Altmix Photography Reviews

49 | Atlanta, GA
See photos, pricing and details

49 Reviews for Altmix Photography

Recommended by 100% of couples

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0

Awards

49

7 User photos

Order by:
  • Anthony

    Anthony Defilippo · Married on 03/10/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing experience - the best photographer you'll find!

    Matt was the photographer for our wedding and engagement photos and it was the best experience! Everything ran smoothly and the pictures were all amazing, capturing moments big and small to help us remember our special day.

    Sent on 05/13/2020
  • Susan

    Susan Duong · Married on 11/02/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Best Around

    Even though there are tons of talented wedding photographers out there, Matt is hands down the best of them all. While trying to narrow down our choices, we ALWAYS kept coming back to Matt’s portfolio! Every image he creates and captures is truly breathtaking and awe inspiring with the way he’s able to incorporate and play with light, angles and shadows. When Matt sent us back our wedding pictures, I had tears in my eyes as we looked back on our day through the pictures. He was able to capture so much emotion, love and joy and each photo. He never skipped a beat at our wedding and maneuvered his way around the ceremony and reception like he was never there but was able to capture each candid moment he could. Not only is Matt incredible at what he does and the best at his craft, he is an amazing person and an absolute pleasure to work with. I couldn’t have imaged anyone else by our sides at our wedding except for Matt! It was truly our honor to work with him!

    Sent on 02/04/2020
  • P

    PeterM · Married on 08/10/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Organic and professional, would recommend to anyone.

    Matt and the Altmix team were awesome to work with. They truly listened and provided the experience that was important to us and they felt like a natural part of the wedding rather than a hinderance or obligation. Would happily recommend to anyone in need of an event photographer!

    Sent on 05/11/2020
  • S

    Sage Segal · Married on 11/18/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Outstanding

    Best photographer hands down! Altmix made it a point to get to know us as bride and groom, so that when the wedding day came we immediately felt comfortable being photographed. He even treated my family and me to coffee, to learn about who we are, our preferences for the day, and show us samples from other weddings. The way he captures the uniqueness of each couple and highlights important cultural aspects of weddings is what really drew me in. Exquisite work! We had a great time at the wedding. My husband and I are nature lovers too, so Altmix even got some stunning images of us frolicking through the fall leaves with beautiful trees towering above us. It was the highlight of the wedding!

    Sent on 11/30/2018
  • J

    John R · Married on 10/11/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Down-to-earth, professional, punctual, stress free, talented

    Do yourself a favor, hire Altmix Photography.

    Sent on 05/20/2020
  • L

    Lakshmi Sridaran · Married on 08/11/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing and talented photographer and an absolute joy to work with!

    We absolutely loved working with Matt! He was recommended by a friend who is also a wedding photographer, but could not travel to Atlanta to shoot our wedding. We met with Matt for coffee about six months before our wedding date and he showed such genuine interest and care in understanding us as a couple and we truly enjoyed getting to know him, especially his journey to photography. His enthusiasm was contagious and he was also very thorough in his process. We appreciated the questionnaire he had us fill out before the wedding to ensure we were comfortable on the day of the wedding. Not only did he get all of the names and titles of everyone on our VIP photo shoot list, he also helped us assemble everyone on the wedding day, which was no easy task! Matt has done several Indian weddings so he knew all of the unique and important aspects of the wedding ceremony and reception and made a point to focus on those with the second photographer, Greta. He found us the perfect location for our "first look" on the morning of the wedding and even helped talk my husband off a ledge after he forgot our wedding bands at the hotel. Matt worked with our wedding planners to ensure the wedding bands were delivered to the venue in time for the ceremony. He even stayed beyond the contract time to ensure we had more photos of the reception. Matt is a veteran of the wedding industry and gave us so many valuable non-photography related tips as well to help ease our wedding planning anxiety along the way. Matt was an absolute joy to work with and we would recommend him to everyone! We have only looked through our photos once since they were completed, but we were extremely pleased with how stunning they are!

