Skip to main content
Weddings

Above Talk Weddings Reviews

Above Talk Weddings View more information

Reviews

4.9 out of 5 rating
21 Reviews
  • Quality of service
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.8 out of 5 rating
97% Recommended by couples

Awards

21
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner

1 User photo

  • K
    Kb Sent on 02/20/2024
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Highly recommend!

    Our experience with Jo was top notch. When our original offciant was unable to perform our ceremony two weeks before our wedding, we were in a panic. I found Jo and she was very quick to respond, and fortunately was available for our big day. She was friendly, helpful and put us at ease. The ceremony was perfect. She was very professional, reasonably priced and made sure all the details were in place. Would definitely recommend!

    Above Talk Weddings's reply:

    Thank you so much. What a lovely wedding and beautiful couple! It was my honor to be able to step in.
    XOXO
    Jo
  • V
    Victor Sent on 06/22/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We were very blessed & fortunate to have Jo officiate our wedding ceremony earlier this month. Could not be happier with the speech she gave in our honor. It felt very personable, while also firmly professional & beautiful. Our other vendors raved about working alongside her, as she helped make sure the entire ceremony ran fluidly & without a single hitch. We would both highly recommend Jo to anyone looking for a quality, masterful officiant for their big day!
  • M
    Megan Sent on 01/02/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    If you're looking for an officiant who is compassionate, caring, thoughtful and professional then Jo Souza is your gal. From the moment we met with her we knew right away that she was going to be the one who would marry us. Jo was prompt and responsive to our emails and she was affordable - which is always a plus! The ceremony was perfect and a large part of that was because of Jo. Even when my fiance left the marriage license at home on the day of our wedding, Jo was still able to meet with us the next day and sign our papers. She never made my wife feel bad about forgetting them, instead, she was very supportive and understanding. As you can see we have nothing negative to say about Jo and would recommend her to everyone!

    Thanks again Jo,

    Travis & Megan Williams
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • C
    Celeste Sent on 05/13/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Jo was a part of our wedding in the most special way, she has such a professional attitude, very friendly, and our ceremony was so beautiful, short and sweet and right to the point. I would very much recommend her to anyone who is looking for a officiant! Thank you jo for a wonderful experience to our new life.


    Celeste and orlando
    4.30.16
  • G
    Gibson Sent on 05/15/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Having Jo as our Officiant was a privilege. Her experience and calming direct nature kept us on track and in line with the rehearsal and Wedding Ceremony. More importantly her Charming and Ceremonial words were heartfelt by Deb and I and those that attended. We will be forever grateful for the words and thoughts she shared. Our commitment is sealed. Thank you Jo!

    With Loving Kindness,

    Gibson and Deb
  • C
    Cindy Sent on 02/10/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    My husband and I asked Jo to officiate our wedding vow renewal for our 25th wedding anniversary. She was very helpful, professional and caring with the service. She took time to customize the ceremony to make it special for us. We had the ceremony are her chapel setting and she was very thoughtful with setting everything up and allowing us to take our time for family pictures and didn't rush anything. I would highly recommend Jo and appreciate all she did to make our vow renewal special.
  • D
    Dawn Sent on 02/05/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    It was perfect! It was great couldn't have asked for better or more. Just perfect...
  • W
    William Sent on 02/04/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Primary and foremost Jo was responsive. I'm sure anyone who might be reading this is struggling with a thousand and one decisions to make about their wedding. Jo expresses very thoughtfully and clearly that she is their for you. She can "flex up" and be more structured and directive or in a more casual manner make herself simply a tool of your ceremony. She has a small chapel to conduct a ceremony or she can travel to where you want. In our case she was able to conduct an intimate family wedding at our 100 year old farmhouse in in the country. Her ceremonial duties were meaningful, sentimental, and appropriate to occasion. Perfect!

