American Visionary Art Museum Reviews

95 | Baltimore, MD
See photos, pricing and details

95 Reviews for American Visionary Art Museum

Recommended by 96%

95
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner

4.8 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 4.7
  • Value 4.6
  • Average response time 4.9

15 User photos

American Visionary Art Museum 1
American Visionary Art Museum 2
American Visionary Art Museum 3
American Visionary Art Museum 4
American Visionary Art Museum 5
American Visionary Art Museum 6
American Visionary Art Museum 7
+ 9
Sort by:
  • Jilna

    Jilna Kothary · Married on 10/21/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Unique Venue, Excellent Service

    We were looking for a unique venue for our Indian wedding, and AVAM was the first place we saw in person. We instantly fell in love with the space, and our wedding was perfect! Michele is wonderful to work with, the JRVC 3rd floor space is a beautiful, well maintained room that allows for so many variations in how you can use the space. The room transformed beautifully from day to night, and the sculpture barn is a very cool space for lunch and cocktail hour. Our guests are still raving about the whole day, including the venue, and we are thrilled with our decision to get married at AVAM!

  • S

    Sarah · Married on 09/15/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Loved this venue

    We had an excellent experience with the American Visionary Art Museum. We reserved the sculpture garden and barn for our ceremony and reception respectively. Our guests loved the layout and the quirkiness of the atmosphere, as did we! Michele was amazing, I cannot speak highly enough about her! She was responsive, knowledgeable and made great suggestions for our event. A hurricane was forecasted for the weekend of our wedding and she was so helpful in providing guidance for back up plans (which thankfully we did not end up needing!). She also has a great list of suggested vendors that we relied upon to make the wedding planning process a breeze. If you are looking for a unique venue, this is definitely a place you will want to look into!

  • M

    Mai-Ly · Married on 09/15/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Unique and beautiful venue

    My husband and I walked through the AVAM for our first search in venues and immediately knew this is where we wanted to get married. Being an art teacher, I was thrilled to have the JVRC buidling available for my guests to walk through the art gallery before going up to the reception hall on the 3rd floor. I had a large wedding party and even with 23 tables set up, there was a lot of space for the dance floor and felt very open. The room can look so versatile depending on the lighting and decor and with the beautiful exposed brick and our bright decor, we loved the space. Michele Coziahr was very responsive to every email and phone call and easy to work with. Everything was seamless and perfect!

    American Visionary Art Museum 8
    American Visionary Art Museum 9
    American Visionary Art Museum 10
    American Visionary Art Museum 11
    American Visionary Art Museum 12
  • M

    Mike · Married on 06/23/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We held our reception in the barn, and it turned out beautifully. It was such a cool and unique venue, and all of our guests were impressed. Michele, the venue's event director, was a huge help in suggesting other vendors to use for catering, lighting, coordination, etc.

  • D

    Dana · Married on 06/16/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I, my parents, and his parents highly recommend AVAM as a wedding venue!! We've been to AVAM to visit before, my parents had been to a wedding ~10 years ago in the JRVC Banquet Room, and my in-laws held a family function in the on-site restaurant, Encantada, a number of years ago -- so we were all familiar enough with the space to know it would fit with our personalities. The museum itself is fun and quirky, and there are several spaces for photo ops inside and outside the museum buildings themselves. For our budget and wedding vision we chose to have our ceremony and reception in the Sculpture Barn and Garden.

    Michele, the event coordinator for AVAM, is the main reason that so many people rave about events they have attended or hosted here. From my first email inquiry to the day of the wedding, she was extremely helpful, responsive, knowledgeable, and detail oriented. I had several questions along the way that I was afraid were "dumb" questions, and she always got back to me quickly, without judgment, and with a clear and straightforward answer! Having coordinated so many events at AVAM, Michele has several vendor contacts, knows the space inside and out, and helps bring your vision to life based on her experience. I'm so thankful we had Michele to work with throughout the whole process!

    On the day of the wedding, everything came together and looked just as I'd imagined, if not better. Green space with brick walls, funky sculptures, mirrored mosaic tiles, and open air was exactly what we were looking for and AVAM has just that (in the barn/garden area). We had 114 guests and the tables/chairs/dance floor/other decor all fit in the space with a nice flow. It's also conveniently located at the bottom of Federal Hill and adjacent to the Inner Harbor, allowing you plenty of variety as far as photo-ops go. I even loved our rain plan for ceremony inside the barn! Can't recommend AVAM enough!!!

