Walkers Overlook
    59 Reviews
8939 Woodsboro Pike
Walkers Overlook
Walkersville, MD 21793  | map
Services: Bridal Shower, Ceremony, Engagement Party, Reception
Catering: Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Maximum capacity: 300
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (59)   Photos   Videos   FAQ   Map    
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (5.0/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.9/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (5.0/5.0)
Value:
 (4.9/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (5.0/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Walkers Overlook is the premier wedding venue. From the first encounter to the last the staff could not have been better. Mel was our attendant for the day and she was so attentive. The Bridal suite and Man Cave were so much fun for the wedding attendants. The guests were overwhelmed by the natural beauty of the venue. Our daughters wedding was absolutely PERFECT, thank you, Walkers Overlook.

The Hilton/Brady Families
Wedding: 09/28/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Can not say enough wonderful things about our experience at Walker's Overlook. I am the father of the bride, and from the moment we first drove up the long driveway to the spectacular facility and grounds, we knew this was where the wedding would take place. Meeting with Mark and getting the complete tour only solidified our feelings of warmth, comfort, and beauty about Walker's Overlook. We had been looking at rustic venues, including barns and Inns in the area, but Walker's Overlook took the cake hands down.
Mark was very professional and personable - we felt like he was an old friend from the minute we met him. He went out of his way to ensure we had all the information we needed and spent time with us to learn as much as he could about what we were looking for in a venue for this special occasion. Follow-on communication with Mark was very easy via email and phone, and he was extremely responsive.
We met Missi, our coordinator at Walker's Overlook, several months before the wedding to go over the venue in detail with our caterer to ensure everything was planned out. Missi took detailed notes, provided our caterer with everything they needed, and was very helpful. This was just a sign of things to come as the wedding day arrived.
On the wedding day, Missi was spectacular. She took care of so many things, making sure nothing was left to chance. She had an air of confidence about her that put us at ease. And to top it all off, she surprised us with a rainbow at the perfect time.
At the end of our event, long after most of the guests had left, Mark was hanging out with my son-in-law's dog, a big Boxer. When the hotel shuttle left (without taking our last set of guests back to the hotel), he offered to take them all back in his truck. Like I mentioned earlier, it was as if he was an old friend - there when you needed him.
If you are looking for a beautiful venue for your wedding, look no further!!!
Wedding: 09/21/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Mark and Missi both went above and beyond to make our wedding day amazing! We loved the venue and couldn't have asked for a better Wedding Day!
Wedding: 09/21/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 2 Reviews
Ah Walkers Overlook... I'm not sure that I can fit all I would love to say in my review. In a nutshell, thank you for offering access to your beautiful property and making us feel like it was truly our home for the day. It was a joy to work with Mark & Mel throughout the planning process because I felt free to text message Mel with any questions I might have at any time of day and she assured me that no question was silly or too insignificant! Until I found Walkers Overlook, it was difficult to find a venue that gave me so much freedom in wedding planning. Walkers Overlook felt more like a relative's home than a business. We had so much freedom in who we selected as our caterer, our bartenders, our DJ, our officiant, etc. It meant so much to me to have those options because we were able to create a wedding that really felt personal--it was a true reflection of "us." On top of that, we were the only wedding taking place that day and had full access to the reception area, ceremony site, bridal suite, kitchen, and more from 10am-midnight, meaning all of our families and friends were able to be there to help decorate and having that experience together was just as memorable, if not more, than the wedding. So THANK YOU, my only regret is that I wish we could have such a great experience all over again!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Rehearsal Dinner Location, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Talk about value... Walkers Overlook is the ideal setting, with a fantastic team, and includes so many things in the rental price that make it an absolutely fantastic venue.

Not only is the venue absolutely stunning but I have never worked with such a flexible and friendly staff (and I plan events for a living). No matter what request we had they were able to help us make it a reality. Missi Henry was fantastic as our contact and made our wedding day stress free coordinating all of the vendors and ceremony details.

I could go on for paragraphs describing every detail, but my best suggestion is to visit the location and meet the team. You won't be disappointed.

Not only would I recommend the venue to a friend, I'm hoping someone I know gets married there just so I can go back. :)

Incredible. Couldn't have asked for a better venue!!
Wedding: 09/12/2014
Services Used: Rehearsal Dinner Location, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Katrina 6 Reviews
I was just married at Walker's Overlook two weekends ago. I can't tell you how pleased I am with my decision. Walker's Overlook is a unique, breathtaking venue that I received numerous compliments on. On top of the gorgeous landscape, there is a huge-size tent (almost a building structure) that can hold a huge party! The gazebo was a great touch which I added for my DIY photobooth and let people roam through as they had cocktail hour on the patio. My favorite parts of Walker's Overlook were the mancave, the swing, the beautiful tree you get married under and the bridal suite. The bridal suite is HUGE and allows plenty of room for everyone to get ready in. There is a balcony next to the suite that overlook s the whole premises so I took a moment to take it all in the morning of.

