Skip to main content
Weddings

A Matter of Taste Catering & Event Planning Reviews

A Matter of Taste Catering & Event Planning

A Matter of Taste Catering & Event Planning

Coral Gables, FL
4.1 out of 5 rating, 13 Reviews
View more information

13 Reviews

Rated
4.1
out of 5.0
Recommended by 83% of couples
  • Quality of service
    4.1 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    4 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.1 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.1 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.3 out of 5 rating

Awards

13
  • User2462185 2+ years ago
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Grisel and her team at A matter of Taste did at incredible job at our wedding reception. Everything was spectacular! Thanks to their service, food, coordination, etc our wedding tuned out to be the day of our dreams. Thank you Grisel and team for a superb job!
  • G
    Grace Married on 05/11/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Although the event I am writing about, is not a wedding, it speaks of the professionalism, experience, and absolute ethic this company has. In 2013 I worked at My Father Cigars and the company was celebrating its 10th anniversary. This party was to be held at the company's warehouse, which had no air-conditioning, had a ramp, was big but was simply a warehouse, not a party space. We had about 250 guests, from VIPs, important clients, family, friends, etc and everything needed to be impeccable and exquisite. I emailed, called, and met with a few planners but they didn't really understand the concept, they didn't understand that people needed to be able to smoke cigar (the reason it was being held at the warehouse), and that although we had a healthy budget, we needed someone to help us manage it and put the money where it was best. From the moment Grisel and Pupi walked in, myself and my bosses at the time, knew we had found our match. From the first meeting to every meeting after that, there was full attention to every single detail, with maps to show where everything would be. They listened to everything we needed, wanted, and surpassed all those requests. They piped and draped the place, air conditioned the space, leveled the ramp, and transformed the place to the point that guests who had been there before where asking what part of the building they were in. Their staff, valet, dj, etc were amazing. Their food was delicious, the coffee station was the perfect compliment to the cigars, and the famous palm tree was an absolute hit. Thank you so much to this company, Grisel & Pupi, and their staff for an unforgettable and perfect celebration. I highly recommend them to take care of any of your events!
  • M
    Mara Married on 04/21/2012
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Grisel is amazing! She is so so helpful. The details of our wedding set it apart from other weddings. Everyone was very impressed by their work. I am getting great feedback from all of our guests. The wedding was perfect and everything was more than what i had imagined.
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • S
    Shanna Married on 02/19/2011
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Grisel, her staff, and her vendors were all WONDERFUL! Everyone was so helpful and they listened to us and gave us exactly what we wanted. The price was very fair, especially in comparison to so many other caterers! We got so many compliments on everything from the food, to the flowers, to the music. We could not have been happier with our decision to let Grisel and A Matter of Taste handle such a special day for us! I highly recommend her!!
  • hiswifey081608
    Johanna Married on 08/16/2008
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    If you want to wedding day without any worries...you have to go book A Matter of Taste for ALL your wedding day needs. The food was delicious and the service was superb!!
  • M
    Melissa Married on 12/23/2007
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I have no qualms in recommending Grisel and her team at A Matter of Taste to any future bride and groom. AMT is professional, flexible, and on point. Grisel is excellent at balancing the needs/desires of the engaged couple and making suggestions that will work improve the outcome of the entire wedding. She is very accommodating and is always smiling. She makes sure that every bride gets her dream wedding. Choose AMT. You will not be disappointed.
  • L
    Juliette Married on 07/28/2002
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    They are the best in Miami!!

    They are willing to work with everyone's taste and budgets. They will deliver better service than you ever expect. They are professional, and very experienced in the business.
  • L
    Lizbeth Married on 11/13/2011
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I love them. They are a company that is great at what they do so much that there marketing is through word of mouth or through an actual event encounter. Pricing is negotiable but you pay for what you get. There food (churrasco and lobster bisque) Delicious!
  • D
    Daniela Married on 01/08/2010
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We used A Matter of Taste for our wedding in Miami recently. I met with Grisel twice, once to discuss options and another time to do a tasting.

    A few things worth mentioning are that as the wedding date approached, I emailed twice to confirm payment and to give them our hors d'ouevres selection. I didn't hear back either time but I heard later that their assistant had left so maybe they were backed up on responding to people. Either way, it turned out fine. The other thing is that during the tasting my mother and I expressed that we didn't love one of the original selections, fufu de platano, and would prefer platanitos. (We're Venezuelan, not Cuban). Grisel seemed to think we were nuts at first but later recovered gracefully to say that we could have whatever we wanted. In the end, the platanitos were a total hit. I should also mention that since our head count came under our original projections, they worked with us and provided an extra service that wasn't originally in the contract. They didn't have to do this so we're very grateful.