  • S

    Sarah · Married on 05/27/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We got married here on May 27 and cannot speak highly enough about AVAM. Though there was a torrential downpour for almost the entire duration of the wedding, the museum (represented by Michele Cozaihr, the wonderfully helpful and responsive event coordinator/director/person you talk to about getting married at AVAM) did everything to help us bring the thing off. The barn was perfect, and the museum itself was wonderful for some offbeat photos after the ceremony. I would highly recommend that anybody looking for an unconventional wedding venue in Baltimore look at AVAM and the sculpture garden in particular.

  • C

    Christie · Married on 04/28/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Michelle and the rest of the team at AVAM are awesome! Michelle graciously accommodated us after we lost our original venue halfway through our planning; needless to say we were spooked and had a LOT more questions than she is probably used to, but handled them all like a champ! She is a true pro and has excellent relationships with vendors, making the process super smooth. We got married in the Sculpture Barn; the space was perfect! Just the right size. The outdoor covered patio is so nice to have and really opens up the space; the garden was beautiful for the ceremony. The space also really doesn't need a lot of decoration because it is so cool on it's own, but when you do add some lighting (in our case lanterns and uplights) -- it is truly breathtaking. It was awesome to have flexibility on spaces to take photos; especially because it started raining at the very end of our ceremony! Our guests also LOVED the free museum admission. We still get tons of compliments on the venue choice and how unique it was. Highly recommend!

    American Visionary Art Museum 13
    American Visionary Art Museum 14
    American Visionary Art Museum 15
    American Visionary Art Museum 16
    American Visionary Art Museum 17
    American Visionary Art Museum 18
    American Visionary Art Museum 19
    American Visionary Art Museum 20
    American Visionary Art Museum 21
    American Visionary Art Museum 22
  • K

    Kaie · Married on 10/08/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had a blast holding our wedding ceremony and reception on-site in the Sculpture Barn in October. We had always loved AVAM and just knew it would be the best fit, with quirky flair. Michele helped us coordinate and was highly communicative. As an event site, they have a fairly extensive list on approved local vendors and caterers, and helped provide some additional suggestions for vendors when we needed help. Also LOVE that they keep the museum open to guests during wedding events, giving our guests extra exploration time. Thanks again!

  • L

    Liz · Married on 06/24/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I can't speak highly enough about the American Visionary Art Museum - in general but especially as a wedding venue. The entire planning process was incredibly smooth and Michele was always gracious, responsible, and helpful. The space is so special and unique - our guests loved it and loved getting to visit the museum beforehand. It brought so much life, whimsy, and joy to our celebration. Highly highly recommend doing your wedding or event here!

  • M

    Melissa · Married on 06/17/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    AVAM is an amazing location for a wedding! There are fun and quirky elements around every corner, as well as fantastic backdrops for pictures (ivy walls, buildings covered in colored glass, the 'LOVE' sign, etc.) We rented out both the third floor of the Rouse building and the Barn for our event - providing out guests the opportunity to explore the grounds and garden during cocktail hour. One of things we loved the most about AVAM is, despite all of things to see all over the museum grounds, the event spaces, themselves, are blank canvases we could make our own.
    Michele, AVAM's event coordinator, was an absolute pleasure to work with! She was friendly, professional, responsive, and accommodating to our laundry list of questions. She was present at every site visit to ensure we were taken care of and generally made us feel that we were in very good hands. AVAM is definitely a great choice that will have your guests raving months after the event!

  • K

    Kayla · Married on 10/23/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Working with the American Visionary Arts Museum was absolutely amazing. We worked with Michelle, and it was actually the first wedding venue we visited. Never having planned a large-scale event like a wedding, Michelle answered all the questions we didn't even know we had. She was always responsive and incredibly helpful; she gave advice for working with our caterer, DJ, and photographer. We held our ceremony in the Sculpture Garden and the reception right in the Sculpture Barn, and it was absolutely perfect. The day-of coordinator from the AVAM was also amazing; he was helpful and was willing to do whatever we needed. The whole experience was nothing short of amazing. Thank you to everyone at the AVAM for helping make our day perfect!

