Weddings

Allison Maxwell Photography Reviews

Allison Maxwell Photography

Allison Maxwell Photography

Richmond, VA
Rating 5.0 out of 5, 18 Reviews
View more information

18 Reviews

Rated
5.0
out of 5.0
Recommended by 100% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 5 out of 5

Awards

  • 18
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
Sort by:
  • S
    Sarah M. Married on 11/11/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    One of our best wedding decisions was to hire Allison as our photographer! She is a wonderful people-person who is incredibly easy to work with. She was great at making us feel at ease...and we had a lot of fun! She is also very organized and has a quick turn-around time. We now have so many gorgeous photos we don't know how we will pick which ones to hang in our home. We are so grateful to Allison for capturing our special moments so beautifully. We will be admiring our photos for years and years to come!
  • J
    Jen Married on 08/05/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    When selecting a wedding photographer, it was important to me that we worked with someone who produced a beautiful product and would make taking photos fun and relaxed. Allison checked those boxes and more. From the beginning of her process, she was attentive, caring and FUN! She has such a sweet personality but also balances that will a killer work ethic and amazing leadership. We were worried that it would be hard to wrangle family for portraits but she worked that time so smoothly that my husband and I had 15 extra minutes to enjoy some quiet time alone soaking in the beauty of our special day. Allison also had ALL our photos to us by the time we were home from our honeymoon! Our wedding photos are a treasure and so was our time with Allison!
  • L
    Lauryn Married on 05/13/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Throughout our entire wedding experience Allison continuously went above and beyond to help us, support us, and be as accommodating as possible. Not only is she an incredibly gifted photographer, but she is a lovely person and a wonderful friend. Weddings can be very happy days, but almost without fail they are also very stressful. Hiring Allison as your photographer is one of the best ways to alleviate stress that could arise from choosing someone less professional or talented. My husband and I feel that having her as our photographer was by far one of the best wedding decisions we made, and we cherish the photographs that she took for us and have them hanging all over our apartment!
  • D
    Danielle Married on 04/22/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    No words can do justice to just how perfect our experience with Allison as our wedding photographer was. She is not only extremely talented, but the sweetest, most easy going person to deal with!! Throughout the whole process, Allison was super professional, yet at the same time made us feel like we were working with a long time friend. She is extremely organized and goes above and beyond by providing her clients with some very very helpful tips on how to plan out the timeline and overall flow of your wedding (to not only ensure the best pictures, but also to have the best possible wedding experience!) With my husband and I currently living in Texas, we had only met Allison in person a few days before our wedding when we had a little "practice" shoot. For two people who may not be the most natural models, Allison was quick to give us some poses and guidance so that we felt comfortable in front of the camera (which ended up being super helpful on our wedding day!) By the end of our quick little practice, we were all laughing and really enjoying ourselves. On the big day, Allison's calming presence was so wonderful and even though it dumped rain throughout the afternoon and evening, I never had a doubt that we would still get beautiful pictures. Her use of natural light and contrasting the green backdrop of the country club where we had our reception made for some truly gorgeous shots that we will treasure forever.

    I HIGHLY HIGHLY recommend Allison Maxwell Photography to anyone who wants the BEST possible experience with a photographer for your wedding or lifestyle photography needs. She is just truly awesome!!!
  • J
    Julia Married on 04/08/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We LOVED working with Allison! She was so helpful throughout the whole process. She listened to and respected all of our concerns and requests. We were all so comfortable with her. She made us feel like we had been friends for a long time! And our photographs turned out so beautifully!!! They are PERFECT! We keep looking at them because they make us so happy. They are something we will treasure for the rest of our lives. She also got them to us about a week after the wedding, which was way quicker than we expected. We appreciate all that she did for us and her amazing talent.
  • J
    Julia Married on 04/08/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We LOVED working with Allison! She was so helpful throughout the whole process. She listened to and respected all of our concerns and requests. We were all so comfortable with her. She made us feel like we had been friends for a long time! And our photographs turned out so beautifully!!! They are PERFECT! We keep looking at them because they make us so happy. They are something we will treasure for the rest of our lives. She also got them to us about a week after the wedding, which was way quicker than we expected. We appreciate all that she did for us and her amazing talent.
  • A
    Audra Married on 03/18/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Allison did a phenomenal job as our wedding photographer! From day one, she was professional, quick to respond (one reason we hired her), and a pleasure to work with. Her goal was to make this one part of our wedding run as smoothly as possible and she did. She's a natural light photographer so her style is has a light, airy, happy feel to it that I was going for :-) Allison is also very personable and kind so you're probably going to want to be her friend :-)

