Skip to main content
Weddings

A Sweet Start Reviews

A Sweet Start View more information

123 Reviews

Rated
5.0
out of 5.0
Recommended by 100% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 5 out of 5

Awards

  • 123
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2022 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2021 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner

44 User photos

  • Sheila
    Sheila P. Getting married on 01/01/2023
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    A Sweet Start

    Maria accommodated us with everything we asked for, and on very short notice!

    A Sweet Start's reply:

    Sheila, you and Greg will always hold a special place in my heart since you got married on a Monday in January, just like my husband and me! xoxo Maria
  • A
    Adam S. Married on 10/15/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Best officiant ever!

    Maria was our officiant for our wedding in October in Bath, ME – we could not have asked for a BETTER officiant. We instantly clicked as she is such a nice person and cares so much about her clients (and we both love cats). Before Maria, we were lost with the direction for our ceremony. But right after meeting with Maria, we knew we were in good hands. We chose the super sweet package, and Maria made the ceremony process SO EASY and stress free – this was much needed and appreciated. She helped us construct the exact ceremony we wanted, and the amount of material to choose from was so helpful. The love story she wrote about us was spectacular. Fast forward to the ceremony, and I can confidently say it was the best part of the wedding. We had SO many guests tell us how amazing the ceremony was, and that it was the best they have ever been to – we have Maria to thank for that. And still months later, friends and family are still bringing up how great the ceremony was.

    I totally recommend choosing Maria as a wedding officiant!! We are SO glad we chose her and decided to go with a professional officiant.

    A Sweet Start's reply:

    Dear Adam, it was 100% meant to be that we got to work together. As you'll remember, your wedding date was the only date left on my 2021 calendar! Your love story was spectacular, but you and Rachel are spectacular. I love you both! xoxo Maria
  • Z
    Zack W. Married on 10/02/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    The best choice!

    Maria was awesome to work with, she put in time to get to know us to customize our ceremony. She offered great tips and suggestions to us as we asked and she made us feel very comfortable not knowing the answers. Maria was always on time to our meetings and made our wedding day great! She was very detail oriented in our rehearsal and made the entire ceremony so much fun! Maria was a great choice and we would not change a thing about the ceremony she designed for us!

    A Sweet Start's reply:

    Hi Zack! Well, you just made my day! Thank you so much for this fabulous review. I think my favorite things you pointed out were how I was on-time for all our meetings and how you felt I made your ceremony fun! We did have a few good chuckles (ahem.."I do!")! xoxo Maria
  • Vicky
    Vicky Married on 09/25/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Incredible!

    If you're trying to decide on a wedding officiant then look no further than Maria. We clicked with her from our first Zoom meeting and are so happy we got to work with her. Wedding planning is daunting to say the least. Because of her, the entire process of creating our perfect ceremony and obtaining our marriage license was a breeze. We appreciate that she took her time to get to know us and our love sorry and the outcome was a ceremony that was so personal and special. In short, she is amazing!

    A Sweet Start's reply:

    My sweet Vicky, thank you for this generous review! Getting to know you and Adam was a joy and, I agree, it's part of what made your ceremony so meaningful, personal and special. I'm glad you feel the same way! All my love, Maria xoxo
  • C
    Clara B. Married on 09/18/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    She helped us stay present and soak in the day!

    Maria was an absolutely pleasure to work with. Things were completely chaotic leading up to the date and we are from out of state. She always had a smile on her face and was patient and worked with us. She helped us get organize and arrange everyone in our small wedding party, and soak up our surroundings, being completely present. I would 100% recommend her and hope to use her for vow renewals in the same place years from now!

    A Sweet Start's reply:

    Oh, sweet Clara, I would LOVE to officiate your vow renewals in the years to come! I have such fond memories of your intimate wedding. I adore your families and felt so honored to be part of such a meaningful moment in your life. Big hugs to Tyler! xoxo Maria
  • D
    David H. Married on 08/28/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Wedding officiant

    I can not express how appreciative I am for Maria's services. She was extremely helpful leading up to and during the ceremony. Plus the ceremony she put together didn't leave a dry eye in the house.

    I felt so comfortable and at ease knowing that her guidance would help us through our wedding. The entire ceremony was so special and fun. I don't think many people can say they actually had fun during their wedding.

