Alchemy Events Reviews

11 | New Orleans, LA
See photos, pricing and details

11 Reviews for Alchemy Events

Recommended by 100% of couples

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0

Awards

11

11 User photos

Order by:
  • R

    Renee' Hamilton Rios · Married on 11/02/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Literal Perfection

    Rena and her staff at Alchemy Events will go above and beyond your expectations. Rena began working with us a year before our wedding and it began with a consultation. She wanted to hear our vision and see how she could bring it to life. We talked with her for about an hour, sent over our engagement photos and it was a quick partnership from there. Through the planning process, Rena checked in regularly, came up with ideas, sent mood boards and asked for our input, connected us with vendors, and overall made the out of town planning process seamless. We even had a hiccup with the second line license and she was able to figure out an alternative smoothly. For day of planning, again Rena ensured everything was seamless. Our day was literal perfection and I know so much of that was due to Rena, her staff and the vendors she partnered us with. They got awesome behind the scenes pics too! We were able to actually enjoy our day and not stress because we had complete trust and faith in Rena and knew she had everything on lock.

    If you have an event you need help planning, Alchemy Events is the best of the best. Rena has positive connections with so many vendors and professionals and is not afraid to stand ground for her clients if needed. She has such a sweet Southern nature with a badass, culturally-aware twist that is unmatched and she and her staff will not disappoint in planning any kind of event. We were scared we wouldn’t be able to find someone who vibed with us and our vision but Rena took our ideas to the next level and brought them to life.

    Thank you Rena and Alchemy Events for joining our journey and making our day absolute perfection. Y’all will always hold a special place in our hearts and if we ever plan an event in New Orleans again, y’all will be first on our call list!

    Sent on 11/16/2019

    Alchemy Events's reply:

    Renee, thank you so much for having us as part of you & Richie's wedding day! It was such a huge pleasure working with the two of you & I felt like we clicked from the get go too! It was a beautiful day for two beautiful people with beautiful souls & I feel so honored to have been part of it!
  • R

    Rachel Young · Married on 05/10/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Best wedding decision we made!

    Rena was AMAZING! I don’t know what we would have done without her. From the very beginning, she was always the most pleasant person to work with. We planned a cultural fusion wedding incorporating traditions from Indian, traditional American and New Orleans weddings. Her knowledge of all three was impressive and she never questioned us when we proposed an idea that involved combining multiple cultures. She always found a way to make it happen. She was particularly helpful in the last couple of weeks leading up to the event. We had to completely change our transportation plans last minute and she was on top of it reaching out to vendors before we even knew of the problem. She even found me a licensed and insured babysitter for the wedding at 10pm the night before the wedding! She has a great reputation within in the New Orleans wedding community, with multiple vendors telling me (unprompted) how much they enjoyed working with her. That’s how you know someone works hard, is dependable, and a professional, when others in the industry compliment her work. She also worked with our budget and helped us find vendors within our price range and come up with creative solutions to help us stay close to our budget.

    Rena also has a great design eye. I didn’t have a very specific vision of what I wanted the décor on the tables to look like and I felt comfortable allowing her to create the table arrangements herself. Everything turned out so much more beautiful than I ever could have imagined! When we were looking at different venues, she suggested ways we could design and plan things, which was very helpful to me.

    Rena and her team allowed us to enjoy our wedding without stress. Whatever issues came up (problems with the bustle), Rena had a solution. She fielded questions from friends and family members and allowed us to point them in her direction. At the end of the event, even my father-in-law (who can always find a problem with everything) was very complimentary of her and her staff. We were so happy with our decision to hire Rena for our wedding. Best decision we made during the wedding planning process!

    Sent on 10/20/2019

    Alchemy Events's reply:

    Rachel, thank you so much for the wonderful review! I loved working with you & Jimmy so much & the kind words your father-in-law gave me at the end of the night meant a lot to me as well. I'm so glad to hear that you heard great things about me from other vendors as well! It's so nice to hear that everyone was complimentary and on the flip side, all of the vendors loved working with the two of you as well! Thank you so much for selecting me to be part of this journey with you; wishing you many more years of love & happiness!
  • V

    Vanesha · Married on 04/20/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rena is amazing and I recommend her 100%

    TL/DR Rena is amazing and I recommend her 100%

    I started working with Rena after having difficulties with a previous planner. By the time I approached her, I already had 25% of the main wedding details like venue, hotel, and some vendors finalized (although I wish I had worked with her from the get go, then lots of red tape that we came across would have been a lot easier). When I first reached out to her, I was frantic, desperate, and extremely stressed. As most brides, I have a very demanding job, very tight budget, and absolutely no time. Planning a New Orleans wedding from New York City started to feel like an extremely daunting task.

