74 Events Reviews

1,000 | Brooklyn, NY
See photos, pricing and details

1,000 Reviews for 74 Events

Recommended by 100% of couples

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0

Awards

1000

64 User photos

Sort by:
  • Kelly

    Kelly T. · Married on 07/17/2021

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Loved working with 74 Events!

    We worked with Gary at 74 Events and he helped us choose the right DJ for our wedding - Aaron. My husband and I spent a lot of time deciding on the music for our wedding, because music has always been an important part of our lives. Gary and Aaron made us feel confident going into the wedding that our opinions would be respected, but also that we would be able to trust Gary and Aaron to make professional decisions. On the wedding day, we received all of that and more. Aaron was on time, set everything up without questions, and played amazing music that kept the dance floor lively. We loved what he played, and so did a variety of age groups. Even my mom's friend (woman in her 60's) was asking for Aaron's information for future events! My husband and I had a unique wedding without a lot of traditional moments, and we felt supported by Gary and Aaron that they would be able to help us keep structure during the event through dancing. We are so happy we hired Aaron for our event and would recommend 74 Events to anyone!

    Sent on 07/21/2021
  • C

    Carrie · Married on 07/10/2021

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    74 Events delivers on every level!

    Hiring 74 Events for our wedding was one of the best decisions we made when it came to wedding vendors. Gary placed us with James Arnold and he was awesome! Awesome is an understatement, honestly. Everyone (including our coolest friends with discerning taste in music to our parents) was obsessed with our DJ and asking about him the entire night. All of our guests were up and dancing all night. The music was exactly what we were looking for and then some. The process was also truly seamless. Gary realizes couples are going through a lot in terms of planning their wedding and spells out exactly how the process works while remaining available for any questions that come along the way. I know it seems like a no-brainer, but not all wedding vendors are this dialed in to the couples' needs and we appreciated Gary's attention to detail a lot. Gary and James were both awesome and we would highly recommend you hire 74 Events! No need to look any further. :)

    Sent on 07/26/2021
  • Rebecca

    Rebecca H. · Married on 07/03/2021

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Best DJ Experience EVER

    Our DJ was James Arnold and the entire experience with both James and Gary was incredible from the very beginning. Gary is super communicative throughout the entire process and makes you feel like your wedding day is the most important wedding they've ever worked. They think of absolutely everything, schedule multiple meetings to discuss the event and make sure that the music, announcements, vibe, every little detail is exactly how you want it. James was AMAZING and everyone at the wedding raved about him and the music. We've had so many requests for our wedding playlist it's insane! Could not be happier with our experience with 74 Events, Gary and James. Thank you for being such a big part of the most amazing day of our lives!!!

    Sent on 07/16/2021
  • S

    Susie · Married on 06/27/2021

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Such a great team

    Music was a really important part of our wedding and our DJ, James Arnold, absolutely crushed it. His DJ set was incredible (we danced the entire time!) and he was with us every step of the way making sure the sound, speeches, and transitions were flawless.

    Like many other couples, we had to postpone our wedding twice, but Gary was so responsive, organized, and accommodative throughout our entire planning process. We would recommend Gary and James over and over again!

    Sent on 06/29/2021
  • Kimberly

    Kimberly R. · Married on 06/26/2021

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing Team!

    Gary and James are amazing, book them ASAP! Gary was super professional and on top of every detail. He made the whole process seamless from end to end. James made our at home wedding in Connecticut so much fun. He was so easy going and our crowd (and us) had so much fun dancing the night away (or for as long as the town of Westport permitted :) They were wonderful to work with and we went to throw another party with them!

    Sent on 06/28/2021
  • Helen

    Helen L. · Married on 06/18/2021

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The most organized and thoughtful DJ Company!

