74 Events Reviews

810 | Brooklyn, NY
See photos, pricing and details

810 Reviews for 74 Events

Recommended by 100%

810
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2010 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0
810 74 Events Reviews
Sort by:
  • A

    Aron Loveland · Married on 11/10/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Smooth and Perfect!

    Gary and Dan did such an amazing job for us! Everything was put together professionally and made it easy when the big day came. After our first meeting we knew we made the right decision with these guys. We truly couldn't have asked for a more efficient crew. Dan did such a killer job! So thank you fellas and we HIGHLY recommend 74 Events.

  • Bethany

    Bethany P · Married on 11/09/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We love Miles!

    As a planner, I've worked with Gary/74 Events for my wedding clients for over 8 years, so when it came to planning our elopement-versary party, there was no doubt on who we should go to. Our party was just that - a party, so it was extra important that the DJ really be able to keep things moving for a long stretch of time. Gary suggested Miles to us, and he got our vibe right away. We wanted a healthy mix of Talking Heads, Tom Tom Club, The Cure, New Order, etc.. stuff you would hear on a normal night out with friends, mixed in with some legends like Whitney and Prince. DJ Miles killlllled it. He's super chill and effortlessly put on the most epic dance party. The friends loved it, the parents loved it, WE loved it. We also loved Miles for his small collection of percussion that he subtly kept at his booth to play when the song called for it. One of the highlights, possibly of my life, was getting to bang a wood block while everyone I loved danced to Rock Lobster. Hire this dude!

  • K

    Karen · Married on 11/09/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing DJ!

    74 Events and Dan Arlein were amazing! From the very beginning, Gary was an absolute pleasure to work with and provided constant support throughout the process in helping us navigate a challenging set of logistics. And Dan did an incredible job DJ-ing our wedding. He took our suggestions and improved upon them to create an incredible playlist that had our guests dancing all night and raving about the music afterwards. Would highly recommend both 74 Events and Dan!

  • Jessica

    Jessica · Married on 11/03/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    An amazing DJ!

    We worked with James Arnold and he was incredible! He did such a fantastic job blending different styles of music so that everyone was happy (young and old), and he kept the dance floor going all night long. He didn't even take a break all night! He did a great job at MC'ing and paced the night extremely well. The preparation appointments went very smoothly and Gary and James are both seasoned professionals.

  • Danielle

    Danielle · Married on 11/03/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    All-star DJ for Wedding

    74 Events and DJ Con specifically were the absolute best to work with for our 11.3.18 wedding in Jersey City, NJ. Leading up to our big day, we met with Gary & Con to go over every detail and properly plan out our plan of action. We can’t recommend these guys enough. We never realized the importance of certain details, like when the best time to do the parent dances is, until we sat down and chatted about it with Gary & Con.

    You’re not just getting a wedding DJ with 74 Events, you’re getting a personalized consultant whose goal is to make your day everything you want it to be. We had a pretty good idea of how we wanted our music selection laid out and 74 Events really executed everything perfectly. They exceeded our expectations of how our wedding was going to go. Multiple wedding guests came up to us to comment on DJ Con and how awesome he was during the night.

    If you’re considering booking 74 Events - DON’T WAIT - they’re 100% worth it. Highly, highly recommend them.

  • J

    Julie Feldman · Married on 11/03/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Nailed it!

    Gary and Ben made the magic happen! When we met with them my only request was that I wanted an EPIC dance party. And Ben brought it! At any given point the dance floor was packed. He read the room, the music was on point, and people were LOVING it!
    Not only did Ben deliver the goods, but working with him and Gary in creating the vibe was a seamless, well-coordinated, stress-free experience. They were a professional powerhouse. They asked all the right questions, listened to our needs, kept us moving forward and on track (which was super helpful in the midst of all the crazy wedding planning) and were flexible with all last minute changes and requests.
    We were so thankful for their hard work, attention, and dedication! We could not have been happier and could not recommend them more highly.
    Coordinating a wedding can be super stressful, but working with these guys took all the pressure off the musical part. They were rockstars!

  • I

    Ilya · Married on 10/14/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Excellent DJ service, taste and professionalism

    74Events and our DJ, Con, made us feel completely taken care of, knowing that the dance floor was one of our top priorities for the wedding. We danced all night and the music helped bring friends and family together for the biggest day of our lives.