    Above Talk Weddings's reply:

    Thank you SO much!
  • User2523299 Sent on 01/31/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    My fiancé, now my Wife, decided to have a special ceremony all of our own with just two witnesses. We gave Jo a call the morning of our wedding day and by the evening on the same day we were married. Jo was very helpful and very flexible with our schedule. She attended to our needs and my wife could not be happier. I want to thank Jo for making our special day come true even when it was short notice. We highly recommend Jo and once again thank you.
  • C
    Corrie Sent on 01/29/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Loved the ceremony and the vows were perfect! Couldn't have asked for a better day.
  • R
    Robert Sent on 02/01/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    At first we were not a sure if we were using the right person for our officiant, as it goes with anyone you are not familiar with. But after all said and done and all the changes that needed to be made due to weather changes. Jo Souza gave us a excellent ceremony that was detailed and very precise in what we had asked for and with her expertise was accomplished with any problems.
  • R
    Ryann Sent on 08/27/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Our wedding was absolutely beautiful thanks to Jo! Thank you so much!
  • C
    Carrie Sent on 02/01/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Jo was very helpful and walked us through the whole process. She listened to exactly what we wanted, and we would recommend her to anyone!

    Above Talk Weddings's reply:

    Thank you SO much! It was my pleasure.
  • J
    Jessica Sent on 02/24/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I was referred to Jo for a very last minute wedding ceremony, which was a last minute surprise event during our baby shower. She was wonderful, prompt, and completely accommodating. Her message during our ceremony was beautiful, and we could not have wished for a better minister for our very special day. We were all so thankful to have her with us on our wedding day.

    Jessica & Brian.
  • A
    Ashley Sent on 12/17/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Jo is absolutely incredible! We hired her as our officiant for our recent wedding.

    The ceremony was customized to us and it was amazing. All our guests were complimenting on how beautiful and personal the ceremony was. Jo was prompt and professional and very helpful for almost a year in the communication to make our special day perfect!

    Definitely would recommend her to any engaged couples!!
    Thank you so much Jo! Sean and Ashley Farlin
  • User1737400 Sent on 07/29/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We dealt with Jo totally over the internet when planning my sister's wedding in Sequoia National Park. Jo was always prompt in responding and checked in periodically to see how things were going. On the day of the wedding, she was timely and professional - which we had no doubt she would be. And then she totally blew us away! Her service was absolutely beautiful and touching. The words she spoke, the sincerity in her voice and eyes...all made this special day over the top! It was the most meaningful wedding service I have ever attended. The whole ceremony made us all reflect on how precious life is, how important our spouses are and what an incredible journey marriage can be. She didn't just read a bunch of words, she put meaning behind them in a way I have never experienced. I would absolutely recommend Jo - hands down!
  • J
    Juan Sent on 03/31/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Jo Did A Marvelous Job Of Being A Wedding Officiant. She Drove About An Hour From Home To Be Part Of Our Special Day. I Have Recommended Her To Many Of My Friends Who Plan On Getting Married. Thankyou Jo For Everything.
  • User1465993 Sent on 12/07/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Jo was amazing my partner and I decide to elope at the last min. We got untouched with her in the morning and by 2 pm we were a married couple. She was so passionate and was willing to accomplish everything we wanted in such short notice. Best decision we have ever made.
  • R
    Richard Sent on 12/18/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Thank you so much for making our day so special! Jo was so much help organizing and made the day less stressful for us all.

    Richard
  • K
    Keith Sent on 02/04/2016
    4.9 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    She was a very compassionate, wise, and creative wedding officiant. I would highly recommend to other couples for marriage!
  • User1496289 Sent on 01/05/2014
    1.9 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      1.5 out of 5 rating
    Overal I was not satisfied. I had written out our vows which were one the traditional ones but added pieces to it that would make it special for us and she only let us say a piece of ours because she had written our vows for us. So we didn't get to say all of our vows the way we wanted it. Also she was trying to control our wedding and set things up her way and acting flustered and upset when wanted it a different way. I am however thankful that she did it on short notice though

    Above Talk Weddings's reply:

    I’m so shocked and hurt you have made this post. When you handed me your vows on your wedding day, just moments before the ceremony, the vows were written in pale pencil on faded paper – almost impossible to read, especially since the wedding was outside. I shared my concern with you about the difficulty in reading this and I truly thought you appreciated my input. I asked you to pick out the words you each thought most important and I would then help you with that during the vows. It was a beautiful ceremony and you both seemed delighted with everything at the time. I always want my couples to have the wedding they want and I still thank you for sharing your special day with me.
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message
Responds within 24 hours