Skip to main content
Weddings

Alex Belew Catering Reviews

Alex Belew Catering

Alex Belew Catering

Murfreesboro, TN
View more information

Reviews

4.8 out of 5 rating
19 Reviews
  • Quality of service
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.8 out of 5 rating
96% Recommended by couples

Awards

19
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
  • C
    Christina Sent on 09/01/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Well, if Alex Belew and his crew are catering your wedding, you don’t have to worry about a thing. The food will be fresh, delicious, locally-sourced and your guests will be raving about it a month later. One of my goals when choosing vendors for our wedding was to find people who were passionate about what they do and Alex is one of the most passionate people I have worked with. We planned our wedding from Michigan and I knew that Alex and his crew had it all under control. I was able to give my ideas and Alex was able to refine them into something incredible. We had BBQ Chicken and Beef Brisket with a market fresh salad, summer vegetables, and mashed potatoes and were happy with it all. If you are even considering any other vendor, don’t. Alex Belew Catering will not disappoint.
  • S
    Sherri Sent on 09/29/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Alex catered my daughters wedding on September 10 at Saddle Woods Farm in Murfreesboro, TN. I decided on a menu a year in advance, but changed it a few weeks before the wedding. He was so understanding and helped me find a new menu. We selected a couple of passed hors d'oeuvres for cocktail hour and three stations for dinner. The food was delicious, the presentation was beautiful and Alex and his staff were very professional. The biscuit station consisted of homemade biscuits with local ham, jams, honey, steak and hot chicken. The taco station consisted of chicken, pork, chips along with amazing toppings. The mac & cheese station had wonderful toppings and was better than your grandma's I promise! It has been a few weeks since the wedding and I am still getting comments about the food. I love that Alex does not have a set menu like many of caterers so we were able to have our own unique menu. If you are looking for a caterer, I highly recommend Alex and his team.
  • F
    Fonda Sent on 12/28/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Absolutely fabulous dinner party! Can't say enough great things about Alex Belew!!
    Thanks!!
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • G
    Grace Sent on 11/09/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Alex was amazing from start to finish. I came to him with a menu and he happily made everything I asked for, giving me his suggestions and recommendations but also using my own family recipe for one of the dishes without any complaints. The food was absolutely the best food I've had at a wedding - now I may be biased, but there wasn't any food left on anyone's plate after dinner! My guests said the mac 'n cheese fritter was "life-changing." My fiancé hates anything that comes out of the ocean, but he ate four of Alex's grilled shrimp hors d'oeuvres. The serving staff was friendly and competent.

    The price he quoted me included bartending, plates, linens, and service - and was still almost half what other caterers quoted me. Great value and fabulous experience overall.
  • I
    Ike Sent on 10/19/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Alex's Catering was top notch service, excellent food & great communication leading up to our big day. At first my now wife and I were hesitant as we narrowed down a caterer for our wedding. Knowing that food was one of the biggest expenditures, (and being on a small personal budget) we didn't want to sacrifice quality and overall service. We met with Alex to discuss potential entrees, sides & drinks. He was quick to help us shorten the options along with ensuring his skills & expertise would not let us down.
    He was great in keeping open communication & was willing to pick up any necessary items days in advance. Not only was our BBQ Pulled Pork, Southern Style Green Beans & Cheezy Mac a hit among all the guests, he and the team did a wonderful job stocking & flowing with the evening, all while keeping invisible among the guests.

