Walkers Overlook
    49 Reviews
8939 Woodsboro Pike
Walkers Overlook
Walkersville, MD 21793  | map
Services: Bridal Shower, Ceremony, Engagement Party, Reception
Catering: Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Maximum capacity: 300
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (49)   Photos   Videos   FAQ   Map    
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (5.0/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.9/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (5.0/5.0)
Value:
 (4.9/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (5.0/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Holly was a joy to work with! She made that day go beautifully. The location is gorgeous and the people are wonderful. This location was a dream come true for my husband and I.
Wedding: 07/19/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Walker's Overlook was one of the best businesses I have ever dealt with. Missy was so helpful and confident that she put my mind at ease the whole time. I can not say enough good things about this venue.
Wedding: 07/04/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Jodee 3 Reviews
Walkers Overlook is a dream venue for any event. Beyond the picturesque location, onsite amenities and all-day contract for your event, is an incredible staff that will make your day hassle free. I recently held my wedding here and couldn't have been happier with the way the day turned out. The Walkers Overlook team is superb. My wedding coordinator, Missi, was communicative with me and my bridal party the entire day of the event. She was an excellent mediator between myself and vendors and helped take a lot of the stress off of the final details of our wedding.

As my ceremony drew near and thunderstorms continued to roll through, Mark, Dave and Missi kept an eye on the radar and found a break in the rain to give me the option to still have an outdoor ceremony. With my approval to go ahead of schedule, Missi quickly got all of my guests outside, DJ ready and bridal party in their places. It was a true whirlwind and I was amazed how swiftly and effortlessly it all came together. I can’t thank Walkers Overlook and their staff enough for the wonderful wedding day they gave me, my groom, family and friends. We all had an unforgettable day!
Wedding: 07/03/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
My now husband and i got married on April 12th at Walkers Overlook. The venue which you can see from the pictures is beyond amazing and beautiful. We working with both Mark and Missi and they were both great! Missi could not have been more attentive, detail oriented and patient. She responded to all of my emails quickly and answered any questions i may have. When we thought our guest total was going to go above what the tent held (luckily it didn't) she helped me by putting together several seating charts of how we could set the tent up and make it work. When it came time for a rehearsal Mark was so generous he allowed us to come Friday night and set some stuff up, Missi walked us through the rehearsal step by step and even when it started to rain she didn't rush us, she wanted to make sure we were comfortable with everything. If you choose Walkers Overlook for your venue you will be very happy and i'm sure as they did for me, they will exceed your expectations.
Wedding: 04/12/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Walkers Overlook is the perfect place for wedding celebration. The venue is absolutely beautiful. The owners and manager were helpful and accommodating from the moment of our 1st contact to the completion of our reception. Missi coordinated with all of the vendors, set up meeting times, worked out kinks and ensured that the day went off without a hitch.
Wedding: 04/05/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I wanted to take a minute to thank you and especially Missy for making our daughter's wedding the perfect day. As several of our guests put it, 'It was a fairy tale wedding'.

From the first time we walked into Walker's Overlook it felt right. You and your staff were very warm welcoming people and the venue is beyond breath taking. Missy was very responsive during all of the months of planning and day of the event she tended to every detail like we were her own family. The grounds were perfectly manicure right down to the last leaf being removed.

I had many people at the wedding say that it was the best wedding they had ever been to and that the property was beautiful.

I cant begin to express in words how wonderful Missy is. She was on top of everything all day and night. She has a sweet calming way about her which kept me calm when the officiant was late. She kept in touch with him and kept us up to date on his arrival. Missy is great at making suggestions at the same time making sure we were happy with everything. The day would not have gone so perfectly without her. She did not miss one detail no matter how small or insignificant it may have seemed. I am having a hard time actually communicating in words how happy we all were. The day was truly perfect!

I would recommend the venue, you and your staff to anyone needing a perfect place to celebrate!

Thank you with all of my heart for your care and kindness making it a great day!

Wedding: 11/16/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 3 Reviews
The venue alone is absolutely gorgeous! We had several compliments on how beautiful walkers overlook is. Mark was the person who showed us around and he was incredibly helpful with suggestions on what would make things run more smooth. Once we booked we were sent to Missi. I can not express how wonderful she is. She could tell when I would be flustered and would politely ask if she could take over. When she did she was very professional and incredibly helpful. She was a godsend. Our wedding would not have gone as smooth as it did without her assistance. I was busy for most of the night but my mom said the entire night she was doing things behind the scenes to ensure everything kept flowing as it should. My new husband I have said several times that we wish we could relive the day because it was a dream wedding.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Walker's Overlook was an absolutely amazing venue for my wedding. Not only is the venue itself gorgeous but the owners and the staff are wonderful as well! The venue has a huge and beautiful outdoor tent and a farmhouse. We had our wedding and rehearsal dinner at Walker's Overlook. The venue was perfect for both events. We had our rehearsal dinner in the farmhouse and the wedding cocktail hour inside. Our reception was outside in the tent and it was very large and accommodated our large wedding perfectly. Mark who owns Waker's Overlook as well as Missi the onsite coordinator were both so helpful and caring. I cannot say enough great things about my experience with this venue. If you are looking for a unique venue, this is an absolute must!
Wedding: 11/01/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Walkers Overlook is a BEAUTIFUL venue and perfect for both your ceremony and reception. The grounds are in perfect condition and the house is large enough for a big bridal party and family to get ready in. Missi and Mark are fantastic, easy to work with and very flexible. The grounds offer so many photo ops and have great character. I am so happy to have had my wedding here and all my guests gushed about how beautiful everything was. Thanks again!
Wedding: 10/18/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 2 Reviews
I would highly recommend this beautiful venue to anyone who is looking for an amazing indoor/outdoor venue. It is breathtaking with the option of having it all inside if necessary and the staff there is amazing. They truly care about you and your wedding day and will help you in any way to make it happen.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 1 Reviews
We booked Walkers Overlook sight unseen from up in Boston. We were very nervous but, Wow our expectations were met and exceeded. This venue is truly breathtaking, both inside and out. Missi and Mark were amazing to work with and were very helpful with every aspect of planning a long distance wedding.
We had so many people say it was the best and most beautiful wedding they had ever been to. Our dreams of a perfect day came true!!!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I can easily say that our wedding day at Walker's Overlook was the happiest day of our lives. Walker's Overlook was the first venue we looked at after getting engaged and we immediately fell in love with it. I coordinated on the details of the wedding for the past year with coordinator Missi, who was a pleasure to work with and always helpful when I had questions.

