AMS Entertainment - Pismo Beach Reviews

52 | Arroyo Grande, CA
See photos, pricing and details

52 Reviews for AMS Entertainment - Pismo Beach

Recommended by 98%

52
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2010 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2009 Winner

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 4.8
  • Average response time 4.9
Sort by:
  • R

    Rachel · Married on 04/09/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    So glad I made that first phone call to Sean at AMS! He was so much more than just a wedding DJ! I told him that we were having a vintage carnival theme wedding, and he helped us contract vendors for carnival booths and a high striker game with attendants for our cocktail hour, and a trackless train to transport our guests from the parking area to the ceremony and back to the reception. Also his DJ skills were great! Everyone was out on the dance floor! And the announcements were very professional.

    Sent on 05/19/2016
  • E

    Erin · Married on 08/08/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    AMS Entertainment is absolutely amazing! Sean was extremely helpful when we were first working with the company. Bill was available to DJ our wedding and we couldn't have been more pleased with him. AMS has an incredibly easy to use and awesome ceremony, reception, and music online planner. This was extremely helpful in planning all the music and details of our big day. Because we are not local to the area, we had a few phone calls with Bill to go over everything in further detail. He was prompt to respond when I had further questions. I already knew I liked him just by speaking on the phone with him. He absolutely blew me away at our wedding with his professionalism! He went above and beyond when another vendor dropped the ball on a few things. He anticipated needs by moving our generations dance up due to my husband's grandfather getting tired. He was very friendly and kept the entire wedding running smoothly and beautifully. I would recommend Bill and AMS to anyone needing DJ services. I can't thank you enough Bill and AMS!!!!

    Sent on 08/22/2015
  • S

    Stefanie · Married on 11/01/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Thank you Mike! It has always been a pleasure working with you and to have you DJ my wedding was amazing! AMS rocks! Choose them and your wedding will be everything you imagined.

    Sent on 01/04/2015
  • N

    Nichole · Married on 09/06/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Review for my wedding on 9/6/14. Sean is so great! The DJ is the most important aspect of any wedding as they control the mood and the theme of the wedding. The system Sean uses is really helpful as you can login online and enter in all your music and it has a timeline you can use to manage your reception. Sean personally handled my wedding and was great working with my onsite coordinator as well as my florist to make sure everything was on time and flowing correctly. It was important to me that the wedding had a rock theme and we did not have any "hipster" type music. The second part of the wedding wedding I wanted it to feel like a club atmosphere so everyone would get up and dance and Sean nailed it! The party continued even after Sean packed up and left because he got everyone so amped up! My husband and I met on the radio so we also had a custom intro that required rather tricky timing for it all to come together and Sean handled it like a pro with no complaints about the added technical difficulty.

    The lighting Sean did was spectacular as the room felt warm and classy. DONT SKIMP on lighting you will regret it. I didn't realize the impact that proper lighting can have and it really transforms your space. We also had Sean make us a custom gobo (lighted monogram) which turned out beautifully. I know you might think is that really necessary but it is. It really pulled my lounge area together and provided a nice background for photos.

    The photo booth is something you must do! Guests love it but the best part is having those photos. We had a few elderly guests and the photos of them cutting loose in the photo booth are something we will treasure. The booth comes with a attendant so you don't have to worry about managing it and awesome props were also part of the package.

    Sent on 03/31/2015
  • J

    Jessica · Married on 07/19/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I loved Jeremy! He did an awesome job setting up my teenage sons to sing while we walked the aisle and the timing for our song at the end of the ceremony was perfect! He worked well with all of our vendors to ensure timing on our grand entrance, cake cutting, etc. He also did a perfect job picking the perfect music for the dance floor. Jeremy was awesome with the kids at our reception. Our family is important to us and sometimes the kids get a little left out at a wedding but Jeremy made sure to include them in toasting us and even did some kids games and activities. :) We loved it. He kept everyone entertained and got everyone involved. He taught the kids the chicken dance then had us all up there doing it. Yes! He even got me and my parents involved in the horrible chicken dance. haha it was so much fun. I will definitely recommend him to anyone. He will make sure to make your wedding reception the way you imagined. :)

    Sent on 07/24/2014
  • User3554961 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sean and our DJ, Jeremy were incredible. We had amazing night- Sean at AMS made the booking process easy, was very accessible and a pleasure to work with. We were especially impressed with Jeremy as our MC, DJ and also so extremely helpful in coordinating/balancing with the addition of a live band. Cheers to AMS, thank you for everything.

