Built by Jean Briçonnet from 1435 till 1485 on a more ancient fortress, the Castle of Réaux is a monument which architecture dates from the beginning of Renaissance.
Located in the middle of a nice sported huge garden, which spreads out on a dozen hectares and plunges this house of culture into a world of serenity and harmony. The Castle is entirely encircled with picturesque watercourses, in a case of greenery far from the turbulence of the city. This place is ideal for all artists and creators. You will find several comfortable places equipped with easels to paint pictures.
It is possible to visit Castle or the permanent exhibition; to sleep in one of the luxurious rooms or suites. All visitors will be warmly welcomed.
The history of the Chateau began in the 14th century
At the end of the 15th century Guillaume Briçonnet, the son of Jean Briçonnet, the first mayor of Tours, who was close to Louis XI and to Charles VIII, acquired the fortress in ruins and replaced it with a house of the first Renaissance – the Chateau Plessis-Rideau.
Of the ancient medieval fortress remains the plan of the ancient building: an island with moats filled with running water that was used to ensure security. When Briçonnet acquired the castle at the end of the 15th century, the Valley of Loire entered to the period of architectural revival. In this period the actual castle acquired its most original part: the châtelet of entrance in checked patterns made of cut stone and bricks. This polychrome covering is relatively rare in the Loire Valley. It is more frequent in Normandy, especially in the country of Auge, as well as in the PAris Metropolitan Region and in Picardy..
In 1651, a descendant of Briçonnet sold Plessis-Rideau to Gideon Tallemant des Réaux who, two years later, got by the king's letter the permission to change the name of his new property: Plessis-Rideau became Réaux.
On the death of Tallemant, in 1692, his wife received the castle of Réaux. She made different purchases to extend the property. Then she sold the Château to Louis Taboureau, the king's councillor.
In 1897, the castle was given up for Julien Barrois. During more than a century, the chateau belonged to the same family.
Since 2005 the Castle of Réaux belongs to the Yukhnytsyas.
Leisure at the castle...
The castle is completely surrounded by scenic rivers in lush greenery far from the turmoil of the city. This site is ideal for all artists and creators.
You will find several cozy places equipped with easels and different landscapes view to paint pictures.
Many amenities will make your stay unforgettable and exciting :
- The heated outdoor swimming pool
- A barbecue
- Boat to walk over the moat (black swans etc.)
- A hockey table
- Picturesque walks on foot
- Fishing (the crucian carp, carp)
- Old good and large fireplaces
- The shooping in Saumur, Tours…
We also rent bikes to explore the valley vineyards of Bourgueil and Chinon.
The castle also has a WiFi access.
Other couples have also viewed: