92 Reviews for American Visionary Art Museum

4.8
out of 5.0
User Photos
todo alt text
todo alt text
todo alt text
+8
Photos
Filter reviews by services used:
All Reviews
Indoor (8)
Covered Outdoor (6)
Uncovered Outdoor (6)
Event Rentals (4)
Chairs (4)
92 American Visionary Art Museum Reviews
Sort by:

5.0

We held our reception in the barn, and it turned out beautifully. It was such a cool and unique venue, and all of our guests were impressed. Michele, the venue's event director, was a huge help in suggesting other vendors to use for catering, lighting, coordination, etc.

Profile Picture Mike, 6/23/18, 4 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

My husband and I, my parents, and his parents highly recommend AVAM as a wedding venue!! We've been to AVAM to visit before, my parents had been to a wedding ~10 years ago in the JRVC Banquet Room, and my in-laws held a family function in the on-site restaurant, Encantada, a number of years ago -- so we were all familiar enough with the space to know it would fit with our personalities. The museum itself is fun and quirky, and there are several spaces for photo ops inside and outside the museum buildings themselves. For our budget and wedding vision we chose to have our ceremony and reception in the Sculpture Barn and Garden.

Michele, the event coordinator for AVAM, is the main reason that so many people rave about events they have attended or hosted here. From my first email inquiry to the day of the wedding, she was extremely helpful, responsive, knowledgeable, and detail oriented. I had several questions along the way that I was afraid were "dumb" questions, and she always got back to me quickly, without judgment, and with a clear and straightforward answer! Having coordinated so many events at AVAM, Michele has several vendor contacts, knows the space inside and out, and helps bring your vision to life based on her experience. I'm so thankful we had Michele to work with throughout the whole process!

On the day of the wedding, everything came together and looked just as I'd imagined, if not better. Green space with brick walls, funky sculptures, mirrored mosaic tiles, and open air was exactly what we were looking for and AVAM has just that (in the barn/garden area). We had 114 guests and the tables/chairs/dance floor/other decor all fit in the space with a nice flow. It's also conveniently located at the bottom of Federal Hill and adjacent to the Inner Harbor, allowing you plenty of variety as far as photo-ops go. I even loved our rain plan for ceremony inside the barn! Can't recommend AVAM enough!!!

Profile Picture User5040218, Recently Married, 10 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
Services Used: Uncovered Outdoor
5.0

We got married here on May 27 and cannot speak highly enough about AVAM. Though there was a torrential downpour for almost the entire duration of the wedding, the museum (represented by Michele Cozaihr, the wonderfully helpful and responsive event coordinator/director/person you talk to about getting married at AVAM) did everything to help us bring the thing off. The barn was perfect, and the museum itself was wonderful for some offbeat photos after the ceremony. I would highly recommend that anybody looking for an unconventional wedding venue in Baltimore look at AVAM and the sculpture garden in particular.

Profile Picture Sarah, 5/27/18, 7 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
Services Used: Event Rentals, Covered Outdoor, Indoor, Uncovered Outdoor
5.0

Michelle and the rest of the team at AVAM are awesome! Michelle graciously accommodated us after we lost our original venue halfway through our planning; needless to say we were spooked and had a LOT more questions than she is probably used to, but handled them all like a champ! She is a true pro and has excellent relationships with vendors, making the process super smooth. We got married in the Sculpture Barn; the space was perfect! Just the right size. The outdoor covered patio is so nice to have and really opens up the space; the garden was beautiful for the ceremony. The space also really doesn't need a lot of decoration because it is so cool on it's own, but when you do add some lighting (in our case lanterns and uplights) -- it is truly breathtaking. It was awesome to have flexibility on spaces to take photos; especially because it started raining at the very end of our ceremony! Our guests also LOVED the free museum admission. We still get tons of compliments on the venue choice and how unique it was. Highly recommend!