Not only are the grounds and venue amazing, the staff is just wonderful. They were flexible, kind, understanding and knowledgeable. Missi was my coordinator and she helped me so much on the day of my wedding as thunderstorms threatened our skies. She helped me have my ceremony outside just as I had always wanted and made sure to get us in the reception tent before it started raining. She was just absolutely such a sweetheart and so helpful. I also met Mark various times at the premises and he was very pleasant and helpful. I would recommend this venue to any bride who is looking for a rustic-chic, personalized venue.
Wedding: 09/06/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 5 Reviews
One month later and our guests are still raving about our amazing venue for our wedding reception! We couldn't have been luckier to find Walker's Overlook and it is such an amazing deal, so much land and they only host one event per day. We had a huge wedding, about 300 guests so it was difficult to find a venue that could accommodate the size of our guest list without being limited to a large banquet hall or hotel ballroom. We instantly fell in love with Walker's Overlook when we visited in January, even before the flowers bloomed and the tent was set up. There is so much land and beauty out here. Walker's Overlook is constantly changing (for the better) and it gets more and more beautiful throughout the seasons. Mark and Missi were SO AMAZING to work with- super flexible, calm and friendly. You can definitely tell that they are the pros at what they do. I LOVE Walker's Overlook. I can't wait to find another excuse to come back here! Thank you, thank you, thank you!!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 4 Reviews
The service was incredible - very responsive and professional. The venue was impeccable - perfect place for my daughter's wedding. I highly recommend Walker's Overlook!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Rehearsal Dinner Location, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Walkers Overlook is an amazing wedding venue. Mark and his staff were great and very flexible! We had some many people coming up to us commenting on how beautiful the venue was and we were so pleased with the way everything turned out. We highly recommend this venue!
Wedding: 08/02/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Holly was a joy to work with! She made that day go beautifully. The location is gorgeous and the people are wonderful. This location was a dream come true for my husband and I.
Wedding: 07/19/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Walker's Overlook was one of the best businesses I have ever dealt with. Missy was so helpful and confident that she put my mind at ease the whole time. I can not say enough good things about this venue.
Wedding: 07/04/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Jodee 3 Reviews
Walkers Overlook is a dream venue for any event. Beyond the picturesque location, onsite amenities and all-day contract for your event, is an incredible staff that will make your day hassle free. I recently held my wedding here and couldn't have been happier with the way the day turned out. The Walkers Overlook team is superb. My wedding coordinator, Missi, was communicative with me and my bridal party the entire day of the event. She was an excellent mediator between myself and vendors and helped take a lot of the stress off of the final details of our wedding.

As my ceremony drew near and thunderstorms continued to roll through, Mark, Dave and Missi kept an eye on the radar and found a break in the rain to give me the option to still have an outdoor ceremony. With my approval to go ahead of schedule, Missi quickly got all of my guests outside, DJ ready and bridal party in their places. It was a true whirlwind and I was amazed how swiftly and effortlessly it all came together. I can’t thank Walkers Overlook and their staff enough for the wonderful wedding day they gave me, my groom, family and friends. We all had an unforgettable day!
Wedding: 07/03/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Our family has known Mark for a long time and were excited to host our wedding at his newly acquired venue. The home is beautiful, scenery is gorgeous and Mark, Missy, David and team were fabulous!

The team was wonderful to work with and super easy going. They make what could be a stressful planning situation so easy. They were there every step of the way, offering ideas and suggestions to make the process smooth and simple. We received wonderful feedback from guests and have joked about throwing a one year anniversary party at the site to relive the awesome evening!

The value of the site and service was wonderful. Guests found the location to be easy to find and would highly recommend to everyone!

Thank you so much - Colin and I will remember our special day so fondly and have much to credit to the Walkers Overlook group :)
Wedding: 05/31/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
My now husband and i got married on April 12th at Walkers Overlook. The venue which you can see from the pictures is beyond amazing and beautiful. We working with both Mark and Missi and they were both great! Missi could not have been more attentive, detail oriented and patient. She responded to all of my emails quickly and answered any questions i may have. When we thought our guest total was going to go above what the tent held (luckily it didn't) she helped me by putting together several seating charts of how we could set the tent up and make it work. When it came time for a rehearsal Mark was so generous he allowed us to come Friday night and set some stuff up, Missi walked us through the rehearsal step by step and even when it started to rain she didn't rush us, she wanted to make sure we were comfortable with everything. If you choose Walkers Overlook for your venue you will be very happy and i'm sure as they did for me, they will exceed your expectations.
Wedding: 04/12/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Walkers Overlook is the perfect place for wedding celebration. The venue is absolutely beautiful. The owners and manager were helpful and accommodating from the moment of our 1st contact to the completion of our reception. Missi coordinated with all of the vendors, set up meeting times, worked out kinks and ensured that the day went off without a hitch.
Wedding: 04/05/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 3 Reviews
The venue alone is absolutely gorgeous! We had several compliments on how beautiful walkers overlook is. Mark was the person who showed us around and he was incredibly helpful with suggestions on what would make things run more smooth. Once we booked we were sent to Missi. I can not express how wonderful she is. She could tell when I would be flustered and would politely ask if she could take over. When she did she was very professional and incredibly helpful. She was a godsend. Our wedding would not have gone as smooth as it did without her assistance. I was busy for most of the night but my mom said the entire night she was doing things behind the scenes to ensure everything kept flowing as it should. My new husband I have said several times that we wish we could relive the day because it was a dream wedding.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
 301-232-3546
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors Find Me on Facebook
 
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9
out of 5.0