    Sent on 01/21/2019
  • S

    Sarah · Married on 06/30/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    When it came to wedding vendors, I knew that photography was at the top of my list since it is one of the few things that will last past the actual wedding day. I found Matt during one of my countless google searches for “best photographer in Atlanta.” He popped up because he has so many amazing and (as I found out) completely deserved reviews! I started looking at his website and was taken away with how he played with geometry, color, light; the decision to hire him was incredibly easy.
    Matt took the time to create a customized package for us. I was so touched that he worked with our budget and was still able to give us all that we wanted on our wedding day. On top of that, he made the effort to meet with us on one of the two days we were in Atlanta before the wedding (we live in Seattle but have roots in Atlanta).
    Before the ceremony, Matt worked wonders! He helped us fend off some bees, weathered a few drops of rain, and even was able to make our baby niece smile in ALL her pictures! It was amazing. He made the reception look like we had hired a professional light crew. His job is to make your wedding look good, and he did exactly that.
    As you can probably tell, Matt is a joy to be around and work with. Alleviating instead of adding to stress was a priceless benefit of choosing Matt; he truly remained calm through the entire event. Matt dressed the part and was more than we could have hoped for from our photographer.

    The final product brought tears to my eyes. There are so many incredible photos that it is hard to choose favorites. I love how he used the stained glass in the chapel for some of our portraits; he also found an amazing outdoor spot that made the couple and family photos look like they were out of a fairy tale.

    Know that you can trust Matt with your wedding day. We are so happy with him and his work that we could not recommend him more!

    Sent on 09/20/2018
  • M

    Mariette Marano · Married on 01/12/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wonderful, professional photographer

    We had great experiences working with Matt for our wedding photos as well as our engagement shots. Neither my husband nor I are very comfortable in front of the camera, but Matt made the process fun and stress-free, not to mention took great pictures! We liked the photo-journalism approach he takes with his photos—some of our absolute favorite photos were candid. Due to some bad weather on our wedding day, we had to make a few last-minute adjustments, which Matt handled very calmly and professionally. He also gave us a few referrals to other vendors that we really liked as well. As most of the other reviewers mention, at our small wedding, he felt like one of the guests, everyone enjoyed having him there. Bottom-line: having Matt as our photographer on one of our most important days was an easy decision, and one we’d gladly make again.

    Sent on 05/11/2020
  • R

    Rachel · Married on 11/12/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Matt's still in the process of editing our photos, and we've only gotten a peek at four of them, but we're already blown away. Matt is a true artist, and very personable. Our photoshoot felt like we were just hanging out with a friend. We would be very happy to hire him again for another event.

    Sent on 11/26/2017
  • M

    Matthew · Married on 11/11/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I was lucky enough to notice Matt’s work years before my own wedding, and was sold the moment I saw that first image. I’ve worked in visual communications for a while, and though I’m not a professional photographer, I’m cursed with unusually high standards. Matt exceeds those, by a long shot. He’s clearly mastered the technical part — he swaps lenses like he’s twirling a pen, he’s lithe on his feet when chasing light, and his post-processing workflow is so refined that he got us our images within one week. A week! So many of these would be worthy of a magazine, both from the immaculate framing and emotion conveyed.

    Beyond the technical, he also has this soothing, enthusiastic presence while he works. We kept telling people how the couples’ portraits were one of the day’s highlights, because it felt like we got our only “alone time” then…which is weird because Matt was there the whole time. But his demeanor and direction put us at such ease that it was easy to act natural. We got SO many compliments from guests about how amiable Matt was, and he was always gracious (and encouraging!) to those who wanted photos themselves. He also clearly has a knack for angles, because he got some snaps during the ceremony that straight up baffled me — I thought for sure I would have seen him in my periphery. Nope! It’s like we paid for a second shooter, which is nuts.

    The bottom-line, though, is that these photos totally take us back to the day. They totally capture the joy of each moment. He never missed, never was in the way, and acted like a true professional *and* a friend. (Matt — if you’re reading this, where do we send our friendship application?) It’s hard to describe how on-point each photo was, but what I can articulate is that everything illustrated just how much fun we had. And that’s worth every penny.

    Sent on 12/15/2017
  • C

    Cassandra · Married on 09/09/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were so glad we chose Matt to shoot our big day! He was great with communication both before and after our wedding weekend which was important to us since we were from out of town. Before the wedding, Matt took the time to get to know us as a couple and what we were looking for in our photos– on the big day, it didn’t feel like he was a random wedding vendor showing up to take pictures, but a longtime friend that was there to capture our day. He kept us on schedule with all of the pre and post ceremony pictures and worked well with the out of town videographer. We were so impressed with the quality of photos he got back to us just a couple of weeks after the big day. All of our bridal party enjoyed working with him too and we can’t wait for some of our friends to use him in the future so we get the chance to work/hang with him again.

