Weddings

Alturia Farm Reviews

Alturia Farm View more information

18 Reviews

Rated
5.0
out of 5.0
Recommended by 100% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 5 out of 5

Awards

  • 18
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner

39 User photos

Sort by:
  • Opal
    Opal W. Married on 11/08/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Perfectly magical!

    Alturia made our special day so magical! They went above and beyond. I highly recommend them to any bride and groom to be!

    Alturia Farm's reply:

    Thank you Opal for the review!! What a joy to host your wedding! We wish you all the very best in your lives together!
  • Sarah
    Sarah M. Married on 03/14/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Perfect day!!

    We just got married at Alturia Farm and it was every bit of beautiful as well as magical! Janean, along with her crew were just wonderful and so easy to work with! I hightly recommend checking them out! For us, it was the first and last place we toured for our wedding venue!! So many details to just make it seamless and perfect! The place is just breathtakingly beautiful and we cant wait to go back and visit!

    Alturia Farm's reply:

    Sarah, we have nothing but wonderful, fun memories of your wedding celebration! It truly was a special day and we are honored you all choose us to host! We wish you all the best!
  • Heather
    Heather D. Married on 12/14/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing venue

    After being double booked on our first venue we were fortunate enough to find Alturia farm. It was a match made in heaven and I know we were meant to find them. From the tour, through multiple emails and text messages, all the way up to the day of, this venue had it handled. They required a day of coordinator which just made my life so much easier. They organized walk through and helped set up the day of. Sadly a little while before the wedding their horse for the carriage was no longer with us but instead of just saying no for the horse and carriage they stayed hopeful as they found a new horse, one that was trained, and he performed beautifully. They took lots of pictures on top of the photographer and the rooms to get ready were phenomenal. There is space for the girls and the guys to get ready, plus there are salon chairs for the make up and hair vendors to use on their clients. I can’t stress enough how amazing my time at Alturia farm was and how whimsical their venue made my wedding.

    Alturia Farm's reply:

    Heather, we were so blessed to meet you and Andrew and get to host your important day! It was such a wonderful time working with you all. It makes us happy to know that you enjoyed the experience at Alturia. We wish you both all the best!
  • Elizabeth
    Kristine H. Married on 08/25/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Great venue, great people, great aesthetic, crazy drive though

    Great variety of indoor outdoor locations, rustic yet modern. Have it early the backroads can be scary at night, everything else honestly was perfect, the owners are kind and helpful, they really take a lot of pride in their venue.
  • Jillian
    Jillian Married on 08/24/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Once in a life time venue

    Where do I even begin! To say that Alturia Farm was a dream come true would be an understatement! We found them after an unfortunate loss of our first venue and they were amazing about working with us while we worked through those tough decisions!

    We were welcomed at the property as many times as we needed (with proper notice of course) which was very helpful with deciding decor and set up. We also were able to take our engagement photos on site!

    Everything came together as expected and mostly due to the extra staffing from the farm! These guys and gals busted their butts for 2+ days to make sure the venue was in perfect condition and I can not thank them enough.

    If you are looking for a space that is beautiful as is and has more room and flexibility than you could imagine look no further!!

    Alturia Farm's reply:

    Jillian, it was an absolute honor to host you & Steven on your big day! We are so happy for you two and to know that your experience at Alturia was extra special warms our hearts! We wish you both all the best!
  • Megan
    Megan Married on 08/17/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Beautiful venue & incredibly friendly owners/staff!

    Alturia Farm is an unbelievably gorgeous venue! Ken & Janean are so incredibly friendly and go out of their way to make sure you are treated like family! We had our engagement pictures, our rehearsal and wedding here and I cannot say enough good things about every single experience. I was determined to have our pups in the wedding and from the beginning Ken & Janean were on board and helped make the dream come true! During the engagement pictures, rehearsal and on the day of Janean & Ken and their staff were always right there making sure we had everything we needed or waiting with a golf cart in case we needed a ride somewhere. It is very clear just how much they love & are proud of their venue and how much hard work they and all of their staff put in everyday. I am so incredibly grateful for finding this venue & having our wedding here. You will not be disappointed choosing Alturia!!

