Skip to main content
Weddings

Amara Cay Resort Reviews

Amara Cay Resort View more information

Reviews

4.5 out of 5 rating
38 Reviews
  • Quality of service
    4.5 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    4.4 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.5 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.4 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.5 out of 5 rating
89% Recommended by couples

Awards

38
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner

39 User photos

  • Julie
    Julie Sent on 01/07/2024
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Exceeded our Expectations

    Shout out to Amanda, Danielle, Juan, Katherine, and the rest of the Amara Cay team for making our wedding turn out perfectly. Our venue was originally supposed to be at Postcard Inn but due to construction, we were able to be accommodated at Amara Cay. I couldn't of asked for a bigger blessing in disguise. This TEAM was PHENOMENAL. They were extremely responsive during a really challenging, stressful time for them as a group and for us during a big moment in our lives. They MADE IT ALL HAPPEN though! I was sooooo happy with Amara Cay. It's a beautiful resort and I wouldn't change a thing about it. If you're looking for a beautiful beach wedding and tiki hut, this is your spot! Beautiful oceanside views! Thank you so much to this team!!!!
  • Kathryn
    Kathryn Sent on 02/22/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    AMAZING resort the best in Islamorada!

    If you want a wedding in Florida keys I highly recommend the Amara Cay! The resort was beautiful, laid back, and exactly what I wanted. I had the reception in the Tiki hut and it was beautiful with all the twinkly lights! The staff was super nice and made me feel like a princess!
  • H
    Hannah Sent on 10/03/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Beautiful venue

    We wanted a small beach resort for our 30-person wedding and Amara Cay was perfect for it. Dawn and Amanda were great to work with, too. We didn’t see the site ahead of time but Amanda helped us get a sense of the property and we were not disappointed! The palm aisle is a perfect backdrop to the ceremony and the tiki pavilion was plenty big for our reception (roomy in fact). It’s a bit tricky to plan a destination wedding but we were happy with our choice.
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • Alexandria
    Alexandria S. Sent on 04/16/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Beautiful Venue!!

    We chose to have our destination wedding at the beautiful Amara Cay resort. Our ceremony was under the palm trees and reception was under the Tiki on site. Our guest were so impressed with how everything turned out. We couldn’t have asked for a more perfect day!
  • Brooke
    Brooke S. Sent on 06/10/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    A Dream Come True

    When we started wedding planning, my now husband and I knew we wanted to get married on a beach, but where. We found Amara Cay through Instagram and quickly decided to do a site tour in early March 2020. We immediately fell in love with the resort and knew this was where we wanted to start our lives as husband and wife, and what a great decision that was. From original contract planning and all the little details in between, Andrea and her team at Amara Cay were so professional and responsive and easy to work with! We felt so supported in our wedding planning from afar and everything was a dream come true on our wedding day. Over our wedding weekend, everyone at Amara cay were so welcoming to us and our guest and we felt right at home. We can’t wait to visit again soon!
  • Katelyn
    Katelyn K. Sent on 02/05/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Perfect Day!!!

    Having our wedding at Amara Cay was the best decision we made! It was literally a dream wedding! All the staff were SO nice and helpful! The hotel itself is absolutely beautiful! We will only be staying here from now on!
  • S
    Samantha F. Sent on 12/08/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The only beach wedding venue

    Amara cay was the best wedding venue we could have asked for. It was exactly what I dreamed of. Having the ceremony right in the sand between the most beautiful palms was amazing. The large tiki on the beach for the party was amazing. Amara cay had the best set up for us, and the bartenders were amazing. Thank you for giving us the perfect wedding weekend!!!
  • Emily
    Emily Sent on 12/07/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Absolutely beautiful!

    Andrea was very helpful and everything was gorgeous. The resort was very detailed with the food. They treated us like VIPs the entire week!
  • Nila
    Nila D. Sent on 11/15/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing experience

    This place was absolutely fantastic. From the Event planners a year before to the front desk staff, cleaning staff, pool bar, ALL catering staff and especially the Chief "Bravo". Every person that attended my wedding weekend could not stop raving about this place. ALL food was incredible. We spent 6 days and 5 nights and only ate off property once and that was to a sister property. Chef Cash and his staff are geniuses when it comes to GREAT food. All of my three events were just perfect. Kenneth the front desk manager deserves a huge raise. We had 35 rooms with people checking in at different times and he made it extremely smooth for everyone. Jenn Weiden your staff is absolutely amazing.
  • C
    Carolyn Sent on 06/08/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Loved our wedding there!

    It was such a beautiful venue and Andrea and the staff at the resort did a wonderful job! We would recommend it!
  • C
    Cara Sent on 06/12/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Dream Venue!

    Having a destination wedding can be so stressful, but not if you have it at Amara Cay!
    This venue was absolutely perfect – It is beautiful, the staff is the BEST I’ve experienced in the Keys, and WOW – Was the food TO DIE FOR!
    Our event manager, Andrea H., was simply amazing! From our initial tour, to the day-of, she was hands-on and ready to help!
    She has the patience of a saint – Was always so quick to respond to my many requests, and she was able to make sure our day was everything we dreamed it would be!
    Our Day-Of Coordinator, Andrea R., worked so well with my planner, and as the Bride, I thought it was PERFECT!
    To Miguel and staff – We thank you from the bottom of our hearts! We can’t wait to come back to our home-away-from-home!
  • C
    Cody D. Sent on 03/18/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Oh my god soooo goood

    The venue, the resort, the service, the whole vibe of Amara cay is absolutely amazing and the most perfect place to host a wedding!
  • E
    Erin P. Sent on 01/30/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Loved working with the Andrea!

    Check this space out!! Andrea and her team were on point from the venue sell and night of event. We had 100 guest for a rehearsal dinner (rented out the lobby), loved the venue, view, and team!
  • C
    Carly Sent on 12/26/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Perfect venue for a destination wedding

    This was such a great choice for our wedding venue! We had about 50 guests attending our wedding, at least 1/3 of who stayed on property and it was perfect. The pool bar and fire pits were so nice for us to have a gathering location at night and the hotel is so convenient to local restaurants and attractions for the travelers to explore.

    As for the wedding venue, the private beach was perfect and although (unfortunately) it rained right after the cocktail hour, the staff did an amazing job setting up an indoor option which ended up working great. Andrea was wonderful to work with and the staff was just amazing. My guests RAVED about all aspects and we are really happy we hosted our wedding there.
  • K
    Katey Sent on 02/08/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Although we decided to stay home in NJ for our wedding due to family complications but I would ABSOLUTELY recommend Amara Cay. Brittany Norton is the director of events and was who I spoke to for everything, she is amazing. She was super accommodating with our budget and date. If there was anything I needed she was there. She answered all the little and big questions and always got back to me in a timely manner. The resort is beautiful and has everything you could possible need or want. The accommodations the resort provided were amazing and is very flexible to make it work for bride and groom. If you want to get married in Islamorada, this is the place to go!!! I have nothing but positive things to say about Amara Cay!
  • B
    Bridget Sent on 06/29/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    What a great experience! I want to relive my wedding week all over again. With every wedding there were hiccups that was not even the hotels responsibility (ex: flowers for rehearsal dinner) but they were able to give us lanterns for the rehearsal dinner centerpieces. Brittany went over and beyond. Our original wedding date was May 12th at Post Card Inn but with the hurricane renovations it was not done in time and was moved to Amara Cay for June 16th. This felt like an upgrade and we were very happy with everything that was done for our special day. We are planning to come back for our 1st anniversary and order the same cake we did :)
  • N
    Nicole Sent on 03/01/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Our wedding at amara cay was AMAZING! I was so happy with how everything turned out! Andrea was so great and helped us so much! It was the most perfect day and we will definitely be back for our anniversaries in the future!
  • A
    A.j. Sent on 02/28/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We had the wedding of our dreams at Amara Cay Resort! Andrea and the staff were extremely helpful during the entire process, which included a venue and date change due to Hurricane Irma. The resort is beautiful and you cannot tell that there was ever a hurricane that came through at all! Amara Cay is the perfect place to have a beach wedding in paradise!
  • S
    Samantha Sent on 03/12/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Amara Cay is a beautiful resort! Our wedding could not have turned out any better. Everything went so smooth and we did not have to stress about anything from the moment we got there. The location we picked on the grounds of Amara Cay was perfect. It was right on the resort but was still private feeling for our ceremony and reception. The staff was wonderful as well. Can't wait to come back for a vacation in the future!
  • M
    Mallorie Sent on 02/12/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    YAAAAAAASSS!!!! The absolute perfect backdrop to a most phenomenal day. The rooms were perfect, updated and gorgeous. The food outstanding (guests couldn't get enough). Tiki bar staff was wonderful and the drinks tropical and delicious. The pictures were stunning. They have such great staff and great customer service. Samantha was a dream to work with. After hurricane Irma she made the transition from a previous venue to amara cay seamless. Nobody wanted to leave after the weekend was over and begged us to renew our vows next year and do it all over. Cannot wait to come back year after year for our anniversary!
  • Jackie
    Jackie Sent on 03/02/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Anniversary Party and get away

