Weddings

Amy Wellenkamp Photographer Reviews

Amy Wellenkamp Photographer

Amy Wellenkamp Photographer

Nipomo, CA
Rating 5.0 out of 5, 67 Reviews
View more information

67 Reviews

Rated
5.0
out of 5.0
Recommended by 100% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 5 out of 5

Awards

  • 67
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner

36 User photos

Sort by:
  • A
    Ana D. Married on 03/07/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    The best photographer on the coast.

    Amy was amazing from start to finish. So attentive to all our needs made sure to have the perfect shot and light. Was easy to work with from the first day we spoke to her on the phone to when we met and to this day still the best so glad we had her by our side for the perfect day in our life's.

    Amy Wellenkamp Photographer's reply:

    Ana! Thank you for your sweet words. It was a joy to meet you and capture the incredible love and devotion you and Marvin share.
  • L
    Luanne Q. Married on 10/12/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    After the wedding, photos are all you have. Make them great!!

    AMAZING PHOTOS! Amy did her homework and talked with us to get to know us and what we were looking for in our wedding photos. True professional, Worked quickly. Got all of the photos we were looking for, and the ones we hadn't thought of. As time goes on, after the wedding, you realized how important the photos, and the story she tells are.. When all is said and done, you want to make sure you have great photos. Amy is the one. She takes pride in her work, and it shows. Could not be happier about having her photograph our wedding. She also helped in coordinating the whole day, helping in making things run smoothly.

    Amy Wellenkamp Photographer's reply:

    Chris and LuAnne, It was so incredible capturing your wedding. You two are definitely meant for each other and to see and feel the love you share between the two of you and your families was an honor to capture. I'm so happy for you.
  • S
    Suzanne Married on 08/03/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing human and talented photographer!

    Amy was fantastic, detailed oriented, organized, and gave us the best photos for our special day. We worked with her for both our engagement and our wedding. Her calm demeanor, positive attitude, flexibility, and eye for great photo opportunities gave us beautiful photos we will treasure forever. Leading up to our photo sessions, Amy ensured that we had all the information we needed for our wedding and made sure all the details were ironed out so the day went smoothly. Amy was amazing with communication and pre and post wedding and we highly recommend her when it comes to your photography needs!

    Amy Wellenkamp Photographer's reply:

    Suzanne and Alex! What a joy it was for me to capture your wedding journey. So many of your photos showed the pure delight you have for each other. You warm my heart!
  • C
    Chelsey S. Married on 07/20/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    A true artist

    Amy is not just a random person who picked up a nice camera and shoots photos as a second job. She is a true professional who continues to further her education and expertise in photojournalism. Amy did a wonderful job on both our engagement pictures and our wedding pictures. She captured so many wonderful moments during our special day! I highly recommend her to any bride that wants quality photos that capture all the special moments.

    Amy Wellenkamp Photographer's reply:

    Chelsey, You and Nate are the sweetest couple. Thank you so much for all of your input into the photos. The look of your engagement photos and your wedding were extremely charming. I loved your vision and especially how romantic you two are. Many blessings and lots of love!!
  • edit622@gmail.com
    Edit K. Married on 07/06/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing pictures and professionalism

    We had a great experience with Amy and her team and highly recommend her! We got married in LA but planned the wedding from SF. From the start she was super responsive, met with us virtually, and answered many questions as they came up all the way to the wedding week. She helped us put our schedule together, gave her professional advice on what we should and shouldn’t do, and fit in all of our desires. We decided last minute to do bridal party pictures at the house instead of hotel room, and she was very accommodating, and came out to the house, which was quite a drive for her! She took beautiful pictures during the wedding, kept it fun but also on schedule, and turned around a highlight of the pictures within a day.

    Amy Wellenkamp Photographer's reply:

    Edit and Joshua, I am so happy our paths crossed. Thank you for entrusting your wedding memories to myself and my team. All of your incredible planning and vision were perfect. My favorite part, however, is how you two look at each other with such a deep love. I can tell you are soul mates.
  • Leanne
    Leanne Married on 06/01/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing photographer and experience!

    Absolutely! Great to work with, makes you feel so comfortable and happy.

