Skip to main content
Weddings

128 South Reviews

128 South View more information

Reviews

5.0 out of 5 rating
277 Reviews
  • Quality of service
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    5 out of 5 rating
96% Recommended by couples

Awards

277
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2024 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2023 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2022 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2021 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
  • Lindsay
    Lindsay B. Sent on 03/30/2024
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The best venue in Wilmington!

    We had the pleasure of hosting our March 2024 wedding at 128 South Events & Catering. It was actually the first and only venue we toured after we got engaged - we fell in love with 128 South immediately for it's beautiful historic feel, the natural light, and the ability to have both an indoor and outdoor space for our guests. In addition to the beauty of the venue itself, we were also extremely impressed by the staff, especially Katie Swain, our day-of coordinator. Her ability to keep up with all of the details of our day and graciously communicate our guest dietary restrictions with the kitchen team was absolutely amazing. As the bride and main planner of our wedding, I was nervous my plans/vision wouldn't come together without being hands on with the set up process, but Katie and the 128 South team listened to my requests and made my wedding dreams come true, exceeding every expectation I thought I had. We really cannot recommend hosting your next event at 128 South enough. You will be blown away by their kindness, authenticity, and professionalism. HUGE thank you to 128 South, and to Katie Swain. It was an honor to work with you! There is no one else I would have trusted more to coordinate our wedding day. 🩷

    128 South's reply:

    Thank you, Lindsay, for your kind words! We are honored you chose and trusted us to make your dream wedding come true!
  • S
    Sydney Sent on 11/10/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    It was amazing!

    We got married at 128 south a few weeks ago and I cannot say enough about our entire experience. After attending a couple of events at 128 I knew when my wedding day came this is where I’d want to have it. The location, the character and beautiful details are what drew me to it. It truly is beautiful as is. And don’t get me started on the food- every last thing was delicious. The main thing we heard from guest was how beautiful it was and how good the food was! All of the staff was SO attentive and kind and keep every last moment running smoothly. We could not have asked for a better venue and better service from their employees.
  • Sarah
    Sarah M. Sent on 11/09/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The best venue in Wilmington

    We could not have made a better decision than booking with 128 South. Their team is truly one in a million and made the entire wedding planning process so much easier. They were responsive and took so much stress of wedding planning off our shoulders. Davis and Katie especially were such a huge part in making our day run perfectly. Our two biggest compliments from our guests were how good the food was and how amazing of a coordinator Davis was. Truly some of the best food we have ever had and the venue itself is beyond breathtaking. I could not recommend them enough and thank the team for all the love!!!
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • J
    Jamie C. Sent on 10/06/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Have all of your events at 128 South or Bakery!

    I cannot say enough about the staff and chef at 128 South! From start to finish they made the process simple, affordable and fun! I have to be honest they made the planning process stress free. I held a wedding party brunch at 128 South as well as my rehearsal dinner. They helped me reach my vision and were very flexible. In my experience, using vendors in the wedding industry most of them love to tell you “no” and also like to “nickel and dime” you at every turn, however the staff at 128 was full of ideas to help make my vision come true! They always gave me a, “Yes we can do that!” Davis and Jordan were who I interacted with most and they were the best! Justin took care of my rehearsal dinner and made my husband and I feel so special and made sure we had everything we needed. Can we just talk about the chef for a minute? We asked for some custom food items and he created them for us to taste. He nailed it! The food was so freaking good! People are still talking about it! Have every event at Bakery or 128! Catering on-site makes all of the difference!! I cannot recommend this place enough. I’m already thinking about calling them to set up a party for my 1 year anniversary!
  • Jamie
    Jamie R. Sent on 10/24/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Our Wedding at 128 South

    We had our wedding at 128 South in September 2023, and it was so perfect! The venue is gorgeous, the food is delicious, and the entire staff is amazing! Davis, our day of coordinator, was extremely helpful in coordinating everything leading into the wedding day and during the actual day. I am so thankful for the entire 128 South team as they went above and beyond to ensure our wedding went smoothly. Thank you!
  • Meredith
    Meredith K. Sent on 10/25/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    128 South the dream team and venue!

    Overall, my husband and I had such a wonderful wedding experience with 128 South's team and venue. Between the stunning venue space, professional catering team/staff, and amazing food, it truly was a day we will NEVER forget! All of our guests were raving about all of the amazing details of the venue throughout the entirety of our special day. We cannot say enough amazing things about 128 South! Book here, you will NOT regret it and your wedding day/experience will be unbelievably beautiful!
  • T
    Tonya B. Sent on 11/11/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Wedding dreams

    My son and daughter-in-law had their dream wedding at 128 South in August. Both have said it was the best day of their lives. From beautiful venue, outstanding catering that everyone complemented on, to very talented and helpful staff, 128 South is a wonderful experience.

