Skip to main content
Weddings

Active DJ Entertainment Reviews

Active DJ Entertainment

Active DJ Entertainment

Wilmington, NC
5.0 out of 5 rating, 461 Reviews
View more information

461 Reviews

Rated
5.0
out of 5.0
Recommended by 99% of couples
  • Quality of service
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    5 out of 5 rating

Awards

  • 461
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2022 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2021 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner

52 User photos

  • J
    Jessica M. Married on 07/15/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best dance party

    WOW. We cannot rave enough about our experience with Active DJ and our wonderful DJ, Martin. First, you cannot beat the price. We did the package with the Photo Booth and it was very much worth every dollar. Martin was so easy to work with and was very responsive. During our planning meeting he was open to all ideas and we could tell he wanted to make our wedding exactly what we wanted. Day of, we were blown away by his work! We truly had a dance party with all of our friends and family. He played music from our HS and College days which was exactly what we discussed and our guests loved it. I would only recommend Active DJ and Martin for Wilmington Weddings. :)

    Active DJ Entertainment's reply:

    Thanks sooo much, Jessica! Had a blast playing for you guys! Let's have an anniversary party! 🙌 Wishing you guys ALL the best!
  • J
    J Colt Married on 07/09/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Perfection

    Amazing DJ! I don’t think anything else at the wedding got as many raving reviews as the dj. Martin is a pro and out dance floor was PACKED the entire night. Heartfelt thanks! 5⭐️

    Active DJ Entertainment's reply:

    Thanks SO much! It was an absolute pleasure to be a part of your wedding! Wishing you guys a lifetime of happiness!!
  • illustration stars

    Did the reviews win you over?

    Send a message
  • Jessica
    Jessica P. Married on 07/07/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The DJ you NEED for your wedding

    Working with DJ Shawn Booth was a breeze despite us living in Utah and having to plan everything from long distance. After speaking with Shawn about what we knew we wanted & what he had freedom to decide for us, I had zero concerns about how my vision would be executed! Shawn also got back to me very quickly on any follow up questions I had. We got married on the beach so I was a little concerned about speakers, mic’s, etc., but it wasn’t a problem what so ever! The day of went PERFECTLY & Shawn helped keep it flowing within the timeframe that it was supposed to (big challenge for someone like me that is running late for anything & everything!) He read the room so well & got compliments from several guests about how much they LOVED our DJ and that it was one of the BEST weddings they’d been to! With All the feedback from our guests & the dance floor never being empty… it just confirmed what I already knew - that we made the right decision by choosing DJ Shawn Booth @ Active Entertainment.

    Active DJ Entertainment's reply:

    Thanks for allowing us to be a part of your wedding, and thanks so much for the review! Wishing you guys all the best!
  • Logan
    Logan W. Married on 06/03/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Look no further!

    When it came to the music at our wedding it was one of the most important aspects on our list. Active DJ Entertainment came highly recommended and Martin exceeded our expectations for our big day! The music was awesome and the dance floor stayed packed all night! He knew exactly what we and our guests wanted to hear and he kept the party going! He was super easy to work with, extremely professional and I would highly recommend him for any wedding, party, event, etc. Book now you won't regret it!

    Active DJ Entertainment's reply:

    Thanks so much for writing us a review! It was truly my pleasure! I hope you and Will are doing awesome and wish you guys a long life of happiness together.
  • E
    Ella B. Married on 05/20/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Crushed it!

    Our DJ, Mike Newkirk, from Active DJ Entertainment did a great job! Our guests didn’t stop dancing, which was exactly what we wanted. Very professional, good communication, & read the crowd well! Would definitely recommend for any wedding/event.

    Active DJ Entertainment's reply:

    Thanks for taking the time to write us a review! It was a pleasure to be able to be a part of your big day! Wishing you guys all the best!
  • S
    S Dandy Married on 05/16/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Wedding DJ

    We don't live in the Wilmington area, so when it came to choosing a DJ, we went based off reviews. All I can say, is ActiveDJ was AMAZING. We had the absolute best time at our wedding thanks to them. They are so quick to respond to questions, and so extremely helpful. So HAPPY we chose them for our wedding. :)

    Active DJ Entertainment's reply:

    Thanks so much for taking the time to write us a review! Wishing you guys a lifetime of happiness together!
  • C
    Chase B. Married on 05/08/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Our DJ Experience Was Amazing

    We used Active Entertainment to book our wedding DJ, Shawn Booth. Shawn was perfect in all aspects. Our goal for our wedding was to have the best dance party we could and Shawn delivered that. He had the best mix of music for our guests and all the wedding guests were out of their seats dancing all night. Our guests continue to talk about the music and dancing today. On top of the wedding music being perfect he also was great with communicating with us and giving us his feedback on our requests. We highly recommend using him for your wedding.

