The White Gown
A Gown for that Special Day
3 East44th Street
5th Floor
New York, NY 10017  | map
Services: Bride
Accessories: Hair Accessories, Jewelry, Veils
 
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (54)   Photos   FAQ   Map    
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.8/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.8/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.7/5.0)
Value:
 (4.6/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.7/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 5 Reviews
This was the second bridal salon that I visited and I loved every moment of this experience. It is located in DUMBO Brooklyn and it has a very personal feel to the store. You are placed in your own room where your guest sit in your personal room as you try on dresses. The woman that assisted me was sooo helpful and never made me feel pressured in anyway.
Wedding: [Private]
Services Used: Dress & Attire
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  4.5

Private User 2 Reviews
The White Gown listened to what I was looking for and brought me dresses to try on that were an array of prices, but none of which went over my budget. I did not feel one speck of pressure to raise my budget in order to get what I wanted, like some other places out there. I ended up with the most perfect dress for myself. It was an enjoyable experience working with the staff and getting my dress altered too!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Dress & Attire
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Marlana 2 Reviews
This was the ONLY place that would get my gown in for me to see it... and I would LOVE LOVE LOVE to wear my gown again.. such an amazing job giving me 2 different looks out of 1 gown... so modern. Loved it ♥
Wedding: 11/01/2013
Services Used: Dress & Attire
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  1.0
  • Value:  3.0
  • Flexibility:  4.5

Theresa 5 Reviews
Emily was my sales person at this shop. She was FANTASTIC! She made the experience warm and fun for my sisters and I- she was great! However, after purchasing the gown, things went south. I was told Id be contacted to set up my fitting appointments...I never was and finally I had to call them 11 wks before the wedding just to get the process started which resulted in me having to move MY schedule around to take whatever appointments THEY had left. This resulted in me having appointments practically on top of each other. During all this, they were in the process of moving from DUMBO to midtown and didnt do a great job notifying us of this. Amanda was the alterations manager there and she was another bright spot to my experience as she too was awesome and worked so hard to be flexible (she even came in on her day off for my final fitting) and did a great job with my gown. The desk staff however were short and unapologetic when calling a day before I was due for my final fitting to cancel (I am a Phila. area bride that had to coordinate these NY trips) and haphazardly reschedule- again at THEIR convenience. The new site is a wee bit sterile as opposed to the original site's (Jay st) warm and homey feel. AGAIN...Amanda and Emily were amazing, its because of those ladies I gave 5 stars for Quality of service and responsiveness.
Wedding: 10/11/2013
Services Used: Dress & Attire
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I did not get my dress here (I'm SUPER picky) BUT still wanted to say how great this place was. From the second I arrived, Marie was very nice and very helpful. She chose gowns that flattered my figure and were within my price range. She even chose a couple of dresses that I wouldn't have thought to look at but I liked that as it helped me see beyond my preferences. Overall, I had zero issues with this place from making the appointment to trying the gowns on. Everyone was absolutely fantastic!
Wedding: 10/11/2013
Services Used: Dress & Attire
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 7 Reviews
So much better than a warehouse experience, we loved working with Emily and the staff at The White Gown. We were at their cute little boutique in Brooklyn (I believe they moved), and enjoyed the entire process. Our daughter knew what she wanted, tried on other options, and though she didn't find the exact dress she was looking for, found one that was made by the same designer and looked exquisite not only in the boutique but on her wedding day. The whole process was fun, easy, and professional. Emily wrote our daughter a personal note after our visit - who does that any more? It was the touch of a classy boutique, and I loved it. I hope their new location gives the same boutique vibe - truly a wonderful experience.
Wedding: 09/07/2013
Services Used: Dress & Attire
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 5 Reviews
A small boutique store but has many dresses for the discerning bride. They also were willing to give discounts if you were able to purchase any other items related to the wedding .
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Dress & Attire
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  3.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
My dress looked fabulous the day of my wedding. I do feel like a payed a bit much for alterations but the lady did a perfect job so I was happy with that.
Wedding: 07/26/2013
Services Used: Dress & Attire
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.5
  • Responsiveness:  4.5
  • Professionalism:  4.5
  • Value:  4.5
  • Flexibility:  4.5
The White Gown in Dumbo, Brooklyn was a great place to find my wedding dress. After going to a few other bigger boutiques, I really liked the small, intimate feel of The White Gown. The dress I ended up going with from there was absolutely perfect for my wedding, I felt like my consultant really understood what I was going for. I received so many compliments on my dress and many people wanted to know where I found it. I definitely recommend checking this place out if you are looking for a wedding dress in NYC.
Wedding: 07/19/2013
Services Used: Dress & Attire
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I bought my dress here and I am so happy I did! I am from out of town, but it was never a problem for them to ship me my dress and never complained that I was not getting my fittings done in-house. They have a lot of dresses to choose from and they are all at a reasonable price.

