Is this your business? Claim this listing
• Customize your Storefront with your business info
• Network with and learn from other professionals
• Showcase your work with photos & videos
• Collect reviews from your clients and build more credibility

61 Reviews for Afterburn Productions

out of 5.0
61 Afterburn Productions Reviews
Sort by:


Christian is an awesome DJ. We booked him for our wedding and he was perfect. Kept the plan on track and got the crowd out of their seats and to the dance floor. Fantastic energy throughout the night at the whole venue driven by the DJ. Pre-planning went very smoothly and Christian clearly knows what he is doing. Highly recommended for any event you are having!

Profile Picture Suave, 10/7/16, 1 Review
Category: DJ, Lighting & Decor

Christian provided more than just entertainment for us on our wedding day and even before the day of. He helped us with some decisions and planning throughout the process. This is especially true when we had forgotten about certain aspects. He gave us some of the pros and cons to the decision and provided sound advice to aid in the process. He even assisted with some of our guests when some intervention was very welcome! Flexibility and stress free were essential to our selection process and Christian lived up to everything we hoped for.

Overall the the wedding had a great entertainment, music and an uplifting pop to it that my not have been complete without Christian there.

We highly recommend Christian!!

Profile Picture Josh, 8/22/15, 1 Review
Category: DJ, Lighting & Decor

The best DJ, wedding coordinator, lighting specialist ever! Christian made the wedding such a fun experience for everyone involved. A true professional. The lighting made the night so magical. I would recommend him to anyone that wants their event to be professional, fun, seamless and simply beautiful!

Profile Picture User5376036, 2+ years ago, 1 Review
Category: DJ, Lighting & Decor

Christian is simply The Best!! He really could not have been more perfect!! He made my daughter's wedding such a blast - I can't even tell you how many people (young and old) came up to us afterward and said they have never had so much fun at a wedding! He worked so hard from the minute we met him to make sure everything was organized and ran perfectly. We also had him do the outdoor lighting which created such amazing ambiance. He worked for days during a sweltering heatwave putting up the lights and made sure everything was just right. The day of the wedding he jumped in everywhere to help and made sure everyone was where they needed to be. The music was perfect, the dance floor was packed all night, and the energy was amazing! He is the most positive, fun, energetic, wonderful person - I just wish I had another daughter so we could hang out with him again! We may have to adopt him into the family! Thank you Christian!!

Profile Picture Lynne, 8/15/15, 1 Review
Category: DJ, Lighting & Decor

Christian is the ULTIMATE! He is absolutely the best DJ that we've ever experienced - ANYWHERE! We have used him 3x - for a wedding reception, a huge "Parade of Lights Party", and a retirement. Despite a wide age range in each of the audiences, he did the impossible - He pleased EVERYONE! His music mixes during cocktails, dinner and for dancing set the perfect tone. Everyone danced all evening - even people who don't dance! He's extremely skilled, accommodating, polished, and goes above and beyond - exceeding expectations every time. He doesn't make himself the center of attention, but his music makes the event memorable. My guests even ask me, "Are you using the same DJ you had last time? Fantastic!! He was great!" Beyond being a great DJ, Christian is also an incredible person- always upbeat, considerate, hard-working and fun to work with. Thanks Christian! Already looking forward to the next time!

Profile Picture User5431879, 2+ years ago, 1 Review
Category: DJ, Lighting & Decor

My goodness I wish I could give 6 stars out of 5!!! Absolutely and Incredibly amazing to work with Christian. He is a GOD when it comes to event hosting! Our guests LOVED the DJ and music (that was seriously the main thing everyone mentioned to us after the wedding was over)
Not only was Christian friendly, fun, and talented but he was also very accommodating, intelligent, and knew how to make things extra special! He had the BEST tips and suggestions that went over SO well at the wedding! I seriously want to cry of joy just thinking about the special moments he made happen!!
I also loved how easy it was to meet with him and e-mail! He always listened, didn't need to be told things twice, and was very perceptive! And his music selection was perfect - and the way he got people dancing was amazing

