Amara Cay Resort Reviews

22 | Islamorada, FL
See photos, pricing and details

22 Reviews for Amara Cay Resort

Recommended by 97% of couples

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 4.8

Awards

22

16 User photos

Order by:
  • Nila

    Nila Depalo · Married on 07/11/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing experience

    This place was absolutely fantastic. From the Event planners a year before to the front desk staff, cleaning staff, pool bar, ALL catering staff and especially the Chief "Bravo". Every person that attended my wedding weekend could not stop raving about this place. ALL food was incredible. We spent 6 days and 5 nights and only ate off property once and that was to a sister property. Chef Cash and his staff are geniuses when it comes to GREAT food. All of my three events were just perfect. Kenneth the front desk manager deserves a huge raise. We had 35 rooms with people checking in at different times and he made it extremely smooth for everyone. Jenn Weiden your staff is absolutely amazing.

    Sent on 11/15/2019
  • Carolyn

    Carolyn · Married on 05/26/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Loved our wedding there!

    It was such a beautiful venue and Andrea and the staff at the resort did a wonderful job! We would recommend it!

    Sent on 06/08/2019
  • C

    Cara · Married on 05/16/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dream Venue!

    Having a destination wedding can be so stressful, but not if you have it at Amara Cay!
    This venue was absolutely perfect – It is beautiful, the staff is the BEST I’ve experienced in the Keys, and WOW – Was the food TO DIE FOR!
    Our event manager, Andrea H., was simply amazing! From our initial tour, to the day-of, she was hands-on and ready to help!
    She has the patience of a saint – Was always so quick to respond to my many requests, and she was able to make sure our day was everything we dreamed it would be!
    Our Day-Of Coordinator, Andrea R., worked so well with my planner, and as the Bride, I thought it was PERFECT!
    To Miguel and staff – We thank you from the bottom of our hearts! We can’t wait to come back to our home-away-from-home!

    Sent on 06/12/2019
  • C

    Cody Delargey · Married on 03/16/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Oh my god soooo goood

    The venue, the resort, the service, the whole vibe of Amara cay is absolutely amazing and the most perfect place to host a wedding!

    Sent on 03/18/2019
  • E

    Erin Pangerl · Married on 01/11/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Loved working with the Andrea!

    Check this space out!! Andrea and her team were on point from the venue sell and night of event. We had 100 guest for a rehearsal dinner (rented out the lobby), loved the venue, view, and team!

    Sent on 01/30/2020
  • C

    Carly · Married on 11/10/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Perfect venue for a destination wedding

    This was such a great choice for our wedding venue! We had about 50 guests attending our wedding, at least 1/3 of who stayed on property and it was perfect. The pool bar and fire pits were so nice for us to have a gathering location at night and the hotel is so convenient to local restaurants and attractions for the travelers to explore.

    As for the wedding venue, the private beach was perfect and although (unfortunately) it rained right after the cocktail hour, the staff did an amazing job setting up an indoor option which ended up working great. Andrea was wonderful to work with and the staff was just amazing. My guests RAVED about all aspects and we are really happy we hosted our wedding there.

    Sent on 12/26/2018
  • K

    Katey · Married on 09/22/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Although we decided to stay home in NJ for our wedding due to family complications but I would ABSOLUTELY recommend Amara Cay. Brittany Norton is the director of events and was who I spoke to for everything, she is amazing. She was super accommodating with our budget and date. If there was anything I needed she was there. She answered all the little and big questions and always got back to me in a timely manner. The resort is beautiful and has everything you could possible need or want. The accommodations the resort provided were amazing and is very flexible to make it work for bride and groom. If you want to get married in Islamorada, this is the place to go!!! I have nothing but positive things to say about Amara Cay!

    Sent on 02/08/2018
  • B

    Bridget · Married on 05/12/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    What a great experience! I want to relive my wedding week all over again. With every wedding there were hiccups that was not even the hotels responsibility (ex: flowers for rehearsal dinner) but they were able to give us lanterns for the rehearsal dinner centerpieces. Brittany went over and beyond. Our original wedding date was May 12th at Post Card Inn but with the hurricane renovations it was not done in time and was moved to Amara Cay for June 16th. This felt like an upgrade and we were very happy with everything that was done for our special day. We are planning to come back for our 1st anniversary and order the same cake we did :)

    Sent on 06/29/2018
  • N

    Nicole · Married on 02/25/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our wedding at amara cay was AMAZING! I was so happy with how everything turned out! Andrea was so great and helped us so much! It was the most perfect day and we will definitely be back for our anniversaries in the future!

    Sent on 03/01/2018
  • A

    A.J. · Married on 02/24/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had the wedding of our dreams at Amara Cay Resort! Andrea and the staff were extremely helpful during the entire process, which included a venue and date change due to Hurricane Irma. The resort is beautiful and you cannot tell that there was ever a hurricane that came through at all! Amara Cay is the perfect place to have a beach wedding in paradise!