    128 South's reply:

    Ahhh!!! Tonya! Thank you so much for your kind words! We are so glad that we were able to make their dream day come true!
  • K
    Kayla B. Sent on 09/01/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Thank you 128 South!!!

    I’m am still in awe at how perfect our wedding (08.12.23) was. Anyone can see this venue is beautiful, but everyone should know the whole staff at 128 South is fantastic. Davis was beyond helpful and helped us coordinate everything. On the day of, he consistently checked in with my husband and I to make sure we were okay and comfortable which meant so much. Weddings are supposed to be inherently hectic, ours was not and I attribute that to Davis and everyone else at 128 South.
  • J
    Jessica D. Sent on 07/02/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Wonderful staff, delicious food, and beautiful space!

    We hosted our wedding here in April 2023. It was the perfect venue! The space itself is gorgeous and needed minimal additional decorating. The food catered by 128 South was amazing. All of the staff were incredibly kind and helpful both during the planning and day of our event. Davis was our day-of coordinator and he was excellent! There were some last minute changes required due to weather and other unpredictable circumstances but he made sure everything went smoothly and that the whole evening went well! Would absolutely recommend 128 South!

    128 South's reply:

    Jessica! Your wedding was such a fun day! The weather tried to throw us some curveballs, but we handled it! You and Jack were dreams to work with! Miss you already! Thanks for the taking the time to review us!
    -Davis
  • M
    Madison Sent on 04/11/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Beautiful Venue with Fabulous Staff

    128 South was the ultimate venue for our wedding. The location was great, the venue was beautiful, and the staff was responsive, kind, and professional. I couldn't have asked for a better team. We had our wedding inside and our cocktail hour/reception on the deck. The original floors, exposed brick, and stained glass windows made for a romantic and elegant backdrop for our event. I am so grateful to have worked with this team and would recommend them to anyone looking to book a wedding or any other event. The team went above and beyond to make sure that my wedding went well. I cannot thank them enough!
  • Kristin
    Kristin Sent on 04/14/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Perfect venue

    I looked at five or six venues in the downtown Wilmington area, and as soon as I stepped into 128 South, it hit me that this would be our venue. It’s so unique with the upstairs/ downstairs part of the inside as well as having the option of going out on the deck as well. I communicated a lot with Jordan and Davis, who answered my million and one questions without any hesitation. By the end of the wedding process, I really felt like everything came together flawlessly. I feel like 128 South has a ton of charm as is so I didn’t need to do a ton of flowers or decor inside, which was a plus in my opinion. I was also able to get ready at the cottage on Orange Street, which was the perfect distance to get to the venue.

    I got a lot of feedback from guests that said that they loved the venue too and really enjoyed the food that was served both at cocktail hour and for dinner.

    Overall, great experience from start to finish.
  • K
    Katelyn S. Sent on 03/17/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Absolute dream team!

    128 South made my wedding day perfect! It’s a beautiful venue overlooking the riverfront with exposed brick and stain glass windows. The team are experts at what they do and have relationships with local vendors which was so helpful. Catering is in house and our guests raved about the food! We were over the moon with how everything went. Katie was a huge help in making our wedding day perfect.
  • A
    Amelia Z. Sent on 03/07/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The Perfect Backdrop to a Beautiful Day

    128 South was the first and last wedding venue we even looked at, because we walked into the space and immediately fell in love. Having our wedding at 128 South made it possible for us to incorporate all of the things we love about Wilmington (since we live on the other side of the state): a view of the water, the historic charm of downtown, amazing food, and a lively atmosphere! I cannot state enough how wonderful the space was - even our guests commented on how it was the best wedding they've ever attended!

    My one concern after booking the space was that 128 is contractually obligated to cater our event, and as a self-proclaimed lover of food, doing menu tastings was one of the things I was looking most forward to. I had no need to worry though - the food was delicious, well prepared, and they were able to accommodate dietary requests so delicious I almost wish they had been on our standard menu!

    I cannot say too many good things about 128 South, because the team there truly made our day more special than I ever could have hoped for. If you're on the fence, I recommend touring the space. If you're still on the fence, just know that I would have my wedding there again in a heartbeat.
  • C
    Caitlin K. Sent on 12/30/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The Perfect Venue!

    Me and my now husband had an absolute joy working with 128 South! They were always so responsive to our questions! Davis made our day run absolutely flawlessly and was there by us from the start of planning for the wedding to the finish! I would recommend anyone use this venue! We are still having people tell us it was their favorite wedding they’ve been to even two weeks after the wedding occurred! Our guests (and ourselves) were obsessed with food!! We couldn’t imagine using anyone else other than 128 South! The cottage was also absolutely perfect for getting ready the day of as well!
  • Madelyn
    Madelyn G. Sent on 01/20/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Incredible!

