Marie Tyler Wiley Reviews

88 | Mystic, CT
See photos, pricing and details

88 Reviews for Marie Tyler Wiley

Recommended by 97%

88
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2010 Winner

4.8 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 4.8
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 4.8
  • Average response time 4.8

9 User photos

Marie Tyler Wiley 1
Marie Tyler Wiley 2
Marie Tyler Wiley 3
Marie Tyler Wiley 4
Marie Tyler Wiley 5
Marie Tyler Wiley 6
Marie Tyler Wiley 7
+ 3
Sort by:
  • J

    Jessica · Married on 09/15/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    GLP Wedding

    Marie was a LIFESAVER. I was in panic mode about our wedding seeing we had just moved back home from Chicago, I had started a new job, we were house hunting, and now having to plan wedding in a town I knew nothing about (Groton LP)! So, my now husband found Marie online and we set up a meeting quick quick! As soon as we met her we knew we were going to hit it off! From the very beginning she made the entire process easy and actually enjoyable! She got to know and understand what it was we wanted and made it happen better than I could have imagined. She was also our JP and I don’t think anyone could have done it better- she made us laugh, cry, laugh again and even made us stop to smell the roses- just to ensure we would have a memory of each moment that day. And, on top of all of that, she managed to help us out with renting an amazing house on the point with views of the ocean for days where we were able to host our reception dinner. I would recommend her to anyone looking to plan the wedding they’ve always imagined!

    Marie Tyler Wiley 8
    Marie Tyler Wiley 9
    Marie Tyler Wiley 10
    Marie Tyler Wiley 11
  • N

    Nicole · Married on 08/11/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Seriously hire Marie. She was recommended to me and it was the best recommendation. Such an incredible, fun lady!! Our ceremony was fun and entertaining and so full of love. She had our guests laughing and enjoying themselves and it was just awesome!

  • maria

    maria · Married on 08/05/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wonderful and personable experience

    I can’t say enough about this wonderful woman. From the first time we spoke we just clicked and I knew my wedding was in good hands. I live in NY and had to plan my entire elopement in CT with my fiancé over the phone. Marie was so helpful and not only helped me plan every detail of my out of town wedding, but was happy to recommend other vendors that I needed for flowers, photography and music! Marie kept in close contact with me leading up to my wedding and ensured that every request I had was met to the last detail! Needless to say, our wedding went off as planned and we were so very happy with everything. Marie even called us the day after we were married just to see how we were enjoying our first day as husband and wife and to make sure we were satisfied with the service! I thought this was such a nice touch and attested to the character of Marie - who is someone who truly cares about others and really enjoys making others happy. She is a gem and is an excellent choice when considering who to hire with such an important responsibility!!

  • Heather

    Heather Clark · Married on 08/05/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Very personal and fun!

    Marie made an effort to get to know me and my husband on a personal level. We had a very small (family and close friends only) wedding at a unique location, and wanted to have a ceremony that capitalized on both those things, and she really delivered. Everyone was laughing and smiling and happy, and it was overall a great day. We wrote our own vows, but she provided us with plenty of suggestions and references to help us come up with ideas and to make sure everything went smoothly. We definitely recommend her as an officiant to any couple, especially for a small, intimate wedding.

  • B

    Brian · Married on 03/15/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Marie was perfect! From the very begining, when we contacted her, to the ceremony itself. My husband and I couldn't have asked for a better JP. Marie is funny, prompt, professional and everything a JP should be. If you're looking for the perfect JP, you'll find it in Marie. Thank you Marie for being the BEST!

  • L

    LISA · Married on 03/03/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband had heard good things about Marie Tyler Wiley, and was able to get her to marry us in our own home! A few weeks before the wedding, she emailed both of us a questionnaire to fill out so she could get to know us. Then, she sent us the draft of the ceremony and asked for our feedback (I only changed one minor thing, because she really has us nailed, it was great!). It was a simple ceremony, and she did a wonderful job making sure my wishes were met to have a moment to honor my mother and my husband's father (both deceased). She made us laugh and cry during the vows, and even stayed for some pictures at the end. I would recommend her if anyone needs a JP or officiate.

