Skip to main content
Weddings

A Gift of Taste Reviews

A Gift of Taste View more information

69 Reviews

Rated
4.7
out of 5.0
Recommended by 93% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 4.7 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4.6 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 4.5 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.7 out of 5

Awards

  • 69
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner

19 User photos

  • Shell
    Shell Married on 09/15/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    What can I say except for A Gift Of Taste made my wedding memorable! I sent my inspiration photo and this cake exceeded my expectations. Everyone was talking about the showstopper ! Add to each bite was worth every calorie
  • Sara Willis
    Sara W. Married on 08/28/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Fantastic!

    Better than I expected!! So happy I had them as my vendor!
  • S
    Shelli Married on 02/23/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Very good at what they do. Great tasting cakes.

    Ready and on time for our tasting. Nice room set up for us to look at their books of decorated cakes. I had my own pictures she was helpful and i will have what I want on our wedding day. Cake ordered and the count down begins.
  • Lillian
    Lillian Married on 09/13/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Customer service and quality is amazing

    They’re very busy but they always make sure you’re getting exactly what you want! And as a plus the cake is to die for!!!
  • Sunshine
    Sunshine Married on 08/29/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Perfect and amazing

    everything about them was amazing and perfect. Our cake was just perfection.
  • Amber
    Amber Married on 02/14/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Fantastic!!

    Cris was extremely easy to work with and made our wedding cake idea come to life! Not to mention everything was DELICIOUS!
  • Claudia
    Claudia F. Married on 12/22/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Delicious and beautiful

    Chris and her team were awesome. My favorite pre-planning event was the cake tasting. They had us pick different combinations which were all delicious. It was hard to choose from all the amazing flavor combinations. The wedding cake (12/22/18) was beautiful and all 3 tiers were DELICIOUS. We received many compliments! I am glad our wedding cake was from here!
  • Daisy
    Daisy Married on 09/27/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Wow! It was amazing

    I was blown away of how beautiful the wedding cake was. The cake was delicious. It wasn’t dry at all and we got so many compliments on it. AGOT did such an incredible job.
  • M
    Marie Married on 09/24/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The cake tastes great! We ordered a 3-tiered cake for our wedding and it turned out beautifully! Not only was the icing beautiful, but the baker was also able to coordinate with our florist to use fresh flowers for decoration as well. This shop offers free tastings, during which you are able to browse pictures of previous cakes and discuss exactly what you want with the baker. They were also able to deliver the cake directly to our venue in Ventura. I would highly recommend their services.
  • S
    Stephanie Married on 05/06/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    A Gift of Taste has amazing cakes. Being an out-of-state bride we were so happy to have a last minute cake tasting to decide flavors. They were all so good it was hard to choose. She filled out a worksheet of what I wanted and I showed her a picture of an ombre cake I loved on Pinterest. That was the only communication we had and she delivered exactly what we wanted. Thank you again for such a perfect cake!
  • S
    Samantha Married on 03/05/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Best cake I've ever tasted! The available flavors were amazing. And they were extremely professional.
  • A
    Ashley Married on 07/23/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Cris made my vision come to life. She was a pleasure to work with- super nice, understanding, great ideas on taste and combinations, and not pushy. My cake was beautiful, perfect, simple, and tasted AMAZING. We had two flavors: chocolate with peanut butter cream filling and vanilla with a champagne filling and raspberry preserves. Everyone was blown away by the flavor and the moistness of the cake. If you're looking for some yummy cake and amazing artistry, then A Gift of Taste is the choice to make!!
  • User2626146 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    My wedding cake was so beautiful and so yummy. Everyone at the wedding kept telling me how yummy the cake was and who had done it. It looked exactly how I wanted my wedding cake to look like. Thanks again
  • R
    Rahul Married on 02/29/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Our cake with A Gift of Taste bakery was included as part of a package with Wedgewood at Sterling Hills.