    Also, we recommend you use their additional lighting package. It really takes it up a notch on the dance floor and makes the entire venue more fun.

    Active DJ Entertainment's reply:

    Thanks so much for the review, Chase! It was a pleasure to serve you guys! Wishing you all the best!
  • Haley
    Haley B. Married on 03/12/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best DJ Ever!

    Martin was the absolute best! Our guests could not stop talking about how we had the best DJ ever. The playlist was amazing and the dance floor was packed all night. Martin was so fun and easy to work with. The new DJ booth is gorgeous and fit the look perfectly!

    Active DJ Entertainment's reply:

    Haley! Thank you so much for taking the time to write! Wishing you guys a lifetime of happiness together!
  • Kaleigh
    Kaleigh C. Married on 11/14/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    5 stars! Book now!

    Shawn Booth with Active DJ Entertainment is AMAZING!!!!! Everyone recommended Active DJ Entertainment so we knew we had to book them fast! We were so thankful that our wedding date was available, yay! From the moment I talked to Shawn on the phone, I felt like I had known him my entire life. We even met at a cool coffee shop in town to make sure everything was good to go for the wedding and he hugged me like I was apart of his family! He was quick to respond to all my emails, very knowledgeable and so friendly! He talked me through the timeline of our wedding and made sure I felt comfortable and had the perfect music! Shawn knocked it out of the park! From the moment the music started… all our guests were on the dance floor. People had to be forced off the dance floor at the end of the night! It was a night we will never forget! A month later, and my wedding guests are still raving about our wedding! Look no further! I would recommend Active DJ Entertainment for all your music needs! THANK YOU SHAWN BOOTH! :)

    Active DJ Entertainment's reply:

    Thanks so much for your review! Shawn is one of the best there is and we always love to hear from happy clients!
  • H
    Hannah N. Married on 11/13/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Martin is AMAZING!!!

    Martin from Active DJ Entertainment was absolutely amazing! He totally killed it and we couldn’t of been happier with the quality of music/service that was provided at our ceremony, cocktail hour and reception! Martin absolutely crushed it and the dance floor was always full! He had people of all ages dancing the night away! He was very responsive and very helpful with any questions we had. He was also able to help with suggestions to make our day more personal. Martin is such a professional, he knows what he’s doing and knows what the people want! We had a such a blast with him and our guests could not stop talking about how great he was! He is definitely the best in Wilmington and will help make your wedding night one to remember!!

    Thank you MARTIN!!!!

    Active DJ Entertainment's reply:

    You guys were so much fun to play for and such a pleasure to work with! Can't wait for that anniversary party 😊
  • Summer
    Summer Married on 08/14/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Active DJ entertainment

    Martin was our DJ and he was the best! He did everything perfectly, he engaged the crowd, announced events and we weren’t picky with a lot of the music so we left it up to him and he’s so amazing at reading the vibe of the party and does an amazing job!

    Active DJ Entertainment's reply:

    Thanks so much for the review, Summer! Loved being there for your wedding. Wishing you guys years and years and years of happiness together!
  • Sara
    Sara Married on 06/19/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We had Shawn from active as our DJ and he did an amazing job! Everyone said it was the most fun they have ever had at a wedding and was dancing all night long! He met with us several times before the event to make sure everything went perfectly and it did! He even let us do a special entrance with purple smoke to purple haze! Shawn and the team at Active are awesome and you will not be disappointed! Shawn was so friendly and so fun to work with, I cannot say enough nice things about the great job he did:)
  • Caroline
    Caroline Married on 06/18/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best DJ Ever!

    Active DJ is the way to go! Jay did an incredible job DJing our wedding reception and we are so happy we went with them - the best in the business! The dance floor was full literally all night long and he left us and our guests raving about how awesome the music and dancing was. We truly didn’t want the night to end! Not only did Active Entertainment provide us with a super fun wedding reception, they were great to work with through the whole planning process. They were responsive, friendly, and professional and ensured that we got exactly what we wanted for our reception and our guests. Active DJ Entertainment is a MUST if you are having an event that you want people to enjoy - so much fun! They will not disappoint!
  • Gabriella
    Gabriella D. Married on 05/06/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    So much fun!!!

    Shawn with Active DJ crushed it as the DJ at our wedding!!!! He was very helpful in talking through song options for the reception intro songs, dinner songs and the dance songs. It was a challenge to curate a playlist that would please people of all ages, but he helped us all the way. Then, when it came to the big day, he was perfect with the timing of all the transitions and announcements! The dance floor was packed all night, and Shawn helped to create the perfect vibes that we were looking for!!! Everyone had the BEST time and we received many compliments on the music choices! If we hire a DJ again, we’ll definitely be requesting Shawn!!
  • Hanna
    Hanna M. Married on 04/24/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Connected with our vibe and kept people on the dance floor all night long!