    Sent on 09/23/2013
  • K

    Katie · Married on 06/29/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sean was beyond incredible! It seems like I would change something about the DJ at almost every wedding I go to, but I think Sean was absolutely perfect! He was so easygoing right from the beginning. He totally got what we were going for. He was super accommodating of all of our requests. When it came time to end the party and there were still 100+ people in the tent, he had no problem staying as late as we wanted!
    Not a song was played that I didn't like, the dance floor was full the WHOLE time (and our reception lasted for over 6 hours). I think Sean was a huge factor in making our wedding exactly what I hoped it would be!

    Sent on 07/01/2013
  • E

    Eileen · Married on 06/15/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jeremy is the best DJ around! We got married at the Cambria Pines Lodge. I met with jeremy a few days before the wedding to go over songs and to give him greek music for the greek money dance. I thought I would have to explain the money dance to him, but he totally knew what I was talking about. He helped the flow of the wedding and played an excellent mix of music. I wasn't sure what to walk down the aisle too, but after a few minutes we decided on "At Last" by Etta James. Jeremy made me feel confident in this decision and I have to say, it was beyond perfect!!! At the end of the ceremony, he walked over to my husband and I and offered to get us drinks from the cocktail hour! He's incredible. To be honest, I still talk to people about Jeremy even a month after the event because he was that awesome! My dad said it best, my sister had a ceremony and then a reception at her wedding, but I had a ceremony and then a party! Totally what I wanted and all thanks to our DJ. The flow was perfect and we even got a burned CD of all the songs from our day hand delivered by Jeremy at the end of the night. So awesome! If you need a DJ go through AMS and request Jeremy! You will not be disappointed!!!

    Sent on 07/08/2013
  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 05/26/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I interacted both with Sean the owner and Mike who was our DJ before the wedding. They were both very helpful, professional, and speedy in communications. They answered all of my questions and I even had Mike's cell phone number for any questions.

    Mike was a phenomenal DJ, he read the guests cue's and kept the party going as everyone on the dance floor was having fun. He checked in with the groom and myself often, as well as the wedding planner as to our wishes and to let us know what was coming up soon (toasts, first dances, garter and bouquet toss).
    He respected our 'Do not play' list even when one such song was a special guest request. I then went with the guest to let the dj know this one time it would be ok, and he was able to queue it up to be the next song.

    I'm sure my guests had a wonderful time as I saw them all on the dance floor, but even more than that, my husband and I danced the evening away. I was sad when the night was through because I was giving it my all on the dance floor. :)
    Would definitely book AMS again.

    Sent on 06/05/2013
  • User2706509 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sean from AMS did a fabulous job! He kept the party going all night, and definitely helped keep everything on schedule :) The lighting was awesome, considering our dance floor was outside, and it very much seemed like a party and very fun! I would definitely recommend AMS for any couple going the DJ route!

    Sent on 10/10/2012
  • A

    Adam · Married on 09/22/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Cannot say enough good things about Jeremy with AMS! He was professional, courteous, and worked amazingly with us and our coordinator. He definitely struck me as someone who goes above and beyond to make sure that weddings go smoothly. We definitely recommend this company!

    Sent on 10/03/2012
  • S

    Soquel · Married on 09/15/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    First and foremost I would like to thank AMS for making our day an absolutely unforgettable experience. Their expertise and professionalism did not go unnoticed not only by my husband and myself, but by many of our guests as well. We had the pleasure of meeting the team in there welcoming new office in Arroyo Grande. Sean and his crew went above and beyond to not only make us feel comfortable and confident about our big day, but also assisted us in capturing our own personal style. We had the honor of working with Jeremy for the main event and I just can't express enough how much we LOVE him. He is truly meant to be a DJ in every sense of the word. He wore several hats at our wedding, including: coordinator, DJ, MC, comedian, and many, many more; all of which he handled professionally and seemingly effortlessly. We HIGHLY recommend AMS and of course Jeremy, not only for a wedding, but for any event you want to rock! These guys are amazing and my husband and I hope to have the opportunity to work with them again in the future. Thanks AMS..we couldn't and wouldn't have done it without you!