    128 South made our wedding a dream! The venue is beautiful, intimate, and very attentive to details to make sure your event runs smoothly. Our coordinator, Davis, assisted us along the way and took such good care of us and our family that night. The food was incredible. All our guests enjoyed themselves greatly!
  • Kristen
    Kristen K. Sent on 12/02/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    128 South Front street

    A beautiful venue! It exceeded our expectations! The service was amazing and they were even able to accommodate several dietary restrictions and make sure that those plates made it to the appropriate people. We thoroughly enjoyed our experience with the 128 South staff and venue.
  • L
    Leah B. Sent on 12/16/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing, professional and experience

    128 south is an amazing event space with incredible staff! We could not have asked for a better wedding day. Staff was incredibly professional and kind!
  • G
    Ginamarie W. Sent on 11/16/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best Venue in Town

    Not only was I amazed by the beauty of this venue.. they were extremely helpful and understanding to a very busy bride. My wedding planner was extremely happy to see this was the venue I chose, as she couldn’t stop expressing how amazing the staff and venue was. Couldn’t have imagined a better experience and being in historical downtown Wilmington was perfect! This venue can really be decorated however you want, we put vines and lights throughout our tent and it looked absolutely magical! Having the caterers in house and the serving staff included made everything affordable and convenient and the food was simply AMAZING from the appetizers to the dinners. We couldn’t have asked for anything better. Thank you 128 for making our day AMAZING!
  • N
    Natalie L. Sent on 11/09/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best Day Ever

    Highly recommend!!! The team at 128 is amazing! We fell in love with the character of the building and knew it was exactly what we were looking for. The on-site catering was another huge selling point. Lastly, Davis! Our day of wedding coordinator made our special day stress free! We couldn’t be more happy with how everything turned out!
  • A
    Alayna H. Sent on 12/06/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best wedding venue in Wilmington!

    My husband and I recently had our wedding reception at 128 South in Wilmington, NC, and it was an absolutely MAGICAL experience. We had been planning our wedding for about a year with our wedding planner and the 128 S. team, and let me tell you - they are an AMAZING team to work with! From their speedy responses and always being willing to answer my questions and help when needed, it was a seamless experience. Not to mention the venue is GORGEOUS both inside and out! 128 South is your one-stop-shop for an amazing team, incredible food and a beautiful setting!
  • S
    Shelby P. Sent on 10/16/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    128 is awesome!

    I cannot say enough good things about my experience with 128 South. Davis was a dream! I decided to go with 128 because of all the items they include. Ceremony and reception in one place, catering, tables and chairs, a day of planner, a dance floor, bar and bartenders. I knew having all of those items included made wedding planning a lot easier rather than renting a venue and having to find so many vendors. Davis my day of planner was wonderful. I'm always overwhelmed thinking about how helpful and personable he was through the whole process. Answering my questions, dealing with my last minute changes, even helping with hurricane preparations. My guests raved about the food and 128's chef was even accommodating to a last minute vegan guest. Everything I ate was delicious! I had a wonderful wedding all because of Davis and the 128 South family. I truly can't recommend them enough!
  • R
    Rachel G. Sent on 09/26/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The most perfect day!

    I couldn’t imagine a more perfect wedding day! Davis and the whole team at 128 South were incredible to work with and made sure the whole day went smoothly down to the last detail. The food was to die for and I loved the convenience of having in-house catering. I can’t say enough great things about 128 South!
  • G
    Grace B. Sent on 09/23/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best day ever

    128 South was very flexible and on top of everything to insure that our wedding was the best day ever. I would recommend this venue to someone 100%!
  • A
    Amanda B. Sent on 11/06/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Can't recommend enough! Ask for Katie!

    Our experience with 128 South was flawless. My parents and I toured the venue while my husband was deployed and they graciously gave us another tour so that he could see the space once he returned home. We booked a micro wedding package, and 128 south was super flexible on the details. They let us expand the guest count past the usual limits for their micro wedding package with no issues.

    Katie was a planner/coordinator extraordinaire! She thought of every last detail. The catering team even built us a fully vegan menu. Our guests raved about the food (none of them are vegan!!). The bridal suite was awesome. The space is gorgeous and well appointed, but really the highlight of choosing 128 South was Katie. We highly, highly recommend asking for her by name!!
  • Sara
    Heather Sent on 08/30/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Green Wedding

    Beautiful Venue, the staff and team there were very helpful.
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message
Responds within 24 hours