About Music Pro: Bands, DJs, Musicians Reviews

236 | San Diego, CA
See photos, pricing and details

236 Reviews for About Music Pro: Bands, DJs, Musicians

Recommended by 99%

236
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0
Sort by:
  • S

    Sandra Wood · Married on 11/03/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Highly recommend!

    The Blue Daddy’s played at our wedding and Gary was the DJ / MC and also the bandleader. They truly made the entire event! We had Gary’s ensemble' and not only are they all exceptional musicians, but their high energy and stage presence was extraordinary. They were so good at reading the crowd. They were also so easy to work with when we selected music for our reception, cocktail hour and ceremony. This is the first and only band/DJ I've seen that had all guests, ranging in ages, out on the floor dancing - including my 93-year-old great aunt! We had so many of our guests tell us that The Blue Daddy’s was the best wedding band they've ever seen, and Gary the best DJ. We feel so fortunate to have used them!! Highly HIGHLY recommend!!

  • B

    Barbra Poole · Married on 11/02/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    You were awesome!

    Gary was the DJ at our wedding in San Diego, and my wife and I were exceptionally happy with him. We live on the east coast and planning the wedding from across the country was daunting, but Gary was super professional and easy to work with from the beginning. I knew we had made the right choice during my first call with him. He said he would not be on the microphone other than to introduce people and other announcements we requested, he promised to play amazing music, with a great lights system, and that's exactly what we got!
    Gary went out of his way to meet with us on short notice when we took a last minute trip to San Diego a few months before the wedding. He explained his process and gave us the option to request as many or as few songs as we wanted. He was super relaxed throughout the entire process and it was honestly the least stressful part of planning the wedding.
    On the day of the wedding he arrived early and had his equipment set up very quickly. He even helped us set up a couple extra speakers in our cocktail hour area and played guitar. Gary did a great job introducing everyone, and after that, it was the best night of music we could have imagined. Even during dinner, guests were dancing in their seats. His fades from one song to another were perfect, and his music selection was incredible. Guests from the age of 16 to 75 were dancing the entire night. The dance floor never stopped.
    Gary, thanks for helping us have the best wedding ever! You were awesome!

  • J

    Joshua Feldman · Married on 10/28/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Gary really helped make it a special day

    Gary took care of our ceremony and reception and he really did an outstanding job. We spoke to him on the phone initially and he had us suggest some songs we definitely wanted to hear to kind of give him an understanding of our music tastes. We had him playing guitar during the ceremony and it was a really nice touch. For the reception he did a great job of playing what we had requested, as well as staying true to the kind of musical theme we had going on. He was great for keeping us on our time targets, making time for the toasts, hora, first dances and all that. He was super easy to work with and really made it so that our guests and ourselves had a great time dancing the day away. We would definitely recommend him to anyone looking for a DJ for their wedding or probably any other event.

  • N

    Nancy Marsh · Married on 10/27/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing Job!

    Gary did an amazing job at our recent wedding! In all the conversations leading up to the event, Gary was quick with answering questions we had and making sure he asked the right questions to be sure we would have exactly what we wanted. We provided a list of what music we selected for each event and Gary took it from there. He also asked us what songs we didn't want to hear, and based off that list, he knew exactly what we were looking for and did an amazing job. Making sure we were happy and that our guests had a good time, was his first priority. I highly recommend Gary and can't thank him enough for his talent and his hard work in making our day a great success!

  • B

    Betty Spencer · Married on 10/26/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Fantastic!

    We had Gary Rich as our musician, bandleader and DJ for our wedding and reception at the Hyatt San Diego. He, and his band, were fantastic! We could tell from our first meeting that he's a total professional, and knows how to create the type of party you're looking for by asking some great questions and filling in the rest with his expertise. Another thing we loved about him is that he doesn't do that heavy-handed self-promotion thing. He was great at announcing, providing music that kept our evening on track, and got everyone on the dance floor! Gary made the music planning process really simple, with great song suggestions for some key moments. Our song list was kind of all over the place, but he turned it into a great play list for the night! He was always on top of the crowd's mood and adjusted to keep the energy up. The music was so good he even had my mom dancing, which I didn't think was possible! Thank you Gary and the rest of the band!!