    Here's a link her website/ some of our photos:

    http://www.allisonmaxwell.com/third-church-richmond-wedding/

    Blessings to you as you plan your wedding! Marriage done right is a beautiful thing :-)

  • B
    Brittany Married on 01/07/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    My soon-to-be husband and I could not have had a better experience with Allison. My fiance is not a photo loving person and was truly dreading taking engagements and wedding photos. Allison made the engagement session so easy and pain-free my fiance could not stop telling everyone how much fun he had and it was 2 hours of photos haha I am so grateful because not only are the photographs AMAZING, but he is really excited for our wedding photos and can't wait to see how they turn out. She is very professional and works with you on every aspect. I would recommend her over and over again!
  • Lauren
    Lauren Married on 12/31/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Allison was the best vendor decision we made for our wedding! Our pictures are absolutely amazing. She captured so many moments and we barely knew she was there! She climbed into bushes to get great shots of our 22 person bridal party, she wrangled our big families into group pictures, and she took amazing photos of our first look while giving us privacy to enjoy the moment. She helped me create and stick to our timeline and we were ahead of schedule for everything thanks to her! We began working with her for our engagement photos which turned out awesome but our wedding photos are unbelievably good. She provided us with a blog post of 50 or so pictures just three days after our wedding! We miscalculated how late we would need her for at the reception and on New Years Eve she was willing to let us add on an extra hour of photography. She goes above and beyond for her clients, she is extremely responsive to emails, and we could not have pulled off such an amazing day without her. I cannot reccomend Allison highly enough as a wedding photographer!
  • L
    Laura Married on 10/01/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    My husband and I can't say enough amazing things about Allison. Photography was one of our main priorities for our wedding day and were extremely picky when it came to finding a photographer, but when we met with her, we knew we had to hire her! She was extremely flexible, and totally open to everything we threw at her, even agreeing to photograph her first Indian wedding for us as we had not only a Hindu ceremony but a Christian ceremony. Our wedding day was LONG but if you looked at Allison, you would have never known it! She was professional, energetic, and happy the entire day, putting my husband and I at ease. And her photos! Her photos are AMAZING. Allison captures every emotion so beautifully through her work and the result is absolutely breathtaking. She is such a talented, creative, passionate person and I am so happy to have her beautiful engagement and wedding photos to cherish for the rest of my life!
  • A
    Akshay Married on 10/01/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Allison is an absolutely incredible and extremely talented photographer. We had two ceremonies on our wedding day- a traditional Indian one and a traditional western/Christian one, and Allison captured every moment perfectly. On top of that, her enthusiasm is infectious and she just has a natural ability to make everyone feel comfortable. If you're looking for a flexible, understanding, creative, and thoughtful photographer, your search ends here.
  • C
    Colleen Married on 08/27/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Booking Allison as our wedding photographer was probably the best decision we made during the wedding planning process! She was an absolute joy to work with, from our initial meeting, to the delivery of our wedding photos. Our photos were incredibly beautiful, and our friends and family raved about them! In addition to her wonderful photos, Allison was such a great partner before and during our wedding day. She gave us lots of great tips on how to have the best day possible, and she was extremely on-the-ball with every detail. You don't have to worry at all about Allison - she will be incredibly dependable, speedy, professional, and kind every step of the way.
  • Jesse
    Jesse Married on 07/17/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    My husband and I cannot give enough praise to Allison and her team. Living in Florida and planning a wedding in Virginia was hard enough, having Allison to help was such a breath of fresh air! I was lucky enough to meet Allison once briefly before our big our day, but the vast majority of our communication took place over emails and Skype. Her communication with us was impeccable! During our first meeting Allison asked our thoughts on doing an engagement session. Our schedules and distance made this very difficult to coordinate and I had all but given up on doing the session. On a whim I asked if she would be able to do the session the day of our arrival in Virginia for our wedding