Amanda Hein Photography Reviews

23 | Chicago, IL
See photos, pricing and details

23 Reviews for Amanda Hein Photography

Recommended by 99%

23
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2010 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2009 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0
Sort by:
  • User6894949 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amanda was absolutely amazing. She accommodated every request we sent her way, including a confetti toss with our bridal party and our wish-list locations at our venue. She had fantastic suggestions that were incredibly helpful - how to set up a 'first look' best, how to get the family portraits done in no time. Amanda was so kind and friendly and made us feel so comfortable. Her work is amazing and she really is the best. We were so lucky she was available to photograph our wedding. We cannot recommend her highly enough!!!

    Sent on 07/13/2016
  • User6107266 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were so lucky to have connected with Amanda at the end of a long, challenging process trying to find the right wedding photographer. What we learned from our experience is that while there are many talented photographers out there with impressive portfolios and blogs based on one-off "wow" shots from various weddings, it is much harder to find someone so consistent in her talent as Amanda -- who effortlessly fills gallery after gallery of entire weddings (including ours!) with beautiful, natural, meaningful photos that truly capture the day for her couples. Another quality that sets Amanda apart from the pack is that because she's such a skilled, versatile photographer, she will really listen to you and what you want out of your wedding photography, and will adapt her style to your needs, not the other way around. And while photographer personalities may not seem all that important early on in the wedding planning process, someone with an easy, efficient and flexible working style like Amanda is guaranteed to be a godsend come the actual wedding. We are so grateful to Amanda (as well as to our incredible coordinator who found her for us!) and would recommend her to anyone in a heartbeat.

    Sent on 01/10/2016
  • J

    Julie · Married on 09/06/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amanda is wonderful! I cannot recommend her more highly. She made my husband and I feel comfortable right away, and helped us loosen up when taking our engagement photos. Then, she photographed our wedding in September and was so kind and easy to work with, allowing us room to do what we wanted but still making sure that we got all of the shots we wanted, making sure to pull me aside briefly during the wedding to take photos with my great aunt that I told her were important to me, etc. The photos are gorgeous and we love them so much. She was such a joy to work with, and we will treasure our photos forever!

    Sent on 02/18/2016
  • K

    K · Married on 08/31/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amanda Hein was a pleasure to work with from day 1. She is so nice and accommodating, and made us feel taken care from the moment that we started working with her. We had so much fun with her on the day of the wedding.

    The photos from our wedding day are incredible. Amanda captured everything from that day! I highly recommend AHP!!!!

    Sent on 10/20/2014
  • L

    Liz-Ela · Married on 08/26/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We are so thrilled to have chosen Amanda for our wedding. Photography was one of the most important elements of my wedding & I spent so much time searching high&low for the perfect photographer. I interviewed many photographers but Amanda was just the whole package. Her easy going personality, commitment to quality & best service practices, & most of all her amazing photography really sealed the deal for us. From day one she was responsive & reachable; she always answered all my questions. She made us so comfortable during our engagement session (my husband hates having his photos taken) and put us at ease. We had a stunning engagement session & she was so great with going to different locations & always trying to get the best shots no matter how adventurous & creative she would have to get. Amanda's always willing to go the distance to make you happy and get you the best photos that capture the magnificent moments you find yourselves in. Before the wedding Amanda we meet to go over all the family dynamics and relationships (as my family is pretty complicated) so she could truly understand what to focus on. She really wanted to understand the family dynamic so that she could create the smoothest photo experience without making anyone uncomfortable and being least intrusive. I thought that was so above and beyond for a photographer to do I had really appreciated it. She was great at helping me make the timeline of the wedding day photography shots, moving from the hotel to the venue site etc. Amanda was amazing on my wedding day! It was pouring so the ceremony had to be moved inside, we had planned to do our first look photos in the beautiful forest Amanda had scouted days before & she inspired& supported me to go with our original plan despite the weather. I am so glad she did, because it was incredible and the shots were stunning! We been married for 7 months now and I have the most beautiful photos that the happiest day of my life and I have her to thank for it.