    Sent on 02/28/2018
  • S

    Samantha · Married on 02/16/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amara Cay is a beautiful resort! Our wedding could not have turned out any better. Everything went so smooth and we did not have to stress about anything from the moment we got there. The location we picked on the grounds of Amara Cay was perfect. It was right on the resort but was still private feeling for our ceremony and reception. The staff was wonderful as well. Can't wait to come back for a vacation in the future!

    Sent on 03/12/2018
  • M

    Mallorie · Married on 02/10/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    YAAAAAAASSS!!!! The absolute perfect backdrop to a most phenomenal day. The rooms were perfect, updated and gorgeous. The food outstanding (guests couldn't get enough). Tiki bar staff was wonderful and the drinks tropical and delicious. The pictures were stunning. They have such great staff and great customer service. Samantha was a dream to work with. After hurricane Irma she made the transition from a previous venue to amara cay seamless. Nobody wanted to leave after the weekend was over and begged us to renew our vows next year and do it all over. Cannot wait to come back year after year for our anniversary!

    Sent on 02/12/2018
  • L

    Lauren · Married on 06/10/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amara Cay is the perfect wedding location. The beach and scenery are absolutely gorgeous and the staff is wonderful to work with. Highly recommended !

    Sent on 06/24/2017
  • C

    Claire · Married on 12/11/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We absolutely loved our wedding at Amara Cay and Amy was so great. We planned it all in 4 months, all through email correspondence from Minnesota and it was so perfect. We only had seven guests and having such an intimate setting was perfect, we got to talk to everyone and the day of was very low stress. The dinner and dinner staff was fantastic, we sat by the pool on a beautiful December night and the staff was able to incorporate our decore and flowers into the setting. We then spent our honeymoon at the hotel and had an absolute blast. The pool and beach are gorgeous and the staff is super friendly; with really clean and updated rooms. Plus, there's a ton of fun restaurants and bars around within walking or shuttle distance. We orginially planned on doing a traditional wedding with 250 people in a large banquet room in MN that would cost us $35K but are so happy we did it the way we did. Definitely the way to go, we are still talking about how perfect it was.

    Sent on 12/28/2016
  • S

    Susan · Married on 01/02/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amara Cay was more than I had imagined when we booked this resort as the destination for our destination wedding. We gathered informally on New Years Eve at the pool/beach bar as our guests arrived by planes and automobiles. They were exceptionally friendly and welcoming - Kara the general manager could not have been better! When the limos couldn't arrive at the hotel due to a fatal accident that shut down route 1, the Concierge (who is also a DJ as it turns out) drove the wedding party down to the venue. It took a really long time to go that 1.5 miles from Amara Cay to Morada Bay but we wouldn't have made it without them.
    The hotel rooms and lobby were clean, comfortable and beautiful. Very spacious rooms. The only recommendation would be that it would be great if there was room service and some simpler fare on the menu.

    Sent on 01/11/2016
  • J

    Jane Ann · Married on 12/20/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had an intimate wedding on the beach. Just immediate family in attendance. The staff treated our small wedding as importantly as if we were a larger wedding party- they knew this was our wedding and a life event even though we did not have a big extravagant wedding. We chose this setting based on the beauty and color of the water. The palm trees were also in a perfect location for the ceremony. The staff was wonderful! They calmed our nerves when the weather took a turn for the worse and made it a wonderful experience. The rooms are beautiful, the décor awesome! The food was great as well! With several options to choose from, we know we made the right choice.

    Sent on 01/14/2016
  • J

    Jordan · Married on 09/29/2018

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Brittany Norton is the director of events at Amara Cay and other surrounding venues and she was a dream come true. She helped us move our whole wedding to Amara Cay when we found out The Postcard Inn wasn't going to be open for our wedding. She moved every single person who to comparable rooms from The Postcard Inn to Amara Cay and even waived some fees due to the inconvenience. I can't say enough about her willingness to help us during that crazy time and she was always available to answer any questions we had.
    We were treated exceptionally by the staff at Amara Cay. The wedding was beautiful even though we had an intense rain shower as soon as I walked down the aisle and had to run inside the lobby. The staff made sure they wiped down the chairs, changed the linens on the reception tables, etc so we could have a "do-over". They were fantastic. The only negative aspect I can think of for this one particular resort is the professionalism after asking if someone could come to our room and remove the food we had ordered for the wedding party since it had been left out and the room was beginning to smell. The response was a flat "No" until my mom was talking about it at the Tiki Bar and one of the bartenders walked with us up to our room and called someone to bring her a cart so she could take the food for us. It wasn't her job but she made sure we were taken care of.
    Linda and Joseph, the bartenders at our ceremony, were AMAZING. They were so much fun and talkative with our guests. I also need to give a shoutout to Daniel, who works at the front desk at Amara Cay. We were constantly asking him questions and he was always so willing to call the wedding coordinator if he didn't know the answer to a question we were asking. He was great!

    Sent on 10/01/2018
  • S

    Sharon · Married on 07/15/2018

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    For anyone over the age of 50 and looking for small, fairly inexpensive venue to say 'I do", we could not have asked for anything more. Loralei, Peggy & Lauren were the best! They were very responsive to all of our questions and helped me thru the complete process. And at the end of the day, we were married in a non stress free environment, that was absolutely beautiful. It was really just 'perfect'!! Thanks again Loralei, Peggy & Lauren & Amara Cay Resort. It was the best day ever!!