    As soon as Rena signed up, everything seemed to start falling into place. She took charge but also made sure that all my dreams and wishes came true, she listened to what my parents had to suggest, and what my husband needed, all while staying in my budget! She helped me make decisions by breaking everything down in the simplest of manner and she was extremely respectful of my time and schedule (even though she was planning MY wedding!). I'm not going to lie, my budget stretched like chewing gum, but that was mostly because I wanted what I wanted. Rena did an amazing job of always presenting me with all my options in a range of prices, and ultimately everything was my decision. Even when she found me very affordable vendors, they did a pretty amazing job and I have no complaints with any of them. There was one major issue where one of the biggest vendors quit a month before the wedding, I was in complete panic mode, but with Rena's help, we were able to find alternative options with whom I was extremely pleased.

    Not only was Rena a wedding planning life saver, she went so much beyond that. There were times when the stress started getting to me and it started affecting my personal life, I remember calling her and asking her help in making some decisions that felt very difficult to make that were causing an impasse between my husband and me, or my parents and me, but she was able to walk me through the decision making process and give me guidance that made a real difference.

    There were some day-of issues that I'm sure all weddings have. I think if we had gone through the sequence of events and what was important and what was okay to skip in case of time delays, we would have been slightly better off, but ultimately, all I remember from my wedding weekend is being extremely happy, laughing my butt off, and being the most carefree and relaxed bride I could be. I had complete trust in Rena and her ability to handle all the details, and she did not disappoint. As I mentioned earlier, I recommend her 100%, not just as a wedding planning service, but as a true partner in making your wedding dreams come true.

    Sent on 10/14/2019

    Alchemy Events's reply:

    Vanesha, thank you so much for this review! I loved working with you & Shajib to create the beautiful weekend of celebration for you & your families! I hope you have many more years of love & happiness together and always look back on your New Orleans wedding fondly. Thank you for selecting Alchemy Events for your wedding!
  • D

    Dan and Jeanne Sanchez · Married on 02/02/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rena provided the best wedding planning experience!

    If you are looking for a wedding planner in New Orleans, you can do no better than Rena Sweeney and Alchemy Events. We live in St. Louis, but were married in New Orleans. We knew planning a wedding on our own would be difficult enough, and it would be that much more complicated from 700 miles away. From the moment we spoke with Rena, we knew the process would be a breeze.

    Alchemy Events has the experience, expertise, connections, and creativity to make your wedding uniquely, perfectly yours. Rena listened to our wants and needs, and skillfully brought those ideas to life. At the same time, she knew when and how to step in and guide us, either when we weren’t sure what we wanted, or when we thought we wanted things one way, but she saw a better way to make our vision a reality. She was conscious of our budget, and was able to recommend appropriate vendors that allowed us to execute our vision without sacrificing the important details.

    On the wedding day, Rena and her team of coordinators worked tirelessly to deliver the most memorable day of our lives. To use the word stress-free would be an understatement. From set up to tear down, every detail was taken care of; and we were able to focus on ourselves, our guests, and most importantly, on each other.

    We can’t imagine our wedding had we not retained the services of Alchemy Events. The value delivered far exceeded the cost, and couples would be wise to include them when budgeting for their special day.

    Sent on 03/28/2020

    Alchemy Events's reply:

    Dan & Jeanne, thank you so much for the glowing review! I couldn't have asked for better clients than the two of you and loved being part of your wedding so much! I'm honored you selected me; thank you!
  • N

    Nick · Married on 09/01/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    When Grace & I first started to plan our weddding, we knew the location and some of the primary vendors were already identified, so even though we were planning our wedding remotely, we thought it would be easy to do on our own... after a few weeks of trying to do it all on our own, we knew we needed help. After reaching out to several planners, Alchemy Events offered us the most inclusive options we had seen so we knew that would be the best choice. What we didn’t expect was how above and beyond Alchemy Events and Rena would go to make sure we had the wedding of our dreams. Rena is the best wedding planner out there, her hard work throughout the planning process and most importantly on the day of our wedding, was incredible. Rena and her team made sure that when our big day came, there wasn’t a single thing we needed to worry about. Of course, every wedding has its challenges, but Rena was always fast to respond and resolve before we even knew that there was an issue! Rena made us feel comfortable and confident that all of our wants and needs would be handled and executed exactly to our imagination. Her advice throughout the coordinating process was spot on, she had great tips and input that saved us a lot of money but also introduced ideas that we didn’t not think of but we’re worth every penny. While we came in thinking our wedding would be as we imagined, it ended up being ten times better! All thanks to Alchemy Events, every detail was perfect and the wedding was beautiful!! We will look back at our wedding as the best party we ever had, and Rena as the one that made it happen. We would absolutely recommend Alchemy Events for anyone else looking for passion, understanding, and attention to detail from their coordinator. If you want your vision to become a reality, Rena is the one with the skills to make that come true.