    Martin from Active DJ completely understood our music vibe and nailed it from start to finish. The sound was perfect, timing was spot on and he kept people on the dance floor all night long. Martin kept the energy going and transitioned perfectly old to new sounds. We received so many compliments from our guests and we are so happy we got to work with Martin! We would highly recommend him to anyone!
  • C
    Cameron D. Married on 04/16/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Perfect DJ!

    Jason was the DJ for our wedding and was absolutely amazing. Our guests are still raving about how great the music choices were and the dancefloor was never empty - just what we hoped for!
  • Jenny
    Jenny M. Married on 03/07/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    They threw a great party!

    We were very satisfied with the experience that we had hiring Active DJ Entertainment to DJ our wedding. During the early phases of our planning with them, they provided communication that was prompt, clear, and well thought out. They did a great job listening to our ideas and vision, and did an awesome job to incorporate that into the wedding. Shawn was the specific DJ for our wedding, and he was great! All of our guests had an awesome time dancing at our reception, and we were so happy with how the music and atmosphere turned out! Overall, Shawn and Active DJ were awesome for us, and we would highly recommend this service to anyone seeking a wedding DJ.
  • Emilee
    Emilee Married on 03/06/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Charles is awesome!

    We booked Active DJ pretty last minute for our wedding and I’m SO glad we did!! Our DJ Charles was awesome! He picked up on our vibe and read the crowd really well. The dance floor was completely packed all night long! We got so many comments from guests about how great the music was, and we couldn’t agree more!!!
  • Laura
    Laura P. Married on 02/06/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Fantastic DJ

    When my planner said she totally trusted the Active DJ Entertainment team, I knew I should too. She said they were hands down the DJ to hire and that the entire team will do an absolutely amazing job- she was SO RIGHT! Shawn was our DJ and from beginning to end all transitions and music were flawless- even when out of the loop family members went off script, Shawn made sure it all "went as planned" and there was not a single head scratching moment the entire night! I got so many compliments on dinner music, and the dance floor was bumpin the entire time (I didn't think any of my guests were dancers?) but Shawn knew exactly what to play and from young to old everyone was loving the music. I am so grateful I did not have to worry for a second about the flow of the evening, Shawn totally had it under control! I would totally recommend Active DJ entertainment for your events!
  • Ashlee
    Ashlee U. Married on 12/07/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The best dj ever!

    We picked Active DJ Entertainment based off of recommendations and reviews, and I am soooooo happy we used them for our music on our wedding day! Jason was our DJ and I couldn't have asked for anyone better! He was extremely professional and very responsive since day one! We unfortunately had to postpone our wedding due to COVID but Jason was nothing but accommodating and helpful during the rescheduling process! When we had our phone meeting, I knew that I had made the right choice! Jason was so friendly, funny, and easy to talk to and listened to all of our requests! We told him music we didn't like and left the rest up to him and he was just fantastic! He played a great mix of music that accommodated everyone of all ages and he had great energy and knew exactly how to get people on the dance floor! I've never danced so much in my life and all of our guests had nothing but compliments about him! We had the absolute best experience with him and have such great memories now and I would recommend him to anyone looking for music entertainment!
  • Allison
    Allison E. Married on 11/21/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Shawn Booth: Amazing!

    My husband and I hired Shawn Booth as our wedding DJ through Active Entertainment, and he did not disappoint! Shawn was exceptional; he knew when to integrate classics in order to get the whole crowd dancing, and when it was time to switch it up for the younger crowd later in the evening. We simply provided Shawn with a few artists we enjoy, and he took it from there! Shawn also has a fabulous Spotify that list that was able to guide us through picking specific songs, long father-daughter, recessional, etc. Thanks again, Shawn!!
  • Elizabeth
    Elizabeth R. Married on 10/24/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Fun fun fun!

    We had Shawn Booth as our DJ and it was so fun! They worked well going over to Bald Head Island and played all of our favorites. It was amazing!
  • Alicia
    Alicia Married on 10/04/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The Best DJ Hands Down!

    We had to change our date and venue due to COVID and Jay was nothing but flexible and professional. We weren't sure what the dance crowd would be like, but those that wanted to dance definitely had a great playlist to do it to! Jay read the crowd so well. He was incredible! He also did our ceremony music and that went off without a hitch. My husband used to announce hockey games and wanted to do introductions and Jay was so helpful in making that happen. We ended our night with a last dance just us and Jay set it up perfectly. He was the absolute best! We could not thank him enough for helping to make our night so fun and memorable.
  • Rayn
    Rayn M. Married on 09/27/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Highly Recommend Wonderful DJ

    Martin from Active Entertainment was an amazing DJ. Throughout the whole planning process he helped with song choices and creating a mood. On the big day we could not have asked for a better musical atmosphere!
illustration stars

Did the reviews win you over?

Send a message