    I strongly recommend 74 Events if you are looking for a DJ for your big day! Gary is hands-down the most organized vendor we hired for our wedding, and it was an absolute pleasure working with him! He is extremely professional, responsive, and definitely goes the extra mile to make sure you feel comfortable. A special shoutout to our DJ Eric Lum as well, he is absolutely fantastic! Throughout our wedding, he was extremely thoughtful and flexible, checking in to see how we are feeling and adjusting the music based on the mood and flow the day of! He got the music style we were going for right away and every song selection was perfect. I couldn’t have asked for a better experience 74 Events – highly highly highly recommend!

    Sent on 07/11/2021
  • Leisha

    Leisha · Married on 06/12/2021

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Party didn⠹t stop!

    Gary was great to work with from the start - so thorough and knew exactly who to pair us up with. DJ James kept the party going ALL NIGHT LONG! His playlist was on point - playing everything from old school reggae to early 2000s pop to today’s top hits. The dance floor was crowded the whole night. He listened to our song suggestions but let his creativity flow and we could not be happier. 74 Events is definitely the way to go - you will not be disappointed! I would hire them over and over and over again. Thank you for making our wedding the party we had all been waiting for!

    Sent on 06/15/2021
  • J

    Jay · Married on 06/12/2021

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Justin & Gary were great!

    We are so glad we chose 74 Events to DJ our wedding. We had several conversations with both Gary, the owner, who oversees booking and logistics, and Justin, who DJ'd our wedding, leading up to our event. Gary is extremely professional, and is clearly committed to making sure everyone is on the same page and no boxes are left unchecked. We felt really confident going into our wedding, and Gary didn't disappoint. DJ Justin was great to work with, super friendly, and he kept the dance floor packed all night. We would recommend 74 Events to anyone looking for a professional and fun DJ company.

    Sent on 07/08/2021
  • D

    David A. · Married on 06/12/2021

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great Company and DJs

    I would highly recommend working with Gary and 74 Events. Gary was super organized and communicative, he's a total pro. We had Miles as our DJ and he was amazing and a pleasure to work with. Can't go wrong with these guys!

    Sent on 07/15/2021
  • Jackie

    Jackie M. · Married on 05/30/2021

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Book them already!

    Working with Gary and his team is the best decision we made when choosing a music vendor. His team came recommended to us by a friend and was also highly praised by our wedding venue. For starters, Gary is incredibly organized, punctual, and responsive. He was able to help us keep things in order and made sure our entire event went smoothly. Our DJ, James Arnold, was amazing to work with. His English accent is truly the icing on the cake. As a COVID wedding we weren't sure how the flow music in a way that made sense, but James understood perfectly. Everything was seamless (and FUN) from the ceremony to cocktail hour and dinner and dancing. Zero awkward gaps of time. Zero downtime on the dance floor. All night people were complimenting the music and energy level. HIGHLY recommend Gary and James. We will definitely hire them again in the future.

    Sent on 06/03/2021
  • M

    Molly G. · Married on 05/29/2021

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great experience with 74 Events

    James Mulry was recommended to us by friends who had him DJ their wedding. He did a FANTASTIC job and I would also recommend him to anyone!

    Sent on 06/06/2021
  • Jessica

    Jessica K. · Married on 05/23/2021

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    74 Events for the win!

    Working with Gary from 74 Events was amazing.
    From the first time we met him last year he clearly had great ideas and insights into scheduling the perfect DJ and Music for our wedding.

    He introduced us to James, our DJ- who was a perfect fit for us (not just because he's a Brit but because of his eclectic music taste seemed to align with ours).

    Gary made the whole scheduling process very clear and simple and minimized the back and forth communication.
    He even chipped in to help with the overall planning of the wedding (coordinating with other vendors) so that things ran smoothly on the day. This we greatly appreciated.
    We definitely recommend 74 events for any future party/occasion you might be planning (DJ James is also the man)

    Sent on 05/30/2021
  • J

    Julian F. · Married on 05/22/2021

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Awesome DJ Services - Gary and Aaron were Amazing

    Due to COVID, our original wedding date was postponed twice, and Gary at 74 Events could not have been more professional, understanding, and empathetic throughout the entire process - we couldn't ask for more from Gary. From the beginning of our relationship with Gary, he was extremely helpful in matching us up with a DJ that fit our style and needs, and seemed to really care that we got what we wanted for our wedding. 