I suggest looking at their website before you go and browsing through the designers they offer... thats what I did and I knew exactly what dresses to try on when I walked in the store.

They were extremely helpful, very responsive, and shipped my dress quickly. Two thumbs up!!
Wedding: 07/13/2013
Services Used: Dress & Attire
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.5
  • Responsiveness:  4.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.5
  • Flexibility:  4.5
LOVED THEM!

I went to David's bridal, RK bridal, etc.... And a friend suggested I go to the White Gown because that's where she got her gown. I was hesitant because they're a small boutique and I thought a bigger place with more variety would be better. Wrong! I told my associate what I thought I was looking for and ended up getting the 2nd dress she brought me.

THEN, my dress came back way too big. I ended up getting my alterations done there and LOVED the way she made my dress fit me. And they were fast with it too!

Highly recommend.
Wedding: 07/06/2013
Services Used: Dress & Attire
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 6 Reviews
Five stars all around for the White Gown - they were fabulous from start to finish.

I'm not a Kleinfeld's kind of girl, and didn't have a $5,000+ budget for a wedding dress. It was no problem at the White Gown - they found plenty of styles for me to try that were well within my budget with absolutely zero judgment or nudging upwards on the price point. I definitely didn't feel the same condescension that I felt at several Manhattan boutiques - the associate Erica was friendly and offered helpful suggestions without a hint of snootiness or upselling.

The alteration process was also seamless (pun unintended!). The White Gown always sent confirmation emails to remind me about the visits, and I had 3 in total to take in the sides, put in bust cups, and sew in a French bustle. The seamstress was awesome and I actually looked forward to seeing her each time I went in! I was really impressed by her talent and enthusiasm for making my dress look great.

Overall every part of my experience at the White Gown was great and I would definitely recommend them!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Dress & Attire
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
When I went to the White gown I thought I knew what I wanted. Then I met Marie and she showed me what I really needed. Everything was fantastic!
Wedding: 06/29/2013
Services Used: Dress & Attire
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I live in Virginia but had a weekend trip planned to New York last fall, so I wrote to the White Gown to make an appointment while I was in town. Although the salon is difficult to get to from Midtown (long Subway ride or expensive town car rental), it was worth it. The salon is pretty and neat, and I loved that we had a private fitting room big enough to fit my mom, our saleswoman, me and all of the dresses so I didn't have to try them on in front of a crowd. My saleswoman was AMAZING -- she made me feel completely comfortable and had great tips on what to look for. She also pulled several dresses based on what I pointed out in their book, as well as several from the trunk show they were holding at the time. I tried on 2 or 3 gowns that I thought I would like, then ended up falling in love with a gown that wasn't even in my preferred style. The White Gown found a gorgeous belt to make the dress even better, placed my order for the dress, and had the dress shipped to me in Virginia when it arrived so that I wouldn't have to commute to NYC for fittings. Although I didn't use The White Gown's alterations service, I can attest that their shopping, ordering, and mailing services are outstanding! They were very fast responding to all of my (many) emailed questions (who isn't nervous when their wedding gown is being shipped?), made sure we got electronic receipts of everything, and gave us the tracking info for the package so we knew exactly when to be home to sign for my dress. Everything went perfectly, and the dress arrived in perfect condition (hardly any wrinkles even!). I couldn't have found a better salon to buy my wedding gown from. Thanks for a wonderful experience White Gown!
Wedding: 06/29/2013
Services Used: Dress & Attire
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.0
  • Professionalism:  4.0
  • Value:  4.5
  • Flexibility:  3.5

Private User 5 Reviews
Finding and deciding on my gown at this boutique was one of the most special experiences of my life. The dress I had decided on was the very first one I tried on! (I made my final decision after trying on several others at various locations of course - but finally circled back to my favorite gown). The staff was very inviting and accommodating. I was always happy when I walked in the door, from the first time I went in to browse, to the final alterations appointment. They have a great selection, and very kind attendants who will help you find exactly what you're looking for.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Dress & Attire
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 10 Reviews
My mother and I both purchased our dresses from the White Gown, and had alterations done there. The shop has a wonderful intimate, cozy feeling with a friendly staff (my consultant Emily was great), and a small but well chosen selection of dresses.

Alterations went off without a hitch and our dresses fit us perfectly!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Dress & Attire
 212-922-9310
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7
out of 5.0