Skip to main content
Weddings

Amara Cay Resort Reviews

Amara Cay Resort View more information

33 Reviews

Rated
4.4
out of 5.0
Recommended by 88% of couples
  • Quality of service
    4.4 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    4.4 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.4 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.4 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.4 out of 5 rating

Awards

  • 33
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner

28 User photos

  • H
    Hannah Married on 08/26/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Beautiful venue

    We wanted a small beach resort for our 30-person wedding and Amara Cay was perfect for it. Dawn and Amanda were great to work with, too. We didn’t see the site ahead of time but Amanda helped us get a sense of the property and we were not disappointed! The palm aisle is a perfect backdrop to the ceremony and the tiki pavilion was plenty big for our reception (roomy in fact). It’s a bit tricky to plan a destination wedding but we were happy with our choice.
  • Alexandria
    Alexandria S. Married on 04/08/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Beautiful Venue!!

    We chose to have our destination wedding at the beautiful Amara Cay resort. Our ceremony was under the palm trees and reception was under the Tiki on site. Our guest were so impressed with how everything turned out. We couldn’t have asked for a more perfect day!
  • Brooke
    Brooke S. Married on 05/02/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    A Dream Come True

    When we started wedding planning, my now husband and I knew we wanted to get married on a beach, but where. We found Amara Cay through Instagram and quickly decided to do a site tour in early March 2020. We immediately fell in love with the resort and knew this was where we wanted to start our lives as husband and wife, and what a great decision that was. From original contract planning and all the little details in between, Andrea and her team at Amara Cay were so professional and responsive and easy to work with! We felt so supported in our wedding planning from afar and everything was a dream come true on our wedding day. Over our wedding weekend, everyone at Amara cay were so welcoming to us and our guest and we felt right at home. We can’t wait to visit again soon!
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • Katelyn
    Katelyn K. Married on 01/29/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Perfect Day!!!

    Having our wedding at Amara Cay was the best decision we made! It was literally a dream wedding! All the staff were SO nice and helpful! The hotel itself is absolutely beautiful! We will only be staying here from now on!
  • S
    Samantha F. Married on 12/05/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The only beach wedding venue

    Amara cay was the best wedding venue we could have asked for. It was exactly what I dreamed of. Having the ceremony right in the sand between the most beautiful palms was amazing. The large tiki on the beach for the party was amazing. Amara cay had the best set up for us, and the bartenders were amazing. Thank you for giving us the perfect wedding weekend!!!
  • Emily
    Emily Married on 04/09/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Absolutely beautiful!

    Andrea was very helpful and everything was gorgeous. The resort was very detailed with the food. They treated us like VIPs the entire week!
  • Nila
    Nila D. Married on 07/11/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing experience

    This place was absolutely fantastic. From the Event planners a year before to the front desk staff, cleaning staff, pool bar, ALL catering staff and especially the Chief "Bravo". Every person that attended my wedding weekend could not stop raving about this place. ALL food was incredible. We spent 6 days and 5 nights and only ate off property once and that was to a sister property. Chef Cash and his staff are geniuses when it comes to GREAT food. All of my three events were just perfect. Kenneth the front desk manager deserves a huge raise. We had 35 rooms with people checking in at different times and he made it extremely smooth for everyone. Jenn Weiden your staff is absolutely amazing.
  • Carolyn
    Carolyn Married on 05/26/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Loved our wedding there!

    It was such a beautiful venue and Andrea and the staff at the resort did a wonderful job! We would recommend it!
  • C
    Cara Married on 05/16/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Dream Venue!

    Having a destination wedding can be so stressful, but not if you have it at Amara Cay!
    This venue was absolutely perfect – It is beautiful, the staff is the BEST I’ve experienced in the Keys, and WOW – Was the food TO DIE FOR!
    Our event manager, Andrea H., was simply amazing! From our initial tour, to the day-of, she was hands-on and ready to help!
    She has the patience of a saint – Was always so quick to respond to my many requests, and she was able to make sure our day was everything we dreamed it would be!
    Our Day-Of Coordinator, Andrea R., worked so well with my planner, and as the Bride, I thought it was PERFECT!
    To Miguel and staff – We thank you from the bottom of our hearts! We can’t wait to come back to our home-away-from-home!
  • C
    Cody D. Married on 03/16/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Oh my god soooo goood

    The venue, the resort, the service, the whole vibe of Amara cay is absolutely amazing and the most perfect place to host a wedding!
  • E
    Erin P. Married on 01/11/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Loved working with the Andrea!

    Check this space out!! Andrea and her team were on point from the venue sell and night of event. We had 100 guest for a rehearsal dinner (rented out the lobby), loved the venue, view, and team!
  • C
    Carly Married on 11/10/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Perfect venue for a destination wedding

    This was such a great choice for our wedding venue! We had about 50 guests attending our wedding, at least 1/3 of who stayed on property and it was perfect. The pool bar and fire pits were so nice for us to have a gathering location at night and the hotel is so convenient to local restaurants and attractions for the travelers to explore.

    As for the wedding venue, the private beach was perfect and although (unfortunately) it rained right after the cocktail hour, the staff did an amazing job setting up an indoor option which ended up working great. Andrea was wonderful to work with and the staff was just amazing. My guests RAVED about all aspects and we are really happy we hosted our wedding there.
  • K
    Katey Married on 09/22/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Although we decided to stay home in NJ for our wedding due to family complications but I would ABSOLUTELY recommend Amara Cay. Brittany Norton is the director of events and was who I spoke to for everything, she is amazing. She was super accommodating with our budget and date. If there was anything I needed she was there. She answered all the little and big questions and always got back to me in a timely manner. The resort is beautiful and has everything you could possible need or want. The accommodations the resort provided were amazing and is very flexible to make it work for bride and groom. If you want to get married in Islamorada, this is the place to go!!! I have nothing but positive things to say about Amara Cay!
  • B
    Bridget Married on 05/12/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    What a great experience! I want to relive my wedding week all over again. With every wedding there were hiccups that was not even the hotels responsibility (ex: flowers for rehearsal dinner) but they were able to give us lanterns for the rehearsal dinner centerpieces. Brittany went over and beyond. Our original wedding date was May 12th at Post Card Inn but with the hurricane renovations it was not done in time and was moved to Amara Cay for June 16th. This felt like an upgrade and we were very happy with everything that was done for our special day. We are planning to come back for our 1st anniversary and order the same cake we did :)
  • N
    Nicole Married on 02/25/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Our wedding at amara cay was AMAZING! I was so happy with how everything turned out! Andrea was so great and helped us so much! It was the most perfect day and we will definitely be back for our anniversaries in the future!
  • A
    A.j. Married on 02/24/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We had the wedding of our dreams at Amara Cay Resort! Andrea and the staff were extremely helpful during the entire process, which included a venue and date change due to Hurricane Irma. The resort is beautiful and you cannot tell that there was ever a hurricane that came through at all! Amara Cay is the perfect place to have a beach wedding in paradise!
  • S
    Samantha Married on 02/16/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Amara Cay is a beautiful resort! Our wedding could not have turned out any better. Everything went so smooth and we did not have to stress about anything from the moment we got there. The location we picked on the grounds of Amara Cay was perfect. It was right on the resort but was still private feeling for our ceremony and reception. The staff was wonderful as well. Can't wait to come back for a vacation in the future!
  • M
    Mallorie Married on 02/10/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    YAAAAAAASSS!!!! The absolute perfect backdrop to a most phenomenal day. The rooms were perfect, updated and gorgeous. The food outstanding (guests couldn't get enough). Tiki bar staff was wonderful and the drinks tropical and delicious. The pictures were stunning. They have such great staff and great customer service. Samantha was a dream to work with. After hurricane Irma she made the transition from a previous venue to amara cay seamless. Nobody wanted to leave after the weekend was over and begged us to renew our vows next year and do it all over. Cannot wait to come back year after year for our anniversary!
  • L
    Lauren Married on 06/10/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Amara Cay is the perfect wedding location. The beach and scenery are absolutely gorgeous and the staff is wonderful to work with. Highly recommended !
  • C
    Claire Married on 12/11/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We absolutely loved our wedding at Amara Cay and Amy was so great. We planned it all in 4 months, all through email correspondence from Minnesota and it was so perfect. We only had seven guests and having such an intimate setting was perfect, we got to talk to everyone and the day of was very low stress. The dinner and dinner staff was fantastic, we sat by the pool on a beautiful December night and the staff was able to incorporate our decore and flowers into the setting. We then spent our honeymoon at the hotel and had an absolute blast. The pool and beach are gorgeous and the staff is super friendly; with really clean and updated rooms. Plus, there's a ton of fun restaurants and bars around within walking or shuttle distance. We orginially planned on doing a traditional wedding with 250 people in a large banquet room in MN that would cost us $35K but are so happy we did it the way we did. Definitely the way to go, we are still talking about how perfect it was.
  • S
    Susan Married on 01/02/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Amara Cay was more than I had imagined when we booked this resort as the destination for our destination wedding. We gathered informally on New Years Eve at the pool/beach bar as our guests arrived by planes and automobiles. They were exceptionally friendly and welcoming - Kara the general manager could not have been better! When the limos couldn't arrive at the hotel due to a fatal accident that shut down route 1, the Concierge (who is also a DJ as it turns out) drove the wedding party down to the venue. It took a really long time to go that 1.5 miles from Amara Cay to Morada Bay but we wouldn't have made it without them.
    The hotel rooms and lobby were clean, comfortable and beautiful. Very spacious rooms. The only recommendation would be that it would be great if there was room service and some simpler fare on the menu.
  • J
    Jane A. Married on 12/20/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We had an intimate wedding on the beach. Just immediate family in attendance. The staff treated our small wedding as importantly as if we were a larger wedding party- they knew this was our wedding and a life event even though we did not have a big extravagant wedding. We chose this setting based on the beauty and color of the water. The palm trees were also in a perfect location for the ceremony. The staff was wonderful! They calmed our nerves when the weather took a turn for the worse and made it a wonderful experience. The rooms are beautiful, the décor awesome! The food was great as well! With several options to choose from, we know we made the right choice.
  • Cristina
    Cristina G. Married on 04/24/2021
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amara Cay resort

    We had an amazing time here with our family and friends. Resort facilities and service is great! The upgrade to the Lanai suite right on the beach was in incredible as we were right on the beach and able to see the sunrise every morning. Appetizers were great but the main meal not so much.
  • J
    Jordan Married on 09/29/2018
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Brittany Norton is the director of events at Amara Cay and other surrounding venues and she was a dream come true. She helped us move our whole wedding to Amara Cay when we found out The Postcard Inn wasn't going to be open for our wedding. She moved every single person who to comparable rooms from The Postcard Inn to Amara Cay and even waived some fees due to the inconvenience. I can't say enough about her willingness to help us during that crazy time and she was always available to answer any questions we had.
    We were treated exceptionally by the staff at Amara Cay. The wedding was beautiful even though we had an intense rain shower as soon as I walked down the aisle and had to run inside the lobby. The staff made sure they wiped down the chairs, changed the linens on the reception tables, etc so we could have a "do-over". They were fantastic. The only negative aspect I can think of for this one particular resort is the professionalism after asking if someone could come to our room and remove the food we had ordered for the wedding party since it had been left out and the room was beginning to smell. The response was a flat "No" until my mom was talking about it at the Tiki Bar and one of the bartenders walked with us up to our room and called someone to bring her a cart so she could take the food for us. It wasn't her job but she made sure we were taken care of.
    Linda and Joseph, the bartenders at our ceremony, were AMAZING. They were so much fun and talkative with our guests. I also need to give a shoutout to Daniel, who works at the front desk at Amara Cay. We were constantly asking him questions and he was always so willing to call the wedding coordinator if he didn't know the answer to a question we were asking. He was great!
  • S
    Sharon Married on 07/15/2018
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    For anyone over the age of 50 and looking for small, fairly inexpensive venue to say 'I do", we could not have asked for anything more. Loralei, Peggy & Lauren were the best! They were very responsive to all of our questions and helped me thru the complete process. And at the end of the day, we were married in a non stress free environment, that was absolutely beautiful. It was really just 'perfect'!! Thanks again Loralei, Peggy & Lauren & Amara Cay Resort. It was the best day ever!!
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message