Wickham Park
    31 Reviews
1329 Middle Tpke W
Manchester, CT 06040  | map
Services: Ceremony, Reception
Catering: Outside vendors welcome
Maximum capacity: 150
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (31)   Photos   FAQ   Map    
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.7/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.7/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.6/5.0)
Value:
 (4.7/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.6/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Robin 5 Reviews
I was in love with Wickham Park the very first time I stepped into the cabin garden. The place is BEAUTIFUL. The staff was incredible from the very first day we met them. They were professional, timely in all responses and beyond helpful when it came to working with me and my wedding coordinator. The place is seriously flawless. If you want a unique, beautiful venue, whether you hold your entire event at the cabin garden or just use one of the gardens for photos or just a ceremony, Wickham Park is definitely the place to be.
Wedding: 10/13/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I got married in the Cabin Garden in September, and I couldn't have picked a better venue. It was absolutely gorgeous, and everything about the grounds and Cabin were impeccable. My husband and I live in Brooklyn, and we were looking for something rustic, yet polished, somewhere outside the city. Wickham Park is exactly that. With all of the little details that go into a wedding, looking back, I can say that the venue is the most crucial, and I couldn't have found anything more perfect.
Wedding: 09/22/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I don't know how to put into words how absolutely PERFECT this location is for a wedding!! I contacted Rhonda at Wickham Park back in January 2011 and from the get-go she was fantastic! We booked the Cabin Package which gave us the cabin, the garden, tent, tables & chairs for 150 and the ceremony site for 8 hours. The weather was beautiful. The ranger assigned to us for the day was a total sweetheart and so helpful. The only downside was that the A/C didn't seem to be working too well and it was pretty hot in the cabin BUT we managed to deal just fine and danced the day away!!

I would recommend this site to anyone and EVERYONE. It was truly magical. I never thought myself to be an outdoor wedding type of girl but this was breathtaking. The hartford skyline is infront/behind you creating a picturesque backdrop. In the fall it is equally as (if not more!) stunning! We added two white industrial fans in the garden tent outside to circulate the air and it helped tremendously.

Thank you so so much for making our day magical!! We love you!!
Wedding: 07/08/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
A little pricy, but totally worth it for the scenery and the convenience of having the ceremony and reception all in one, beautiful location. Also, we were able to take all of our photos at the location, so we could get back to the party right away without our guests having to wait several hours! And our pictures came out amazing! Everyone asks where we got married.

Also, it was nice to know that the money we spent on the venue goes back to preserving this amazingly beautiful park. Definitely worth it.

The staff was professional and made sure everything was set up as I specified. The facilities were clean, and completely dry after it had rained all week!

Rhonda and the rest of the staff I spoke to via email (as I planned long distance) were extremely professional and responsive in a timely manner to all my little questions and numerous emails. They were very flexible with my requests for decor and furniture set up.

I also liked the fact that we could bring in other vendors and we weren't restricted like other venues do. They even provided a list of reputable vendors and we were not disappointed with their recommendations!

We look forward to visiting the Park in the years to come and eventually bringing our children to the place where Mommy and Daddy got married. :-)

Wedding: 09/10/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Best Venue! So beautiful. We rented out the Cabin Garden site here. Our guests loved it and so did we. Our contact at Wickham (Rhonda) is so friendly and responsive. And you get a great value for your buck. They provide tables, rocking chairs (since it is at a beautiful cabin site), chairs, and many other features. Our wedding day was amazing and the venue was nothing short of incredible. Definitely recommend this place!
Wedding: 09/03/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
My husband and I had our rehearsal and ceremony in the English Garden. The ceremony was at 5pm and the sun was just low enough below the trees so our guests would swelter in the heat...it was perfect! It is an ideal location for garden wedding. We got so many compliments about how beautiful our ceremony was.

We ordered 100 chairs for the wedding at $2.50 a chair. The week before I called asking for 10 more chairs, and they accomodated us COMPLIMENTARY!

I was very impressed by their ability to answer any questions or concerns.

There is a white tent they can put up over the chairs incase it showers/rains. You have to reserve it and decide if you want it the day before the wedding ($400 for tent).

Only downfall is you don't get your money back if you are unable to have your ceremony there due to weather.

Wonderful location for pictures-- included a few in my photo album...take a look!
Wedding: 08/13/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I like to give constructive criticism and not give all my vendors 5 stars for everything but it's unavoidable.

Wickham park was the perfect location in every way for our wedding. We got married in the cabin garden. For a tent, cabin and garden all-inclusive the price is incredible.

