Skip to main content
Weddings

Alterations by Mirta Reviews

Alterations by Mirta View more information

Reviews

Your trust is our goal. Our community relies on honest reviews to help you make those big decisions with ease.
5.0 out of 5 rating
5.0 out of 5 rating
22 Reviews
99% recommend it
  • Quality of service
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    5 out of 5 rating

Awards

22
  • Allison
    Allison G. Sent on 07/31/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Truly amazing

    I cannot say enough amazing things about Mirta. She works so diligently and is very talented. I was nervous leaving my dream dress, but after meeting Mirta, I knew it was in good hands. After her initial alterations, I went back for a second consultation and it wasn’t long at all before my dress was complete. It fit like an extension of myself and the bustle was gorgeous.
  • Lyraraeaprill
    Lyra A. Sent on 12/26/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The best seamstress!

    Mirta was an absolute pleasure to work with, and she is talented beyond words. She took my drab wedding dress that I bought online and turned it into a beautiful gown made for a princess. We had many fittings to make it absolutely perfect, and she was so attentive and helpful throughout the whole process. She is such a kind, caring, and funny woman on top of being a talented seamstress. I miss going to fittings now that my wedding is over! She’s that great!
  • Kimberly Driggers
    Sarah K. Sent on 03/01/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    A joy to work with

    Mirta was so professional and personable with such a very private time with the Bride and mother of the Bride in suggestions, alterations and timing.
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • E
    Zach Sent on 08/08/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Mirta is the best!

    Mirta is absolutely talented! She turned my dress into my dream dress. I could not find a dress with sleeves at the time I was shopping, and Mirta hand made both sleeves for me! She is very flexible and really works with you to have your dress look just the way you want it. She also teaches you cool tips and tricks for day of wedding in regards to hair pieces, etc.... :) Highly recommend!
  • Brian
    Brian Sent on 01/20/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    amazing attention to detail, very flexible!

    Mirta really knows what she is doing. I live up North and came in 3 times in 3 days while I was down in Sarasota. She works out of her home and is super flexible, I even came later in the evening to several times. Her attention to detail is incredible, my dress had a lot of lace detail along the train that she kept interacted while taking off a lot of the length. The bustle looked just as good as the full train. Mirta is so sweet and will work through the night to get your dress looking perfect!
  • Annie
    Annie Sent on 10/17/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Exceptionally Skilled & Wonderful to Work With

    I’m not the first to say it: God bless Mirta. She is *exceptional* at what she does and an absolute pleasure to work with. In my specific situation, I received my final, altered wedding dress the night before departing for my destination wedding (in Sarasota) and it didn’t fit properly. Having no time to get it fixed in my home city, I was referred to Mirta by my wedding planner with the hope she could pull off a 12th hour miracle. And she did. In spades. Mirta not only accommodated me immediately - amidst a long line of brides - but did not take any shortcuts in fixing my dress. She could have easily made some minor adjustments to get my dress to “acceptable” but she instead virtually re-constructed my dress (literally) overnight to fit more comfortably and look more flattering than I could ever have imagined. It’s very evident that Mirta is not only exceptionally skilled but takes pride in her craft. I trust her implicitly through this experience and wouldn’t hesitate to recommend her to any of my closest family or friends.
  • Jenna
    Jenna Sent on 02/27/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Mirta was recommended to me by my wedding coordinator and I couldn't be happier with the results. My dress was perfect and she also worked on my mother's dress which turned out perfect, too. She has great prices and amazing attention to detail. She walked us through every step so we understood what she was doing and why she was doing it. Thank you Mirta!
  • S
    Sally Sent on 12/06/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Mirta did such a wonderful job with my mother of the groom dress. She had such terrific vision on what would make a plain dress look perfectly elegant. She takes plenty of time with you and is such and lovely and giving person! Can't thank her enough!
  • User2204424 Sent on 06/30/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    She is simply the best! Highly recommended and very skilled. AAA+++
  • User2082475 Sent on 03/30/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I love Mirta, she is so talented at what she does! She is an expert and helped alter my wedding dress to make it work for me! Loved her!
  • User1979007 Sent on 12/20/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    It was a pleasure working with Mirta! My wedding dress was absolutely perfect. She brought my dress in a few inches and also brought up the length of the dress. I was nervous because of all of the intricate details and lace but she was able to work around it and make it fit absolutely perfect. I was so happy with the end result. I felt ontop of the world in my wedding dress and I have Mirta to thank! I would highly recommend working with her.
  • Ali
    Ali Sent on 12/11/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Mirta was an amazing seamstress and we were really blessed to be able to find her later in the wedding planning game! She came recommended by a couple of wedding shops I visited and upon finding my dream dress, I had to order it a size down from my usual size and also it had a few things I wanted to change. I also had a rehearsal dress that had a wonky hemline and waist situation, and a reception exit dress (2 times too big bc I bought it on sale) that both needed major help. One meeting with Mirta at her home studio (lots of beautiful dresses to look at on the racks while she is pinning! its so much fun!) showed me that we were in good hands and everyhting would get done in time and the way we wanted it to. She is the best.

