A Day at the Beach Reviews

19 | Southport, NC
See photos, pricing and details

19 Reviews for A Day at the Beach

Recommended by 98%

19
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 4.8
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 4.9
Sort by:
  • T

    Thomas · Married on 07/11/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jessica was wonderful throughout the entire planning process and provided us with ideas for our wedding ceremony on Bald Head Island. We had a short window to pull everything off and Jessica hit the ground running. In our case it was a simple beach ceremony but she approached our event as if it was to be viewed my the major television networks! We relied on her knowledge of the Island and local vendors to suggest/arrange transportation, florist, minister, food, champagne and bakery. Jessica handled all this remotely and relied on her network of trusted service providers to execute perfectly. This also provided us with the added benefit of minimizing costs and not exceeding our humble budget.
    We highly recommend "A Day at the Beach"! Thank you forever Jessica.

  • K

    Karen · Married on 05/27/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jessica did a fantastic job both with prep and day-of details. BHI is a perfect place to get married, but can be a little tricky to plan for in terms of island logistics. Jessica identified potential problems in advance and helped our wedding day run right on time!

  • C

    Chris · Married on 04/22/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jessica did a great job of helping us navigate the tricky waters of a BHI wedding. She had many strong vendor recommendations (caterers, photos, etc) that helped to make the process as smooth as possible. Additionally her day of timeline and keeping everyone where then needed to be and when was invaluable.

    All in all we had a picture perfect wedding largely due to A Day at the Beach and Jessica.

  • P

    Powers · Married on 05/28/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I really enjoyed working with Jessica. She was incredibly responsive, organized and a joy to work with. We are so happy with the services that she provided us for our wedding on BHI. We highly recommend her!

  • A

    Angelique · Married on 04/02/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We reached Jessica about 6 months ago for our wedding weekend in April of 2016 on BHI. Choosing Jessica out of a variety of planners was pretty easy, as she was so down-to-earth, and it truly put me at ease to know that she herself had gotten married on the island, giving her a strong familiarity with the way things work there. She was often in touch as we would have regular calls and check in points, and she helped us to stay on track of upcoming events without overwhelming us. We truly couldn’t have done it without her! Jessica knew a variety of vendors to choose from for each element of the wedding. She had great knowledge and good relationships with many vendors on and nearby the island. Only days away from the wedding, I had some last minute scrambling of tasks that inevitably got away from me, including the entire seating chart nametags and arrangements for the reception hall… I was about to take this on myself just 2 days out, but Jessica willingly offered to take this this task off of my plate so I could just focus and pack for our destination wedding. I was sooo thankful and she did such a great job handwriting everyone’s names for seating! Jessica worked closely with vendors and other wedding party members and made sure that everyone was prompt with arriving to the island by ferry, and she took all of the scheduling into her hands so that we never had to worry about tracking anyone down. She was there with us during the rehearsal and walked us through step by step. On our wedding day, she worked hard at keeping people on schedule as well as setting up our table arrangements to make sure that the reception area was just right. Everything was beautiful! Oh, she also helped to arrange a cotail hour before the ceremony & made sure that our musicians were set up to play for it. Our guests had a wonderful time, all night long! The entire evening was lovely, and I will always appreciate Jessica’s patience, motivation, and hard work. We highly recommend Jessica!

  • M

    Mary Elizabeth · Married on 10/10/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My fiancé and I selected Jessica Scully with A Day at the Beach for our weekend of wedding coordinator after reading several rave reviews of her services. We got married on Bald Head Island, and she was helpful during the planning process with any questions we had.

    After 13 months of planning, just two days before the wedding was to take place we found out that several of the guest homes and the home we planned to use for our reception venue was placed under a mandatory evacuation because of heavy rain the previous week. When we got the news, we immediately called Jessica and she helped us begin to create a plan B.

    There were a lot of last minute changes that we were quite uncertain about and adjustments that needed to be made just days before the wedding. After meeting with Jessica once we were on the island, she put our minds at ease about the necessary changes that had to be made and made us feel more comfortable with our decision.

    She went above the call of duty to transport our rentals to and from the new reception venue.

    Her communication with the vendors after the venue change was crucial to pulling off a flawless event, and she handled it in a timely and professional manner. We were absolutely thrilled with the way everything turned out. The wedding turned out beautiful and the guests had a great time!

  • R

    Rhonda · Married on 09/05/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Absolutely wonderful! Jessica made this so easy for us!!!!

  • R

    Rhonda · Married on 09/05/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jessica was so easy to work with and help me to plan a wedding on BHI. I was so impressed with how easy things were. I could not have done it without her!

  • User4819118 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The weekend of package was worth every penny. Because of Jessica our wedding day was seamless and stress free. Jessica handled all logistical matters the weekend of (managing the vendors, setting up and breaking down all decor, keeping guests informed, etc.) which allowed us (and our families) to be completely present in the moment.

    It was extremely valuable having someone like Jessica who knows the island so well. She had great advice, especially when it came to planning logistics and timelines. It also brought us peace of mind knowing she was the vendor point of contact in case any vendor had a question about getting to or around the island the morning of the wedding.

    Overall, Jessica was great to work with! She took so much off our plates and without her, our wedding weekend wouldn't have gone as smoothly!

  • C

    Charlie · Married on 10/04/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jessica was fantastic. Totally responsive to our needs and didn't try and take over.

  • J

    Jacki · Married on 03/09/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jessica was an enormous help. We hired her just 4 months before our wedding and she somehow pulled everything together flawlessly. She is laid back and easy to work with but also detail oriented and extremely organized. I would recommend her highly.

  • C

    Claire · Married on 10/13/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Working with Jessica Scully for our ocean side wedding in North Carolina was an absolutely GREAT experience. We weren't from the area and Jessica was great with suggestions for vendors and working with us when we were in town. It went very smoothly. She was very knowledgeable about the area and who to talk to for those unique touches we wanted for our special day. She responded to calls and emails very quickly and worked well with both my husband and I. Plus, she was just fun to be around so with her personality and the low key vibe we wanted for our wedding, it was a perfect match! I wish I could throw that party over and over again :)

  • V

    Virginia · Married on 10/06/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Bald Head Island is a slightly different by nature and her help navigating the many moving pieces was very helpful.

  • User4902263 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jessica was our "go to" person for a wonderful wedding weekend. She served as a wonderful liaison with staff at all the venues. Her efforts ensured our guests were comfortable and welcomed from the time they stepped off the ferry until they were heading home on Sunday morning!

  • M

    Mary Neill · Married on 05/06/2017

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jessica was such an asset to help our wedding weekend go off without a hitch! Very professional and made me feel very relaxed on the day-of. Would recommend her to any bride planning a Bald Head Island wedding--her expertise, organizational skills, and calming demeanor is exactly what I needed!

  • J

    Jay · Married on 07/30/2017

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jessica was great to work with. She knows everyone and everything about Bald Head - makes it easy to plan any event. She had some great ideas and suggestions on all fronts. We highly recommend her!

  • S

    Susan · Married on 04/09/2011

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Fantastic job! Jessica anticipated our needs and was always a step ahead. Couldn't have done it without her. What a pleasure to work with!!!

  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 05/23/2015

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We really enjoyed all you did Jessica!! I would recommend you to anyone..

    Thanks again!
    Chris and Jennifer

  • J

    jaime · Married on 02/27/2016

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Jessica was extremely helpful leading up to the wedding around coordinating hotels, travel and transportation details for all of my vendors! Everything went smooth and we were very happy!

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review