Photo for American Visionary Art Museum Review
Photo for American Visionary Art Museum Review
Photo for American Visionary Art Museum Review
Photo for American Visionary Art Museum Review
Photo for American Visionary Art Museum Review
Photo for American Visionary Art Museum Review
+4
Photos
Photo for American Visionary Art Museum Review
Photo for American Visionary Art Museum Review
Photo for American Visionary Art Museum Review
Photo for American Visionary Art Museum Review
Profile Picture Christie, 4/28/18, 5 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
Services Used: Covered Outdoor, Indoor, Uncovered Outdoor
5.0

We had a blast holding our wedding ceremony and reception on-site in the Sculpture Barn in October. We had always loved AVAM and just knew it would be the best fit, with quirky flair. Michele helped us coordinate and was highly communicative. As an event site, they have a fairly extensive list on approved local vendors and caterers, and helped provide some additional suggestions for vendors when we needed help. Also LOVE that they keep the museum open to guests during wedding events, giving our guests extra exploration time. Thanks again!

Profile Picture Kaie, 10/8/17, 5 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
Services Used: Event Rentals, Covered Outdoor, Indoor, Uncovered Outdoor
5.0

I can't speak highly enough about the American Visionary Art Museum - in general but especially as a wedding venue. The entire planning process was incredibly smooth and Michele was always gracious, responsible, and helpful. The space is so special and unique - our guests loved it and loved getting to visit the museum beforehand. It brought so much life, whimsy, and joy to our celebration. Highly highly recommend doing your wedding or event here!

Profile Picture Liz, 6/24/17, 2 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

AVAM is an amazing location for a wedding! There are fun and quirky elements around every corner, as well as fantastic backdrops for pictures (ivy walls, buildings covered in colored glass, the 'LOVE' sign, etc.) We rented out both the third floor of the Rouse building and the Barn for our event - providing out guests the opportunity to explore the grounds and garden during cocktail hour. One of things we loved the most about AVAM is, despite all of things to see all over the museum grounds, the event spaces, themselves, are blank canvases we could make our own.
Michele, AVAM's event coordinator, was an absolute pleasure to work with! She was friendly, professional, responsive, and accommodating to our laundry list of questions. She was present at every site visit to ensure we were taken care of and generally made us feel that we were in very good hands. AVAM is definitely a great choice that will have your guests raving months after the event!

Profile Picture Melissa, 6/17/17, 6 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
Services Used: Covered Outdoor, Indoor, Chairs
4.9

AVAM is an incredible venue, and Michele is a fantastic coordinator! Our first plan was to have a backyard wedding, but when we started to consider the time, energy, and money it would require, we quickly wised up and sought out a fun venue that would match our needs and personalities. AVAM was that venue, and here’s why:

LOCATION
It’s perfect! AVAM is within walking distance of hotels, bars, restaurants, and so may cool things to do. Our guests, especially the out-of-towners, were spoiled. And so were we! Location is EVERYTHING! We avoided so much stress by choosing this location.

FUN
This museum is FANTASTIC! The art is so kooky, so cool, so thoughtful, and the whole place is filled with joy and personality. From the LOVE sign outside to the bird’s nest to the sculptures (Fifi the poodle, Tic Toc the croc, robots, LOVE balloon, etc.). It’s like no museum you’ve ever seen. In fact, we didn’t even bother with decorations during the ceremony because the museum itself was all we needed.

MICHELE
Michele is an awesome coordinator! She’s responsive, thorough, thoughtful, and she gets it. She happily met with us for a walk-through and our rehearsal, and she even met with our coordinator when she asked for a separate walk-through. Oh, and if that’s not enough to convince you, when my mom went rogue and sent Michele an email with a million questions, she responded with sincere kindness and care.

BANG FOR YOUR BUCK
At first glance, the fee seems high, but you’re getting a lot: beauty, charm, convenience. We got married on the first floor of the JRVC building and had our reception on the third; that saved time and made for a seamless transition. Plus, AVAM provides the tables and chairs, lots of space, and a coordinator who cares. The museum does have some restrictions (specific timing, no confetti, preferred vendors), but those are all for good reason and minor when you consider how special the space is.

It’s a venue you and your guests won’t ever forget!