Guess what? It rained on our wedding day. We were lucky enough to get our wedding party and first look pictures done in the garden before the rain started. When we finally decided that it was impossible to get married outside overlooking the skyline of hartford we accepted that we would get married in front of the fireplace, below that amazing moose head. My husband and I are so happy it rained during our ceremony. Our guests waited in the cabin, our wedding party on the porch and my husband and I hid in the gazebo. The ceremony was so intimate because all our guests were standing around us and the acoustics were great. It felt so personal. I would reccommend putting pictures up of each spouse's parents and grandparents on their wedding day on the big mantle. It made getting married inside that much more meaningful.

The tent is beautiful. The bar is convenient and the venue is the perfect size for a party of size 100 or more. You would be silly not to consider the Cabin Garden at Wickham park for your wedding.
Wedding: 07/08/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Jessica 5 Reviews
The park is absolutely beautiful. The staff was extremely helpful and very quick to respond to all of my questions. 2 days before the rehearsal we needed to move the time and they were so flexible.
Wedding: 06/26/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Absolutely gorgeous. Had no problems, Rhonda answered all my questions when I e-mailed her. And I am sure I sent a lot. Had our ceremony in the English garden and it was perfect. They set up the chairs we requested before anyone showed up and packed them up after we left! Our reception was in the Cabin and cabin garden. Everything was setup as requested and the gardens were beautiful.
Wedding: 05/29/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
My husband and I got married up in the cabin garden ampitheatre on 5/7/11. I had originally planned for the English Garden, but had to change at the last minute because there just were no flowers out yet! Rhonda the events coordinator was amazing. She had no problem accomodating us. The park was gorgeous and the rain held off! The crew was super helpful. The only thing that happened is that they forgot to open the damper to the fireplace before they lit the fire, and we got smoked out for a few minutes. That problem was quickly fixed however. Rhonda was so quick to respond to any and all questions I had throughout the year. The money you pay is well worth it. They use it to maintain the park. If you have never been, you need to see it in June. We fell in love with the park the very first day we visited. Even if you just get married in one of the gardens and don't have your reception there, it will be beautiful!I don't regret changing the ceremony location at all. It was so easy to walk from the ampitheatre to the cabin. The view of Hartford in the background isn't bad either! Thank you SO much for a gorgeous wedding and for all the emotional help throughout the past year!
Wedding: 05/07/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Absolutely breath taking! It did rain during our ceremony however we had a fire in the cabin and did the ceremony there, which was gorgeous and intimate. After the rain cleared we were able to take pictures out on the beautiful ampatheater over looking the city skyline and fall foliage. The tent and cabin are a blank canvas which is perfect for creating your dream wedding. The staff is wonderful and very attentive. Highly recommended.
Wedding: 10/15/2010
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Great place!! Excellent views of the city and the cabin garden was beautiful. Rhonda was very helpful and made sure that everything happened just as we wanted. The new amphitheater at the cabin garden is extremely beautiful and makes the day run much easier. Our only complaint was that the tent isn't set up for any kinda of sound and makes it hard to have special events like the first dance and speeches in the tent area. It did rain very heavily on our wedding day the tent did a great job of keeping us dry, though some water did sneak under the tent and left some slippery areas, but the staff was very fast to sweep it out from under the tent. The area is like a blank canvas which allowed us to decorate exactly as we wanted to. Overall it was an excellent experience and would recommend this place to friends and family.
Wedding: 06/12/2010
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Such a beautiful location and so affordable. Truly the perfect setting for a wedding.
Wedding: 05/02/2010
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
My ceremony was scheduled to take place in the English garden, but with a downpour of rain and lots of mud, we were unable to have the ceremony take place there, but they were more than willing to redirect our guests to our reception facility and help us in any was possible in the planning process.
Wedding: 09/26/2008
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I absolutely loved this location. We got married at the "Cabin Garden" which provides a log cabin, a white wedding tent, endless flowers all around the grounds, and a beautiful view of the Hartford skyline. In fact, my mother took about 200 pictures of the destination itself :)
Wedding: 08/02/2008
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  4.5
If you are looking for an indoor/outdoor wedding venue held adjacent to beautifully maintained gardens, then Wickham Park should be at the top of your list. The venue was able to accommodate a very casual or highly sophisticated wedding, which was wonderful. I was married there last fall and had a wonderful experience. The photo opportunities were amazing. Rhonda was wonderful to coordinate with throughout the planning process. We were able to have the wedding of our dreams on a very limited budget, and feel like we did not have to sacrifice anything. I would highly recommend Wickham Park for a wedding site for any future brides.
Wedding: 09/30/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
 860-528-0856
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors Find Me on Facebook
 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7
out of 5.0