weekend…and so we did! I cannot stress how valuable this experience was for us. When I compared the pictures from our engagement session to those of our wedding day, I was blown away by how much more comfortable we looked in front of the camera! This “practice session” was great; especially for my husband who had never met Allison in person! If you have any reservations about doing an engagement session….do it! It will be worth it! One thing I was initially against, was a first look. Allison had suggested it during our Skype meeting. I was that bride who wanted to stay traditional and not see my future husband until the moment I walked down the aisle. When I soon realized how quickly the day was going to go, I opted for the first look AND to do a good portion of our pictures before the ceremony even began! Not only were my and my husband’s nerves alleviated, we had finished our pictures before the guests arrived and were actually able to go to cocktail hour and enjoy our wedding day alongside our guests! Allison is a person who undoubtedly loves what she does. She is easy to communicate with and I have no regrets about using her as our photographer to capture the intimate moments of our wedding day!
  • M
    Meghan Married on 07/09/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Allison is one best photographers and people a couple could have a part of their wedding! The best part about Allison is how genuinely excited she is to be there capturing every special moment of your day. Its a great feeling to look up and see your photographer grinning from ear to ear as she takes pictures of you, your husband, and all your friends and family. Allison also does a fantastic job capturing all the little details that go into your wedding day and really knows how to tell the whole story. I cannot stop looking at our pictures and I know we will treasure each and everyone for years to come! I would absolutely recommend her to anyone. :)
  • S
    Stacy Married on 06/25/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Allison is amazing! When my husband and I first met her, I felt like she had been our friend for years! We were a little nervous at our engagement shoot but she made us feel so comfortable in front of the camera and really helped us enjoy the whole process. At the wedding, Allison and her husband (Jake) went way beyond our expectations! Trying to get all family members together for pictures after the ceremony can be difficult but Allison stayed calm and organized, we finished all pictures within 30 minutes. We love our photos and highly recommend her!
  • M
    Margaret Married on 06/04/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    My husband and I have been absolutely blown away by Allison's work. We are SO incredibly blessed to have stumbled upon this amazing photographer and human. If you are looking for personalized, natural, and beautiful photos - Allison is your girl! We used her for our engagement photos and wedding photography. I look through the pictures and tear up every single time! We will treasure her work forever. We highly recommend her above all other photographers! She is incredibly generous with her time. She is thoughtful and pays close attention to detail. Her prices are more than competitive and she is excellent with communication, email response and setting up meetings. Book her today - you will NOT be disappointed!
  • L
    Lien Married on 05/16/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We loved having Allison as our wedding photographer, she is both sweet and professional. She was not just a big part of our wedding day, but played a significant role is our preparations by meeting with us, helping us with the itinerary, and referring us to vendors we still needed. Allison truly knows how to run her business with a relational mindset, in her communication and even generosity. She is all about gaining your trust and putting you at ease, from an engagement session to the first look. I am not afraid to share my ideas because she is open to them and flexible to accommodate any needs. As an artist, I am impressed with her creative and beautiful work. We still get compliments on our engagement and wedding photos, and we always mention her name to our friends getting married. Our experience with Allison was so special that we are excited to have her document our maternity session two years later!
  • A
    Amy Married on 01/18/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    My husband, family, and I were all thrilled with Allison Maxwell Photography. We cherish the photos Allison took on our special day. She listened to what was important to me, and was able to capture that, and more! She's great at both candids and posed shots. And if you are lucky enough to get outdoor photos, she excels in using natural light to make images breathtaking! By the end of your wedding, you'll feel like she's part of the family! Allison has done both our engagement (2013) and wedding (2014) photos, and has been booked for our maternity and neworn photos this Spring. You won't regret choosing this sweet and talented woman!