    Alturia Farm's reply:

    Megan, thank you so much for the review! It was our great pleasure to get to host your wedding! What a beautiful celebration and you and Jason were such a delight to work with! We wish you both all the best!
  • R
    Rebekah H. Married on 05/19/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    The best wedding venue

    After having my wedding at Alturia Farm in May 2019, I firmly believe it is one of the most special and magical venues out there. For starters, Ken and Janean Brooks are just truly amazing people. When you book your wedding at Alturia Farm, they make you feel like you are a part of their family. Janean had so many wonderful suggestions for vendors to use, and everyone she recommended did an outstanding job. She is extremely responsive and is sweet, personable, and so accommodating and flexible. Ken and Janean are also some of the most hospitable people I have ever met. On the day of my wedding, Ken and Janean truly made sure I had everything I needed every single second of the day. Every time I walked somewhere, Ken was right beside me in a golf cart with water waiting in case I wanted it. As if this wasn’t enough, Alturia Farm is astoundingly beautiful. The property is elegant and rustic and has everything that you would ever want in a wedding venue. This was the only place I toured because it was just that perfect. I am so thankful that I had my wedding here because Ken and Janean truly made it everything I ever dreamed of and more.
  • C
    Codi Married on 08/25/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I cannot speak more highly of Janean and Ken! They are absolutely amazing. They were so kind from Day one when we toured the venue to the day of our wedding. They truly made our dream come true, and it would not have been half as magical without them. They go above and beyond and truely are the sweetest people. I can’t imagine choosing to get married any where else but Alturia farm.
  • A
    Anne Married on 06/30/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Janean and Ken are absolutely amazing. Two of the sweetest and kindest people you will ever meet. The venue is gorgeous and they are so helpful when you tell them the vision of your wedding day. They will go above and beyond to make your wedding day beautiful and special. They took so much stress off my shoulders by helping me with everything. I am 150% satisfied that I choose to get married at Alturia farm. It was my dream wedding and the day was magical. I cant thank Janean and Ken enough for everything they did for me!
  • K
    Kyrstin Married on 05/26/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    If I could give Janean and Ken 1,000 stars I would! This venue is so personal for them because it's also their home. They invite you and your party to be part of their beautiful place and make you feel like you're part of the family. They're so kind and their venue/home is GORGEOUS! The fields with the horses and the event barn are just two of the things that make this space spectacular for ANY event not just weddings. Our wedding was beautiful and they did a great job making sure we had everything we needed (including a horse drawn carriage fit for royalty; a MUST!) Please visit them and plan to have your event here for a magical experience! Photo credit goes to Orrie Gaines Photography of Richmond VA and Band Props to Trademark by East Coast Entertainment.
  • H
    Holly Married on 05/12/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Alturia farm is absolutely amazing, the owners are so welcoming and friendly! They do everything in their power to make your wedding day a dream come true. I can’t say one bad thing about this venue. Everything is so beautiful and on-site, the the bridal suite, groomsmen suite, and especially the reception barn! My guests LOVED this venue too! This rustic yet elegant venue is a must see!
  • C
    Cheryl Married on 03/24/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Friday morning has rolled around again, six days after my daughter, Kara, was married at the beautiful Alturia Farm. What a delightful experience it was from the very first time I met Janean last June, to the final minutes of clean up last Saturday night. Janean and her staff were everywhere making sure everything went like clockwork - and it did. The whole event from the setup starting early Friday morning (thank you very much!) through the rehearsal and rehearsal dinner, and continuing through the 'day of' preparations, the wedding and reception, the sparkler sendoff - it all went so perfectly. Even the cleanup was made easy by their expertise. Plus, the added bonus of the newlyweds being able to stay the night in your very cute 'Sugar Shack'. Our many guests were totally 'wowed' not only by the beautiful setting and accommodations, but also how delightful Janean, Lizzie, and all the staff were. This is a venue that feels like the 'warmth of home' to all that drive through its gates. Thank you again for making my daughter's day truly a dream come true.