    Amy Wellenkamp Photographer's reply:

    Leanne and Sam! It was pure joy for me to capture your engagement and wedding photos. So many super special and creative moments. Congratulations on your forever together!
  • Scott
    Scott W. Married on 03/09/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Professional, stylish, and accommodating!

    Amy was an amazing photographer at our wedding. We genuinely enjoyed working with her. She was professional and polite, but she kept us on our schedule so that we could get back to our friends and families for the reception and party. She captured a very real and emotional day for us and the photos are stunning.
    I’ve worked (as back-up videographer) with a number of other Photographers at weddings and I must say Amy is my favorite to work with. She’s willing to go the extra mile to make your most important day as perfect as possible. Her attention to detail and styles sets her above the rest. Thanks Amy!!

    Amy Wellenkamp Photographer's reply:

    Aw, thank you Scott. Your words mean so much. You make me want to cry. I appreciate your feedback. It is extremely meaningful. I am so overjoyed for you and Whitney, you are so made for each other and I was honored to be there to capture this amazing time for you two.
  • Sarah
    Sarah D. Married on 10/04/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing from start to finish

    Amy was amazing from the start. She was so helpful and even when I wanted to get a picture on pismo beach (as that’s were we got engaged) she was only more than happy to make it happen.
    Amy fitted right in with everyone at the wedding and to be honest most of the time
    I forgot Amy was there haha.
    Everyone at the wedding kept saying how nice she is and how great she is at her job.
    I couldn’t wait to see the pictures and when they arrived I was blown away with the presentation of them. The pictures turned out better than I ever could of thought and everyone loved them.
    We can not recommend Amy enough she is brilliant and a perfectionist and her work is amazing.

    Amy Wellenkamp Photographer's reply:

    Sarah,
    I am so thankful our paths crossed! It was wonderful to work with you and Ross. Your families are as adorable as you two. I loved all of your travel themed details for your Ireland to California destination wedding. I look forward to hearing about your next adventures. You two are made for each other. Congratulations once again!
    Amy
  • S
    Spencer Married on 09/01/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Do yourself a favor and choose her

    We cannot understate the effect Amy and her team had on our wedding.
    From putting our minds at ease months ahead of time at the engagement shoot.
    To giving our rehearsal some much needed structure.
    To finally taking breathtaking images on the actual day.
    Simply put, she was a lifesaver.
    We couldn't be happier with the pictures she captured.

    Amy is the consummate professional.
    My entire family kept remarking on me how much they liked her.
    Her calm demeanor was the perfect counterbalance to the craziness of a wedding.
    Her competence is only eclipsed by her remarkable talent at photography.
    My only regret is that we didn't take a picture with her.
    We would absolutely hire her again in a heartbeat.
  • Kristin
    Kristin H. Married on 07/28/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Big City Artistry and Service, Small Town Service

    Amy has a excellent artistic and detail-oriented eye. Every aspect of her work rivals the quality of big-city photographers. She also is well-connected and regarded by the wedding community in SLO. Her recommendations of vendors uniformly were top-notch. Amy also served as an informal coordinator for us, which eased out-of-town planning.

    Amy Wellenkamp Photographer's reply:

    Kristin, What an honor it was to capture your engagement and wedding photos. I loved seeing that sparkle in your eyes every-time you and Brent interact. Congratulations and blessings!
    Amy
  • A
    Aubri Married on 05/19/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Amy was simply the best person to photograph our wedding! She did a great job of accommodating our needs and easily got the job done. I would recommend anyone and everyone to work with Amy. I'll miss working with her!

    Amy Wellenkamp Photographer's reply:

    Aubri and Patrick! It was such a joy capturing this amazing time in your lives. You two are so made for each other. I loved all of the personal touches you added, especially in your vows and music. Happy forever together!
  • T
    Tisha Married on 10/22/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Amy's professionalism, poise and passion absolutely solidified her as our choice as our wedding photographer. She was very kind, honest and helpful in getting us the right background, time of day, and poses for our photos. She allowed our families to have input but also suggested specific shots that helped to influence our best photos that matched our individual personalities. Amy also took time to meet the entire family the day before to get to know us a little before the big day! My husband and I were beyond words when she finalized the wedding album. Speechless and in awe. Amy is committed to helping couples savor the memories through her brilliant skills and knowledge in photography. Hands down the best photographer we've ever scene or worked with. What a gift she has for her business in photography, and what a blessing it was to work with her. The Tinsley's wish her all the best! We highly recommend Amy and her support staff for your wedding day. You won't regret it!
  • K
    Kim Married on 10/15/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We hired Amy for our wedding on October 2017 and she was the MVP. She was pivotal with organizing the timeline and recommending other venders throughout the planning. She was so easy and fun to work with helping us with every small detail. She not only took pictures but created our wedding invitations and programs. She also made our guest book where our guests could sign for the wedding which was accompanied by a video of photos taken the day of the wedding which we thought was a very nice touch.
    The Photos are amazing and so unique because of her creativity in getting memorable shots. She did not miss an opportunity to get a special photo. If we could give her 10 stars we would. Thanks to her we will be able to relive our special day through her exceptional photographs forever.
  • K
    Kristie Married on 09/16/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Amy was a pleasure to work with from booking through receiving our personalized USB of all our photos. She took some amazing pictures and captured all the best moments. Would book her again without question. Thank you Amy!!!
  • E
    Erica Married on 07/15/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Amy is incredibly talented. She photographed our wedding at The Cliffs Resort in Pismo Beach and we were blown away. When we received the finished product the photos were better than we could have ever imagined. Thank you for capturing the best moments of our life. Your amazing!!!
    -Erica & Elijah
  • D
    Dana Married on 04/15/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Amy is an amazing photographer who really takes the time to get to know the couples she works with! Our engagement session was easy and the pictures showed our personality. The wedding pictures captured each detail of the day perfectly. We couldn't have asked for better photographers!

    Amy Wellenkamp Photographer's reply:

    Dana! Thank you so much for letting other couples know about your experience. I am so happy for you and Andrew. All of your planning and special touches were so much fun to capture.
  • J
    Jacqueline Married on 06/18/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We interviewed many photographers and when we meet Amy there was no doubt that she was the whole package.
    Amy is so personable and kind, she went above and beyond for us...... And lets not forget the photos, when my husband and I looked at them we started crying all over again she captured every moment, and every detail. We are so grateful
    that we found Amy.
    JW
  • S
    Shana Married on 01/16/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I found Amy through my wedding planner at the Cliffs and I am forever grateful!!! When I first went on to her website and saw that she had several different styles in which she took her pictures, which were all AMAZING, I was sold. I wanted free flowing romantic playful photos and with her diverse ability to do different styles, I had no doubt she would capture the feeling we were going for. She went above and beyond with making me feel comfortable as I have a couple troubled areas I was sensitive about, and trust me to be able to tell your photographer concerns like that IS A DREAM!!! I never felt nervous around her, even the first time we met I felt like there was an instant connection!! Everyone who was at the wedding loved her presence and kind energy. When the photos came out, I had friends and family tell me that her wedding photos were the best they’d EVER seen!!! Amy has been wonderful with the whole ordering process for pictures, sending us a beautiful personalized flash drive, as well as great advice for book selections. She also took ALL the detailed shots of our DIY projects we put together for the wedding, which was quite a list! I feel truly blessed that she was part of our special day and was able to capture our amazing moments that we will CHERISH forever!!! Her pictures fill my heart with JOY every time I look at them! I HIGHLY recommend Amy for your wedding day or any important photo moment in your life!!! She is truly one of a kind!!!
  • S
    Susie Married on 10/24/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I actually met Amy for the first time to do maternity and baby photos. I was very uncomfortable having my photo taken, but she made it so easy and I was extremely happy with the photos she took. So when my (now) husband proposed to me, Amy was one of the first people I contacted. He proposed in the spring and we were wanting to have a fall wedding, so I asked Amy for her open dates and we set everything else up around that.

    Amy is so sweet, extremely knowledgeable, and has a great eye and talent for photography. My mom and I were even laughing a bit because the area that my ceremony was held was nice, but it wasn't nearly as beautiful in person as it was in her photographs, haha.