  • P

    P · Married on 10/13/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Review for Gary Hoffman & Dan Arlien

    Gary & Dan are absolutely amazing!!!!! Gary is attentive and was excellent during the planning process for the big day. And Dan - oh boy, did Dan deliver!!!!! Dan is one heck of a DJ! He read the room, he turned up the tracks and got the people dancing. It was objectively the best dance party we’ve ever been to, and we’re STILL getting compliments about the music! If you want to have a good time - you gotta hire Gary and Dan!!!

  • R

    Rosanna · Married on 10/13/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great experience - absolutely recommend

    Gary and Dan from 74 events did an absolutely wonderful job with my recent wedding. Their attention to detail and interest in our music tastes really stood out and made me much more comfortable leading up to the big day. Dan did an incredible job DJ'ing our wedding and kicked out the perfect tunes to accompany our dance floor party. Thanks again for everything Dan and Gary!

  • Emily

    Emily and Zach Zirlin · Married on 10/13/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rob Kelley - best DJ ever and the MVP of our wedding, for sure.

    We the amazing good fortune of working with Gary Hoffman at 74Events, who hooked us up with the Rob Kelley to DJ our wedding this past October in the Catskills. The process was a total pleasure, and we are honored to recommend him to other couples looking to host a nonstop dance party. Wedding planning can be so stressful, and we felt completely confident in our entertainment team. Gary at 74Events was completely on the ball in terms of communication and getting everything organized pre-wedding, and DJ Rob was our very favorite vendor - reliable, responsive, professional, and so incredibly knowledgeable about music, almost as if it’s like wired into his brain. And if we did it all over again, the only reason we wouldn’t have Rob DJ our wedding would be so that we could invite him as a guest. Beyond being killer at his job, he’s an incredibly easy to be around, sweet, and undeniably-cool human being.

    At our first meeting with Gary and Rob, we came equipped with a Spotify playlist of every song we thought we wanted played at our wedding. Rob scrolled through it at the table in front of us, and within seconds, was nodding along with our chatter and totally picking up on our vibe. What impressed us most was that he knew immediately which tracks would get a crowd going, which made us feel good about our taste in music, but he was also comfortable pointing out the songs that, despite being favorites of ours, just don’t work on a dance floor. Before the end of the meeting, we went from being control freaks to telling him to play whatever he wanted - we just completely trusted that he knew what he was doing. So for those of you who think you want to hand your DJ a playlist, if you’re lucky enough to have Rob, we’d genuinely encourage you not to. He is masterful at reading a couple (and a room of 150 strangers) and working a crowd. So many of the songs played at our wedding we hadn’t thought about in years, but the second they came on, it was like Rob had ducked into our memories and pulled out our favorites from childhood, high school and college. We really wanted a high energy, throwback, cannot-leave-the-dance-floor-because-every-song-is-too-freakin-good, party and that’s exactly what we had.

    We also want to mention the situation Rob walked into the day of our wedding, which was a reception in an unheated barn on a rainy October day with temperatures in the 30s (when just two days prior, the sun was beaming down a perfect 75 degree day). Our guests were, for the most part, good sports, but they wandered out of the heated dinner tent and into the freezing barn with winter coats on and very clear apprehension about how this was going to work. We will always remember Rob saying into the mic (himself cloaked in a fleece blanket) “We’re going to heat this barn up, people!” And oh my god… people danced the ENTIRE TIME, some in their winter coats and scarves, and others having so much fun that they completely forgot it was cold in the first place. Even our parents’ friends and older relatives danced the whole night - yet we never felt that Rob was playing to a particular group of guests or trying to work songs in to keep the older guests engaged. Every single song hit the full crowd perfectly, and we have to say again that had Rob stuck to the list of songs that we had made on our couch, and not followed his own amazing instincts, our wedding wouldn’t have been nearly as awesome.

    It’s been three weeks since our wedding, and every single friend who has reached out to tell us how much fun they had has specifically mentioned Rob. They loved the music, but even more than that, they were wildly impressed by the energy and spirit and warmth of the party overall, when the weather really could have sucked so much out of it. And while we like to think we just have really cool friends and relatives, the credit undeniably belongs to Rob. We remember looking over at him a few times throughout the night, and he wasn’t just sitting at the table pushing buttons. He was truly looking around the room, reading the guests faces, and working so, so hard to bring us all a good time.