    Cris was wonderful in helping us choose a cake and filling, which wasn't easy planning an out of state wedding. We went with a chocolate cake with chocolate hazelnut cream filling and it was delicious!

    Where A Gift of Taste really shined though was in the design. We requested a board game themed cake based on a picture I found online, and they made it look amazing. If I can figure out how, I will upload a picture.
  • C
    Cynthia Married on 09/19/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Chose a wedding cake that I had seen on pinterest. And a Gift of Taste really brought my cake to life.. even with all my annoying changes. They were attentive to my expectations. Thank you so much for making my wedding cake vision to life! <3
  • C
    Candice Married on 09/12/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Not only was my cake absolutely gorgeous but it tasted great! A gift of taste is my go to for all cakes because they are moist and delicious and always look amazing. The owner Cris is a true artist and always goes above and beyond. Every family event we get a cake from A gift of taste from my parents wedding to my own and each one is more delicious than the last.
  • User5798253 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    It was my first time going in there I did not know what to expect,my cake tasting appointment was awesome I had to come back 2 days later to reserve the date since they can get super busy I didnt want to stay without a delicious cake I cant wait
  • N
    Nichole Married on 05/31/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We went for our tasting, and they were most professional and very accommodating. They had some amazing cakes on display, and helped us create our perfect design. The flavors were AMAZING, the raspberry lemon chiffon was to die for, the sample pieces were very large generous portions. Now we can't wait for our cake at the wedding!
  • E
    Erin Married on 04/10/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    A Gift of Taste made us the most beautiful and tasty cake for our wedding on April 10! We had so many comments on how delicious the cake was and we kept the top tier for our anniversary next year! They were very professional and communicated with us on every detail of our cake. When we saw it on our wedding day we were completely impressed. I would recommend them highly to anyone in need of a wedding cake in the Ventura area!
  • S
    Suzanne Married on 06/28/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    AGOT was amazing! They gave us everything we wanted and helped us stay in budget! The cakes tasted amazing!!! I would use them again for any celebration!
  • N
    Nadeana Married on 06/08/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Chris at A Gift Of Taste is AMAZING!!! She was extremely helpful in the process of choosing the type of cake we wanted for our wedding. She gave us excellent recommendations in regard to the decorations we chose for our cake. We got exactly what we wanted and got lots of compliments on both the appearance and the taste of our cake.
  • L
    Loryn Married on 05/10/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We decided to have cupcakes which was great because it allowed us to select three delicious flavors. The design was beautiful and the cake was incredible.
  • User2008464 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The Best cake I have ever had, The butter cream was wonderful as well as the service!
  • M
    Merry Married on 03/08/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Chris at "A Gift of Taste" was extremely accommodating. My husband (now) and I had no idea what kind of wedding cake we wanted, we just knew what we didn't want. We tried 3 different types of cake & filling and were amazed at them all. The same day we had taste tests with 3 other Bakery's in the area but none came close. We were adamant on having butter cream frosting which is harder to work with with and doesn't last as long as fondant, but Chris worked miracles with the frosting and I can truly say our wedding cake was The most BEAUTIFUL & DELICIOUS ever made! We had 4 round layers 2 were white cake with lemon zest and lemon chiffon with fresh strawberries & 2 were chocolate cake (with chocolate chips) and chocolate mousse with raspberries!! Most of the guests, we heard later, all went back for at least 1 more piece of cake, if not more! I just want to add that our caterer had outstanding food at the meal & many appetizers so no one was starving, the cake was just that GREAT!
    The cake was decorated exactly how we asked and was stunning!
    We could not have been more happy with "A Gift of Taste"! We recommend this bakery for any special event you have & especially weddings!!
  • User1501980 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We got our wedding cake as part of a package through Wedgewood Event Services, and so expected a mediocre cake. A Gift of Taste surprised us with a delicious cake that was customized exactly how we wanted it, all without charging extra.