  • M

    Matt · Married on 10/21/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Marie, Marie, Marie...where do I begin? Marie is amazing at what she does. She has an infectious passion for life and her couples, demonstrated by the time and quality she puts into getting to know the couple and working with them to make the perfect ceremony. I met Marie in 2010 and we worked together for a year before my first wedding in 2011. The day of she was brilliant and made a perfect day. However, the marriage didn't last. The great thing has been that we have stayed in touch on Facebook all these years. When I got enagaged this year, I called her and explained what a challenging time we were having trying to find someone local in Texas...but she offered to come down to Texas and officiate our wedding! After we booked the travel and got everything squared away, Marie and I worked together to create the perfect ceremony. Flash forward to the week of our wedding, Marie was here for our rehearsal and took charge and made sure everything was smooth for the big day. My family loved meeting her and spending time with her. Marie was so warm and great, sharing stories and laughs with our family and having a ball in Texas. On the day of our wedding, Marie delivered an absolutely beautiful ceremony. It was perfect, everything we wanted and discussed...she was loud enough that everyone could hear her (she insisted she didn't need a mic and she was right lol). She was great at making eye contact with us and our guests, so warm, delivered with care and passion. This is what she lives for. Marie deserves every stellar review she receives as she loves what she does and takes pride in knowing her couples and making everything a great time. From the bottom of our hearts, thank you, Marie, for coming down to Texas and helping make our day perfect. We love you and will be eternally grateful!

    Marie Tyler Wiley 12
    Marie Tyler Wiley 13
    Marie Tyler Wiley 14
    Marie Tyler Wiley 15
  • S

    Shannon · Married on 09/16/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Marie was a true blessing not only on the day of our wedding but also throughout the entire process! She checked in on us frequently to see if we needed any assistance and was a blast to talk to! Her energy is contagious and we could not recommend her more! She is simply amazing! We gained a friend when we met Marie!

    Marie Tyler Wiley 16
  • S

    Samantha · Married on 09/08/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I can't say enough positive things about Marie! She's sassy, funny, and in-tune to our needs. She has been pleasant to work with and super helpful. She's very personable and knowledgable and willing to take charge as necessary.

  • R

    Renee · Married on 07/22/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Marie was a wonder justice of the peace, we could not have picked a better person to marry us! She was so funny and personable, she made our rehearsal and wedding day a great time. She was very responsive, but not pushy and was always available for recommendations or changes. I highly recommend her, she is the best!

  • M

    Mary · Married on 07/03/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Marie Tyler Wiley is a unique, bright, funny, kind, tolerant, warm, loving, and all-around wonderful human being -- AND an even better Justice of the Peace! Given just a week's notice, Marie rearranged her holiday schedule to marry my husband and me at Foxwoods Resort Casino in Connecticut this past summer! In addition to marrying us, she also provided us with the names of wonderful local photographers, musicians, and restaurants that might've been able to accommodate our needs. Marie is a wealth of information and will provide you will long lists of vendors in every planning area you might need, as well as ceremony ideas that might add to your special day ("Unity Candle Ceremony," anyone?). We especially enjoyed her style - humorous yet touching - as it meshed very well with our personalities and families! Marie is able to adapt to any number of wedding styles and will fit in comfortably with people wherever she goes. She also comes very well-prepared for your "big day" - she "interviewed" my husband and me separately about our romantic history, favorite memories, and thoughts on a long-lasting marriage, then shared them during the ceremony! We loved her as a Justice of the Peace, we love her as a person, and we believe you will too! If you are looking for someone who fills both the role of traditionalist and free-spirit, Marie Tyler Wiley is just the person to marry you!

  • K

    Krista · Married on 06/24/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Good morning Marie!
    I wanted to take a moment to thank you for the truly wonderful job you did marrying us on October 8, 2017. We adored our ceremony and have received numerous compliments on how sweet and funny you were. The personal touches that you take the effort to add truly make it unique rather than the same old ceremony everyone has seen and heard and we are so grateful! You made us laugh (and tear up) and truly made it a beautiful experience that we will remember always.

  • T

    Tara · Married on 06/20/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Marie made us feel so happy and welcome. She made my intimate wedding ceremony exactly as I hoped it would be and more! I would highly recommend her. She knows the ins and outs of everything and even helps plan some of your details! I really enjoyed having her be a part of our wedding day...she's the best in town.(:

  • S

    Samantha · Married on 05/27/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Marie was so helpful and easy to work with throughout the entire planning process. Every interaction was amazing and she made my wedding day perfect because she was prepared and knew what she was doing. I am so happy I chose her for our big day. You won't regret it! Plus, she's super fun and makes any event a party!