    Rob is the best. So awesome, in fact, that we are trying to figure out if we can revive our 20-something selves and start going out again, JUST so we can hear Rob DJ.

    Hire him. (And then invite us to your wedding.)

  • M

    Miche · Married on 10/08/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The DJing was just perfect. Gary and James were highly attentive to my multiple music requests and we discussed our taste in music at length. They also helped me avoid a few faux pas in regards to musical curation. Our guests really appreciated the transitions and music selections, and we had a smashing time on the dance floor! We would love to work with you again perhaps for next year's summer party. Thank you for such a perfect attention to the music.

  • J

    Jake · Married on 10/06/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The entire process was seamless from start to finish. Gary and our DJ (Eric) were incredibly accommodating and did everything to ensure the wedding and the days leading up to it were as stress free as possible. The music selection was on point and was the perfect combination of requests and artistic license. Numerous people said it was the best dance party ever and that the DJ was incredible. Highly recommend.

  • M

    Mitch · Married on 09/29/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Gary and 74 Events did an incredible job coordinating and working with us to plan the evening, and DJ Donwill absolutely crushed the party! The whole process was effortless for us, and their thoughtfulness and expertise helped us shape the perfect event. Thank you to Gary and Donwill!!

  • K

    Katherine · Married on 09/29/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Gary and James are Amazing!!! I can't thank them enough for how easy they made everything. From the moment we spoke and meet with both Gary and James my husband and I felt we were in great hands. We had a day wedding and were nervous our guest wouldn't get up and dance. But James had everyone dancing from the start! That is a true testimenet to what kind of DJ James is. Gary was always there if we had any questions or concerns. Thank you 74 Events!!

  • R

    Rachel · Married on 09/29/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Best wedding DJ!

    One of the best decisions we made in wedding planning was to hire 74 Events/Con Ptohos as our DJ. Gary and Con were incredible to work with. From the start, there was no cheesy sell or pressure to book them that minute. They really listened to us and what we needed and made recommendations based on experience. The worksheet prep and final meeting with Gary and Con was so helpful and made all the difference in a seamless event. Con did the music for our ceremony (and helped my sister and brother-in-law feel at ease to officiate), our cocktail hour and our reception, including seamlessly integrating Israeli music throughout the evening and putting on an amazing dance party. He is so skilled at song selection and mixing and our guests were on the dance floor all night long. Con also worked really well with us and our venue coordinator and day-of coordinator to manage the flow of the evening. We heard nothing but rave reviews from friends and family that our DJ was awesome, and we were so lucky to have Con create the soundtrack of the happiest day of our lives.

  • J

    Jennie B · Married on 09/29/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Highly Recommend 74 Events for your Next Event

    Gary and Sean really delivered. They were both incredibly kind, professional, and genuinely interested in curating an evening that suited us as individuals while also keeping a crowd of family and friends entertained. I received compliments the days following our wedding from guests who loved the song selection and mentioned picks that weren't even on our original playlist. Sean has an incredible way of reading the crowd and creating a dancefloor experience that was genuine, fun, and original. I would without hesitation call Gary again for planning my next event!

  • Jenny

    Jenny · Married on 09/29/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Superb experience all around!

    Gary, 74 Events, and DJ Eric Lum delivered big time for us! From the very early stages, we were impressed with Gary's organization and professionalism. Gary and Eric took the time to get to know exactly what we were looking for musically on our wedding day, and through the planning phase, they accommodated our every request and gave us some key suggestions about the reception's program and overall flow.

    We also found out that Gary is incredibly experienced and well-connected in the NYC wedding world, which made coordination with our coordinator and vendors especially smooth. As for the day of, Eric put on a fantastic set for us — song selection was on point and the energy on the dance floor was high all night. We had an amazing experience overall and would recommend Gary and Eric to anyone!