    Sent on 04/06/2013
  • L

    Lauren · Married on 01/07/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amanda was incredible to work with - aside from the fact that her photographs are stunningly beautiful, she was warm, professional, and easy to be around. Her presence made me comfortable, even though I feel I do not photograph well. She put my entire family at ease and was not at all intrusive with the camera. I would definitely recommend her to other brides!

    Sent on 01/24/2012
  • K

    Kevin · Married on 09/03/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amanda did a fabulous job working with us through the entire process, from engagement photos, to planning, to executing on the two day wedding we had. Her pictures were spectacular and captured the days and the people wonderfully. She was able to capture every important moment. It was a real pleasure working with Amanda and we will cherish her pictures for the rest of our lives.

    Sent on 01/08/2012
  • M

    MegAnn · Married on 07/30/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amanda is amazing! I love my pictures and she was outstanding during the wedding as well. My friends and family all mentioned how wonderful she was throughout the day/night. She really listened to what I wanted and completely pulled it all off!

    Sent on 08/22/2011
  • L

    Liz · Married on 07/09/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I could not be happier with the choice we made to go with Amanda Hein Photography. We are so pleased with her professionalism, talent, and warm personality. She photographed our engagement session and wedding. She knows so much about natural light and really understood our desire to have nature in our photographs. We climbed up trees in Naperville and sat next to HUGE sunflowers for the engagement session. She scoped out an amazing barn in Plainfield for the wedding. We also got some shots that were industrial and I was so grateful since I thought we couldn't get that vibe in the suburbs. She sent out cards from her Chicago Photographs to clients as well. I thought that was such a nice touch. I am so happy we chose someone who is personal and remembers your name after the consultation. I just don't think we would get the same service and quality we got if we would have chosen a large company. There are a lot of independent photographers out there but Amanda Hein Photography is absolutely one of the most talented.

    From her blog:
    http://amandahein.com/amandaheinblog/?p=483
    http://amandahein.com/amandaheinblog/?p=475

    Sent on 07/29/2010
  • H

    Esther · Married on 01/16/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amanda is great! She captures the moment perfectly! I was speechless when we saw our final pictures. I highly recommend her!

    Sent on 03/01/2010
  • K

    Kelly · Married on 08/15/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were referred to Amanda Hein Photography by another photographer who was not available for our wedding date, and are so thankful that happened!!! When we first met with Amanda at her studio we were impressed with the beautiful photos that dressed the walls of the loft. After watching a great slide show from another couple's wedding, we chatted with Amanda and loved her laid-back personality! She was a pleasure to work with! She always was in touch with us and was quick to reply to phonecalls/emails. She made us feel so comfortable during our engagement session and offered unique places to take these photos. The day of the wedding I forgot she was even there with us, she was so discreet, which produces such natural photos that truly capture the emotion of the day! So many of our guests have complemented the work and are eager to get copies for themselves. I love that she offers gift-cards too, because I now have a great gift idea for when a good friend is pregnant! Her baby photos are amazing too!!! Everything that she does has such a personal touch! We bought the proofs from our wedding and she packed the disks up in a high quality brown canvas holder with a pink ribbon around it, just like her stationery. Everything was so sharp and professional! We couldn't be happier with the results and would highly recommend Amanda Hein!!! Can't wait to work with her again in our future:)

    Sent on 09/23/2009
  • K

    Katherine · Married on 09/13/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We really enjoyed working with Amanda. She takes beautiful photos that really capture the feelings of the moment, and is very accommodating and flexible. She takes the time to get to know a bit about you, which gives the photos and albums a personal touch. Highly recommended!

    Sent on 04/29/2009
  • H

    Haley · Married on 07/12/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amanda is an amazing photographer! We couldn't be happier with how our wedding photos turned out. We continue to get compliments from everyone who's seen them. She was so easy to work with and puts a personal touch on everything she does.

    Sent on 12/18/2008
  • J

    Jillian · Married on 06/28/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amanda was the best wedding photographer I have seen... she was amazing! She was very enthusiastic about our wedding, which is nice when working with someone just as excited as we are! She was very helpful and professional. And, we LOVED our pictures!! I would recommend her to anyone!