  • S

    Sandy · Married on 11/27/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Marie was the JP for our wedding on 11/27/16. She did a great job! She is very easy to reach and very dependable. She also has a great sense of humor. I would definitely recommend using Marie.

  • C

    Corey · Married on 09/10/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Marie was AMAZING, plain and simple. She was easy to work with from the beginning to the end. From the time of our first meeting we felt so comfortable working with Marie and we knew from that moment she was the perfect fit for us. Marie was always available to talk and quick to respond to emails and/or texts. The day of our rehearsal she provided thorough instructions to all members of the bridal party and to my husband and I regarding how the ceremony was going to be conducted. When we left that evening we were extremely comfortable knowing the ceremony was going to be absolutely fabulous, which it was! The ceremony was not a textbook, cookie cutter wedding. Marie developed example ceremonies for us to review, reorganize and modify to our liking in order to create the perfect ceremony for ourselves. The ceremony was a great combination of traditional and fun which kept all guests completely engaged. Marie took the time to get to know us and developed the ceremony to fit our personalities flawlessly. All guest were extremely pleased with the ceremony and I received numerous comments on how the ceremony was a true representation of my husband and I. We couldn't have asked for a better person to marry us.

    Sent on 10/18/2016

    Marie Tyler Wiley's reply:

    OMG Erin & Corey...thank you. Thank you sooo very much. I read this and am so grateful that I met U2. I just love you guys!!! :) Next time you're in town...give a shout so we can go out and have some laughs. xxx :) And thank you again. It was my honor!!! :)
  • R

    Rebecca · Married on 08/06/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    5 STARS! Marie Tyler Wiley is the best officiant and wedding planner you could ever ask for! I highly recommend her to anyone getting married in Connecticut. As an officiant, Marie is knowledgeable, organized, and creative. Our wedding ceremony ran smoothly and we felt completely comfortable on our wedding day because of her wealth of experience. She also performed a beautiful wedding ceremony, called “Wedding by the Sea”, which complimented our venue and theme perfectly (our ceremony was held outdoors, alongside the Mystic River, and we selected a nautical theme). Marie is also personable, caring, and incredibly funny – her personality and humor could light up a room! My husband and I both agree she made our wedding ceremony more memorable because she simply is the type of person you could meet once and never forget. Marie is a great wedding planner because she knows everyone in town, and everyone loves her because she has the biggest heart! I planned my ceremony while living in another state (Atlanta, Georgia), but I never worried about selecting vendors because Marie knows all the best talent in town. She was also very diligent about keeping us on track with our wedding budget, and maintained a perfect balance between making choices which were economical without sacrificing quality. Marie really went above and beyond to make sure my husband and I felt comfortable during the planning process, and enjoyed our overall wedding experience. When I was living in Atlanta, I didn’t have close friends or family nearby to help me shop for a wedding dress (we had recently moved from Virginia), so Marie arranged for one of her good friends who lived in the area to help me find a dress. Additionally, the day before my husband and I got married, Marie even met with us to go swimming so we could relax and de-stress before we tied the knot. My husband & I really appreciated Marie b/c we were able to go through the wedding planning process knowing we were in good hands.

  • S

    S · Married on 08/03/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Marie made it so much fun to renew our vows.
    It's was our 20th anniversary and we wanted it really casual but also special and fun. Marie made sure it was exactly that.

  • Kelly Aaron

    Kelly Aaron · Married on 07/23/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Stop looking for an officiant, Marie is it!! We highly recommend Marie for your event! We worked with her and we were just thrilled in how our ceremony was planned and executed. The day was absolutely as we envisioned thanks to all of the preparation, knowledge, and experience Marie has. She personalized our ceremony and made it one-of-a-kind for us. She ran the dress rehearsal and ceremony wonderfully. We felt at ease the entire process. Thank you so very much for all your creativity and professionalism! Many thanks, Marie!! Someone we can call a life-long friend!!

