The Surf Club On The Sound
    59 Reviews
280 Davenport Avenue
New Rochelle, NY 10805  | map
Services: Bridal Shower, Ceremony, Engagement Party, Reception
Catering: Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Maximum capacity: 800
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (59)   Photos   FAQ   Map    
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.2/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (3.7/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (3.9/5.0)
Value:
 (4.1/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (3.7/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
What an amazing time we had this past weekend at our daughter wedding at the Surf Club on the Sound. From the unbelievable décor to the view , to the staff and the food. it was everything we hoped for and more. From the start, the attention was A-1. We couldn't have been happier with our choice.

All our guests were blown away and had a blast . Everyone raved about the service and how beautiful the venue was.

Thank you to Sandro, Antonio, Rick, George and Nancy at the front desk for all your patience and hard work to make this day so perfect. and Merrill our bridal attendant who was beyond anything we could have expected. She took care of the bride, the groom, the parents..... She took care of the cake topper, the cake cutter and she makes one mean wedding dress bustle!!! There wasn't anything this amazing woman didn’t do. She organized EVERYTHING. Kept everyone calm. She made sure we packed everything (including the veil!).

We cannot say enough about how professional, thoughtful and organized everyone was.
We thank you ….For keeping us calm and for trying to please us in all that we asked for.
For taking all my phone calls and answering all my questions.
For just always being there with a smile on your faces.
You have outdone yourselves with the renovations of the Surf Club. It was beautiful to begin with and now it is just spectacular!

Everything was above and beyond our expectations. Our guests were in awe of the cocktail hour, with the variety of the food, presentation and overall the TASTE. We're still getting calls from family and friends saying what an amazing time they had.

A million thanks to the entire staff at The Surf Club on the Sound. We are grateful to everyone for making our children’s special day the best day of their lives and for making it so memorable!
Wedding: 06/22/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We got married at the Surf Club last week and it was AMAZING!!! It was our dream wedding! We had the best experience!! From Jaime Gizzo who helped us plan it all, to Mitch our Maitre D who was a God Send to Yoanna my bridal attendant who was a perfect combination of laid back and professional to the Captain Rogerio who was a delight!! And Lisa and Linda the florists, although we had a bumpy start you guys truly did an amazing job with the church, the dias table and the center pieces. It was a romantic affair!! THANK YOU all!! My advise to future brides. Don't always listen to the reviews because you don't know whether the brides were difficult, divas, or over the top on their expectations. But at the same time, keep track of all your plans, payments, and info so that you can feel more at ease. And if you plan your wedding here ask for Jaime, Mitch, Yoanna and Rogerio. Truly outstanding serive!
Wedding: 10/18/2013
Services Used: Unique Services (Other)
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Wedding Date: August 10, 2013

I will start with the 1st day I started planning my wedding with the Surf Club I received superb attention and everybody was very attentive to details. I had two banquet managers and they were both great. I stayed in contact with the Surf Club and any questions I had I received a response back immediately from Rick and Ron. A week before the event I received a call from Jamy and a couple of days later Joe followed up in reference to my favors and etc.. The day of the wedding my wedding was flawless. My bridal attendant Rugerio was the best thing ever. He was very attentive to me, groom and the bridal party. I had the perfect wedding. I truly want to say the location, the food and staff was great. For a dream wedding, please bypass some of the negative reviews and understand that everybody's experience will be different. I live out of state and me planning this wedding over the phone and by emails, shows that a wonderful wedding can be done. The Surf Club did a outstanding job on our Wedding. Thank You Surf Club for a job Well Done.
Wedding: 08/10/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I had my wedding at The Surf Club in July 2013 and it was all my dreams come true. First of all, the place is GORGEOUS. Between being on the water, the staircase in the entrance, and the room itself, you CANNOT find a more beautiful place in Westchester. During the planning stages, my main contact was Jamie and he played a large part in making this day the wedding I always imagined. He not only would talk to me when I called, but he would proactively call me to check in and see how all my other planning was going. He helped me with my menu and made all my ideas come to life. Anything I wanted, Jamie made happen.

Once we got close to the wedding date, Joe was my main contact, as he was our maitre d. He was truly awesome! He was so on top of everything before the wedding and during the wedding. If we needed something to get done during the reception, he could always be found and helped us immediately. He even suggested having sparklers for my husband and I's entrance and it was the most amazing moment ever.

During the wedding, my bridal attendant was Merril. I only hope that every bride can have someone like Merril be with them. She bustled my dress, made me eat (which is very important), and was just the nicest person. She really took care of me all night and was there for me. What a wonderful person! Loved her.

