About Music Pro: Bands, DJs, Musicians Reviews

278 | San Diego, CA
See photos, pricing and details

278 Reviews for About Music Pro: Bands, DJs, Musicians

Recommended by 99% of couples

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0

Awards

278

1 User photo

Order by:
  • B

    Betsy Aston · Getting married on 01/01/2022

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    So Professional!

    About Music Pro was awesome at our wedding! They are so professional and have a real passion for music. We worked with the owner, Gary, throughout the planning process and he made everything so incredibly easy. He was personable, paid attention to every detail, was very responsive, and was one of the most professional vendors we hired for our wedding.
    We wanted to ensure that our friends would be saying "your wedding was so much fun" and be a party they would not forget. Gary and The Blue Daddy's absolutely crushed it. We told him what kind of music genres we liked and then gave him the freedom to play whatever he wanted and he did such a great job of creating the perfect mix to get everyone dancing. We had many guests approach us to tell us how incredible our Band /DJ was. If you want to have an amazing dance band at your party that will make your day truly memorable, hire About Music Pro. You will be so glad you did!

    Sent on 02/25/2020
  • A

    Avery Blount · Getting married on 06/11/2021

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Came to our Rescue!

    Our previous Band and DJ disappeared right before the wedding, and my husband and I went into panic mode trying to find a last minute replacement. We found Gary from About Music Pro,who came to our rescue! They are a highly rated Band/DJ company with all positive reviews. We had a great experience starting from the first call; Gary was courteous and helpful and guided us through the entire wedding music process. We got to customize our entire wedding music genre, and he organized our music selections for us with specific instructions on exact play times that coordinated with our planners time line. When the wedding date arrived. Gary and his band really proved themselves even further. They played our all our requests better than we could've imagined, and kept the dance floor full at all times. As an added bonus, Gary’s DJ skills were on par with his amazing MC skills, Gary hosted our wedding like a true professional host. I would highly recommend Gary and his company About Music Pro for there Band/DJ/MC services. Thank you Gary for an unforgettable experience!

    Sent on 12/19/2019
  • A

    Ashley Kitman · Getting married on 06/01/2021

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Made it the happiest day of our lives!

    Gary Rich is an amazing listener and will find the exact right music for you and your guests. My fiance and I love music. We also had a really diverse group of guests, friends from India, Latin America, England and other places around the world. Gary just nailed it. He started with American pop and rock from the 70's and 80's and evolved to currant top 40 hits and rap, that pleased everyone and had them all dancing. Over time, he mixed it up, introducing picks for different subgroups of guests. He even researched India pop hits, salsa and Latin pop for me -- not something that's on his normal list of genres -- and he got it exactly right! He also worked with our parents to add a slideshow of childhood photos for each of our parent-child dances. You can tell Gary takes deep pleasure in pleasing his clients! Thanks, Gary, for holding a perfect and joyful space for us on one of the happiest days of our lives!

    Sent on 02/20/2020
  • K

    kayla brison · Getting married on 04/12/2021

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Fantastic!

    How can I possibly capture how fantastic About Music Pro’s Musicians and DJs are? We hired Gary Rich as the bandleader and DJ/MC for our 250 person wedding during December 2019. The entire booking, planning and even experience were truly top notch and worth every penny and more!

    Having good music with everyone on the dance floor was one of our "must haves" and Gary and his band delivered! We spent a ton of time researching different music options for our wedding reception and would pick About Music Pro over and over again. Gary was incredibly easy to work with, professional, and responsive throughout the wedding planning process. He listened to our requests and made sure to fit the music vibe we were hoping to achieve. Our friends and family continually comment on the incredible music selection and Gary’s ability to keep everybody dancing the entire night. We highly recommend them!

    Sent on 01/16/2020
  • C

    cathy bowman · Getting married on 02/10/2021

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We Highly Recommend!

    Our caterer referred us to About Music Pro, One of our best wedding planning decisions was to book The Blue Daddy's & DJ Gary Rich! Our philosophy was to hire professionals and let them do what they know best, which is About Music Pro’s business philosophy, so it was a perfect match! Band leader and DJ, Gary, was wonderful to work with - he provided great ideas on how to structure the reception toasts, and he quickly figured out our preferred styles of music and worked in our specific song requests throughout the night. Our guests raved about how great Gary was. Gary and his band had the dance floor packed and several guests mentioned that they needed a break but just couldn't leave the floor because the music was so good!! We loved how he kept the energy up throughout the night and made sure that guests enjoyed themselves. He also played guitar during the ceremony and it went flawlessly. We highly recommend Gary Rich &The Blues Daddy's for your wedding or any event!!

    Sent on 11/14/2019
  • M

    Maria Santos · Getting married on 11/11/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Made our dreams come true!