    Sent on 10/29/2017

    Altmix Photography's reply:

    Thanks so much Cassandra- I totally hope to see you guys again soon!
  • S

    Stephanie · Married on 09/02/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    When Parker and I first saw Matt’s work, we knew he was the one. His work stood out to us among the sea of wedding photographers. We loved the way he captured moments – unique, intimate, artistic. And when we met him in person, it was love at first sight. Matt is easygoing and fun. We clicked immediately. When it came time for our engagement pictures, he helped us feel comfortable, which isn’t easy because being intimate in public is not something I’m a fan of. Matt got to know us and we didn’t feel like he was our photographer. He is our friend. As the big day rolled around, Matt was intuitive about when we needed a break and would pull us aside for a breather and couple shots. He is understanding, accommodating and always has a positive attitude. The final wedding pictures are beyond my wildest dreams. They are PERFECT. I’m so thankful for Matt for capturing every special moment of our day. He’s given us a gift we’ll have for the rest of our lives. He’s truly a unicorn in the world of photographers.

    Sent on 10/18/2017

    Altmix Photography's reply:

    Stephanie- you and Parker are the best ever. Thanks so much for sharing your experience!
  • Catherine

    Catherine · Married on 05/20/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I recently worked with Matt on a multicultural wedding that went INCREDIBLE. It was an extremely long day, and he was on top of everything from the moment he started working. He came with detailed notes about what was important to the bride and groom to capture, shots lists, timeline notes, etc. He was a pleasure to work with as a professional and as an individual, fun and personable :) His clients love him, and so does Chancey Charm! Thanks Matt!!

    Sent on 11/20/2017
  • K

    Kylie · Married on 11/12/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Matt was the only photographer my husband and I contacted when deciding who we wanted to hire. Living in Atlanta, I was familiar with his work and have had a few friends that worked with him. We were fortunate enough that he had our November weekend open and decided to work with us. Matt shot our rehearsal dinner and wedding and we also got our photo booth through him as well.

    I cannot say enough great things about working with Matt - he's an absolute treat, so easy to work with and a bride's dream in terms of being able to trust he's getting all the best shots and capturing moments you'll miss considering how busy the wedding day is! He is beyond talented - it really is hiring an artist as opposed to someone who just takes pictures. We've gotten endless compliments on the photos from our wedding weekend.

    I'd also highly recommend doing your photo booth through Matt if considering one. At first I was a little confused that pictures didn't print out instantly for guests to take with them, but when we got the album I was so thrilled. The quality is amazing so your guests can actually enjoy the photos. Two super fun young men attended the booth - "hype men" of sorts - which everyone loved of course.

    I wish I could give a 10 star rating because 5 just doesn't seem like enough.

    Sent on 12/26/2016
  • C

    Caryl · Married on 07/02/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Matt did an incredible job photographing our wedding. From the beginning, our initial meeting, paperwork, and communication was very professional. My family was so pleased to work with Matt as he was extremely organized throughout the entire process. On the wedding day, he was very personable and people kept remarking about how friendly, flexible, and professional he is. Another thing that my husband and I noticed is that even though there was only one photographer, it almost seemed like there were two! We were especially impressed with how he was able to get photos of the ceremony from the balcony and then seconds later, get photos from the ground level. We are completely satisfied with his creativity and professionalism, and we definitely recommend him!

    Sent on 08/18/2016
  • D

    diana · Married on 06/30/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Matt was amazing at the wedding of Becca Rubey and Michael seminer.
    It was a wild,fun wedding and Matt quietly got ALL the special moments.
    he was kind,polite,quiet,agreeable AND the photos are beyond great.
    Thanks Matt.
    diana seminer (pround MOM)

    Sent on 12/14/2016
  • Simona

    Simona · Married on 05/11/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wonderful, memorable, comfortable experience!

    We are nearing our four-year anniversary, but I still wanted to make sure I finally wrote a review. Working with Matt was one of the highlights of the wedding planning experience. He was so easy to work with and helped put us at ease during what can be a stressful time. We love the photos so much and can't recommend him enough.

    Sent on 07/23/2020
  • R

    Rachel · Married on 04/30/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Matt was an incredible wedding photographer! He was actually the first vendor we selected. He had photographed a friend's wedding 5 years ago and ever since seeing those pictures I knew Matt was the photographer for us!