    A Sweet Start's reply:

    Oh, Dave, I’m so thrilled to hear you had fun! I believe a ceremony should have balance the gravity of the moment with enough levity to make it a joyful occasion. It sounds like this is exactly how you felt! Yay! Big hugs to Sarah! xoxo Maria
  • C
    Carly M. Married on 08/14/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Maria is the most AMAZING officiant!

    Maria was the most AMAZING officiant we could have asked for at our wedding. From the day we first hired her she was extremely organized and communicative, funny, professional, detail-oriented, and overall so fun and easy to work with. She helped us create a ceremony that was very personal, meaningful, and completely tailored to us as a couple, but also more beautiful, well-written, and creative than we could ever have come up with on our own. And at the rehearsal and the actual ceremony she was super organized, showed us exactly what to do, and made us and our families feel extremely comfortable. We had so many compliments from guests about how wonderful Maria was and how it was one of the best ceremonies they had ever attended, and we had multiple people ask how many years we had been friends with Maria for since she sounded like she knew us so well! We would absolutely recommend Maria to anyone looking for a wedding officiant - she was one of the best wedding decisions we made hands down!

    A Sweet Start's reply:

    Oh my gosh, Carly, let me just say, I think you're the first bride to say that I'm funny, and I LOVE it! I do try to bring humor and good spirit to the proceedings, especially the rehearsal, so I appreciate that you pointed that out. I love that your guests thought we were long time friends, that's the best! Thank you for this wonderful review. Big hugs to you and John! xoxo Maria
  • E
    Erica W. Married on 08/07/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    What dreams are made of!

    Maria was more than we could ever have dreamed of for our officiant! She was a calming presence throughout the whole planning process and really broke everything down into simple to follow steps for us—making even stressful decisions feel like a breeze! We couldn’t have asked for a better, more personal ceremony. She provided us with copious samples, drafts and really worked to perfect it to exactly what we had envisioned. She took our thoughts/ words and put them together in a way that captured our essence to write the sweetest, most custom ceremony ever. 12/10 would recommend Maria! She even helped us plan our amazing honeymoon!

    A Sweet Start's reply:

    Oh, sweet Erica, I love this review so much, thank you! I especially like the feedback about how I broke everything down into manageable parts for you, which helped make the process stress free, that's just what I'm going for! I love you and Dylan, and am so happy I got to be your officiant! xoxo Maria
  • E
    Ed Pearl Married on 07/31/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Wedding officent

    Maria is awesome!!!! She walked us through every step. She was very open to our ideas. She worked with our other vendors, caterer DJ, photographer and wedding venue. The best way to sum her up is that she is unbelievably awesome

    A Sweet Start's reply:

    Dear Ed, woah "unbelievably awesome," I love that! Thank you! I'll cherish the joyful memories of your ceremony forever! How could I ever forget those awesome Hawaiian shirts and leis?! xoxo Maria
  • B
    Brad B. Married on 07/17/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    The best by far!

    Maria was amazing. She worked with us to create the most special day with joy, happiness and love. The ceremony was flawless, stress free and our guest told us it was the best wedding they have ever attended. We love Maria!

    A Sweet Start's reply:

    My dear Brad, "joy, happiness, and love" perfectly describe your wedding weekend! I was, and always will be, honored to have played a part in it. I'm touched your friends said it was the best wedding they ever attended - wowzers! Big hugs to Betsy! xoxo Maria
  • B
    Betsy M. Married on 07/17/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Could not have been happier!

    I don't think the ceremony could have been more meaningful, personal, joyful, perfect. And the unsolicited emails, texts and phone calls I've gotten since the wedding say the same thing. Many have said it's the best they've ever attended including their own. Maria helped guide us from start to finish. She is organized, professional, fun, thoughtful!

    A Sweet Start's reply:

    Aw, Betsy, this review makes my heart swell, thank you! You've used all my favorite adjectives: meaningful, personal, joyful. These are the qualities I strive to bring to every ceremony. I'm agree with your friends: it was the best wedding ever! Thank you for asking me to be part of it. xoxo Maria
  • Christine
    Christine Z. Married on 07/10/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Incredible!