Overall, I do not have any complaints about having my wedding at The Surf Club. In fact, I highly would recommend having an event, especially a wedding, here. It was so perfect. This was due largely in part to Jamie, Joe, and Merril so I owe them a BIG thank you. I hope one of my friends or family members has their wedding at The Surf Club so I can come back!

Perfect choice for the day of your dreams!
Wedding: 07/27/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
If you want a beautiful wedding, with excellent food, ambiance and service, look no further. This venue may be a bit more expensive than the rest, but always remember, you get what you pay for. This was the wedding of my dreams and will be yours also.
Wedding: 07/14/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
My daughter's wedding was everything she dreamed it would be! We can't thank everyone enough, we are still getting WOW that was Amazing!! Most guests said it was the best wedding they have ever been to. I have to admit I was afraid things would not come together only because of some of the reviews we read. I now know not to believe everything you read, but mostly no matter how hard someone tries you can't please everyone! The food was hot and delicious. The cake was awesome and the flowers were over the top! We have to send our gratitude to Jaime, Lisa, Linda and JOE you were a godsend!Joe made sure everything was in order and checked with me all night! Meryl was my daughters bridal attendant, she made her feel like Queen for a day. Meryl is great at what she does and made sure everything went smoothly. I don't think we will ever stop talking about this Venue and the service that comes along with it. With sincere gratitude, the Ward and Kelly family.
Wedding: 07/07/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Christina 2 Reviews
My wedding ceremony and reception were at the Surf Club in New Rochelle. The venue, customer service, and food were impeccable. My husband and I were very impressed. My family and friends continue to comment on the food, especially the cocktail hour. The florist also did an amazing job. My only critique was the ceremony rehearsal was a little disorganized. But they made up for it on the day of... I totally had nothing to worry about. My vision and dreams came true with the help of The Surf Club team!
Wedding: 06/28/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Merrill and Joe from the Surf Club were AMAZING!!!!! Merrill was my bridal attendant and I could not have survived the day with out her. SHe was there from the start to the finish and I really had a fabulous day. She made sure I had everything I needed..if what I needed wasn't there she made it happen. Joe was like the surf club manager for my wedding. He also made everything run very seamless. When ever there was an issue prior to my wedding he was my go to. He also was there from the start to the finish.

Lisa from the flowers SUCKS she had a poor attitude and wasn't very helpful. If you didnt like what she had to say or disagreed with her she wasn't very nice. The trial run of my flowers went terrible, the centerpieces were a mess, they flowers looked like shit. BUT the day of my wedding the flowers were gorgeous, she made it happen in the end, but it was a very stressful situation, which no bride needs!

I would certainly have another event at the Surf Club but I would only sign a contract if I could use my own Florist!
Wedding: 06/09/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

A. 2 Reviews
My husband and I had the wedding of our dreams at the Surf Club on June 1st! I had read reviews online that made me have my doubts after setting our date, but Jaime at the Surf Club was absolutely FANTASTIC to work with and made the planning of our wedding so easy! My husband and I had looked at about 10-15 other venues in the NJ/NY areas and nothing compared to the Surf Club.

The food was amazing, the view is amazing, the staff was amazing, and we are still hearing about what a perfect venue we chose for our wedding. When wedding guests tell you that your wedding is the best wedding that they have ever been to, you know that you made the right choice!

The day of our wedding was picture perfect. The bridal attendant was truly fantastic and made sure that we ate (yes-we actually ate at our own wedding!) and our matre d', Rick, made sure that every step of our big day went off perfectly! If you do book your wedding at the Surf Club, make sure to book the Venetian Hour because man oh man will it "WOW" you and your guests!!!

I honestly cannot say enough amazing things about this venue, the staff, the food, and beyond! I highly recommend the Surf Club to any bride and groom who are looking to have the wedding of their dreams!