    The Blue Daddy’s made our dreams come true! From the very beginning, Gary Rich was the band leader/MC and DJ and he was very easy to work with and super accommodating! I had several songs I requested they preformed them flawlessly. Gary also provided AV for a photo-montage and he made it all happen without a hitch. They cultivated the most perfect play-list that kept my wedding guests on the dance floor the entire night. If you're even hesitating for one second about hiring About Music Pro, don't! I promise it will be one of the easiest and best decisions you'll make throughout your entire wedding planning process!

    Sent on 12/12/2019
  • B

    barbra boyer · Getting married on 11/01/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Everyone had a great time!

    When we began planning our wedding, one of the key things we wanted to do was make our guests feel hosted and honored. Gary Rich from About Music Pro did exactly that! We had 250 guests from all over the US and the world and Gary carved out a piece of the party for all of them, somehow weaving it all together. Our reception was a non-stop dance party from beginning to end and we actually had to move tables to make the dance floor bigger! Everyone had such a great time! Thank you Gary!!

    Sent on 01/30/2020
  • J

    jane ashley · Married on 09/12/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We Highly recommend!

    Gary was a fantastic DJ and musician at our wedding in December! He nailed the vibe we were looking for perfectly! He was very easy to work with and truly went the extra mile to make sure our wedding was exactly what we pictured. Everything went exactly as we wanted and Gary was able to fit right in with our venue and wedding planner and everything was seamless. We are so happy to be able to highly recommend Gary. We would love an opportunity to book with him again in the future. We and our guests had a fantastic time! He was incredible!

    Sent on 01/09/2020
  • A

    alexia carson · Married on 05/01/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The best decision we made!

    We booked About Music Pro for our wedding and it was one of the best decisions we made! We initially met with Gary to talk about what we had in mind for the music and he went over in detail what we could expect on our big day. Throughout the planning stages, working with him was easy and stress free! We decided on a classical trio for the ceremony, a jazz trio for cocktails, and a 5-piece band with a DJ/MC for the reception. The week before the wedding, we had a call with Gary to discuss final details and to go over different music cues during the ceremony and reception. On the day of our wedding, him and his band more than delivered! The music during the ceremony, cocktail hour, and reception were all exceptional, but once the dance floor opened up, and the band and DJ took over, they had everyone dancing and having a great time! Multiple people came up to us during the wedding to tell us how great the music was and how much fun they were having. People who typically don't dance (including my grand mother!) were out there tearing it up! highly recommend About Music Pro, Gary, and the whole team for your next big event!

    Sent on 01/23/2020
  • C

    christy harper · Married on 04/11/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Incredible job!

    Gary and his band did an INCREDIBLE job at our wedding! My husband and I had planned to get on the dance floor a little bit to get everyone else to come out, and we kept telling ourselves "We’ll get a drink after the next song" but couldn't leave the dance floor because they had the best dance music! We didn't want to miss out on any of the songs! Gary was so friendly and easy to approach, he was very responsive to every email and was easy to work with! If you're trying to decide between using About Music Pro and another wedding music company, I recommend going with About Music Pro! They are awesome! Thank you again Gary for making our wedding so incredible!

    Sent on 12/05/2019
  • M

    mary ann jesse · Married on 02/12/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Thank you for being Awesome!!

    We were so relieved and grateful to have found Gary and his band for our wedding. Not only was he very accommodating to the limitations of the venue and made everything work perfectly, he was also very perceptive of song suggestions and tailored the music choice to our liking. Our guests were out on the dance floor the whole time and many guests commented on what a great time they had.

    Also, he was the MC and DJ for announcements and when the band was on break and made sure the dance floor was packed the whole night, which was important to us. Thank you and your band for being so awesome!

    Sent on 01/03/2020
  • L

    liz compton · Married on 01/02/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had a Blast!

    We hired About Music Pro for our February 2020 wedding and it was the best vendor decision we made in terms of professionalism, communication, organization, and results. We loved working with Gary throughout the planning process and he was professional, friendly, down-to-earth and honest. We met with him in person and communicated via email and text. He was always quick to respond and thorough in his responses. We also loved working with Gary and his band on the day of our wedding. We decided to skip our sendoff just so we could keep dancing! I honestly can't say enough good things. Do yourself a favor and book these guys for your event! Gary acted as our emcee and DJ, plus bandleader for the ceremony, cocktail hour, and reception. He was smooth and professional, and the music was so amazingly perfect for us throughout the reception and into the dance party. Our guests of all ages had a blast - people couldn't stop talking about how great the music was! Thank you!! :)

    Sent on 03/05/2020
  • B

    beth hartman · Married on 10/20/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing Wedding music!

    My husband and I used About Music Pro for our wedding and had an amazing time! We worked with Gary Rich who helped us through the entire process and gave us extremely good recommendations when we didn't have specific requests of our own. We had a Jazz trio for the ceremony as well as the cocktail hour and we had a 5-piece band with a DJ for the reception. Our friends and family danced with us for several hours with out stopping and everyone loved it. I would go with About Music Pro again, any time, for any kind of event!