    Any couple is in the best of hands with Maria as their officiant! She is incredibly warm, easy-going, and fun. I knew I wanted to hire her for our wedding very shortly into our initial Zoom call with her. Her positive energy and passion for what she does is so present. My husband and I were really clueless on how the whole marriage license process worked, and she walked us through it step-by-step, making it easy for us to accomplish! I would recommend her Super Sweet Ceremony package. The extra cost is WELL worth it! She described us so well in our wedding ceremony - so much to the point that our guests thought she was either part of the family or a family friend! We also had a chatty wedding party and she kept them all in line and organized during our rehearsal ceremony. Maria is an amazing person and I would recommend her to any couple looking for a personalized ceremony that will have their guests smiling, laughing, and (happily) crying.

    A Sweet Start's reply:

    My dearest Christine, I don't even know where to start, this is one of the best reviews I've ever received! Thank you so much for specifically mentioning the value of the Super Sweet package, I'm glad you felt it was well worth it! I know I've already told you, but being part of your family for the day brought me so much joy! ☺️ Big hugs to you and Dan! xoxo Maria
  • Elizabeth
    Elizabeth S. Married on 07/07/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing Officiant

    Maria is the most organized person I have ever met. We found Maria through word of mouth and we could not be happier with her services. She quickly responded to every question I had. Our ceremony was so personalized and special because of her. If you are getting married do not hesitate reaching out to her. You will be so happy you did.

    A Sweet Start's reply:

    Sweet Liz, I'm so glad our paths crossed and that you trusted me to be your officiant. You and Bob were a joy to work with and I love your intimate ceremony. I appreciate the comment about my organizational skills! ☺️ Big hugs, Maria
  • Victoria
    Victoria A. Married on 06/25/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    The Officiant Your Guests Will Rave About

    We hired Maria more than a year ago for our wedding, and from the beginning we were so impressed with her. When Covid happened we ended up postponing our wedding. However, we did end up getting married in an intimate ceremony with just our family. The following year when we held our vow renewal ceremony and reception Maria was AMAZING at shifting the original ceremony we had planned to a vow renewal ceremony. Not only did we enjoy working with Maria but our friends and family all took time to tell us how great she was. From running the rehearsal to day of, Maria was a hit with not only us but our guests as well. We could not have asked for anyone better. She is fun, personable, professional, and so easy to get along with. She helped ground us and really take in the moment. I have already recommended her to all of my engaged friends!

    A Sweet Start's reply:

    My dearest Tori, thank you, thank you, thank you! I especially appreciate you saying I was "fun, personable, professional, and so easy to get along with" because this is what I strive to be to all my clients. I'm so grateful for your referrals, I'm already excited to work with Gabriella and Dylan next year! xoxo Maria
  • C
    Carolynn T. Married on 06/20/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    The sweetest start to married life!

    Finding the right officiant was the highest priority for my husband and I as we started planning our wedding. Maria was everything we could have wanted and more. A true professional and absolutely wonderful human being. You can rest assured that she has thought of everything and will make sure your wedding day is as stress free and joyful as possible.

    The silver lining to delaying our wedding due to Covid was having extra time to work with and get to know Maria. You know you have a special officiant when you are looking forward to seeing her on your wedding weekend as much as guests you’ve known for years! It felt like we had known her forever. She was compassionate and empathetic when we had to postpone our original date and maintained the same level of enthusiasm throughout our long wait. Maria is incredibly organized and “on top of it”. She was communicative and responsive as we planned our ceremony and vows.

    Maria made our rehearsal an exciting event in and of itself and set the tone for us to truly enjoy the wedding weekend. Her professional, warm, kind and calm personality shown through during the ceremony. It was personal, meaningful and celebratory. We feel so lucky to have had her be a part of our special day and bring our ceremony vision to life.

    A Sweet Start's reply:

    Dearest Carolynn, oh my gosh, this is one of the best reviews I've ever received, thank you! My favorite line of the whole thing is "it felt like we had known her forever." ❤️ That's exactly how I want you to feel: like I'm a trusted friend, not some random stranger. Thank you for sharing you felt that way, the best thing is, I felt it, too! All my love to you and Tim for a beautiful marriage. Let's do a vow renewal in a few years! xoxo Maria
  • K
    Kim S. Married on 06/12/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Maria is a must for your wedding