Profile Picture Casey, 4/29/17, 5 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

Working with the American Visionary Arts Museum was absolutely amazing. We worked with Michelle, and it was actually the first wedding venue we visited. Never having planned a large-scale event like a wedding, Michelle answered all the questions we didn't even know we had. She was always responsive and incredibly helpful; she gave advice for working with our caterer, DJ, and photographer. We held our ceremony in the Sculpture Garden and the reception right in the Sculpture Barn, and it was absolutely perfect. The day-of coordinator from the AVAM was also amazing; he was helpful and was willing to do whatever we needed. The whole experience was nothing short of amazing. Thank you to everyone at the AVAM for helping make our day perfect!

Profile Picture Kayla, 10/23/16, 1 Review
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
Services Used: Uncovered Outdoor
5.0

Working with AVAM was seamless!! Being from Baltimore it was really the perfect space for us and we knew after touring that this was where we wanted to get married. The price was seemingly higher than other places but it being a museum it's kind of expected. We used the JRVC building, had our ceremony on the 1st floor and cocktail/reception on the 3rd floor - that being said, the space was literally worth every penny. So much room so that guests aren't squished together and plenty of room for a huge dance floor which we loved every bit of! Michele was great, super responsive and literally thought of everything and made sure we were in the know. She had great vendor suggestions and suggestions of her own that really made the process easier. We were a little disappointed to hear that she wouldn't be available for our walk through or rehearsal, but she made sure that we had ALL the information we needed and someone was still there (along with our coordinator) to make sure all our questions were answered should we have any. Everything was perfect and we couldn't be happier!

Profile Picture User4859239, 1+ year ago, 3 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

AVAM was a wonderful and unique choice for our wedding venue! The artistic atmosphere was colorful, fun, and memorable for all generations and our guests really enjoyed themselves. We wanted to choose a location with instant character and appeal that provided our families and friends with something special to entertain them and the Museum really delivered! We utilized the Sculpture Barn and the Wildflower Garden and it worked beautifully to set the vibrant and playful tone we wanted. Michele was a pleasure to work with and made things very easy for us. Thanks for a magical event and wonderful memories for a lifetime!

Profile Picture Mark & Randall, 8/20/16, 5 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.7

AVAM was such an amazing and relatively affordable venue for our wedding! Michelle and the entire staff there was incredibly helpful and professional from day one, answering every question, big or small quickly and fully. We used the JRVC building for our wedding; ceremony on the first floor, signing our Ketubah and marriage license on the second floor (privately) and reception/cocktail hour on the third floor. The entire facility is already so beautifully and uniquely decorated that we really did not add any decorations to the space itself at all except to separate our cocktail space from the reception area. If you're looking for a place to have a quirky and fun "Baltimore-style" wedding, look no further than AVAM!

Profile Picture Mj, 7/23/16, 7 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
Services Used: Event Rentals, Indoor, Chairs
5.0

There are many many reasons AVAM is a terrific venue, but the two most important ones are these: (1) the spirit of the museum, it's art, and the spaces -- all of which celebrate the creative spirit in a joyful way and (2) Michele, who manages the rentals at AVAM -- she is a true professional who knows everything about the venue, goes the extra mile in every way (she called in from her own honeymoon to help troubleshoot a technology issue we were having the day of our event), and has a wealth of experience and dedication that allows her to provide top-notch advice and support. We had a particularly challenging set of circumstances (we originally booked AVAM for the weekend in January 2016 when Snowzilla hit and shut down the entire Baltimore-Washington area) and Michele navigated us through the very emotional cancellation and rescheduling of our reception with competence and understanding and flexibility. In the end, we were able to throw the party we really wanted to (rescheduled for July 2016) thanks in very large part to Michele and beautiful, whimsical spirit of the AVAM. If you love the spaces at AVAM, you will find yourself in the very best hands here.