    Sent on 08/02/2008
  • A

    Amy · Married on 10/13/2007

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    It took us 10 minutes after meeting with Amanda Hein Photography to book them for our wedding. We were really impressed by the quality of the work and the selection of packages they had to offer. Amanda Hein did not compare to ANY other photographer we looked at, the others didn't come close. Amanda Hein Photography is a professional company that does absolutely beautiful work. The customer service and help they provided for any question we had is unbeatable. They offered suggestions for us when we were "stuck" on options. We've recommended Amanda Hein to 3 other couples and to 2 sets of proud parents. We can't wait to use her again as well!!

    Sent on 05/11/2008
  • S

    Stephanie · Married on 09/02/2007

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amanda was everything we wanted in a photographer. She shot in the photojournalistic style and the thousands of pictures turned out beautifully--truly works of art that look gorgeous framed all over our home. I appreciated that she was young and female--I felt comfortable with her shooting while my mom was putting me into my dress and when my husband and I saw each other for the first time. She was non-obtrusive but organized everything on the day-of. Amanda was so nice and easy to deal with. She always responded to my calls and emails promptly, was quite financially reasonable (especially for Chicago), and delivered a beautiful product. I HIGHLY recommend her!

    Sent on 05/01/2008
  • K

    Kathy · Married on 08/03/2007

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I will definitely choose Amanda Hein Photography again. Not only were my husband and I extremely pleased with Amanda and the beautiful pictures that she took @ our wedding, but guests that attended our wedding said how friendly and accommodating she was. Amanda Hein Photography came highly recommended to us, and I have and will continue to recommend Amanda Hein Photography any chance I get.

    Sent on 04/25/2008
  • S

    Shelley · Married on 07/07/2007

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were so happy we went with Amanda Hein Photography. She was fantastic because she captured the posed as well as the 'special moments' of our day. She is professional without being overbearing and really goes above and beyond to accomodate her client's requests. I would definitely recommend Amanda Hein Photography to any couple about to tie the knot. She is not the cheapest... but she is the best!!

    Sent on 04/26/2008
  • A

    Ashley · Married on 06/30/2007

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amanda Hein Photography did an excellent job on our wedding day. There were photos from the beginning of the day to the end of the reception with a moonlit kiss. I had a hard time putting together an album since all the pictures were so good. Amanda captured the special moments of our wedding ceremony and the fun had by everyone at the reception. All of the photos are posted online shortly after the wedding and available for quite a while. I enjoyed the many options for photo albums and picture sizes and special features as well. I highly recommend her to all of my friends that get engaged.

    Sent on 04/29/2008
  • K

    Kristina · Married on 09/30/2006

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We're very happy with Amanda's work and got many compliments on our wedding pictures. Amanda was professional, but she also made us very comfortable on our wedding day. She responded quickly to our questions and concerns, which is a plus. We had a big thunderstorm after our ceremony and Amanda was really quick in giving us alternative for indoor shots in case the rain won't stop. She also called around to check the rain forecast. Luckily the rain stopped and we had to take a lot of beautiful pictures.

    Sent on 04/28/2008
  • I

    Ian · Married on 06/04/2006

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amanda Hein provided exceptionally high quality work that gave us the traditional wedding pictures we were looking for, but also a number of unique shots that really made our special day stand out. The level of professionalism from Amanda really allowed us to enjoy our special day and not have to worry about managing how our day was captured on film.

    Sent on 05/05/2008
  • A

    April · Married on 06/21/2008

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    Amanda Hein is unbelievable! She was incredibly easy to work with and went above and beyond several times! She designed our invitations in addition to shooting our engagement pictures and wedding pictures. Every thing she has done for us has been beautiful. I couldn't recommend a better photographer!

    Sent on 06/25/2008
  • K

    Melissa · Married on 05/12/2007

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    Amanda Hein Photography was wonderful. Amanda has a knack for getting shots at beautiful angles and with creative shadowing. If you want a custom and creative memory of your wedding I would suggest going with Amanda. If you want standard more traditional poses, etc. she can do those as well.

    Sent on 05/12/2008

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review