    Sent on 10/22/2012
  • B

    Brianne · Married on 09/15/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sean Dasmunn from AMS our DJ and we highly recommend him! He was so easy to work with throughout the entire process. He saved the day when our ceremony guitar player got sick, our beach wedding was perfectly audible and clear thanks to him, and he was so professional and easy to work with. My husband and I had a very unique reception planned and Sean totally made each of our ideas come to life. He was super flexible, went with our style and helped my husband surprise me by singing to me too! Our guests are still raving about the music that was played and how much fun the reception was. He kept our dance floor packed the entire night.

    Thanks so much, Sean, for making our reception such a great party!

    Sent on 02/18/2013
  • Lindsay

    Lindsay · Married on 08/25/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sean was a DJ for our wedding and we were really happy with the way our reception turned out. Sean is experienced as a DJ and knew just the right time for certain events during the reception. We really were thankful for AMS's music tool online, which was helpful in organizing our playlist. AMS also booked a guitarist for our ceremony and cocktail hour and we were really pleased with the musician as well. We would recommend AMS for your events!

    Sent on 09/19/2012
  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 08/18/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    If you are looking for an outstanding, professional DJ service who will match your taste for your day, then AMS is for you. Our DJ, Mike, listened carefully to my husband's eclectic taste in music and was able to use that and turn the playlist into something everyone could enjoy. We had so many compliments on our DJ; everyone was very impressed. I would recommend AMS to anyone, they are fantastic!

    Sent on 09/02/2012
  • L

    Lisa · Married on 08/18/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sean Dasmunn from AMS was awesome to work with! Sean came highly recommended from family friends who have been in the wedding business on the central coast for 30+ years.

    Sean is very personable and he allows the couple to tell him how much to be involved. All the guests at our wedding RAVED about Sean. He had everyone on the dance floor ALL NIGHT! Guests ranging from 15 years old to 80 years old. My husband and I gave him ~40 songs to go off of, and he created the playlist during the night. He's had ~20 years of experience, so he is great at judging the crowd and thinking of the next song that would keep everyone dancing.

    Sean was also great about helping us pick upbeat and fun songs for the bridal party's entrance and had the perfect amount of MC time - guests stopped and listened when he announced important wedding events (cake cutting, etc.) because he wasn't on the microphone the whole time like some other DJs.

    All in all, GREAT service. Would highly recommend!

    Sent on 09/03/2012
  • A

    A · Married on 07/07/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Perfect mix of DJing and leading the guests. Everyone was on the dancefloor all night! The uplights around the room were great too. We were very happy with AMS!

    Sent on 08/21/2012
  • K

    Kayla · Married on 04/28/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had Sean from AMS as our DJ at our wedding and we would highly recommend him. Sean played all the songs we wanted from our online playlist. He really did a good job mixing up the newer songs with the oldies. He kept the dance floor packed all night and no one wanted to leave at the end of the night. Our guests were chanting "one more song" that's how good he is!

    Sent on 05/17/2012
  • C

    Ciara · Married on 04/21/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wow, these guys were great! Sean was our DJ and he did an incredible job. Gave us exactly what we wanted for our wedding day. He kept things moving at the right pace, kept the crazy guests in check and made us smile and laugh and not worry about a thing on our wedding day. We didnt know the first thing about what music to have during the ceremony (we had an outdoor california casual wedding) but this wasnt a problem at all. Sean sat down with us went through the type of wedding we wanted and what probably would be good song selections for us. All of his suggestions were spot on! Saved us a lot of time and hassle. His song choices were wonderful. The last thing that I wanted as a bride was to have to make more decisions, and as soon as I let Sean know this, he was more than willing to take control and did a wonderful job. That being said, I know that if I had had a playlist of every single song and the order he would have been accommodating to that approach as well. However, we are paying them because they are professionals who have more experience and knowledge than we do and I am glad that I handed the reigns over to them, especially after hearing the horror stories about craigslist DJs from other friends. AMS is worth every penny, definitely recommend!