Profile Picture Amanda, 5/16/15, 2 Reviews
Category: DJ, Lighting & Decor


Just had our wedding a couple weeks ago, and our guests cannot stop raving about how fun our wedding was, and it was largely, if not ALL, because of Christian from Afterburner Productions. He is incredibly experience, talented, knowledgeable, and a BLAST to work with. You know your party will be a GREAT one if you know the DJ is having fun too, and that is absolutely 100% true of working with Christian. He brought is extensive wedding experience to the table, and provided some great planning advice, tips, tricks, and recommendations to meet our crazy ideas and thoughts for how our wedding should be. He met every expectation and then some. He took our entire wedding to the next level by infusing it with great music and brilliance. He knew when to hit the crowd with a fast song, and knew when to slow it down. He knew when to give the guests a break, and knew when to have the speeches, and toasts. He knew when to do the bouquet toss, and knew how to get the guys on the dance floor for the garter toss.

Our wedding could not have gone any smoother, and been any more fun without the fantastic talents of Christian. My wife and I are so very grateful for everything you did to make our wedding unforgettable and memorable.

He added so many special touches to the wedding, and was one of the best emcee's I've ever seen. He really knows his stuff and you can honestly trust that he will make your wedding the best it possibly can be. He is extremely responsive with e-mails and will answer any question that you may have. It was an honor and a pleasure working with someone who really knows what they're doing and has had so many years of experience in the industry. We worked with over a dozen vendors and had been planning for a year, but when we met with Christian, it was literally a breath of new life and fresh air to get to work with someone who only has your best interests at heart, and wants your big day to be special and memorable.

Profile Picture Jonathan, 5/16/15, 1 Review
Category: Band, DJ, Lighting & Decor, Wedding Planning

WOW! Put together TALENT and PASSION and you have Chris and Afterburn Productions. The moment you meet him, you feel his energy and exuberance. He really listens to all your ideas, crazy and not and expands from there , whether it is your event timeline, decor, lighting, music, etc. He immediately puts you at ease, that no matter what, your wedding will be the BEST. He has so much experience he knows what works and does not work for weddings. His motto, "just show-up and have fun."

Profile Picture User5137990, 2+ years ago, 1 Review
Category: DJ, Lighting & Decor

When you look up the word "DJ" in the dictionary, one would find the picture of Chris Rasmussen from Afterburn Productions! This is because after our experience with Chris in handling my son & daughter's wedding at Disney, he is truly the Ultimate DJ in the whole world that epitomizes what a DJ should be... Meticulous, Creative, Dedicated, Upbeat, Thorough, Funny and Truly Captivating! Chris is a true artist and professional at his work. I am in the medical/dental field and I am truly impressed by how he is able to demonstrate his work like a supremely skilled brain surgeon performing a highly critical surgery.

Chris is amazing in how he is able to keep track of the entire event and keep the other vendors on schedule with him. He has such mesmerizing emcee skills and knows how to take the "worry" out of the usual wedding jitters that we all have in events such as this.

I was SO happy with the way Chris handled our wedding in that I wish that I actually had another daughter that would be getting married just so I could hire Chris again to handle the event.

I can't even say enough words that would even be able to praise Chris high enough in a way that I think would truly give him justice.

Chris Rasmussen of Afterburn Productions is the most incredibly AMAZING DJ I have ever known!!

- Dr Gregory Chew

Profile Picture Gregory, 5/16/15, 1 Review
Category: DJ, Lighting & Decor

I found Christian through my wedding photographer's recommendation and I'm so glad that we decided to go with him! He made a great impression from the beginning - we knew he would be a great DJ, from all of the energy that he brought. Christian and I met 3 times before the actual wedding to discuss the music selection, the lighting, gobo, etc.

Christian has done many weddings before and was very experienced and resourceful. We were relieved to hear that he's played at our reception venue a few times before. On my wedding day last month, he lit the place up beautifully with the uplights, and our gobo looked fantastic.