  • Courtney

    Courtney · Married on 10/15/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Working with AVAM was seamless!! Being from Baltimore it was really the perfect space for us and we knew after touring that this was where we wanted to get married. The price was seemingly higher than other places but it being a museum it's kind of expected. We used the JRVC building, had our ceremony on the 1st floor and cocktail/reception on the 3rd floor - that being said, the space was literally worth every penny. So much room so that guests aren't squished together and plenty of room for a huge dance floor which we loved every bit of! Michele was great, super responsive and literally thought of everything and made sure we were in the know. She had great vendor suggestions and suggestions of her own that really made the process easier. We were a little disappointed to hear that she wouldn't be available for our walk through or rehearsal, but she made sure that we had ALL the information we needed and someone was still there (along with our coordinator) to make sure all our questions were answered should we have any. Everything was perfect and we couldn't be happier!

  • M

    Mark & Randall · Married on 08/20/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    AVAM was a wonderful and unique choice for our wedding venue! The artistic atmosphere was colorful, fun, and memorable for all generations and our guests really enjoyed themselves. We wanted to choose a location with instant character and appeal that provided our families and friends with something special to entertain them and the Museum really delivered! We utilized the Sculpture Barn and the Wildflower Garden and it worked beautifully to set the vibrant and playful tone we wanted. Michele was a pleasure to work with and made things very easy for us. Thanks for a magical event and wonderful memories for a lifetime!

  • K

    Katherine · Married on 07/16/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    There are many many reasons AVAM is a terrific venue, but the two most important ones are these: (1) the spirit of the museum, it's art, and the spaces -- all of which celebrate the creative spirit in a joyful way and (2) Michele, who manages the rentals at AVAM -- she is a true professional who knows everything about the venue, goes the extra mile in every way (she called in from her own honeymoon to help troubleshoot a technology issue we were having the day of our event), and has a wealth of experience and dedication that allows her to provide top-notch advice and support. We had a particularly challenging set of circumstances (we originally booked AVAM for the weekend in January 2016 when Snowzilla hit and shut down the entire Baltimore-Washington area) and Michele navigated us through the very emotional cancellation and rescheduling of our reception with competence and understanding and flexibility. In the end, we were able to throw the party we really wanted to (rescheduled for July 2016) thanks in very large part to Michele and beautiful, whimsical spirit of the AVAM. If you love the spaces at AVAM, you will find yourself in the very best hands here.

  • C

    Carolyn · Married on 06/04/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We loved AVAM! The space was perfect for our ceremony and reception. It was beautiful, fun, and not super traditional. The location was easily accessible and the property was fun for guests to explore. Michele was responsive and easy to work with. If I could do it again (and marry the same person), I would!!!!

  • User5562041 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our ceremony and reception in the JRVC building this past weekend, and it was perfect in every way. After looking at several venues, AVAM was the last place we saw, and we knew instantly that it was the place for us. At the time, we didn't know exactly what our ceremony would look like, but we knew we weren't going to have a traditional wedding. AVAM was the only venue that didn't seem to have a preconceived notion of what our wedding should look like, and they embraced our unique wishes.

    While it seems like AVAM is a relatively expensive venue in Baltimore, it is worth every penny. The price includes all tables and chairs, and venue itself requires so little additional decoration that you end up saving. The building is beautiful-it has so much natural charm, the lighting is glorious, and it has the Baltimore feel. Moreover, the organization itself does such amazing work in Baltimore city that we were thrilled to be able to help support this work.

    Michele, specifically, was fantastic to work with. She is extremely responsive and happy to answer any and all questions. She knows the space inside and out, and she always had great suggestions about ways to fully utilize the space. This was particularly helpful for a couple that didn't have a great vision of what we wanted our wedding to be. She was flexible with dropping things off and picking things up after the wedding, which made the whole process less stressful.

    I don't think any other venue would have fit our personalities more. It is an amazing place to get married!

  • User4297279 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We did our ceremony in the wildflower garden and reception in the sculpture barn. It was a great venue and all the guests gave us compliments on the choice! We had some rain during the day but still managed to do the ceremony outside. The museum offered up spaces inside for photos which we appreciated. Great venue, location and fun for guests. Also, you can hike up Fed Hill and take photos!

  • Candice

    Candice · Married on 07/25/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This was the perfect wedding venue! We were blessed with fantastic weather and were able to have our ceremony outside in the wildflower garden which was absolutely gorgeous!! After that we held our reception inside the sculpture barn which was also amazing! Michelle the rental coordinator for the museum is on point with everything and was a great go to person if I had any questions. I couldn't have imagined a more perfect place for our wedding!