  • L

    Lisa Brooks · Married on 10/07/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Thank you Gary and your Team!

    Thank you Gary and your team for doing such a fabulous job at our wedding! After we met with you the first time, we were relaxed, feeling confident that you would take care of the music and that we could just leave you to do what you do best! You did everything on cue and made our guests feel very comfortable and entertained. You gave instructions in a courteous manner and played a wonderful variety of music, plus everything we asked for! You said you were good at reading the crowd and that is exactly what you did! We really liked that you made the wedding about "us". We loved the up-lights and band lighting that you recommended. We also loved the fact that you could handle the ceremony, cocktails, and party in three different locations with a seamless transition. You and your team did a wonderful job, just as all the other reviews online said you would!! We are forever grateful!

  • J

    Jessica Harper · Married on 10/06/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Saved the Day!!!

    hired The Gary Rich Band, at the last minute, for our wedding and reception at the San Diego Hilton and they did a fabulous job! I called Gary after we received a cancellation two weeks before our wedding and they saved the day! They were incredibly professional and easy to work with, as well as reasonably priced. I wish I had hired them from the start! Gary, also the MC, and the band listened to requests and kept the audience entertained the entire night. The song choices included classics that everyone could sing and dance to. I would not hesitate to book Gary and his band for any other event I may find myself planning. As I am writing this review, I am reliving the event with smiles from ear to ear! Again, they not only saved the day, but exceeded our expectations!

  • L

    Linda Jackson · Married on 10/05/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Gary and his band were Fantastic!

    Gary and his band were fantastic! They played at our San Diego wedding and reception, and several of our guests came up to us during and after the wedding and raved about them. To start with they played guitar and sax for our ceremony. They then played piano, with vocal, at our cocktail hour, and the six-piece band for our reception, plus an acoustic unplugged set towards the end of dinner - not something we'd initially thought we'd want them to do - and it was totally the right call. It set a fun, festive tone and got people excited for the rest of their music. They are very talented, very fun, very professional, and I would recommend them to anyone looking for a wedding band!

  • P

    Patricia Roberts · Married on 10/04/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Love this band!

    We absolutely love this band! We hired them for our on wedding in San Diego. Everyone in the band is a lead singer and has great harmonies; they cover all genres of music! They are great at reading the crowd and keeping the party on the dance floor! Their song choices were excellent and they played all our requested music. We wanted to review them right away because we were so impressed! With out a doubt, one of the best party bands ever, truly made our wedding very special. Thanks again!

  • M

    mary · Married on 09/30/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We hired Gary Rich and his band to play at our wedding and we highly recommend them! It’s hard to decide where to start with the accolades. Their song selection was fantastic! The dance floor was absolutely packed and filled with energy, which made for an unforgettable night! They were extremely helpful, responsive and accommodating throughout the planning process. In addition, they completely arranged the setup for the sound for the ceremony, which worked out perfectly! Hire this band - you will be glad you did!

  • M

    maria · Married on 09/29/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Blue Daddy’s were AMAZING at our wedding! I first heard them at a friends wedding last year and absolutely fell in love with their sound! My husband and I hired them for our wedding in September of this year. We never stopped dancing the whole night during our reception. We also had Gary play ukulele at our ceremony and guitar for cocktails, he was great!. Then the band took over and when the band took a break Gary took over as DJ. The evening was a night to remember the rest of our lives. Gary and his band were so easy to work with and he had some great suggestions to improve the flow of the party. Thank you so very much!

  • S

    sherry · Married on 09/28/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Hiring Gary Rich’s band to perform at our wedding was one of the best decisions we made! It was extra special that they were performing on our big day, because my husband and I actually met Gary and his band at my sister's wedding about three years ago. He also played classical guitar at the ceremony, jazz piano at the cocktail hour and was our DJ / MC at the reception. What an incredible talent Gary and his band were.  Everyone at the wedding loved their music. They kept people entertained and on the dance floor. Hopefully we will see them at other events in San Diego! If we ever need live music again, we will choose them!