We had an outdoor ceremony under the large walnut tree in the backyard that was absolutely breathtaking. It was my fondest memory of the day. I can't say enough about the beauty of this venue - there are so many unique spots for photos. The bridal suite is very nice and spacious enough to comfortably fit a larger bridal party. My groomsmen really enjoyed the man cave as well since it enabled them to watch some of their homecoming football game. The tent is also great, with lots of space, and allows you to take in the scenery while being covered in case of bad weather (although we got lucky with a nice day!)

All of the staff were extremely attentive and helped make the day go smoothly. The owner, Mark, personally helped our Best Man set up the cocktail hour music to play on the patio. Wendy, our on-site coordinator that day was amazing! I was concerned about my ring bearer walking by himself as he had a tough time at the rehearsal the day before, and she immediately stepped in and told me she'd take care of it. The next thing I knew, my dad and I were staring out the window watching the little guy proudly walking down the aisle all by himself! She also organized the bridal party to receive us on the dance floor as we entered into the reception without any prior notice.

Thanks to Mark and his staff at Walker's Overlook - I was able to enjoy the day carefree. They made planning incredibly simple and gave me a wonderful memory of my wedding day at the perfect location!
Wedding: 10/05/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
My wife and I could not have been happier with the beauty of the venue, the professionalism of the owner's, and their flexibility with us and facilitating all of our ideas and projects. We had numerous questions and ideas that we e-mailed to them on a weekly basis, and throughout the year we were planning our wedding we never had to wait longer than 24 hours to get a positive response back form the staff at Walker's Overlook.
Wedding: 09/28/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I cannot imagine a more beautiful venue that managed to shine even through the rain!

The staff and in particular our wedding coordinator Missi couldn't have been more helpful, providing weather updates all morning as we prepared the tables leaving the decision to bring the outdoor ceremony inside to the last minute. The staff did this seamlessly and indeed had set up the 140 chairs and moved flowers before I had realised it was happening. Missi also came to the rescue, chasing the linen and china delivery that was late; helping us dress the tables, watching the time and even ordering pizza to replace the vegetarian option that failed to appear with the catering. A calming supportive presence through out the day - thank you!
Wedding: 09/21/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We were married at Walker's Overlook in September 2013 and I cannot imagine anywhere better to have celebrated. The venue is gorgeous, especially on a clear, bright day. The house is in pristine condition and is full of many nooks and crannies that are great for photo ops. The bridal suite is huge, which is fantastic if you have a larger wedding party. Walker's Overlook was very accommodating and we were able to bring in our hair and makeup artists to prep us on site. The bathroom is enormous, which meant we were able to spread out as we got ready, and well stocked with those little things you didn't realize you would need (hair spray, gum, needle/thread). The groom's area is perfect for the gents, complete with bar area and pinball machines. Also makes for a great photo op.

The grounds were in fantastic order during our wedding. It was clear that Mark and his staff had come in early to ensure everything was in place for our 10 am arrival. That's right, this venue allows you to show up at 10 am and stay until midnight -- that was a huge selling point for us because it meant we wouldn't have to be rushed as we put up decorations or got ready. The tent is very large and can seat up to 300 people. With only 100 people at our wedding though, Mark, Missi, and Wendy ensured the tables were set up so the tent didn't feel too empty.

Throughout the process of preparing for our wedding, Mark, David, Missi, and Wendy were incredibly responsive, helpful, kind, and patient. We had several questions that we went back and forth on and they were always there to help.

I cannot say enough wonderful things about this venue. I had several of my guests tell me throughout the night that we had chosen a beautiful location. I highly recommend that you go check this place out in person to see it yourself. Just make sure to visit several months in advance -- I wouldn't be surprised if they're booking up fast these days!
Wedding: 09/15/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I do not have enough amazing things to say about Walkers Overlook as a wedding venue. From Day One, Mark and David and their team were amazing to work with. They were flexible, responsive, and just so wonderful. Now, onto the venue-- good god. We had more compliments than one could ever dream of. Friends, family friends, facebook friends based on pictures -- they couldn't say enough about how amazing Walkers Overlook was. We feel so amazing blessed to have had this as the backdrop to our perfect day. I would 100% recommend them to any future bride!!!
Wedding: 09/13/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
 301-748-5667
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors Find Me on Facebook
 
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9
out of 5.0