    From the first email, he was super responsive and always got back to us quickly. We were planning our wedding from out of town and he was super accommodating with figuring out times to talk on the phone etc.

    On the wedding day Matt was an absolute gem. He helped everyone stay calm after is started HAILING (that was fun). During the wedding he was great with us, our families, and our guests, making everyone super comfortable in front of the camera and getting some great pictures.

    He got us our pictures quickly and they are incredible. He did such an amazing job capturing the images and emotion of our day. We cannot recommend him enough!

    Sent on 06/06/2016
  • K

    Kimberly · Married on 04/23/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were referred by a friend to look into Matt Altmix Photography and we were NOT disappointed. We didn't even meet with any other photographers... that's how much we trusted and liked the quality of his photographs! His photography skills are phenomenal and reasonably priced for the ATL area. He was professional and still kept up with me and all 10 of my bridesmaids and 8 of the groomsmen. We just got our pictures back and I am in AWE at what they look like. You will not be disappointed . We had around 140 people attend our wedding and he was a one man team still able to capture the best moments from the pre-ceremony down to the reception!

    Sent on 07/18/2017
  • T

    Travis · Married on 10/03/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Father of the Bride appreciating the phenomenal quality of the photographs, the detailed coverage of every dimension of our event and the pleasant, easy-to-work with personality of the Photographer. Matt was absolutely amazing!

    Sent on 11/15/2015
  • L

    Laura · Married on 09/19/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I don't know where to begin with my praise of Altmix Photography. We had an incredible experience and I would recommend Matt to anyone and everyone I know. From the initial planning to the day of the wedding, he was professional, on time and a pleasure to work with.

    In the midst of wedding chaos, Matt was unbelievably calm. The man was able to get 20 kids to look in the same direction for a family photo and that in and of itself was impressive. Needless to say, we were blown away by the photos. I have no idea how he was able to be in so many places at once but he did an amazing job. Matt captured our day as if he was in my mind. The moments, glances, emotions and love in each picture bring back specific memories throughout the day that we will be able to hold onto for the rest of our lives.

    We have already spent a countless amount of time looking at pictures and we are so very excited to share them with everyone else. In light of the fact that he took fantastic pictures of us (that sounds so vain), he also took beautiful pictures of our family and friends. What a lovely gift to be able to share with them!

    My husband and I both agree that the money we spent with Altmix Photography was the best investment of the entire wedding.

    Sent on 10/20/2015
  • S

    S · Married on 08/14/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Matt is not only an incredible photographer, but also a genuinely kind and friendly person -- exactly the type of person you want around during the chaos of a wedding! We had a very long and involved wedding and Matt was there from start to finish. His photos are fantastic and he somehow managed to capture all of the important moments without us even realizing that he was there for all of them. He also had an incredibly fast turnaround, getting all of our pictures edited and back to us in just over a month! And we can't stop looking at them, because they are absolutely gorgeous.

    If you're in the market for a wedding photographer, I strongly encourage you to hire Matt -- he is simply the best!

    Sent on 12/10/2015
  • User4654183 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Matt turned around our photos in less than two weeks and our family and friends have given us so many compliments! He is so easy to work with and captured so many sweet moments from our wedding day. Even without a second shooter, he was able to really capture the day well for us, and our families are really happy with the mix of formal pictures and the more creative ones.

    Sent on 04/30/2015
  • H

    Harmony · Married on 03/20/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Since coming across Altmix's website a couple of years ago, I knew that I wanted them to photograph my wedding when the time came. Fast forward to the present, and being a photographer (and bride) myself, I was really afraid that their pricing would be completely out of reach for our family only wedding. Not only did their pricing work for us, but from initial contact to final product delivery, my husband and I were nothing short of impressed with the ease of the process, Matt's professionalism, and the moments he captured for both our elopement and wedding days. We are beyond glad we decided to use Matt as our wedding photographer and highly recommend him!!

    Sent on 04/29/2015
  • T

    Thanh · Married on 03/20/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Matt Altmix was professional, kind, responsive, punctual, and his work is amazing. He photographed both our elopement and wedding. He made us and our families feel comfortable, making our pictures more beautiful. He's very nice and truly enjoys what he does. Harmony and I thank you so much for capturing our day into breathtaking pictures. Extremely satisfied!

    Sent on 05/13/2015