    Maria is a MUST for your wedding! When we first booked Maria we weren’t passionate about the contents of our ceremony but after one conversation with Maria we were excited to create a beautiful ceremony with her! Throughout our planning, postponing and replanning process Maria was responsive, enthusiastic and supportive. The day of our rehearsal I had lots of nerves from the two year build up to this moment and Maria immediately put me at ease and turned my feelings back to immediate excitement! Maria also made everyone involved feel included in the rehearsal while in a group circle and having all participate. After the rehearsal our family and friends were so impressed with Maria already! Maria conducted our ceremony perfectly and we are so fortunate to have we a part of our day. If you are considering booking Maria, do it now, you will have your dream ceremony and also gain a good friend :)

    A Sweet Start's reply:

    My dearest Kim, what a glowing review, thank you! I remember your nerves at the rehearsal, and I'm so glad I was able to put you at ease. It was a joy being part of your wedding, thank you for trusting me to support you through the process! xoxo Maria
  • Heather
    Heather G. Married on 06/07/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Maria truly made our wedding memorable!!

    Maria was fantastic!! She worked with us personally every step of the way. She wrote a special customized and personal ceremony for me and my (now) husband. She was there to answer any questions we had and guide us through the whole wedding process. Her energizing and bubbly personality fit great with mine and many guests raved about how great Maria was during the ceremony. Maria was so supportive and we really appreciated everything she did for us from the planning process, to the edits, to the rehearsal, to the wedding, and even afterwards. We would 100% recommend her services to anyone we meet! She made our wedding truly special and memorable.

    A Sweet Start's reply:

    Sweet Heather, thank you so much for this awesome review and for trusting me to be your guide through the wedding process! I thoroughly enjoyed working with you and Brett, and it was fun to see how much you and I had in common - definitely the same energy and bubbly personality, like you said! All my love xoxo Maria
  • J
    Janelle N. Married on 06/06/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Review for Maria

    My husband and I were just married by Maria on June 18th, 2020. It was such an amazing experience! We had originally planned to marry in Italy this June and had to cancel due to the pandemic. When we found this elopement package in our home state of Maine we were elated. We didn't want to wait to marry and the package provided everything and more for us to recreate our perfect wedding day. We met Maria on the day of our ceremony and immediately felt comfortable in her presence. She printed out our vows and pasted them on cards so that we could easily read them to each other. She was so flexible with all of the technology we used to Zoom in our families to "give us away" and even offered an additional suggestion for our ceremony called "Handfasting" which we thought was such a sweet touch. She provided us with a copy of our entire ceremony including our personal vows just days later which we'll be able to look back on and re-read for years to come. Her upbeat and comforting attitude really made all the difference for us. We would recommend her services to anyone. Thank you Maria!

    A Sweet Start's reply:

    Dear Mrs. Nichols! It's funny you mention how immediately comfortable you felt with me, I had the exact same feeling with you and Jon! I'm delighted that you liked the Handfasting ceremony, I hope that moment helped you both feel connected and experience the strength of the commitment you had just made. It gives me shivers to think about it! xoxo Maria
  • Melissa
    Melissa C. Married on 05/22/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Maria is Amazing to Work With

    Working with Maria is a dream. From our first Zoom call with her, to the endless chain of emails that we exchanged; she is attentive, kind and professional. Our ceremony was 100% tailored to us as a couple as well as our families and we could not have asked for a better officiant. Everyone in our wedding party loved her and her energy as well as how welcoming she is. She truly wants you to have the best wedding day and makes sure that you do. We cannot recommend Maria enough to anyone looking for an officiant for their wedding ceremony, she is truly amazing!

    A Sweet Start's reply:

    My dearest Melissa, if I were able to rate my clients, you and Dave would get 5 stars! It was such a pleasure meeting you, working with you and being your officiant. Thank you for sharing your experience and letting me know how much your wedding party felt my welcoming energy. 💜 Big hugs! xoxo Maria
  • A
    Ali Married on 03/20/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Best Officiant

    Maria was fantastic to work with! My now husband and I planned a last minute wedding after pivoting a few times due to Covid. Maria set up an initial video chat where we both hit it off with her, provided a detailed list of everything we needed included resources for getting our marriage license and worked seamlessly with our wedding coordinator to keep the ceremony running smoothly. She created a beautiful ceremony that fit us perfectly and had our family in tears. I can't recommend Maria enough!

    A Sweet Start's reply:

    My dear Ali, thank you so much for these kind words! Knowing the ceremony touched your families enough to bring them to tears means so much to me. It was a joy working with you and Ben! xoxo Maria
  • E
    Erin T. Married on 12/08/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Best Wedding Decision we made!