    Overall, the service was great. Their work at the wedding was perfect as far as I could tell. The food was good and the drinks were stiff. Regardless of the two issues mentioned, I would use them again and recommend them to others.
  • V
    Vanessa Married on 11/13/2010
    4.7 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I hired A Matter of Taste for my November 2010 wedding. My husband and I couldn't have been more happier at the job they did! The food was great, the service was totally professional and all of our guests enjoyed all the hor d'oeuvres served just during the cocktail hour.
    I was not the typical micro-managing type of bride that wanted things her way or no way at all, and while I did make decisions on the color of the linens to be used, the layout and the floral arrangements I was sure to let these people do their jobs and not be too bridezilla because after all, they know more about throwing wedding receptions than I did. The price was good too, not too cheap but not terribly expensive -- that includes the fact that we did have an open bar plus coffee service after dinner.
    Her florists did a great job with the centerpieces, not quite what I had in mind but looked great on the tables. My bouquet was beautiful and I was completely satisfied with the work she did on the boutonnieres and corsages.
    I would recommend this catering company to anyone who wants great service and experienced professionals catering their reception, or any other big party.
  • E
    Stavroula Married on 05/16/2009
    3.7 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      2.5 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    They can provide everything for you in a package, so there's less coordination to worry about. I was very pleased with the look and feel of the decor. However, my family and I did feel that maybe there should have been more food for the money. Overall, I would recommend A Matter of Taste for your wedding or other event, but make sure you are clear about your expectations.
  • V
    Veronica Married on 02/28/2010
    0.5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      0.5 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      0.5 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      0.5 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      0.5 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      0.5 out of 5 rating
    I was married December 11, 2010. My husband and I contracted A Matter of Taste Catering and Event Planning to coordinate our special day. The package was suppose to be 100.00 dollars per person inclusive of 4 course meal, flowers, unlimited premium open bar, linens, cake, ect ect. The disastrous day started prior to the wedding with the lack of professionalism the florist exhibited in refusing to deliver my flowers to the hotel where I was staying. When I called the wedding coordinator to assist me in obtaining my flowers at the hotel, she informed me that what I was requesting: “she does not get involved in” I reminded her that she recommended this florist and that I would not have used her other wise. The wedding Coordinator- Grisel, did not resolve the issue with the florist, my mother did. The florist ended up dropping the flowers off at the hotel after much negotiation with my mother.
    The ceremony was scheduled to start at 5pm. At 4:30 pm while guest were arriving the wedding coordinator and her crew were still setting up. It was chaotic, absolutely no order. No one new where they had to be or stand. Absolutely no coordination what so ever.
    After the ceremony the cocktail hour was suppose to start immediately. My guests were standing around without a drink their hand for about 20 minutes because the wedding coordinators husband refused to open the bar until 5:30 pm on the dot. On top of that he was very rude to my brother in law who was doing me the favor of trying to handle the situation.
    During the ceremony the wedding coordinator approaches my husband and informs him that they have run out of grey goose vodka, which we had specifically requested. He went on to state that there was a “3 bottle limit” on the liquor, while we had purchased a plan that included 5 hour “premium open bar. After getting upset in the middle of my wedding and having to handle this situation with the wedding coordinator and her husband, her husband agreed to provide the vodka. He provided Absolute instead of grey goose, which is not top shelf alcohol.
    Lastly, the valet company that the wedding coordinator hired was incompetent, they parked cars without consent of the building management and 2 of my guest’s cars were towed, resulting in a very embarrassing situation for myself and my husband.
    The wedding coordinators husband apparently tried to rectify the situation by retrieving the cars from the tow company after the fact.
    Most of the vendors that the wedding coordinator recommended and used within her package were not up to par with the level of “excellent services” that they claim to have.
    The wedding coordinator was very nice until the check was handed over paying for the services in advance. She was very nasty to me after that saying that I was being rude by insisting she provide the services that were in the contract. What kind of wedding coordinator insults the bride on her wedding day! She proceeded to act as if she was doing me a favor by actually doing her job!
    My “special day” is over but I write this in the hopes that others will read what a horrible experience I had so that they do not make the same mistake by hiring “ A Matter of Taste Catering and Event Planning”.
  • M
    Marilyn Married on 05/22/2010
    0.3 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      0.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      0.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      0.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      0.5 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    A Matter of Taste Catering in Miami, Florida is nothing like what they "try" to portray! The Owner will promise you the moon and the stars in order to get you to sign a contract! My wedding was at the Deering Estate, so I had both the ceremony and reception at the same location. I arrived with my parents for the ceremony and found them running around!!!! And mind you, I was 30 minutes late! I was beyond FURIOUS!

    After the ceremony, on my way to enter the reception, I noticed that the table that was supposed to be set up with “Kiwi Lemonade” (in glasses), had a bunch of SUNKIST 2 liter BOTTLES on a table with a couple of plastic cups still in the plastic sleeve!!!!! I was HORRIFIED!!!! Did this lady not realize we were at the Deering Estate for a wedding? Not a kid’s pool party????

    I then entered the reception and immediately noticed more things wrong! The table clothes were the WRONG COLOR!!!!! The Flowers were not what i chose! They never brought out dinner rolls, the time-line, which was supposed to be followed and directed by the owner Grisel was all wrong!!!! Once it was time to serve the cake, they did and about 10 minutes later picked them all up and threw them away!!!! Over half of our guests (including my husband and I) never even got to see a piece of wedding cake!!!!

    And finally to top everything off, after our second drink they were out of ALL Top Shelf Liquor! We had specifically paid for Unlimited Top Shelf and even asked the owner Grisel " If my guests want to drink Black Label all night, they can?" Her reply: What ever they want unlimited! My husband and I could not believe it! When my husband asked the bartender for some Johnny Walker Black, the very rude and tacky bartender replied: We only bring two bottles of every different liquor!

    A Matter of taste was the only vendor we never once doubted, and they were the only vendor who truly let us down!!! We would never ever recommend this catering company to anyone!!!! They are a true disaster!!!!