    Sent on 11/07/2019
  • N

    nora binder · Married on 10/12/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Truly the best of the best!

    We met with Gary before the wedding. He was so kind and easy-going and knowledgeable! We had read great reviews, so we didn't even hesitate and booked him and his band without meeting with anyone else. On the day of, we realized what a great decision that was! They seamlessly transitioned between jazz and easy listening for the dinner music and then to classic dance and top 40 hits for my friends and family. They even worked in my requested Latin pop song. Everyone tore it up on the dance floor! They played to the crowd, and people danced all night long, We both agreed that Gary and The Blue Daddy's absolutely killed it. Even my friends and family raved about how great their music selections were! And our night truly wouldn't have been what it was without them. Look no further. About Music Pro is truly the best of the best!

    Sent on 11/01/2019
  • D

    debra woods · Married on 10/05/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Truly Incredible!

    I can't say enough great things about Gary and the entire band! Gary was extremely accommodating and quick to respond to all my emails. He worked with all my ideas and really seemed excited for us! On the wedding night, he and his band did an amazing job keeping the night moving and making sure the guests were entertained. Along with all of this, the music was phenomenal! We chose to have the string Trio for ceremony, jazz trio for cocktails, and 6-piece Band for dinner and dancing (which came with a DJ). Everything was seamless and wonderful from start to finish. Thanks Gary and your whole crew, for making our wedding truly incredible!

    Sent on 10/24/2019
  • A

    alex bening · Married on 09/29/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We would highly recommend!

    Gary and his group were the absolute best! So many of our friends and family have been telling us that our wedding was the best that they've been to! This was not just because of the love in the room from all of the guests, but also the involvement and skill level that Gary and his band brought to the dance floor. The group’s genuine excitement and enthusiasm set them way apart. We would highly recommend Gary Rich and About Music Pro to any bride and groom!

    Sent on 10/15/2019
  • A

    andrea dailley · Married on 09/21/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Best San Diego Band and DJ around!

    We knew we wanted an amazing band for our wedding. When my wife and I decided on Gary Rich and his band we made one of the best decisions of our wedding. From the moment we reached out for a quote, Gary was incredibly helpful and prompt with everything. Their performance the night of the wedding was outstanding and our dance floor was full all night. We had a variety of requests throughout the night and Gary and his band were more than happy to fulfill them all. The DJ filled in on the breaks with a great dance set too! I highly recommend these guys if you want the best San Diego Band and DJ around!

    Sent on 10/10/2019
  • J

    Joan Johnson · Married on 09/14/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Everyone Loved the Music!

    We decided to work with Gary Rich at About Music Pro after we researched many bands. We definitely made the right choice with Gary and his band! The quality of the musicians, singers, the mix of songs and their energy was second to none. Gary was extremely professional and he went through all of the details of our wedding. When we wanted to incorporate live Celtic music, Gary found us the musicians and made sure that their set was added smoothly to the rest of the music. All along the way, as we had to make adjustments and changes, he was extremely helpful and made sure that we were happy above all else. The night of our wedding, everyone loved the music and Gary put on his DJ hat when the band took breaks. We could not have been happier with Gary and his band!

    Sent on 10/03/2019
  • K

    kara epson · Married on 09/11/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Definitely Recommend!

    We met with Gary at the beginning of the planning process for our fall wedding and then again a few weeks before the big day. He listened to all our requests, made some great recommendations, and helped facilitate a perfectly smooth reception and amazing dance party! We got a sense right away at our first meeting that Gary knew his stuff when it comes to music and we were right to trust him. He made the perfect play list and agenda for the entire evening with very little guidance from us. I definitely recommend using Gary from About Music Pro!

    Sent on 11/27/2019
  • J

    Jessica Benson · Married on 09/07/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    They made our wedding so memorable!

    We hired About Music Pro for our 9/7/19 wedding, and they did an unbelievable job! Gary was so easy to work with, and I was so impressed with his honesty, openness, organization...the list goes on and on! We wanted our wedding to be all about the music and having a good time, and we were exceptionally pleased with the band and the DJ! Gary was so accommodating. He learned a new song for our big day that was beautiful! We also had the DJ for our after party. We've gotten so many compliments about them, and they kept the dance floor busy all night! They made our wedding so memorable, we can't thank them enough!

    Sent on 09/26/2019
  • A

    Ashley Braun · Married on 09/06/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Blue Daddy's were great!!