    Sent on 11/17/2012
  • H

    Hilary · Married on 09/24/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had Jeremy with AMS for our Cayucos Creek Barn wedding in September 2011. Dancing is my absolute favorite thing in the world so I was very picky about what type of music I wanted and the mood we wanted to set. Jeremy was absolutely amazing! Given my love for dancing, we opened the floor early and had it open late...and there wasn't a second of down time. Jeremy took our suggested list and played off that to create such a great vibe. I honestly had more fun than I've ever had in my entire life! (Yes, it was my wedding and of course it’s going to be fun, but this was way beyond my expectations). Not to mention, most of our guests came up to us at some point in the night to tell us it was the best or one of the best weddings they've been to (and I know people are supposed to say that, but I really think they meant it)... Jeremy definitely had a lot to do with that. I couldn't give him a higher recommendation!

    Sent on 11/10/2011
  • M

    Katherine · Married on 09/16/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    AMS Entertainment was a great choice for providing music for my ceremony and reception. I would personally recommend Anthony Salas for any event. He was helpful and professional in our pre-wedding meeting and phone calls, as well as during my wedding.

    Sent on 12/14/2011
  • E

    Erin · Married on 08/20/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Traveling from out of the area, my wife and I were extremely nervous about choosing vendors. Music is a huge priority for us and the DJ can make or break the event. Sean was the consummate professional from the day we walked into his office. He worked with our style, priorities and spent time getting to know us so that he could help create the perfect event. We loved the high-tech website where we could listen to examples online and pick our favorites on the fly. Sean and AMS have connections to other add-ons such as lighting, furniture and music for the ceremony. He was able to pull some strings and get a baby grand piano for the reception. The day of the ceremony, Sean took the reigns of the schedule and was in constant communication with my wife and I, and flexed to cover some of the inevitable snafus. I couldn't recommend Sean and his team more. "Thanks for making our reception unforgettable, Sean!"
    - Joel & Erin

    Sent on 10/15/2011
  • D

    Diana · Married on 08/07/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I have to say, that my experience with AMS entertainment was amazing! I had a very low budget wedding, the kind where I made everything by hand, minus the dress, but I would have if I were that talented ;) Needless to say, a wedding planner was not within budget. Between an amazing friend who volunteered her time to help and Jeremy, the most entertaining dj I had ever experienced, my wedding came together beautifully. Mind you, that "wedding planner" isn't written anywhere in the contract I signed with AMS but Jeremy went above and beyond his obligations as dj to make sure my day was as stress free as possible. The feedback I received from one of my guests was that she "wished the DJ would stop playing such great music" so that she could sit down for a minute! Jeremy was non stop entertainment, and kept the night events right on schedule, from the first dance to the cutting of the cake. Due to his experience from previous weddings, he even suggested certain traditions that I didn't think of... Such as the money dance! A must! He did so much more than just play music, he engaged the crowd and kept us all entertained for the whole night. I will definitely be doing business with AMS entertainment for future events and Jeremy Rathbone will always be my number 1 choice when it comes to a DJ!

    Sent on 09/21/2012
  • M

    Michelle · Married on 07/09/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jeremy Rathbone at AMS is the best DJ EVER! It has been a month since my wedding and I still have people telling me that they had the best time! The dance floor was packed all night, and Jeremy really captured the vibe that we were going for. The ceremony music was perfect and the reception ran so smoothly. I didn't have a care in the world. Jeremy is prompt and professional. I felt confident that he would play music that would keep everyone rocking out and having a blast and he really did. We were able to choose songs that we wanted played and didn't want played, and could pick the type of music played at each event (cocktail hour, dinner, cake cutting, etc.). Sean was very friendly and professional when we were booking Jeremy. He answered all of our questions and made us feel so at ease. Our experience with AMS truly could not have been any better. I would recommend Jeremy in a heartbeat, and already have!

    Sent on 08/16/2011
  • L

    Lori · Married on 05/07/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mike was amazing. He was professional, polite and so much fun. We really appreciated all his help. Thank you so much!!!!

    Sent on 07/20/2011

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review