Profile Picture Katherine, 7/16/16, 6 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
Services Used: Chairs, Event Rentals, Indoor
5.0

We loved AVAM! The space was perfect for our ceremony and reception. It was beautiful, fun, and not super traditional. The location was easily accessible and the property was fun for guests to explore. Michele was responsive and easy to work with. If I could do it again (and marry the same person), I would!!!!

Profile Picture Carolyn, 6/4/16, 10 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.8

AVAM was the perfect location for my wedding! Michelle was wonderful to work with and the venue was so unique and beautiful. There were a couple of things that happened the day of that were a little dissapointing though, there is a moterized statue that moves up and down the staircase we had our ceremony on and I was told that it would be stopped. While lining up to start the ceremony my bridesmaids told me it was still moving and michelle was nowhere in sight, I wouldn't of minded but we didn't get as many nice photos of the ceremony because of it.
Also, the bathroom's were pretty dirty. This is something I never thought to look into until I had to step over a large puddle in my gown to use the facilities.

Profile Picture User4859118, 2+ years ago, 4 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.5

The exquisite location mask the lack of flexibility at the venue. They are stringent on their rules in regards to keeping supplies at the location prior and overnight. In addition no one from the venue assists the day of, it will be your caterer running the show so make sure you contract a great one!

Profile Picture User5129074, 2+ years ago, 2 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
Services Used: Covered Outdoor, Indoor
5.0

We had our ceremony and reception in the JRVC building this past weekend, and it was perfect in every way. After looking at several venues, AVAM was the last place we saw, and we knew instantly that it was the place for us. At the time, we didn't know exactly what our ceremony would look like, but we knew we weren't going to have a traditional wedding. AVAM was the only venue that didn't seem to have a preconceived notion of what our wedding should look like, and they embraced our unique wishes.

While it seems like AVAM is a relatively expensive venue in Baltimore, it is worth every penny. The price includes all tables and chairs, and venue itself requires so little additional decoration that you end up saving. The building is beautiful-it has so much natural charm, the lighting is glorious, and it has the Baltimore feel. Moreover, the organization itself does such amazing work in Baltimore city that we were thrilled to be able to help support this work.

Michele, specifically, was fantastic to work with. She is extremely responsive and happy to answer any and all questions. She knows the space inside and out, and she always had great suggestions about ways to fully utilize the space. This was particularly helpful for a couple that didn't have a great vision of what we wanted our wedding to be. She was flexible with dropping things off and picking things up after the wedding, which made the whole process less stressful.

I don't think any other venue would have fit our personalities more. It is an amazing place to get married!

Profile Picture Julia, 10/24/15, 5 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

We did our ceremony in the wildflower garden and reception in the sculpture barn. It was a great venue and all the guests gave us compliments on the choice! We had some rain during the day but still managed to do the ceremony outside. The museum offered up spaces inside for photos which we appreciated. Great venue, location and fun for guests. Also, you can hike up Fed Hill and take photos!

Profile Picture User4297279, 2+ years ago, 2 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
Services Used: Covered Outdoor, Uncovered Outdoor
4.9

My now-husband and I were having a rough time finding a budget-friendly venue in DC that felt like somewhere we would actually want to find a wedding. Then we expanded our search to Maryland and found AVAM. AVAM made our entire wedding. Michele was the most responsive person I've ever worked with - she came in early on a Saturday morning to let us see the venue when we were looking to book and I swear every single email I sent her had a reply in under 20 minutes. She was so friendly, knowledgeable and genuinely cared about our wedding at AVAM being awesome. There were times our caterer/day of coordinator communicated with her directly and it took stress off of us that we didn't constantly have to be the middle men.

The space itself was STUNNING. Our guests were absolutely blown away and I think AVAM is the part of our wedding guests will remember most for years to come. The garden worked perfectly for our ceremony and tiny wedding party, and knowing that we had an equally beautiful backup plan if the weather was bad gave us such peace of mind leading up to our wedding day (thankfully, it was all sun!). I'd make a note that while there is no AC in the barn, the fans are pretty powerful and if your guests are anything like ours they'll spend the time wandering outside in the garden or the space between the bar and the main museum. Older relatives especially appreciated the opportunity to explore the main museum building. There are tons of amazing photo opportunities throughout the space too, as well as Federal Hill park right next door. I could write pages upon pages about how lucky we feel to have found AVAM for our wedding. If you're looking for a fun, unique venue that's funky and playful but still beautiful and elegant, you cannot beat AVAM for value, responsiveness, and guest experience.