    Amazing resort and beautiful slice of paradise! I scouted this place out 6 years ago for our wedding ceremony but things fell through for various reasons. We planned our 5 year anniversary party and it was spectacular. Boh the event (Andrea) and banquet (Tamisha) coordinators were amazing to work with. This was a destination event for us so where were several people that waited until the last minute to decide if they could come and this team was very flexible. I loved the decor and the laid back atmosphere. Everyone there was so nice and helpful. I did not hire/rent decorations and brought my own. This was not necessary as their "basic" centerpiece set up was beautiful and surpassed my expectations. I did customized my decorations a little but overall everything was perfect! I inspired other people to have their own anniversary parties. I will definitely be coming back to relax and maybe host future events there.
  • L
    Lauren Sent on 06/24/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Amara Cay is the perfect wedding location. The beach and scenery are absolutely gorgeous and the staff is wonderful to work with. Highly recommended !
  • C
    Claire Sent on 12/28/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We absolutely loved our wedding at Amara Cay and Amy was so great. We planned it all in 4 months, all through email correspondence from Minnesota and it was so perfect. We only had seven guests and having such an intimate setting was perfect, we got to talk to everyone and the day of was very low stress. The dinner and dinner staff was fantastic, we sat by the pool on a beautiful December night and the staff was able to incorporate our decore and flowers into the setting. We then spent our honeymoon at the hotel and had an absolute blast. The pool and beach are gorgeous and the staff is super friendly; with really clean and updated rooms. Plus, there's a ton of fun restaurants and bars around within walking or shuttle distance. We orginially planned on doing a traditional wedding with 250 people in a large banquet room in MN that would cost us $35K but are so happy we did it the way we did. Definitely the way to go, we are still talking about how perfect it was.
  • S
    Susan Sent on 01/11/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Amara Cay was more than I had imagined when we booked this resort as the destination for our destination wedding. We gathered informally on New Years Eve at the pool/beach bar as our guests arrived by planes and automobiles. They were exceptionally friendly and welcoming - Kara the general manager could not have been better! When the limos couldn't arrive at the hotel due to a fatal accident that shut down route 1, the Concierge (who is also a DJ as it turns out) drove the wedding party down to the venue. It took a really long time to go that 1.5 miles from Amara Cay to Morada Bay but we wouldn't have made it without them.
    The hotel rooms and lobby were clean, comfortable and beautiful. Very spacious rooms. The only recommendation would be that it would be great if there was room service and some simpler fare on the menu.
  • J
    Jane A. Sent on 01/14/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We had an intimate wedding on the beach. Just immediate family in attendance. The staff treated our small wedding as importantly as if we were a larger wedding party- they knew this was our wedding and a life event even though we did not have a big extravagant wedding. We chose this setting based on the beauty and color of the water. The palm trees were also in a perfect location for the ceremony. The staff was wonderful! They calmed our nerves when the weather took a turn for the worse and made it a wonderful experience. The rooms are beautiful, the décor awesome! The food was great as well! With several options to choose from, we know we made the right choice.
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message