  • J

    Janine · Married on 09/22/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Working with Gary at 74 Events was so easy, wedding planning can be stressful and he made it one less thing for us to worry about. From the beginning, Gary was so professional and organized, we felt like we were in great hands. Dan Arlein was the DJ assigned to us and I cannot begin to tell you how awesome he was! We couldn't find much about him in reviews before, so we were trusting that it worked out and believe me, it did. We had some last minute changes that he was on top of without any issue, he played all of our "must have" songs and kept the dance floor crowded the entire night, we even had people dancing through dinner b/c the music was so good! Most importantly, Dan knew how to read the room and he kept the energy up; which was exactly what we were looking for. Our friends and family keep telling us how awesome the music was at our wedding. We couldn't be happier working with Gary & Dan, you will not be disappointed if you book with them!

  • Megan

    Megan Castro · Married on 09/22/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Hire 74 Events

    We would hire 74 Events again in a heartbeat. The minute we first spoke to Gary and Ben we knew we liked them, they were so accommodating, attentive and super easy to work with. At any wedding we feel like its important to have a good DJ and Ben did not disappoint, he was AMAZING. He took our suggestions and added a great number of songs that kept all of our guests out on the dance floor. In all the craziness that happens during a wedding Ben kept us up to date and on a schedule so we didn't miss a beat. If you want an amazing DJ experience do yourself a favor and hire 74 Events!! - Alexander and Megan

  • M

    Mark · Married on 09/15/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jim Dier (DJ Small Change) was incredible. He was very professional and catered extremely well to our wedding crowd. We had a very mixed crowd of Latino and Caucasian wedding guests and Jim managed to find songs that everyone liked and kept people on the dance floor.
    Jim even came to our afterparty and played pool with the groomsmen's father who had nothing but great things to say the next day.
    We highly recommend Jim. He's professional, keeps a low-profile, and just does an overall fantastic job.

  • G

    Gwan · Married on 09/15/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had a nightmare of a situation with another wedding DJ service we had hired a year and a half in advance that informed us our selected DJ wasn't able to make it and had replaced him with someone else that we weren't thrilled with. Needless to say we weren't happy and wanted to find another DJ company but only had one week before our wedding but thanks to our amazing wedding planners, Two Kindred Events, they put us in touch with Gary at 74 Events who was AMAZING.... he was so considerate and understanding of our situation and connected us to DJ Preston who was exactly the kind of DJ we had hoped to hire from the beginning. We had our discover call with both Gary and Preston one week before our wedding (something the other company never did in over a year and half) to review our songs, DJ Preston asked us some great questions and gave us some feedback on song order.

    On the day DJ Preston showed up early and had such a positive energy it put us as ease instantly. He was an incredible MC throughout the day and also nailed some co-ordination we had planned with a few different performers we had at our wedding. He played all the music we wanted and the dance floor was never empty throughout the night.

    I honestly can't say enough about Gary and DJ Preston, the music was one of the most important aspects of our wedding that was looking to be a complete disaster until these guys saved the day!

  • C

    Christin · Married on 09/15/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We hired 74 Events for our wedding this past month and we were so happy with everything! Gary is extremely responsive and easy to work with - you can tell he really loves what he does! Our DJ, Mikey was awesome - he totally understood the vibe we were going for and seemed to have fun while doing so! Many of our guests were raving about how great he was and a few of mentioned they'd want to hire him for their wedding. 5 star service from Gary and Mikey all the way :-)

  • M

    Meghavaty · Married on 09/14/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    For our wedding in Oct Gary paired us with James because we had asked for someone who had experience DJ'ing for an American/Indian wedding. Everything about our wedding was a light fusion of American and Indian customs and we wanted the music to reflect that as well. James did an incredible job. He was intuitive and played the perfect set. Everyone had a great time dancing and kept going till the very last song. James was able to play the right Bollywood numbers and mixed in a great mix of western music. We even had guests tell us they loved the music James played. We absolutely loved having him DJ our wedding.

    It was also easy coordinating with Gary and he kept all the meetings before the wedding on track and that was a huge help. We'd definitely recommend 74 events.

  • J

    Jaime · Married on 09/08/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Not only was DJ Lum (Eric) was an amazing DJ, he handled the whole event including narrating a cultural ceremony and played the wedding ceremony music for us. We had a mixture of older and younger guests at the wedding and he was able to keep everyone on the dance floor the whole night! We couldn't have asked for a better DJ for our wedding :)

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review