    Sent on 10/02/2018
  • K

    Ken · Married on 06/16/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Why would you want to risk your special day to just anyone? Alchemy Events took exceptional care of us. Being in the hospitality industry, we like things to go smoothly and can be very specific on our wants and desires. Their team anticipated our every need. From start to finish Rena and her staff made our day the best day ever.

    Sent on 09/20/2018
  • H

    Heather · Married on 03/03/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I cannot say enough positive things about working with Rena. Rena was able to take the few inspiration photos we provided and turn them into a wedding that had the exact feel that we wanted and a look that was so beautiful that we could not have imagined. Most importantly though, she was absolutely wonderful to work with throughout the *entire* process and removed the stress of wedding planning.

    Rena was kind, professional, and a calming presence. I am sure that wedding planning can be stressful and frustrating, even for a wedding coordinator, but you would not know it by talking with Rena. No matter what, she was nothing but extremely pleasant, cheerful, understanding, and helpful.

    We chose the full wedding planning package, which was an amazing deal. Although we were hesitant to spend money on a wedding planner in the beginning, I really feel like it saved money and stress in the long run, since Rena's expertise ensured that no mistakes were made and she was able to work out deals with vendors within our budget. Rena returned emails, phone calls, and text messages promptly. She was not worried about billing her time per call, email, etc. (other wedding planners I had considered required "scheduled phone calls" that would be billed).

    Rena went above and beyond on the day of the wedding. If something went wrong, we did not know about it till after the wedding (she took care of it and let us enjoy the day). She offered her help throughout the day with items that went outside of the agreed upon scope of work and did not ask for additional compensation. She wrapped up all vendor contracts and made sure we were refunded for any work that was not done. If you're thinking about hiring a wedding or event coordinator to help out with full service planning or day-of planning, I highly recommend Rena. Our family will definitely be using her services for any other event for which we need assistance.

    Sent on 07/19/2018
  • B

    Brooke · Married on 01/27/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Love Rena and her dedication to making our big day a huge success! She's attentive, answers emails quickly and will go to bat for you when needed. I spoke to numerous planners in New Orleans (there's a lot!) and her energy and down to earth vibe really make the whole wedding planning process a little less stressful. She has a wonderful attention to detail and can run with any idea you come up with, and even has some amazing ones of her own. Whether it's getting prices down, or having to plan a second line in the middle of mardi gras, she's wonderful to work with and can really make the impossible happen for your big day. Highly recommend.

    Sent on 04/24/2017
  • R

    Rebecca · Married on 05/05/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rena is amazing to work with, she has such a sweet and calm personality! Her calmness allowed you to fully enjoy your day, knowing that it is all taken care of and you don't have to worry with the details.

    Sent on 03/01/2017
  • M

    morgan · Married on 10/03/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Finding the perfect vendors for our wedding seemed like the impossible task. I was planning a wedding out of state and as much as I like to try and do EVERYTHING all by myself (and I definitely tried for too long), I just needed help. After searching and meeting with several different coordinators that I just din't mesh with, we were introduced to Rena through our florist. It was an instant hit and I knew my wedding vision and ideas (and there were MANY) were all in great hands! Rena seriously knows her stuff. She worked great with all my family, friends, and other vendors. She was able to give invaluable advice on who to go with and sometimes who to avoid. She even went to bat for us when some of our vendors got a little shady. She was so awesome to work with and I cannot say enough good things about her and our entire wedding experience. She really went above and beyond to make everything I wanted happen the day of my wedding (including running around trying to make a projector work for a surprise music video for my husband during our first dance). I could honestly go on and on about Rena but I’ll wrap it up by saying you won’t find anyone better… I guarantee it!

    Sent on 02/15/2017
  • E

    Emily · Married on 11/05/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rena is the ultimate planner! When you get lost in the big picture Rena is there to be sure that no small detail is overlooked.

    Sent on 02/21/2017