**We used the Surf Club's florist for the flowers that we had at the reception. We did not do floral centerpieces, but we did have flowers on our table, on the cake, on our bird cage, and by the place cards. We had paid the bill in full in cash, and the florist has called after our wedding regarding the remaining payment for the bill (which is $0 since it was paid in full). Thank God we kept the receipt!**
Wedding: 06/01/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 2 Reviews
My wife and I had our ceremony and reception at the Surf Club on Friday, May 17th, 2013 and it was the most amazing night ever. Everything from the flowers to the food to the venue was top notch. The maitre d Joe and bridal attendant Merril were so professional and made the night run so smoothly, and I recommend requesting these 2 for your wedding night. Jaime, our sales contact, made sure everything went as we discussed, and he did not disappoint. Everything that was promised came true and he was always there to answer any questions we had along the way. Guests could not believe the Viennese dessert hour, which was filled with so many amazing desserts from milkshakes to fried oreos, sundaes, cakes, waffles, crepes, etc. We had many guests come from Canada and they could not believe the night. They are still talking about this night and how it was the most amazing wedding they have ever been to. The Surf Club is not only the most breathtaking place to get married, but their service is exceptional and their staff is amazing. I am wishing nothing more than to be able to attend another wedding at the Surf Club because our wedding night felt like a blur and went by super fast. Thank you Surf Club for making our dreams come true.
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The Surf Club is a fabulous location for a wedding or any other special event. My wedding from the planning stages until the actual day was wonderful. Jamie (our Sales contact) feels more like a friend now. He walked us through every step of the process and even became excited with us as the day drew near. The venue itself is in beautiful condition, everything is luxurious and classy. I felt like a princess and all of our guests commented on what a great location we chose. On another note, the food was spectacular! We had the most amazing cocktail hour and the Viennese hour has to be seen to be believed. In addition, the Maitre D (Joe) and Bridal Attendant (Demi) were extremely professional and super helpful.

We HIGHLY recommend the Surf Club!
Wedding: 04/13/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
FANTASTIC!!! My Fiance and I had our engagement dinner here and everything about this place was great from beginning to end. Even from the moment you drive into place, the views are stunning.
The staff took care of us, the food was excellent, the view was perfect. They went above and beyond, and overall it was amazing.
Wedding: 02/23/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Lighting & Decor, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The Surf Club in New Rochelle is where you want to have your wedding, anniversary, renewal of vows, or any special occasion you wish to celebrate. My daughter's dream wedding was executed with the utmost of professionalism by their sublime staff. Each and every detail was met with accuracy, eloquence and smiles. It is evident to me that the staff of the Surf Club love what they do and each and everyone of my guest was made to feel welcome and afforded the very best of creature comforts. George, Nancy and Muriel ensured that my daughters "jitters" were handled with kid gloves. The cocktail hour and seated dinner provided for our guest the best of what New Rochelle has to offer. I give this venue a 5.0 overall rating and recommend to any perspective bride and her family the assurance that placing your special occasion in the hands of these consumate professionals will result in the most exquisite experience for all.
Wedding: 02/14/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
If I could describe the Surf Club with one word it would be PHENOMENAL! From the first day we met with the Surf Club staff and all the way through the end, they mirrored the definition of quality service! We worked with George Guarnieri, who looked out for us. All promises were kept, and most of all, they were very attentive and helpful throughout the entire process. Any time I had a question they were readily available. I never left a message that was not returned! The hanging chandeliers, the beautiful staircase, the bridal suite, the ballroom with beautiful centerpieces, were all breathtaking! The fountains outside were lit, and from the second you pull into the driveway, and walk in, the feeling of "OH MY GOODNESS" comes over you. This is an absolutely STUNNING venue! Lisa, the in-house florist, did a fantastic job with the flowers! She helped us meet our budget goals and gave us many recommendations and alternative ways to save, and made us feel confident that our reception hall would be as beautiful as it was! Cocktail hour and dessert hour were both held in a beautiful glass room overlooking the water. My guests raved about the elegance of the Surf Club and the food was absolutely AMAZING! The menu had a number of different choices and George was very thorough and gave details for each item that would be served. The flexibility and choices on the menu made it very easy to please all my guests; our families were both more than satisfied! They couldn't believe the amount of food, and moreover, the quality of food that was served. The dessert hour was an experience people never have had before! I HIGHLY recommend the Surf Club with great confidence they will make your wedding an absolute dream come true. With exceptional service, communication, flexibility, delicious food, and beautiful ambience of the venue, leaves us without any complaints at all! Thank you George, and the entire Surf Club staff for making our day truly memorable!
Wedding: 11/16/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I just recently had my wedding reception at the surf club.they did an amazing job.the food was delicious and all my guests were very happy! The staff was also wonderful! They were very accommodating to our requests and treated my husband and I wonderfully! They made our wedding day special and unforgettable!
Wedding: 10/14/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Regina 5 Reviews
Surf Club is truly the venue to choose if you want ALL your dreams to come true! Surf Club helped ensure that I got everything I wanted for my wedding, they were professional and responsive to all my needs and they made my event beautiful, the food was amazing and friends and family cannot stop raving that it was the best wedding they had ever been too!
Wedding: 09/29/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
 914-633-8221
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors
 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9
out of 5.0