We submitted a list of songs that we liked and didn't like, and Christian knew exactly what to play on the day of! Everything went very smooth, and I was extremely happy with the grand entrance to the cake cutting to the slideshow. He executed everything perfectly! We especially appreciated that he wasn't afraid to change up the schedule to accommodate our needs or match the mood of the crowd.

At the end of the evening, he gave us the CD's with the songs that he played for the night for us to listen to during our honeymoon. I loved that special touch!

Would definitely recommend him!

Profile Picture Emily, 3/21/15, 4 Reviews
Category: DJ, Lighting & Decor

I very seldom post reviews; however, I cannot rave enough about Christian Ramussen! He is amazing beyond words and by far the best DJ I have ever had at an event or experienced at other events. My birthday party was a huge success and a month later, my guests are still talking about what a fantastic DJ he was and that it was one of the best parties they had ever attended. I don’t think I’ve ever been to a party where all the chairs around the tables were empty because every single person (60 guests ranging from ages 30 yrs. – 60 yrs. old) were on the dance floor dancing! His audio system and lighting were incredible. He transformed a large room at the Del Rey Yacht Club into a "Club 54" atmosphere with all his lighting and creativity! I met with Christian personally during the party planning party process and he went over every detail with me and gave me invaluable tips about how to make my party successful. He even coordinated the lighting colors with the color scheme of my tables. He assisted me beforehand in developing a great itinerary to keep my guests entertained and the party flowing. We exchanged numerous emails before the party and he would immediately respond to every little question I had. Christian is the ultimate professional. He's a seasoned, extremely talented, witty, knowledgeable, charismatic DJ extraordinnaire and master of ceremonies with an infectious personality. I was able to enjoy my party without worrying if there was going to be any glitches or if my guests were having a good time because he handled everything perfectly. He puts his heart and soul into what he does and his goal is to provide an extraordinarily memorable time for all the guests!

Profile Picture Rita, 3/13/15, 1 Review
Category: DJ, Lighting & Decor

Christian did an amazing job at our wedding. We discovered him DJ'ing at our friend's wedding and did an amazing job. We knew that with our kind of crowd, he would be even better and boy did he deliver. He was responsive and always catering to our needs. You want to definitely come to him with what you want and tell him what you want. He's too busy to wait around for you to decide, so come to him with your plans. He's a bit more on the expensive side, BUT he will deliver. He has your back, will work with you, and will put on a performance. I only wish our wedding went on longer so the party could have kept on going.

Profile Picture User3550300, 2+ years ago, 4 Reviews
Category: DJ, Lighting & Decor

Aferburn Productions came highly recommended to us when my husband and I got engaged last year. My husband's brother also used his services in the past for his wedding. Christian was always prompt with responses to emails, and was very helpful with suggestions for our reception timeline but also willing to accommodate whatever cultural elements we needed to add to cater to our mostly Asian guests. He was the MC, DJ, and also took care of the uplighting and photobooth for our wedding of 300 guests last month on 4/13/14. We gave him an idea of the type of music we liked with names of specific artists, and he created a playlist according to our preferences and kept the dance floor going all night. The photobooth was open-air and had really cool props that everyone enjoyed immensely. There was also a big monitor that displayed and looped all the pictures so that everyone could see.

On our actual wedding day, Christian and his assistant were well prepared, energetic, and collaborated with all our vendors and coordinators to ensure that things ran smoothly and on time. Christian happily provided amplification for the string musician that we hired to play during dinner. He is good at what he does and we would gladly hire him again for any big events! At the end of the night, he even provided us with CD's of all the music he played at our wedding so we have souvenirs. Thanks, Afterburn Productions!

Profile Picture Jimmy, 4/13/14, 1 Review
Category: DJ, Lighting & Decor

DJ Christian was very organized and professional. He went out of his way to help us make sure that things will go smoothly for our wedding. He did an amazing job with the lighting and projector. Music and sound were great! Everyone had a great time!