    My mom, my 2 bridesmaids, and myself with my 3 dresses all got alterations and were really pleased with the result. She listened to what we wanted, gave her professional input about the whole look, told us what would look good on our bodies and what was actually feasible, and then went ahead and did what seemed to me the impossible. Like I said, I had ordered my wedding dress a size too small, and while I was intent on losing weight to fit it, Mirta went ahead and made it my normal size (just in case!) by pulling fabric and lace from who knows where. You couldn't even tell that it had been altered! It looked amazing and the fit was perfect- no pulling or yanking at all during my wedding. I felt like a queen. I also had the back of my strapless dress taken down into a deeper V, instead of a straight across neckline. It looked like it had been bought that way, there was no trace of bad seams or messy finishes.

    If you are looking for someone who is flexible to schedules (esp. for us working brides who can only meet after work hours), someone who knows a woman's body and how to fit clothing to make every body type look beautiful, and someone who is very familiar with a bridal look and what works and what doesn't, then you need to call Mirta!
  • Zzil
    Lizz Sent on 12/23/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Mirta was fantastic. So easy going and made me feel so at ease about the whole process. Much more affordable and a much better quality of work than the big box alteration places. If you use her, you will not regret it!
  • Laurley
    Laurley Sent on 10/17/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I am so HAPPY that I found Mirta. Not originally being from the Venice area and never actually needing alterations done, I felt blindfolded trying to find a reputable person to alter my wedding dress.

    I am so impressed with Mirta! She did an amazing job on my white laced wedding dress. She works around my schedule, takes picture of it and emails them right away to me, and works so quickly and pays so much attention to detail.

    She has been a pleasure to work with and I will be sad when I go to my last fitting. She is amazing, you won't be dissapointed. (Pictures to come...)
  • User1295273 Sent on 08/20/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Mirta is so sweet and very skilled. My lace dress turned out beautifully. It's nice to have a vendor who texts too ;)
  • User1133637 Sent on 04/13/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Mirta altered both my wedding dress and my groom's suit. She has such an eye for detail and knew exactly what needed to be done to get the right fit. She also made a beautiful fascinator for me as I was not having any luck finding something to go with my dress. She worked very quickly and her experience & care showed in every detail.
  • S
    Samantha Sent on 09/22/2012
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I would wholeheartedly recommend Alterations by Mirta. She is a darling woman with great talent in what she does. She did a fantastic job at a terrific price and was a pleasure to be around.
  • T
    Tara Sent on 03/30/2012
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I cannot say enough wonderful things about Mirta and her talent as a seamstress! I drove all the way from St. Pete for fittings with her. She is an absolute pleasure to work. Her eye for perfection ensures you get the very best. I had a strapless dress that I adored, with the only exception being that it didn’t have a sweetheart neckline. Mirta easily converted it and you could never tell it was altered. Not only is she reasonably priced, she is also a sewing magician. My bustle was perfection. THANK YOU MIRTA! It was a pleasure working with you and I look forward to more trips to Venice in the future. You are worth it!
  • Elizabeth
    Elizabeth Sent on 04/01/2016
    4.9 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Mirta is a rare gem. She made all my wildest dress dreams come true. I was comfortable and felt the most beautiful I've ever felt in my life on my wedding day thanks to her skilled work on my dress. She also altered my mom's dress and we both had interesting quirks to deal with (for instance my mom wanted to wear heels to walk me down the aisle but flats the rest of the evening). Mirta made it all happen and for a VERY GOOD price. Do not waste your time getting alterations at your dress store (steer clear of David's Bridal alterations).
  • E
    Esther F. Sent on 12/03/2023
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    She is the best I have met and she knows what she is doing and recommend this for you on your wedding day

    She is wonderful God bless her and her hands..lovely
  • C
    Christine Sent on 03/16/2015
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    Mirta did a fantastic job with my dress! It was perfect! I am so glad I decided to go with Mirta instead of getting my alterations done at David's Bridal. Just perfect! I was worried that the dress would be too tight up top but she told me it was supposed to be that tight and I'm glad I listened. The top stretched out within 20 minutes and fit absolutely perfectly. I didn't have to pull my dress up all day like some of my bridesmaids. She did amazing work!
  • J
    Jessica Sent on 12/14/2018
    4.4 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      2.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Alterations

    I decided two weeks before my wedding I wanted a new dress. Mirta was able to squeeze me in. I went to her house on a Sunday and then Wends and Thursday I got my dress. I was sent a bill of $590. I thought that was outrageous considering my first dress was $350 for alterations. I got over it since she fit me in on such short notice, but the day of my wedding my straps fell down ALL night and I don’t think that is acceptable for the amount of money I paid. People pay less than that for a dress itself. I attached a picture of me walking back down the aisle with both straps down. I’m hoping that in my actual wedding pictures my straps aren’t down.

    Alterations by Mirta's reply:

    Hi Jessica. Sorry you was not totally satisfied...
    I always ask is everything is perfect and you said Yes..
    I charge depend on what the customer need ...
    Top front tension thread.release sides top..waist + all way down hips and also the linings. (dress was to small, hem two layers together +hem organza with horse hair +shorten top lace
    Bustle 14 bottoms and loops
    Remove blucher
    Sorry you fill I charge to much .. you have a receive explaining all what I had to do to your dress to fit right. ...you find a second hand dress and save money that do not mean I have to charge less also for all the alterations I had to do ...
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message