    Due to our postponement dates not aligning with our original DJ, we were matched up with Aaron McMickle, who was phenomenal. Aaron was able to capture what we wanted in a DJ perfectly. He had everyone at the wedding dancing all night, and we only heard raving reviews throughout the night and afterwards. 

    We will definitely be referring 74 Events to anyone we know that needs a DJ in the future due to how awesome Gary was, also we will specifically be referring Aaron to perform. Can't thank them both enough.

    Sent on 06/02/2021
  • M

    Maryam A. · Married on 05/15/2021

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing experience from start to finish

    We were 30 days from our wedding and NYC decided to allow dancing so we were in a pinch to find the perfect DJ (also reasonably priced). We reached out to 74 events and within a couple of hours Gary emailed us back. Over the next few days we had multiple in-depth conversations. We ended having Ben as our DJ. After all the chaos of planing a pandemic wedding, finding our DJ was one of the easiest tasks. Both Gary and Ben seemed so invested and made sure to listen to all our requests and concerns. They even helped us with our timeline. Gary is so meticulous and detailed. Ben came early on the day of the wedding and made sure our party was lit!! You will not go wrong with them and I would hire them for all future events.

    Sent on 06/04/2021
  • Lena

    Lena G. · Married on 05/01/2021

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Best Party of my Life!!!! - DAN IS AMAZING!

    I cannot say enough good things about Gary from 74 Events and our DJ - Dan Chaves!!!!!!

    Initially we met with Dan Chaves in 2019 for our 2020 wedding, and well of course we were postponed. Gary was able to seamlessly move our wedding date 2 more times and made sure that all the details of our perfect wedding day were ironed out.

    At our wedding we had Dan Chaves as a our DJ and it was a BLAST!!!!!! I normally wouldn't be caught dead on the dance floor but Dan picked the best songs and had everyone dancing all night long.

    We wanted a very 90's heavy music set and that is EXACTLY what we got. Dan has a great energy level and really delivered everything we asked for. I wish we could get married all over again so we can spend another night dancing to Dan's music.

    Highly recommend 74 events and couldn't be happier with the services we were provided.

    Sent on 05/05/2021
  • Craig

    Craig H. · Married on 03/04/2021

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Highly Recommended

    We couldn't have been happier with our experience with Gary and 74 Events. It became clear as we went through the wedding planning process, talking to other vendors (our day of coordinator, photographer etc.), that Gary is well known in the “wedding community” in New York as the best in town. We chose to work with Donwill because I was already a fan of his music and work that he does in the comedy world. Donwill did an incredible job of reading the room and getting people on the floor. Our crowd was made up of people with really diverse musical tastes, so that had to be a challenge. When he made announcements, he sounded natural and warm, not like an over the top, typical wedding DJ. Highly, highly recommended.

    Sent on 05/03/2019
  • Lauren

    Lauren E. · Married on 02/27/2021

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing, professional, great music!!!!

    Our wedding took place on 2/27/21 after being rescheduled in Brooklyn. Gary the owner of the company was amazing and flexible and provided us with a new DJ because the one that was supposed to DJ on our original date was taken. We ended up working with Dan Chaves. Dan was perfect. Our ceremony music was seamless and he used all the music we suggested and made a great playlist for the reception. We weren’t allowed to dance at our reception because of the restrictions currently in place but by the end of the night the music was so great we were dancing in our seats. Dan did an amazing job and if you are looking for a professional, experienced, and all around great people to work with contact Gary and hire 74 events you won’t be disappointed.

    Sent on 03/04/2021
  • Nick

    Nick C. · Married on 02/10/2021

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Just easy! Would recommend 10/10

    I worked with Gary from the start and he was always willing to answer questions, and made spot on suggestions that we ended up using in our reception.

    Gary introduced us to Vida who was our DJ/MC and was so nice and flexible from start to finish.

    We had a couple last minute tweaks on site for our introductions and she performed them flawlessly.