Profile Picture Carly, 8/29/15, 3 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.6

The AVAM was a BEAUTIFUL and unique venue for our wedding ceremony and reception in August of 2015. We knew we wanted to get married in an art museum in Baltimore, but we also did not like the "stuffy" atmosphere of the other museums. As soon as we walked in the AVAM and saw the hard wood floors, the Baltimore street facade, Fluffy, and the brick walls of the 3rd floor in the JRVC building, we knew this is where we wanted to begin our marriage. All of our guests raved about the venue and how different it was. They loved to check out all of the different views of the museum. Michelle, who is the event coordinator for the museum, is amazing to work with and very responsive and helpful with any ridiculous number of questions you may ask. She helped us with anything that we needed. It was great that chairs and tables were included with the rental fee. It was a little pricey, but well worth it. If you are looking for somewhere different for an "untraditional" wedding, the AVAM is for you. We LOVED IT!

Profile Picture Samantha, 8/22/15, 2 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
Services Used: Indoor, Chairs
5.0

This was the perfect wedding venue! We were blessed with fantastic weather and were able to have our ceremony outside in the wildflower garden which was absolutely gorgeous!! After that we held our reception inside the sculpture barn which was also amazing! Michelle the rental coordinator for the museum is on point with everything and was a great go to person if I had any questions. I couldn't have imagined a more perfect place for our wedding!

Profile Picture Candice, 7/25/15, 4 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

We wanted to find something that was reasonably priced for a venue in July, and AVAM was SO much bang for your buck. This venue was absolutely amazing for functionality, natural beauty, and funk! We initially loved the price and the convenience for our guests... everyone but one person was from out of town (we are from PA) so we love that people could walk everywhere, water taxi, etc. And there's parking literally steps from the museum for those that did want to drive around the harbor instead of walking or taking a cab. It is just such a fun venue and after seeing all of our centerpieces and aisle set up, it was even more stunning than I ever imagined! The brick building is such a naturally gorgeous backdrop it doesn't really need much decorating! The garden and all of the sculptures were so much fun for our guests. PLUS our guests got to go into the museum for free until 9:30 to walk through the exhibits (I think this is only for those that use the barn/sculpture garden, which we did). There was another wedding going on at the last building (JRVC) and so a few guests wandered into the wrong wedding, which was humorous. So I might suggest having prominently displayed signs. We didn't have a "welcome to the _________ wedding" sign, so that might have been helpful! Other than that, I have absolutely nothing bad to say about this venue. We received so many compliments and it was just perfect!!!!

Profile Picture User4453727, 2+ years ago, 8 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.7

We had our reception at the American Visionary Arts Museum. Our cocktail hour was in the barn and dinner and dancing was on the 3rd floor of the JRVCC building. Michelle was our event coordinator and she was great to work with! She was also responsive to the emails I sent her and no question or request was too big or small. We had 200 people attend and the space was more than big enough to accommodate about 25 tables with a huge space for the band and dance floor. The space is pretty plain which allows to you to totally make your wedding look and feel exactly how you want it! I would 100% recommend this as a reception venue!

Profile Picture User4354593, 2+ years ago, 6 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

Couldn't think of a better place to hold such a special event! Our wedding day was the most memorable and magical day of our lives and we can't thank you enough for having us! From beginning to end, there isn't a single thing we would change and thank to you it was a dream come true!

Profile Picture Kirsten, 11/14/14, 4 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

The American Visionary Art Museum was everything we every hoped for in a wedding. Michele Goldberg was incredible to work with and always available for questions. The ceremony on the staircase was absolutely beautiful and the barn was the perfect space for our reception.

Profile Picture Kyle, 11/7/14, 4 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue