1st Officiant Reviews

174 | Scottsdale, AZ
See photos, pricing and details

174 Reviews for 1st Officiant

Recommended by 100%

174
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2010 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2009 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0

11 User photos

1st Officiant 1
1st Officiant 2
1st Officiant 3
1st Officiant 4
1st Officiant 5
1st Officiant 6
1st Officiant 7
+ 5
Sort by:
  • Nicole

    Nicole · Married on 03/23/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kyle was great!

    Kyle was a great. He was very responsive, flexable, and did a great job during our ceremony. He personalized our ceremony and had our guests laughing and crying all at the same time. So many guests commented about how beautiful our ceremony was. Kyle listened to what we wanted and we are very happy we choose First Officiant! Thanks Kyle!

    Sent on 03/26/2019
  • S

    Sarah · Married on 10/20/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Matt MADE our ceremony & wedding!

    The reviews about Matt & First Officiant really don't do him the justice that he deserves. He was phenomenal - hands down, no questions asked.

    Every one of our guests made a point of telling us that our ceremony & Matt were by far the best and most fun that they have ever been witness to. It was fun, upbeat, and got the audience involved! He brought so much energy and enthusiasm to our ceremony and helped kick off the celebration that we had planned.

    To say that Matt is detail-oriented and thorough is an understatement! His goal of getting to know the couple personally and their story like the back of his hand are the reason why his ceremonies are so special. He listens to the couple and ensures that what he says is what they want - whether it is super traditional, or full of humor and sarcasm like ours! His process of tailoring the ceremony to what we want, with the content that we want, gave us the unique wedding we envisioned and there is nothing cookie-cutter about Matt's ceremonies.

    Matt was one of the best investments that we made for our wedding, and we have so many amazing memories thanks to him.

    Thank you so much, Matt, we truly appreciate what you did to make our ceremony amazing!

    Sent on 11/08/2018
  • Jentrie

    Jentrie · Married on 10/14/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    So many compliments!!

    We couldn’t have asked for a better officiant! Matt made our ceremony so personal. We received so many compliments from our wedding guests! They thought that he knew us because the ceremony was so amazing and personal to our story! He is a bit more pricey when compared to other officiants but 100% worth it! I’m so glad we chose him to officiate our wedding.

    Sent on 11/09/2018
  • N

    Nicole · Married on 07/14/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Matt was OUTSTANDING!!! From the first meeting down to the details of my husband's and my life and how we met, it was perfect. He really made our ceremony so personal just about us and our love. I love how he incorporated our families and loved ones in the ceremony as well, it was a great touch. I even asked if he would participate by pouring the final crystals from my sand ceremony and he was more than willing to be part of that special moment. The ceremony he prepared for us was captivating, funny and so loving. That was the major compliment we got from our guests; that he was funny, genuine and that they have never seen a ceremony so loving. If you want a customized wedding ceremony Matt is definitely the man you want to be your officiant. I can't say thank you enough for giving us the ceremony of our dreams!

    Sent on 08/01/2018
  • C

    Catrina · Married on 05/05/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Matt was amazing!!! He did the BEST ceremony we could have hoped for. He made it so personalized and special for us. He made everyone laugh and cry- people are still talking about how wonderful his ceremony was. He was so easy to talk to and get to know- we would recommend him to absolutely anyone! Hands down, he made it the best ceremony ever! Thank you Matt!!

    Sent on 05/11/2018
  • J

    Jenna · Married on 03/31/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    As a wedding professional, I knew that Matt Nathanson was the perfect choice to join my now husband and I on our wedding day! We had an absolute blast getting to meet with him and tell him our story! His resources and tools were so helpful throughout our planning process and while writing our vows. Even following the wedding, we are still hearing about how incredible our ceremony was - it was everyone's favorite part! Thank you Matt, our day was so perfect because of you!

    Sent on 04/16/2018
  • T

    Tammy · Married on 03/03/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The wedding ceremony is truly the most important part of the wedding (that's why were here!). We chose Matt because he is unique and fun. He made our ceremony unforgettable!!! No other officiant appealed to us they way Matt did. He customizes the ceremony so well it feels as if your best friend was marrying you. He is truly amazing and I wouldn't have changed a single thing about our ceremony. I've been to so many weddings where the officiant gives a very generic speech and bores the guests to pieces. Matt is the exact opposite. His energy and excitement get the crowd excited as well! Our friends and family are still talking about the ceremony and how it resonated with them. How often do you hear that!? Hands down the best officiant out there.

    Sent on 03/19/2018
    1st Officiant 8
    1st Officiant 9
  • C

    Cassidy · Married on 02/16/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Matt officiated our wedding and I am SO impressed. He personalized our ceremony and made us feel so special. Even some of the guests that did not know Zach and I super well, left that ceremony knowing something about our love story that they did not know before. Almost every guest came up to me to say that Matt did such an amazing job and that they have never heard more of a beautiful, unique wedding ceremony. Matt connected with us on a personal level and made the time to really get to know Zach and I to make our ceremony so unique! I will cherish this day forever and will never forget what an amazing job Matt did!

    Sent on 03/02/2018
    1st Officiant 10
    1st Officiant 11
    1st Officiant 12

    1st Officiant's reply:

    Right on, Cassidy!
  • B

    Bri · Married on 02/10/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    When you begin the wedding planning process, there are more than enough decisions set before you; however, you absolutely cannot choose anyone besides Matt Nathanson. From the very second you meet him, he has a calming demeanor about him that provides reassurance that you are within the right hands. He allocates an ample amount of time with you and your future spouse, learning about your love story.

    When it comes time for your big day, he is right there along side you, guiding you and giving you little pep talks when the nerves get the best of you. His ceremonies are not like anything you'll ever experience. Guests often know either the bride or groom, rarely both individuals, and may not have had the opportunity to get to know the two as a couple. Matt incorporates stories of the both the bride and groom and how they better each other, allowing guests to take a quick journey through the couple's relationship.

    If you want a unique ceremony that is tailored to your every wants and desires, you have found the perfect officiant. Your guests will rave for years to come about how amazing and personal your ceremony was presented.

    Thank you, Matt, from the bottom of our hearts!

    Sent on 02/24/2018
    1st Officiant 13
  • T

    Tami · Married on 12/29/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Matt Nathanson of First Officiant made our wedding ceremony exactly what we wanted but didn't think we'd be able to find. (Our event coordinator recommended Matt when we told her what we had in mind.) Matt did not disappoint! Matt was FANTASTIC to work with. He was responsive, flexible, creative and made planning our ceremony a fun process.

    Matt tailored our ceremony to us. He shared stories and anecdotes our family and friends didn't know or hadn't heard. He made it "our" ceremony and incorporated our family and friends in our story which helped them see how important they were and are to us. The things Matt shared helped everyone get to know "the story of us". One of our guests commented she could have listened to Matt for hours as she loved hearing things about our courtship and relationship she didn't know.

    I can't speak more highly of Matt and 1st Officiant. I have no reservations at all in recommending them and would encourage anyone looking for a creative, touching and personalized service to contact 1st Officiant.

    Sent on 07/27/2018
  • K

    Karen · Married on 12/08/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I am trying to find the right words to say how awesome our wedding ceremony was, but I am having a hard time. There aren't enough great things to say about Matt. He took our ceremony and hit it out of the park. The way he shared our story to all our guests was perfect and really meant a lot to my husband and I. All of our guests loved how personal our ceremony was and they all thought that Matt was a friend of ours. Many of our guests are still talking about how funny, emotional, and full of love our ceremony was. The amount of time,dedication, and energy that Matt put into our ceremony really showed in every little detail. We can not say enough great things about Matt. 5 stars!!! (I'd give more if I could) If you want a ceremony that is unique, personal, and will be talked about for years to come. We can not thank Matt enough! 12/8/17-The Phoenician
    Karen & Cory Brown

    Sent on 12/29/2017
    1st Officiant 14

    1st Officiant's reply:

    Wow! Your amazing response is why I officiate weddings. I'm so happy you're happy, Karen. All the best to you two.
  • J

    J.R. · Married on 12/02/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I just wanted to take a moment on behalf of my new wife and I to not only thank Matt for the exquisite job he did officiating my wedding, but to also recommend his services to anyone who has decided to share their nuptials in the coming future. Matt did an incredible job and was a breath of fresh air to an otherwise very formal occasion. We sincerely enjoyed and appreciate the manner in which Matt conveyed our story to all our friends and family that attended. He brought tons of fun energy and excitement to his delivery and I can’t thank him enough for truly caring about the reasoning behind what brought my wife and I together. We can’t thank you enough Matt! 5 Stars!
    J.R. and Hannah Hamm

    Sent on 12/19/2017
  • S

    Scott · Married on 11/20/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Matt was outstanding!
    My wife and eloped and were lucky to find Matt.
    Everything about the process was exceptional.
    I would highly recommend Matt for your wedding services.
    Scott and Katie

    Sent on 12/05/2017
  • C

    Caitlin · Married on 11/11/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Matt was very professional and easy to work with. He gave us a great couples workbook that we really took to heart and he spent time with us getting to know us. Our ceremony turned out absolutely perfect, everything we could've wanted and our guests were amazed! The guests were sure that Matt was a close friend by the way he incorporated our stories into our ceremony. We couldn't have dreamt up a better ceremony! Definitely would recommend him!

    Sent on 01/01/2018
  • S

    Sierra · Married on 11/04/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Matt is so fantastic! So many officiants my husband and I looked at stick to a very "copy and paste", impersonal-style ceremony. We found 1st Officiant and could not have been more excited. We hired Matt immediately and are SO glad we did. In the months leading up to our wedding, Matt got to know us and our story and created a 100% customized ceremony. Many of our guests were convinced that he was an old friend because he knew us so well!

    Sent on 12/23/2017
    1st Officiant 15
  • J

    Jay · Married on 10/14/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Matt did a fantastic job with our wedding! We were hoping to avoid an overly-religious tone, and Matt delivered a ceremony that was exactly what we wanted. We had multiple guests comment on how excellent he was. He took pains to personalize it for us. He also had great insight into what elements would and wouldn't keep our guests interested (because, let's face it, it's all too easy to create a boring wedding ceremony). He's clearly got a lot of experience with this and he's our top recommendation!

    Sent on 12/01/2017
  • B

    Brittany · Married on 04/15/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We HIGHLY recommend Matt as your officiant. We are from Alberta and got married in Phoenix so my only form of communication was email with him. I also have a type A personality so of course I had a million questions for him. Matt was on top of getting back to me within a day at most and was always there for support and giving me suggestions. The ceremony was absolutley flawless and we had so many compliments that night on how he performed. Matt has a vibrant, positive personality and made us feel as if he was a friend and made the process much more enjoyable. Hands down best choice for your special day.

    Sent on 04/19/2017
  • J

    Jessica · Married on 04/13/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Matt was amazing he was so easy to communicate with always corresponded quickly. Matt was always on time, he made our ceremony unique! my guests said he introduced himself personally to them! (65 Guests) not sure he made it to all of them but def was part of the whole celebration! He was present and there for us the entire time! he was laid back and had amazing energy that everyone could feel! Thanks Matt!!

    Sent on 05/31/2017
  • B

    Brandi · Married on 04/09/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Stop right here and look no further!! If you want your wedding ceremony to be personal and unique, Matt is your guy!! I was nervous about picking someone I never met before to be apart of the most sacred part of our wedding so I took my search very seriously! I did my due diligence and my husband and I met with Matt first and within in the first couple seconds we both knew deep in our soul he was a perfect match for us. He was so responsive to our emails and helped us with ever detail of our wedding ceremony. I keep getting told from our wedding guest we had by far the most amazing and best ceremony they have ever witnessed. It was so personal, funny at the right parts, serious and sincere in the right parts and very unique to us. I honestly couldn't imagine a more amazing ceremony for our wedding and a more perfect person to allow in our personal circle to marry us. Matt continues to reach out and help after the wedding as well which is amazing. So do yourself a favor and choose Matt as your officiant, you will not be disappointed!!
    Brandi & Joshua Robinson---Married 4/9/17 at The Paseo

    Sent on 05/03/2017
  • C

    Caity · Married on 04/01/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    STOP SEARCHING AND HIRE KYLE from 1st Officiant!!!!!!
    From the moment we met him - he was upbeat, sweet, and funny! Exactly what we wanted!