  • K
    Kara Married on 03/18/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Incredible. We do not have enough wonderful things to say about the beautiful Alturia Farm. Ken and Janean are an absolutely pleasure to work with and their team of staff (looking at you Lizzie!) were just the best! We received so many compliments throughout the evening and beyond for how beautiful the setting is here. They offer such a wonderful package with allowing so much extra setup time and offering the Sugar Shack for an overnight stay the night of. I will be singing your praises for years to come! Things couldn’t have been more perfect here and we wouldn’t change a thing about it. ABSOLUTELY STUNNING! We love you all!
    - Kara + Greg Hall
  • C
    Caitlin Married on 08/19/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    My wedding was this past weekend, August 19, 2017, and I couldn't wait to give this venue a review! Let's start with the owners - Ken and Janean (and their fantastic staff, including Lizzy) - this group was ALWAYS willing to do more, make sure we had what we needed, even suggesting ideas and ways things have worked or not worked in past events! They kept us up to date on changes to the venue (this place is growing and in ALLLL the good ways!!!). Their staff was working to arrange our space the way we wanted, and when we had a last minute change, were there to change it up again! Next - the space itself! This venue is BEAUTIFUL! It was a hot weekend with a funky summer storm, but the event barn worked perfectly! We already had the space set up for the reception, but we were also able to set up the rehearsal dinner inside too, without having to move but a few chairs! The natural decor enhanced our day! In addition to everything they promised they'd do from the start, Janean was around taking pictures and had them sent to me the next day - which, by the way, were AMAZING pictures. I could not recommend this place enough. We had a wedding there, but I already had guests tell me they might have to book their vow renewals!
  • Sherry
    Sherry Married on 07/29/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Janean and Ken are FANTASTIC! This was such a beautiful venue (everyone loved it). If they are available for your wedding date BOOK IT! You won't be sorry.
  • B
    Bonnie Married on 04/01/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I had doubts about a farm wedding until I toured this venue with the bride. After touring I knew that it was the most beautiful venue ever with so many options. The Host and hostess were absolutely the most accommodating ever. I have had two other weddings for daughters, but never such an enduring experience as this. They were there for us from set up to clean up to ensure our experience was beautiful from start to finish. Thank you so much!!!

    Alturia Farm's reply:

    Bonnie, thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review for us. We sincerely appreciate it! It was our great pleasure to serve you and to know we were able to meet all your needs! Thank you again!
  • C
    Clarissa Married on 09/24/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I can not say enough about Alturia Farm!
    The owners are some of the nicest people I have ever met, literally! They are so accommodating and helpful. They did so much for us the day of or wedding and the days leading up to it. They helped us do set up, take down and everything in between. They are all around wonderful hosts!
    The venue property... Breathtaking! I love the property! It has so many options for ceremony sites, options for rain, adorable cocktail hour spots and an amazing reception tent! And a cutie honeymoon suite in the back!
    I can't give enough praise to The Brooks'. We had such an amazing wedding and owe a lot of it to the venue and the owners!
  • A
    Alexandra Married on 08/30/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    My sister in law got married this past weekend here. The whole process from start to finish with Janean, Ken, Lizzy, & Ruben was spectacular! They did everything in their power to make my sister in laws day perfect! They were incredibly easy to work with & the venue was beyond beautiful! Thank you all so much for such a wonderful experience!

    Alturia Farm's reply:

    Alexandra, thank you so much for the review! It was our great pleasure to host your family and friends this past weekend! We enjoyed working with you all!