Profile Picture Susan, 12/28/13, 2 Reviews
Category: Lighting & Decor

I am sooo happy to have had the privilege to work with Christian as my dj/mc, and he provided my lighting. I was nervous as most brides in choosing vendors because you dont know what you will get until that day. However, using Afterburn Productions was the best decision. Christian was professional, knowledgeable, and attentive to all my needs regarding my wedding and reception. He was responsive to all inquiries and adjustments on my end, and truly exceeded my expectations. The coordination with my other vendors was awesome, and my guests loved his work. My friends are already planning an anniversary party to include Christian! I would refer this service to everyone seeking a dj/mc.

Profile Picture sheri, 10/11/13, 1 Review
Category: DJ, Lighting & Decor

I'd like to start out by saying that overall Christian was an excellent person to work with.

I hired Christian to be the DJ for my wedding reception at the Cheesecake Factory in Redondo Beach.

The first thing that stood out about Christian was that he responded to emails and phone calls very quickly and professionally.

I vetted about 15 DJ services in my search for a vendor to handle my wedding reception. Christian was one of only a few who got back to me right away.

After our first consultation I knew Christian was going to be the right choice. He's very organized and professional yet very animated with personality (something that you should be looking for in someone you're hiring to entertain a large group of people).

Christian offered advice and guidance on what music we should consider for different parts of the reception, but was also very open to unusual musical choices and very enthusiastic about our ideas.

My wife and I hate clubbing and top 40 dance music, but I immediately found confidence in Christian's ability to interpret our musical tastes and apply them to the dance floor.

While some might see the prices and think it's on the high end, keep in mind that they are professional prices and that you really do get what you're paying for. Most importantly, as far as wedding events go, Afterburn Productions is not a "DJ farm" and you will not be booked with a stranger you've never met for the day of your event.

Christian handled every aspect of the planning process with us starting from the first consultation all the way up to coordinating the timeline for our reception and finally to the actual day of the event.

If you need to book entertainment for a special event and you want to work with someone who is professional, experienced and full of energy I would highly recommend booking a consultation with Afterburn Productions.

Profile Picture John, 9/14/13, 1 Review
Category: DJ, Entertainer, Event Rentals & Photobooths, Lighting & Decor, Wedding Planning

Unfortunately, I cannot recommend Afterburn's services. We booked Christian for our wedding for DJ, MC, and lighting services. Up to the wedding, Christian was a very organized albeit fairly intense person. He is a person that wants things done exactly his way e.g. no google docs, we had to burn a DVD for our slideshow, etc.

He did not research or scope out our venue because he said it would cost us extra money (other vendors went to the location to scope it out for free during the quote process). He also stated that he had done weddings there before, so we trusted him. On the day of the wedding, several things went horribly wrong.

1) Half of our venue lights failed, which horribly affected our photos and video
2) Our microphone failed during our vows

After the wedding, there was a "he said, she said" battle between our venue and Christian about whose fault it was, but in the end, Christian did not want to get on the phone for a discussion, even after we offered to pay for his time, so we are left to believe it was due to lack of research on his end. Christian claims there are "tons of complaints" about the electrical and lighting issues online, but I have not seen any such complaints. Also, he said there would be recordings of our vows and speeches, but we did not receive any recordings because supposedly his recorder was stolen by a someone at the wedding.

Good music selection

Overall attitude
No research of venue
No recording of vows and speeches
Post wedding support

Profile Picture jeff, 9/7/13, 1 Review
Category: DJ, Lighting & Decor

Christian is the perfect wedding DJ. We couldn't have asked for a more perfect DJ for our wedding. From start to finish, Christian controlled the flow and timeline of the entire reception to make sure everything went perfectly. Also, he made the event fun! He worked together with our band, photographer, wedding party, reception venue to make sure everything ran smoothly.

Before the wedding he worked with us on the program and made sure that we had the right music for all the different parts of the reception. If Christian was not there, I don't think my wedding would have gone as smoothly as it did because I felt like I could be worry-free about the time-line because he was keeping everything going by communicating with all the other vendors. This allowed me and my wedding party to just relax after the hectic day.

Christian also set up amazing lighting for the reception. My photographer as well as my guests mentioned how great it looked.