    Choosing Amy will be one of the best wedding decisions you make. :)
  • A
    Andrea Married on 10/10/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We could not have had a better photographer for my daughter's wedding. Amy was fun to have at the event--she is good at what she does without being overly enthusiastic. I loved that about her as I was the MOB and already nervous about every little thing! She was reassuring!!!! Her photographs are stunning--friends tell me that she managed to capture everything. We had a busy wedding-a New Orleans style reception with a Second Line Brass Band all the way to beignets, cigars, and scotch at the end. She took it all. I love Amy W. and can't wait to work with her again on daughter #2's wedding (?)!
  • A
    Autumn Married on 09/12/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I started looking for wedding photographers first because it was the most important vendor to me. I met with several photographers and then while scrolling through a wedding site on facebook, I saw a post from one of Amy's weddings. It was exactly what I was looking for. So I booked my appointment. We met her in her fabulous studio. She had so many gorgeous albums to look through and many large prints of her work. It was beautiful. We sat and talked and Amy was very sweet and easy going. A few days later we called to book her. What was great is that she was so flexible and after talking with us she helped us with a custom package that suited our needs and budget. She was super responsive...every time I had a question or asked for a referral she always got back to me right away. She helped build our timeline and even came to our rehearsal so she could see the venue and surroundings and get an idea of shots for the big day. That meant so much to me. I thought that was a really personal touch and gave me ease for the big day. On our wedding day Amy was professional, calm and sweet. She had such patience when dealing with our family photos and everyone wanting pictures. I have 3 kids and she was amazing at getting them to behave. She took some creative shots around our venue and made us feel so comfortable. We had so much fun and are so thankful for the beautiful images that we will cherish a life
  • J
    Josh Married on 05/07/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Amy and Summer were outstanding from the start! We were planning a wedding from across the country and weren't able to meet Amy until just a few months before! Naturally with time ticking away, we wanted everything to be as perfect as possible, and she put us very at ease after our first meeting. Her style fit what my wife had in mind and she was even flexible for trying some different ideas. Amy is truly an artist and a fantastic businesswoman. Our products were sent within an exceptable timeframe I want to say within a few weeks. She was very good at keeping in touch and prompt and attentive throughout or experience. For you ladies worried about nightmare photographers all up in your face... Amy was NOT one of those. She was invisible the day of.

    Truly a fantastic experience and I would recommend her to anyone!

    Thank you Amy!
    Josh and Mindy
    April 7, 2015
  • M
    Marne Married on 03/22/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Couldn't have asked for a more professional photographer! She was knowledgeable, and took the time to help us plan our day. She gave us so many helpful suggestions, which made our planning so much easier. Amy photographed our engagement session, and our wedding and we LOVED our pictures. So many favorites, it was difficulty to narrow it down. After our wedding we had so many of our guests compliment her on how hard she worked and how friendly and kind she was. We highly recommend her.
  • User2113954 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Amy was awesome! We went to a bridal show in SLO and met several photographers. We narrowed our search to two vendors; Amy and one other. We aren't sure how it would have worked out with the other vendor but we cn definitely happy with Amy. The deciding factor for us when choosing Amy was the fact that she was willing to work with our budget. She had numerous option for us to choose from and tailored our package to meet our needs and means. Her assistant Summer was awesome and was fun to work with; she took some cool pics of the boys..
  • K
    Kristen Married on 09/21/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We had the pleasure of working with Amy on both our engagement session and our wedding, and she is simply amazing at what she does. Upon meeting her, you see her passion for photography and how she relishes in the process of taking your vision and turning it into a beautiful masterpiece. All with just a click of a button!

    The concept of “Your Story, Your Style” couldn’t be more perfect. Amy was inquisitive and attentive to our ideas and visions, and with every suggestion, she nailed it. The end result was exactly what we envisioned. She was extremely helpful and went above and beyond to discuss every detail with us before each event, and both could not have gone smoother. We opted to have a “first look” on our wedding day and not only did she help setup the timeline, she kept everyone moving to ensure we stayed on schedule to get every shot (which she had already planned since she scoped out venue the day before).

    The ideas Amy has and the intricate details she brings to life in each photograph capture every moment to it’s fullest. Her calm, friendly and warm demeanor puts you at ease and assures you that you’re in good hands. I would highly recommend Amy to anyone and promise that you will not be disappointed.