  • User4453727 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We wanted to find something that was reasonably priced for a venue in July, and AVAM was SO much bang for your buck. This venue was absolutely amazing for functionality, natural beauty, and funk! We initially loved the price and the convenience for our guests... everyone but one person was from out of town (we are from PA) so we love that people could walk everywhere, water taxi, etc. And there's parking literally steps from the museum for those that did want to drive around the harbor instead of walking or taking a cab. It is just such a fun venue and after seeing all of our centerpieces and aisle set up, it was even more stunning than I ever imagined! The brick building is such a naturally gorgeous backdrop it doesn't really need much decorating! The garden and all of the sculptures were so much fun for our guests. PLUS our guests got to go into the museum for free until 9:30 to walk through the exhibits (I think this is only for those that use the barn/sculpture garden, which we did). There was another wedding going on at the last building (JRVC) and so a few guests wandered into the wrong wedding, which was humorous. So I might suggest having prominently displayed signs. We didn't have a "welcome to the _________ wedding" sign, so that might have been helpful! Other than that, I have absolutely nothing bad to say about this venue. We received so many compliments and it was just perfect!!!!

  • K

    Kirsten · Married on 11/14/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Couldn't think of a better place to hold such a special event! Our wedding day was the most memorable and magical day of our lives and we can't thank you enough for having us! From beginning to end, there isn't a single thing we would change and thank to you it was a dream come true!

  • K

    Kyle · Married on 11/07/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The American Visionary Art Museum was everything we every hoped for in a wedding. Michele Goldberg was incredible to work with and always available for questions. The ceremony on the staircase was absolutely beautiful and the barn was the perfect space for our reception.

  • R

    Rob · Married on 10/11/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    we had our ceremony and reception on 10/11/14 in the JRVC and this was a perfect venue for us. if you're sort of offbeat like we are, and you have a wedding >150 people, then the odds are it's the perfect venue for you too.

    the service was great; everyone at the AVAM was super nice and responsive to us through the whole process leading up to the wedding day, and then when we got there the space was absolutely beautiful. in fact, one thing that's really great about the space is that it's so beautiful we didn't need to worry about all of those little-yet-super-expensive decor touches that you'd normally have to fill a reception space with, because it looked great just by default.

    some people might not think it's perfect to get married in front of a giant pink dog and a ball of bras, and i get that -- but for us it absolutely could not have been more perfect.

  • C

    Cate · Married on 10/04/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I have always loved the AVAM and because of the size of our wedding, it was the perfect fit for us. We got married on the 1st floor of the JRVC and had our cocktail hour and reception on the 3rd floor of the same building. You don’t really need to do anything to the 1st floor and we rented some trees and lights for the 3rd floor to just warm up the space. They include the chairs and tables with the rental fee which saves money and also takes another vendor out of the equation the day of.
    Michele was truly amazing to work with – she knows that space inside and out – and has really good insight as far as the flow and vendor suggestions. We really enjoyed working with her and LOVE the pictures we got on the museum grounds.
    I would suggest 2 things to anyone who is booking there: (1) Be sure to clarify for your vendors and guests which building your ceremony/reception is in. We had a few vendors set up on the barn as well as guests walk into the wedding that was going into that space. (2) We also suggest working with Rusty Scupper across the street or the high school a few blocks away for parking if you are not offering valet. That way guests don’t have to worry about meters or anything like that.
    Again – we have nothing but wonderful things to say about our experience here and Michele! We loved everything about it!

  • K

    Karin · Married on 08/16/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Perfect place to get married! We got married on the 1st floor of the JVC building and had the reception on the 3rd floor. You rent the space and design it how you want! We couldn't of ask for a better venue for our special day! With guests attending from all over the US and Europe, we wanted a unique and fun place to get married (not stuffy), and AVAM topped our expectations! Our guests are still talking about the venue!

  • User4056634 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Michele was very responsive and helpful both with suggestions of vendors helping us visualize the garden space as it would be in the summer (since we booked in the winter). It was perfect for us. One block away from the water, just down the hill from gorgeous views of downtown, an old brick structure, a lush garden with just the right amount of weird. We couldn't be happier with our selection.

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review