    We would definitely recommend Alex Belew Catering in the future. Thanks a ton for your effort to help make a most memorable evening :)
  • J
    Jan Sent on 09/17/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Chef Alex prepared an amazing plated dinner for our guests at our daughter's wedding!! He met with us and customized a meal that fit our bride and groom perfectly. We were particularly impressed that even with this large of a group he still uses all farm fresh produce and everything is hand made from scratch. Believe me….you AND your guests can taste the difference!!! Our guests and family are still raving about the meal Alex served that evening! He and his team of servers were polite and professional and served all our guests effortlessly! When it comes to serving ANY size group of people from now on…..I know who I've got on redial……………. ALEX BELEW CATERING!!!!!
  • G
    Greg Sent on 07/01/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Great caterer. Food was excellent. Alex was very professional and provided the everything he was asked. There were no surprises or problems. We highly recommend
  • P
    Pippa Sent on 07/01/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Alex was the caterer for our outdoor wedding and the food was absolutely perfect. We had barbecue and I had so many people come up and say how good the food was and they were going for seconds. One of the things I liked about Alex was he was open to work with us and helped design a menu that suited our needs. He was willing to consider almost anything we wanted on the menu and likes to make it personal to each couple. You will not be stuck with a cookie cutter menu that you see at many catering places. If you are looking for a great caterer for your wedding or event he is a great choice and we highly recommend him.
  • User2206064 Sent on 07/01/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Alex and his staff were very professional and accommodating and very flexible the day of event to ensure we had a successful event.
  • M
    Mary Sent on 07/01/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    If you want a delicious, memorable meal your guests will continue talking about after the event, Alex Belew is the caterer for you! We had Alex cater our son's rehearsal dinner and Alex knocked it out of the park with his selection. Literally the room became noticibly quite when the food arrived and being the mother, I looked around to see why and all the guests were enjoying the food so much they stopped talking to eat and then a burst of "wows!," "This is delicious!," "Who's your caterer?" comments started coming. Alex worked within our budget, provided creative ideas, gave us what we wanted and then some. My mouth is watering as I write this! I'm thinking of an opportunity to have him cater for us again! Can I tell you a secret too? I have literally heard people comment that they were going to attend an event, even though they were busy, JUST BECAUSE they knew Alex Belew was the caterer!
  • W
    Whitney Sent on 07/01/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Alex catered our wedding and many weddings/events that I have attended. He never fails to provide exceptional food and service! He and his team work tirelessly make sure everything is perfect.
  • R
    Richelle Sent on 07/02/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Alex catered my daughter's wedding a few years ago. It was a carnival theme..and he helped us come up with the most amazing carnival food you ever had. There was not a crumb left. He was great to work with and worked with us on our budget. He will not disappoint you!!
  • A
    Angie Sent on 11/09/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Alex catered our wedding (buffet style w/ two carving stations) for over two hundred and fifty guests and the food was phenomenal. Every detail was attended and we still have people asking us for his name years later. Highest recommendations!
  • User2206108 Sent on 07/01/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Alex provided catering for our rehearsal dinner. Food was fantastic, and he was great to work with. Price was quite reasonable. Would highly recommend him to anyone for this type of work.
  • Timmery
    Timmery Sent on 07/17/2019
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Excellent!

    Alex had such a unique menu and all is the food was amazing! Our guests raved about the food. Our only regret was not ordering more as we ended up running out, and not all of the guests got to eat.

    Also, his team was very professional, attentive, and fun and easy to work with. We would definitely recommend them for a special event.

    Alex Belew Catering's reply:

    Thank you so much, Timmery. It was a pleasure to work with you, Paul and your mom on your big day!
    Best,
    Rebecca
  • S
    Sarah Sent on 06/16/2017
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We live in NJ but had our wedding at my fathers farm in Tennessee and were so lucky to find Alex to cater our wedding. He was super easy to work with and accommodating, not to mention his fantastic food!! Our guests raved about it as well, from the appetizers to our dinner, people still talk how great the food was...we would definitely recommend Alex for pretty much any event due to his flexibility and overall creativity in developing a menu.
  • L
    Leslie Sent on 11/16/2015
    4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    Great value and food was good.
  • V
    Veronica Sent on 07/15/2015
    4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    Food was great. Very good price as this was a fundraiser. Easy to work with.
  • J
    Jocelyn Sent on 06/22/2018
    2.6 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      2.5 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      2.5 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      2.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    I hired Alex Belew to cater my daughter's wedding at the White Dove Barn, outside Murfreesboro, TN. From the time I had the tasting and booked Alex Belew, I was never again allowed access to speak with him, but was communicating with his assistant. I was meticulous in my expectations and questions to make sure the event ran smoothly and beautifully. The beautifully plated dish I was served at the tasting never appeared again. The food did not even resemble what I was served. I was told later by Alex that you seldom get the food you experienced at the tasting. The food at the reception was cold, much of the pork undercooked, and no garnishing of the plates, as I had specifically requested and guaranteed would be there. The service was slow and confused, tables only partially bussed so that the owner of the venue and our wedding planner had to finish bussing the tables. The kitchen was left straightened, but dirty according to the owner. The consensus of my guests was that it was an inferior meal. When I wrote a detailed account of my disappointment after the wedding and requested a 20% refund, I got a phone call finally from Alex with excuse after excuse as to what the problems were. Most boiled down to a lack of communication with his assistant who had all the details and assured me it was taken care of. She even visited the venue so she would know what they would need. At the end, I got a sulky apology for not garnishing plates and a $156 refund for the tables and linens they told me I would need, but never used. The bride and groom never received an apology. In my experience any reputable company would have done whatever it took to make it right - an event which was so important to our family. There is no question that Alex is a good chef, but when it comes to catering, he's in way over his head!! There are many quality and more experienced caterers in the Nashville area. It was the most expensive and most disappointing part of the wedding.
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message