    We had two meetings and few calls, and they made us feel comfortable and taken care of. Thats really important when you're already stressed out from family and other planning.

    If you want to minimize your headache planning the best day of your life, definitely go for Gary @ 74Events!!!

    Sent on 10/30/2019
  • Clarke

    Clarke G. · Married on 02/10/2021

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great Experience

    Very professional, easy to work with. Made the wedding day and party so much fun

    Sent on 11/04/2019
  • J

    Jessica S. · Married on 01/16/2021

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Best!!

    There are not enough words to begin to describe how happy we were to have used 74 Events. Gary goes above and beyond to make sure everything is ready to go for your big day. He is extremely professional, pays attention to detail, and is always following up! Because of this we had a very stress free and easy process. James is also a fantastic DJ! He is so easy going and professional. We were all so happy and couldn’t stop dancing! We highly recommend using 74 Events for any event!

    Sent on 04/24/2021
  • G

    Genevieve P. · Married on 01/05/2021

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Gary and Eric are great!

    We used 74 Events for our wedding last May. Eric Visa was our DJ. Gary (the owner) was super professional and organized and made everything seamless and easy! Eric was amazing, he had everyone on the dance floor the whole night. We received so many compliments on Eric from guests of all ages (16 - 80!). Highly recommend!

    Sent on 10/06/2019
  • Amy

    Amy K. · Married on 10/10/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Choose 74 Events For Your Wedding!

    I don’t know where to begin with my 5 star review! Gary was extremely communicative the entire year (throughout covid!) we worked together to plan for the wedding. He is funny, understanding and organized. Gary reached out to our vendors behind the scenes to coordinate and the event went seamlessly, which I really appreciated as a bride planning her own wedding! Him and James (our DJ) were easy to work with and were accommodating with our last-minute adjustments. On the day of, James arrived promptly to set up. Because James had already DJ’ed at The Metropolitan Building (our wedding venue) before, he knew exactly where to go and what to do. We had a small change and James, instead of asking us about it, proactively asked/sorted things out with our wedding party because he didn’t want to bother us, which was so thoughtful. Just by previewing our sample wish list of music James knew exactly what kind of music we liked and all of the songs he chose were totally our “jams” - - which is a testament to know well he knows music and how to create the right “vibe.” James is a super cool guy and is very fun to watch DJ. I can’t recommend 74 events and James enough!

    Sent on 04/10/2021
  • T

    Turner · Married on 10/06/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wonderful, friendly service..with FANTASTIC music

    Gary & Aaron were incredibly friendly, professional, and really put in the extra time to make our wedding so special. The music throughout the ceremony, cocktail hour, dinner & dancing made the entire event come alive. It was exactly what we were looking for and our guests are still talking about the incredible DJ we had. Don't think twice and just book this company!

    Sent on 10/08/2019
  • Morgan

    Morgan · Married on 09/19/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We love Rob, Gary, and 74 Events!

    My husband and I chose to work with 74 Events after being at multiple awesome weddings where one of their DJs played, and they were one of our favorite vendors to work with. Gary was responsive, helpful, and professional every step of the way. He even got on the phone with me prior to our final meeting to help me workshop the reception timeline. At the wedding, Rob was incredible! My husband and I turned to each other at multiple points in the night, in awe of the quality of music, flow of the evening, and the dance party. We heard guests were asking for the playlist. Thank you so much!

    Sent on 01/04/2020
  • Drew

    Drew A. · Married on 09/11/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Perfect wedding DJ

    74 Events and James, our DJ, were incredible - we can't imagine our wedding without them. They were incredibly organized and responsive throughout the wedding planning process, making sure that all our needs were being met while providing a ton of their own insight and expertise whenever we needed it. On the day of the wedding itself, James kept everything running smoothly as the MC and filled up the dance floor right away, keeping the party going strong until the end of the night. Lots of our wedding guests mentioned that the music was a highlight of the evening. We absolutely recommend hiring them for your wedding.

    Sent on 02/08/2021