If anyone I know is getting married in LA, I would highly recommend Christian and Afterburn productions for their special events and weddings. Thank you!!

P.S. He also has great taste in music! :)

Profile Picture Pam, 7/8/13, 3 Reviews
Category: DJ, Lighting & Decor

Our wedding took place on June 9th, so I have very vivid and fresh memories of it. Christian made this day extra special. The music he played was just perfect for all of our guests. He went above and beyond of what we agreed on. He came super early and was extremely prepared. The lightning he set up for us was a big surprise! Sort of a gift from him. It was beautiful and complimented our venue so well. Christian is a professional DJ. He knows how to make a wedding unforgettable and get people on the dance floor.We highly recommend him for any important event you may have. Definitely a reliable, professional and pleasant to work with DJ.

Profile Picture Natalya, 6/9/13, 1 Review
Category: DJ, Lighting & Decor

Christian was the perfect DJ at our wedding. Our wedding was a daytime one so I was a little worried about how we were going to get the guests dancing in the middle of the day. Christian was very knowledgable about daytime weddings and offered us a lot of useful suggestions.

Christian had an extensive playlist and from the feedback I received from my guests, they had a great time! I think they were surprised themselves by how much fun they had at a daytime wedding and that was definitely helped by the great playlist Christian spun for us.

I have to confess that my husband and I did not practice at all for the first dance, and it ended up being a little awkward for us. Luckily Christian was able to pick up on that and helped us transition smoothly from the first dance to opening up the dance floor.

I would highly recommend Christian for his experience as well as ability to adapt to situations as they arise.

Profile Picture User2698310, 2+ years ago, 4 Reviews
Category: DJ

Christian was awesome! We hired Christian to be our DJ this past memorial day weekend, and the wedding went perfectly. Before the wedding, Christian spent a lot of time working with us and catering to our specific needs and gave great suggestions. He is a perfectionist and very detail-oriented, which is what you look for in a DJ for your wedding.

On the day of the wedding, Christian came many hours before the wedding to set up the lights and all the speakers. The lighting looked classy, and the procession went exactly as planned.

Thanks again, Christian!

Profile Picture Charles, 5/25/13, 1 Review
Category: DJ, Lighting & Decor

Well, what can I say? I read the reviews and knew this was the guy for us. I confirmed this hunch after our initial phone call. Christian just seemed to have the personality (and high energy!—watch out, he’ll offer you a Monster energy drink if you seem too tired) of what we wanted for our DJ and emcee. My wife and I planned our wedding from out of state (we had recently moved away from LA) over a number of emails and phone calls and it couldn’t have turned out better. Not only did Christian emcee and DJ our wedding, he also helped plan the day’s events minute by minute which helped us avoid having a wedding planner (he’s got several years of experience to work off of—for those of you who might want to save money by not having a wedding planner, you might want to consider this option). In continuing our talks with him we were so pleased to find out that Christian is also an amateur photographer and has taken wedding photos for his past clients! Call Christian a jack-of-all-trades or a Leatherman tool- either way he has you covered. Thanks for all your help, Christian. We couldn’t have had a better “best night of our lives” without you! By the way, we had a ton of compliments by our guests and even my dad (if you knew my dad you would be impressed too!). Hire this guy now before someone else books him up first!

Profile Picture Paul, 2/2/13, 1 Review
Category: DJ, Lighting & Decor

Christian is top shelf. The best that it gets on every level. We feel very lucky to have had him run our music, lighting and flow of our wedding.

Profile Picture Elizabeth, 12/31/12, 1 Review
Category: DJ, Lighting & Decor

He did a really great job. I was so pleased with how easy he made the process.

Profile Picture lindsey, 8/11/12, 1 Review
Category: DJ

Christian was the DJ and emcee for my daughter's wedding. He did a fantastic job. The bride and groom were so happy. He really got the music just right. He really understood what they wanted. And the whole reception went so smoothly due to his expertise. We really appreciate having him on the kids special day.

Profile Picture Anne, 8/11/12, 1 Review
Category: DJ