    Sent on 08/08/2016

    Marie Tyler Wiley's reply:

    OMG...you totally made me cry! :) Thank you guys. I loved working with you and meeting all of your great friends and family. And I thought your ceremony went off without a hitch! :) And you Kelly...looked coo coo awesome. I was sooo smart to make the deal with all the groomsmen that I did :) Now I just need to collect! :)~ Next time U2 are in town...definitely give me a call and we'll go out in my boat or meet up for some fun. xxx :) M
  • H

    Heather · Married on 05/29/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Marie Tyler Wiley gave us a personalized thoughtful ceremony that will be remembered with love for a long time. We appreciated her ability to make our service meaningful both to us and our family and friends. She gave us the space we needed in the beginning and sent helpful reminders all through the planning. Marie was able to make suggestions on other vendors we were looking for, and the whole time kept it professional. We both recommend her to anyone looking to make their ceremony lively and fun! We loved every minute!

  • C

    Carolyn · Married on 09/06/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Marie is THE BEST! If, like my husband and I, you are not religious or have mixed backgrounds but want someone who will put her heart into your ceremony, as if you were a longtime clergy member or even a friend, she is the one to choose.

    Marie takes her job very very seriously and truly wants to give you the best ceremony possible. And not the ceremony SHE thinks is the best, the one that is best for YOU. To achieve this she has you answer a questionnaire about yourself, your family, your wedding and of course your relationship. She will also meet (and in our case, Skype), with you whenever needed to work out the details. And she's very responsive on e-mail. She really wants to get to know you, and it shows.

    Finally, Marie is hilarious. She will deliver a heartfelt and sweet ceremony, but will also keep your guests laughing. She entertains the crowd, and she loves doing it, because she loves people.

    In my case, we had a mixed ceremony where we included two Jewish traditions, since my husband is Israeli. When we told Marie we wanted to have his dad step up and read the Seven Blessings - a Jewish tradition - in Hebrew, and for her to translate to English, she was game. In fact, anything we suggested she was up for!

    In terms of her process, Marie draws upon the questionnaire and any meetings or calls to write up three different ceremonies personalized for you, then works with you to reconfigure to meet your preferences. For us the result was just perfect: we were very happy, and we received many many compliments from our guests.

    So if you want someone who really cares about YOUR wedding, loves her job, entertains your guests and will also keep you calm (I had a meltdown before the ceremony because I got nervous being in front of so many people in that big dress) - it's a no brainer. Pick Marie.

    For pics of the ceremony scroll down this blog post by our photog (also a fantastic vendor): http://noeyehasseen.com/blog/carolyn-yanivs-inn-at-mystic-wedding/

  • L

    Lynn · Married on 08/08/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Marie is the Best!! She did my sisters wedding four years earlier and I just had to have her at my wedding..
    She's outgoing, friendly, caring, and absolutely loves her job..
    She made the ceremony fun and relaxing.. I couldn't have asked for anyone else!!
    I would highly recommend her to be your officiant..

  • J

    Jose · Married on 07/25/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Marie was a pleasure to work with. She made everything easy and comfortable. Would definately recommend her.

  • C

    Cara · Married on 11/15/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had the best experience working with Marie! From the first time we spoke on the phone, she was so friendly and outgoing – we instantly felt at ease. We really loved her process and how involved we were in the creation of our ceremony – she can really accommodate anything and we were thrilled with how everything turned out. Our ceremony was absolutely perfect, and so many of our guests said it was one of the most heartfelt ceremonies they had ever attended. At the rehearsal and on the day of she did an amazing job of not only coordinating but keeping everyone laughing and smiling. Marie was such a joy to work with and we couldn’t have asked for a more perfect ceremony. We can’t recommend her enough!

  • B

    Beth · Married on 09/21/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Marie was so happy and upbeat from the moment we met her to the last good bye at our wedding. When we had asked for vendors that we needed in a short time she immediately got back to us with fabulous recommendations. Each time we contacted her she took the time to answer all of our questions. On our wedding day she made everyone feel at ease and she made it very personal and family oriented. She is a smart funny lady who deserves to win anything that comes along! Anyone that can make you laugh on one of the most stressful days certainly deserves a gold medal too! Thank you Marie!

    Sent on 12/14/2014

    Marie Tyler Wiley's reply:

    OMG...I just saw this...and it was on my birthday. Thank you Beth. This made me burst our crying. :P. You know me..."issues" :P. I really do love my couples and love my job. Actually...it's not a job...it's an experience! :) Thanks so much. xxx :) Marie

    ps. PICTURESSSSSS PLEASE :P

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review