    Having a live band and joyful atmosphere at our wedding was a major priority for us and we could not have been happier with Gary Rich from About Music Pro!! We liked Gary from the moment we met him. We had a duo for our ceremony and cocktail hour and a 5-piece band and DJ for our reception. We had a vision for our ceremony and wanted more modern music (Jason Mraz feel). They accommodated this with ease and gave honest feedback on what they thought would work and what wouldn't. It was perfect and absolutely what we envisioned -- thanks Gary!! For dinner/reception our emcee (Gary) was great! He was flexible with last minute changes with introductions and got the guests excited. The reception was a blast!! The dance floor was packed the entire time, which is exactly what we wanted. We asked guests to add a song request on their RSVP card and the band gave special shout outs to certain guests before playing- such a sweet touch! They also accommodated our "must play" song list between the band and DJ sets. We have received countless compliments about The Blue Daddy’s from our guests and it was by far the BEST decision we made for our wedding.

    Sent on 09/19/2019
  • Tomomi

    Tomomi Emori · Married on 09/01/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    No-frills, all-in-one musician/DJ/MC/sound/AV!

    OVERALL: No-frills musician/DJ/MC. We booked him for live ukulele for the ceremony, DJ/MC for the reception, and all sound/audio/video throughout the event. Exactly what we needed for a family-friendly lunch time wedding. Responsive, professional, accommodating, and easy to work with. He is also the owner of his company, so he is in control of his schedule. Highly recommend him!

    PLANNING PHASE: We were recommended to Gary through a friend who had worked with him for their wedding the year before. Four months before the wedding day, our original plan for live music did not go through, so I felt pressed for time to find a musician/DJ. I gave him a call, explained my situation, and he calmly walked me through all of my options, tailoring as needed based on my budget. He also mentioned that he would be able to do all sound and AV, which was perfect because we were planning for a photo slideshow. His pricing packages are very straightforward, and by the end of the call, I knew exactly what he would be able to provide. We booked him within the day for live ukulele for the ceremony, DJ/MC for the reception, and all sound/audio/video throughout the event. As a follow up, he sent us a sheet to fill out for any specific songs that we wanted, which was very helpful for our planning (e.g. processional song, recessional song, first dance song, father daughter dance song, BGM genre, etc).

    ON OUR WEDDING DAY, Ceremony: Gary had set himself up toward the back of our ceremony. His ukulele blended in so nicely with our set up and the scene, that it felt like it was meant to be there. I say this because some musicians like to hog attention, but Gary made sure to provide the perfect amount of music for enjoyment and BGM, without standing out. This meant a lot!

    ON OUR WEDDING DAY, Reception: Gary deeply understands the flow of a wedding, so we were listening for his voice as a queue for guidance around when to switch gears for the next activity. As you would for any MC, if you have any particular requests around particularly wording, I would let him know beforehand. For example, for the bouquet toss, we wanted him to ask for “unmarried” ladies, rather than “single“ ladies, to come to the dance floor, so we asked him to do that. Also, we didn’t have a dance hour, but I had asked him beforehand to tailor the music to be more upbeat in case people start gathering toward the dance floor, and he did that flawlessly.

    We hope to have the opportunity to work with Gary again in the future!

    Sent on 11/23/2019
  • M

    Mary Roberts · Married on 08/24/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We are forever Thankful to them!

    If you're looking for a great DJ, band or musicians for any event, I ten out of ten recommend About Music Pro. We hired them for our wedding. Gary was great! We worked with him throughout the entire engagement and planning process and he was super accommodating. He always answered our questions right away and brought up things we would have never even thought of.
    We had a guitar and cello for the ceremony and cocktails and the band for the reception. There was a DJ on the band breaks and they were all great. They kept the mood going, incorporated our guests in the entertainment and helped everything run smoothly through out the entire night. We are forever thankful to them!

    Sent on 09/13/2019
  • K

    Kristen Page · Married on 08/17/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We definitely recommend!

    About Music Pro was great to work with! Our wedding dance floor was always full, the songs were upbeat and exactly on theme with what we asked for. They did a great job of mixing R&B, top 40, swing, and classic rock dance hits exactly as we asked. Gary was very responsive, positive, easy to work with and made great suggestions leading up to the wedding. We definitely recommend having Gary Rich and his team for your event!

    Sent on 09/05/2019
  • N

    Nora Bailey · Married on 08/10/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    5 STARS across the board!

    DJ Gary Rich is awesome! He rocked our wedding and did an outstanding job as our DJ/MC. Gary is a true professional and made everything very easy and his overall service is stellar. My husband and I are both very picky when it comes to music. We both wanted Hip-Hop and Top 40 with some Classic Rock, so we asked Gary for a blend of all three, and he definitely delivered! He also did a great job on the grand entrance, and announcing all events during the wedding, such as the cake cutting, first dance, speeches, bouquet toss, and last dance. I would highly recommend him for weddings, or any special event that needs a DJ! With Gary you know you'll be in great hands. 5 STARS across the board! Thank you Gary!

    Sent on 08/29/2019