    Hiring Maria to be our officiant was hands down the best decision we made, in regards to vendors for our wedding. After skyping with Maria, we knew instantly that she was the perfect fit. It was like we knew her for years, yet we just met. Her energy radiates to everyone around her, oh and she's really funny! We chose the personalized package and looking back I would make this decision over and over again. It was worth every penny. All of our guests raved about how heartfelt, personal, and emotional our ceremony was. You can really tell that she practices each ceremony too because her pronunciation, tone, pauses, etc. were all spot on. Additionally, the expertise that Maria brings is like no other. She gave us suggestions for where to stop to get "the perfect picture," how to organize our wedding party, how to stand, what to be conscious of, etc.

    I cannot say enough great things about our experience with Maria and would highly recommend her to anyone I know that's getting married and needs an officiant. The ceremony was the most important part of the wedding for us and Maria made it absolutely incredible!

    A Sweet Start's reply:

    My dear Erin, thank you so much for sharing your experience working with me! I'm especially touched by the comment about me practicing the ceremony and how "spot on" you felt my pronunciation, tone and pauses were. I work so hard on this, so to know you recognize it and value it makes me so happy. All my love to you and Trevor! xoxo Maria
  • R
    Rylee E. Married on 09/13/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    A little bit of luck

    Finding Maria was perhaps the luckiest google search I ever performed. Like many hopeful couples, we found our wedding plans complicated by the challenges of 2020. With a honeymoon to Maine still on the books, we thought to ourselves, “Could we elope?” And with less than 6 weeks to go, google introduced us to Maria and we couldn’t be more happier. From the very beginning, we felt we were in good hands. She responded promptly and warmly to my emails and made me feel at ease planning a wedding so far from home. She was organized and friendly, not to mention a wealth of knowledge. We were starting from scratch with our elopement and Maria gave us recommendations that led to both our wedding photographer and florist who we were also incredibly impressed with. Working with Maria felt like we won a contest. The day of the ceremony we didn’t know what to expect, but we trusted her. She arrived with calm energy, light, and joy. I am smiling right now thinking about it. Through a uniquely personal and mindful ceremony, it felt as though she was guiding us into this phase of our lives. She helped us secure the memory of the moment and live it simultaneously. We are brimming with gratitude.

    A Sweet Start's reply:

    Oh my gosh, Rylee, this is the one of best reviews I've ever received! My heart is bursting, and *I'm* brimming with gratitude that you took the time to share your experience working with me. I take the trust you put in me very seriously, and I'm delighted to know you felt my calmness and joy! All my love to you and Michael on this next phase of your lives! xoxo Maria
  • J
    J And Married on 09/09/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Look no further A Sweet Start is where you need to Start!

    Maria from A Sweet Start was just amazing to work with from the moment we reached out to her. She was able to guide us through our Elopement process from the beginning to the day she married us at Pemaquid Lighthouse. Maria is someone you can trust and she will ensure you have everything to anything you need. If you are reading this, don't look any further and giver her a call for an appointment!

    A Sweet Start's reply:

    Sweet K, Thank you for saying I'm someone people can trust. Just like marriage, trust is the foundation of the relationship with your officiant, so it means the world to me you feel this way! Thank you for sharing our thoughts about working with me. All my love to you and J! xoxo Maria
  • S
    Sarah T. Married on 09/05/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Last minute elopement ceremony in Cape Elizabeth

    Maria is amazing! She was so responsive leading up to our very last minute elopement and really helped to give us direction. She was incredibly professional. We are so grateful we had her as our officiant on our special day. Thank you Maria for making our wedding ceremony so special!

    A Sweet Start's reply:

    Sweet Sarah, I agree, your ceremony was so special! I love how much laughter you two shared during the proceedings. Nothing makes me happier than seeing my couples full of joy! Thank you for trusting me to be the person to marry you an Bobby. xoxo Maria
  • Sarah
    Sarah S. Married on 09/01/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Very personalized experience

    Maria took the time to get to know us, to make sure our wedding would be something meaningful to us. We loved getting to know her, and felt completely comfortable putting our wedding day in her hands.

    A Sweet Start's reply:

    Xin chao, Justin and Sarah! Thank you for putting your wedding day in my hands, I'm honored you felt completely comfortable doing that. I loved meeting you two and Calliope, too! xoxo Maria