  • E

    ella · Married on 09/27/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The About Music Pro Team helped us achieve our ultimate goal of making our wedding fun and they were wonderful to work with! Gary, the owner, was part of the planning process and was the MC and band leaded/DJ. We were able to video chat with him before booking as this was a destination wedding. We immediately felt comfortable that he got our vibe and would know how to keep the event flowing and our guests dancing. They honored our "must play" and "don't play" list through the whole event, from the ceremony to the reception. He lived up to his promise! Gary was great on the evening of the wedding and they kept the dance floor full the whole night. Overall a great experience with the About Music Pro Entertainment team!

  • M

    mya · Married on 09/23/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Gary Rich was our Musician/DJ/MC and his band did our San Diego wedding. They are true experts at what they do. We were referred to Gary by a friend of ours, who used his band for their party, which was a great success. After talking to Gary about the music for the wedding, we immediately felt relaxed - we could tell we were in good hands. Gary did an amazing job with the musical timing for a very unique ceremony. He also helped us keep the evening flowing, with everyone dancing. He also changed hats and did DJ on the band breaks. They really know how to read a crowd and kept the party moving. Everyone had a great time. Thank you so much for making our wedding something we will remember the rest of our lives!

  • A

    allison · Married on 09/21/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We met with Gary from About Music pro and knew instantly that we had found the perfect DJ and band for our wedding. Gary and his band were awesome. We left the music choices mostly up to him aside from our must haves and he did not disappoint. Our guests were on the dance floor the entire night and I can't imagine a better measure of performance than that! This is not your typical wedding band & DJ. Gary has great taste in music, is a superb performer and has the ability to read the crowd. The acoustics were amazing and the up-lighting really brought our venue together and provided an inviting atmosphere to get people on the dance floor. If you're looking for a Band or DJ or both for your wedding or party, look no further. Gary and his team at About Music Pro are extremely professional and will ensure your guests have an unforgettable experience.

  • L

    lucy · Married on 09/16/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Hiring Gary Rich and his Band / DJ was one of the first and best decisions we made for our wedding; we got a lot of compliments about the music from our guests too. He also helped cut our first dance song to our desired length and provided lighting for the reception. He has a very laid-back approach and we were immediately comfortable with him. Our reception music was perfect and everyone had a great time on the dance floor. Everything was exactly as we discussed and the songs transitioned smoothly. I highly recommend About Music Pro - they're affordable and Gary was so easy to work with. Thank you!!

  • C

    clair · Married on 09/15/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Blue Daddy’s and Gary rocked it and were so great at our wedding reception and ceremony. Their performance was great and they did an awesome job re-shuffling with all the last minute changes mid way through the event. Gary was also the DJ/MC and took the time to help us with all the details and called with us the week before the event. It was great to cover logistics and cover a few things we hadn't even thought of. I would HIGHLY recommend these guys. and Gary especially!

  • L

    leah · Married on 09/14/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Gary and the rest of the Blue Daddy’s completely stole the show at our wedding! From the moment we heard the band & DJ at a friends wedding, we fell in love and knew we had to book them for our wedding. Gary was so easy to work with and we felt completely confident in him. He was the easiest wedding "vendor" to work with by far. They nailed the ceremonial songs and played awesome, fun songs for the reception. The dance floor was consistently full, which is of course one the goals for your wedding! My dad even missed our wedding dessert and photo booth because he was too busy dancing!! During the wedding, numerous people came up to me to ask "Where did you find this band?" I honestly hope I have a reason to work with them or see them perform again soon.