    Sent on 07/22/2018
  • D

    Debbie · Married on 07/08/2017

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    From beginning to end this resort made the destination wedding amazing I have all positive things to day. The coordinating venue food rooms hospitality and management. Were exceptional. Chris and Samantha were amazing

    Sent on 07/13/2017
  • Michelle

    Michelle Wilks · Married on 02/13/2020

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    So far so good

    I hope the ceremony is worth every penny. This beach was too beautiful to pass up.

    Sent on 03/30/2019
  • Lindsay

    Lindsay · Married on 06/02/2019

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      3.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    June wedding

    Amara Cay Resort was such a beautiful location for our wedding. We loved working with Andrea. She worked with us to customize our wedding package to meet our needs and budget. We also loved that the pool and tiki bar were kept open for us as an after party location. Our complaints are that the preparation of the drinks at the open bar was only adequate and not the best prepared for us, a 3rd party needed to catch a problem with our scheduled timeline, some of our guest favors were cleaned up and thrown out with the dishes while they were enjoying themselves in the dance floor, and none of the plastic cups or straws were biodegradable.

    Sent on 07/05/2019
  • B

    Barry · Married on 10/26/2018

    3.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    December '18 Wedding Review

    We just got married at AC and it turned out great. Overall, we are definitely glad we went with this venue.

    VENUE: Nice setup and a great place for a beach wedding. We had string lights, danced on the sand, all those things you think of when you hear "beach wedding". They re-modeled after the hurricane, so it's got a pretty new feel inside. The lobby is large and a little funky, with the Reel Burger restaurant, which serves a lot more than just burgers (and it's pretty good). Our guests (and their kids, especially) enjoyed playing the games (cornhole, ping pong, jenga, etc.) on the little green area b/w the lobby and tiki bar. After our reception ended, the after party continued in this area (by the fire pits, which are great, as long as it's not too windy, in which case they can't be on; also, they turn off at 11, which is slightly annoying) and the Tiki Bar. The beach area is scenic and the ceremony, cocktail hour, and reception were all literally just a few steps from each other (on the beach.), which is convenient.

    ROOM: We got the wedding package suite and it was spacious, had a wonderful view (toward the end of their beach, overlooking the ocean and the dock), and the bed/pillows were very comfortable. The hotel included a nice welcome package just for us (including prosecco and beers), and this was a nice surprise for sure. I saw a few of our guests' room and they seemed fine.

    STAFF: Julia, one of the onsite managers, was great. She was able to accommodate most (if not all) of my requests, some of which were non-standard. Note: the hotel's coordinator / planner can be hard to reach on weekends, as they are usually busy with events - just keep in mind. Several times, my (then) fiancée asked for lists of guests who had booked - and they provided those. Strongly recommend making it very clear to your guests how to book, as we initially had several problems (people answering the phone weren't aware of who we were or our wedding at all).

    WEDDING FOOD: We had pretty high hopes for the wedding food after our tasting. The coconut shrimp was solid but the I was a bit disappointed with the filet - just thought it was under-seasoned, but I'm no food authority, so perhaps it's just me. My wife was a bit underwhelmed with the Mahi. They were able to accommodate the few vegan guests that we had, and that was nice.

    BARTENDING: This is the ONE area that several of my guests has complaints about. First, apparently they don't serve shots - odd. We weren't aware of this. While my guests were enjoying themselves, no one was totally drunk (most of us are well past this stage), but the bartenders apparently thought they would selectively serve drinks. If someone is obviously drunk, I can understand, but that was not the case. So, the bartenders need to let people ENJOY themselves and let whoever is throwing the party get their money's worth.

    MISC: They offer a free shuttle that goes anywhere in a 4 mile radius. This was really nice for our guests for our Friday night welcome reception, as that was about a mile away and some people didn't want to drive, as they knew they'd be drinking. It's first come, first serve. Apparently, it was quite a party --on the shuttle-- on the way back (from the reception).

    3 areas for improvement:

    1. AC needs to ***immediately ensure that ALL of their rental equipment is safe. The bicycles, in particular, need immediate safety checks (hopefully this has already been done). One of my groomsmen was riding one and made a slight half turn and the actual wheel (not the tire) bent and he was thrown off the bike. In addition to a possible serious injury, this happened several hours before the wedding. It is not at all acceptable for the hotel to let guests rent equipment that is not safe. Additionally, I strongly recommend that the hotel at least issue bike helmets (they didn't); if guests don't want to wear them, then that's their choice.

    2. Payment system / options needs to be modernized. Credit cards can't be taken over the phone or online, which is sort of weak. We wanted to split payment up over several cards and each card requires a sheet to be filled out, along with a driver's license. Need to upgrade this payment system.

    3. Hotel should offer welcome bag distribution (directly to guests as they check in or in their rooms) for free. They wanted to charge us $5 / guest. They did eventually agree to help us distribute free of charge, but apparently it's not their policy.

    Sent on 12/28/2018