    His readings at our wedding were PHENOMENAL! I am BLOWN AWAY! Kyle did such a fantastic job and exceeded my highest expectations. His awesome attitude and fun personality really made us feel so at ease that day! Hiring Kyle was a HUGE key part in starting our lives together and really sharing with our guests a wonderfully written story!
    I cant tell you how many people came up to us/ emailed/ text us - how great of a job he did and that it was the best of all the weddings they have been to.
    I have read and re-read these readings over a million times because I LOVE IT THAT MUCH!


    WE GIVE KYLE 5 MILLION STARS! (5 isnt enough) Thank You for making our guests laugh! They are still talking about it :)

    Sent on 05/16/2017
  • A

    Alex · Married on 03/25/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Matt was an absolute professional all the way through. He was recommended through our wedding planner, and he did not disappoint. We had a long engagement (20 months), and he was constantly following up with us every few months just to see how things were going. He put an incredible amount of time and effort into personalizing our vows. His brought really great energy to the ceremony. My wife and I have been to weddings where the Officiant has low energy, or talks about themselves quite a bit. Or goes on and on about a certain subject, clearly losing the audience. Matt is the exact opposite of that. Great energy, very compassionate, and knows when to hop in and out of frame. The most compliments we received were about him. We felt lucky to have him, and I would recommend him to anyone no matter what type of wedding you are having. Even my parents thought he was so great, they wanted him to stay for the reception.

    Sent on 04/14/2017
  • G

    Gray · Married on 03/25/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    After looking at what felt like a hundred different officiants, we settled on 1st officiant to perform our wedding ceremony. We felt the vibe they put out was in line with our views for a light, entertaining, secular wedding. We met with Rob Young who was perfectly aligned with what we envisioned for our ceremony, and we began planning.

    Rob asked for details about our story, how we met, how we got engaged, etc. Then separately he asked us for things we loved about each other and things we aspired to in our relationship. He had a few follow up questions and was always easy to communicate with. We selected several readings we liked and sets of vows we both enjoyed.

    We could not have been happier with how our ceremony turned out. Rob was a great speaker and made our ceremony sound deeply personal to us as a couple. We have received nothing but excellent feedback from our guests who thought the ceremony was beautiful and personal. We would recommend Rob and 1st officiant to any couple without reservation.

    Sent on 04/17/2017
  • S

    Sara · Married on 03/18/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I had the pleasure of having Kyle from 1st Officiants to officiate our wedding. I cannot say enough good things about Kyle and how our ceremony went at our wedding. On our first meeting we knew right away that we wanted Kyle to officiate our wedding. You could tell that he truly cared and wanted to get a sense of who we are as a couple and individuals. Our ceremony was so personal, you would have thought he would have known us for years! I got so many compliments from guests saying how much they loved my ceremony.

    Sent on 04/16/2017
    1st Officiant 16
    1st Officiant 17
    1st Officiant 18

    1st Officiant's reply:

    That is great to hear!
  • T

    Terri · Married on 03/16/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Matt officiated at our memorable wedding ceremony held at the Kierland Westin in March, and he did a fantastic job! Our guests couldn't stop smiling and talking about how he made the ceremony so special and personal by sharing our story. He was quick to respond to any questions we had, and it was obvious that he truly enjoys & has a passion for his profession. Matt, thank you for the beautiful ceremony!

    Sent on 06/02/2017
  • E

    Emily · Married on 03/11/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Matt was absolutely amazing! Our ceremony sounded and felt that it was being performed by a close friend that truly knew Colton and myself. He was always there when we (or our parents:-)) had questions. Our guests were raving about Matt. I would recommend him to anyone looking for a personalized and thought-out ceremony. Thank you for everything Matt!!

    Sent on 04/11/2017

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review