  • A

    alice · Married on 09/13/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Bandleader & DJ, Gary and his band, absolutely MADE our wedding! One requirement, when planning, was that we wanted a dance party that lasted all night. Not only did Gary help us create our musical timeline and select the perfect songs to capture our personalities and love, the band had everyone dancing for 3 hours straight! He handled our guests' crazy requests with grace and style, and everyone commented on how this was the best Band / DJ combination they had ever seen. We really appreciated Gary as the emcee and making sure the evening flowed smoothly. He went above and beyond to make sure our day was perfect, and I 1000% recommend About Music Pro for any San Diego party!

  • V

    violet · Married on 09/09/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Weddings are filled with countless things to worry about, including hidden costs. However, Gary immediately put us at ease about our band and DJ choice. He's friendly, professional, and helpful when making song choices from their deep repertoire.
    On our wedding day, the band and DJ were the highlight of the night. They sounded fantastic from start to finish. The combination of classic rock, Motown, newer hits and popular music had something for everyone. I think some of the older guests danced as much as our younger friends did! People are still talking about The Blue Daddy’s and how great they were, when they see us.
    When you hire About Music Pro and Gary, please know you're getting a high quality, professional, and easy to work with band and DJ/MC.

  • E

    eva · Married on 09/06/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Gary and the rest of Blue Daddy’s were absolutely AMAZING. Now that the dust is starting to settle over the magic that happened, my wife and I both keep finding ourselves reliving the music, and especially the dance party. Everyone -- to our parents and siblings to our friends -- everyone is stopping us to exclaim how amazing the band and DJ were. The dance floor was packed from beginning to end, and my grandma pulled up a rocking chair and held court in the back corner of the dance floor just so she could listen and enjoy the music, well past her bedtime. Nobody, especially us, wanted it to end! We coordinated with the band's leader, Gary. We were beyond thrilled to have Gary and the other super talented band members make the trek up to our wedding at Hotel Del Coronado. We could not have been happier, and the magic of the evening is all thanks to them. We highly recommend them enough!

  • S

    skylar · Married on 09/02/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Without exaggeration, every single guest told me that they absolutely rocked! The set list for The Blues Daddy’s and the DJ's song list was designed for us was perfect, they nailed our ceremony music (the only part of the night that made me cry). We had a string trio for the ceremony and cocktails, and a 5 piece band for the reception, they were absolutely awesome!. On a personal level, Gary was a total pleasure to work with at every step along the way. I can't say enough good things them all! Thank you so much!!

  • L

    lillian · Married on 09/01/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I've always believed that music is the number one most important aspect of a wedding reception, and that music can truly make or break it. That said, I am thrilled that we hired About Music Pro to play at our wedding (both the ceremony and the reception.) Each musician was amazingly talented and professional. The band leader and DJ/MC Gary was spot-on and super helpful. And his DJ kept the party going when the band was on break. When planning my wedding my ideal hope was for my guests to be up and dancing all night, and because of Gary and his team, my wedding was exactly that. The band and DJ’s combination repertoire was vast - they play all the music that you actually want to hear and dance to. The ceremony music was simple and beautiful and exactly what I had envisioned. I cannot be more thankful to have had Gary Rich and his team as part of our wedding day. I recommend them 1000 times over.

  • B

    bella · Married on 08/31/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    A big THANKS for a spectacular evening! Looking back at my wedding day, my favorite memories are of what a great time my family and friends had on the dance floor. Gary and his band are so talented! Their music caters to people of all ages – even our older friends and family were letting go during the reception. Even my six year old niece danced nonstop!
    We chose to use the band for five hours, which included our cocktail hour & reception. Gary figured out the logistics of setting up for three locations at our venue. This included an outdoor court yard for the cocktails hour, inside the reception hall for dinner, and a another room for dancing.
    E-mail was our main form of communication and Gary was always friendly, responsive and helpful. One of the characteristics about Gary that I really appreciated was his willingness to help. I even made a last minute request to have Gary do the Anniversary dance, which he gladly did. He had such a positive attitude throughout the planning process. Gary provided us with a song list. It included a wide range of songs so we decided to let Gary mostly choose which ones to play, making notes of some of our favorites. We chose the songs for specific dances, such as the first dance, etc. Thank you Gary!

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review