and our building is lovely. You were given everything you asked for and more. I personally let you have seven hours that you did not pay for. I event stayed on my off time so you could have exactly what you needed. I also gave you 2 Hotel rooms free of charge to you to help accommodate your bridal party. Our staff helped with your servers and cleaned up after you left the stuff you no longer wanted. I'm sorry that you feel this way. We did go above and beyond for your event.