The Riverhouse at Goodspeed Station
55 Bridge Road
Haddam, CT 06438  | map
Services: Bridal Shower, Ceremony, Engagement Party, Reception
Catering: Offered in-house
Maximum capacity: 300
 
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (158)   Photos   FAQ   Map    
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (5.0/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.9/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (5.0/5.0)
Value:
 (4.8/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.9/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Everything was wonderful! Thank you!
Wedding: 06/28/2014
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Planning, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 1 Reviews
We had our wedding at the Riverhouse at Goodspeed Station on June 22nd, 2014 and it could not have been more amazing. The day was perfect and so organized. Hattie was our contact/event planner up until the day of the wedding and then Santiago was our day-of-coordinator. Hattie kept us so organized and was so flexible with any changes (some last minute changes as well) and any requests that we had. On the day of the wedding Santiago kept everything moving on time and answered any and all questions that we had. Our guests noticed all of the little details that we had planned and are still raving about the food, service, and the absolutely gorgeous venue. The whole day was absolutely perfect and we're SO happy that we chose to celebrate the best day of our lives at the Riverhouse.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 1 Reviews
The Riverhouse was outstanding with providing us the best service for our wedding ceremony and reception. The staff was always friendly and helpful during the whole planning process. My day would not have been as beautiful as it was without them.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Cory 1 Reviews
The river house staff was amazing right from the beginning. I recommend them to everyone who is hosting a party as they will make sure all the little details are taken care of and that everything runs smoothly.
Wedding: 05/03/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Alyssa 3 Reviews
I would absolutely 100%, every time someone asks me recommend the Riverhouse to everyone! There is not one thing they did wrong. They were helpful and informative through the entire process, extremely patient with the mailing of checks, emailing of forms and paperwork because I'm always late ;) . They day of our wedding, Mary went over and above for us. She was just fantastic the whole night, checking in with us regularly to see if we needed anything, she was just great. The waitstaff was fabulous, they were polite and helpful. Everyone raved about the evening and the food. Not one person had one complaint! We love love love the Riverhouse! Thank you for the best day of our lives!
Wedding: 04/26/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 1 Reviews
Hattie and her team were phenomenal. The Riverhouse was a dream venue and the staff provided 7-star service from the outset. We had a fantastic day and didn't have to worry about a thing. All of our guests have told us what a brilliant place, brilliant service and excellent food we had at our wedding. Thank you for such a memorable experience!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Catering, Lighting & Decor, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Megan 1 Reviews
I was confident in my choice of this venue when I picked it and throughout the whole planning process the staff and management were incredible. When the day had finally arrived they blew any expectation I had out of the water. Everything was AMAZING! The service was impeccable, the food was amazing and all my guests were taken care of and wanted for nothing. The Riverhouse was more than anything I could have imagined for my wedding!
Wedding: 04/05/2014
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The Riverhouse was the first place that we looked at and set the bar extremely high for all of the other places we looked. So much so that it was no question where we wanted to get married. From the first moment we walked in, with Jim meeting us at the door and knowing our names, it pretty much summed up the service we received the entire time along the way. From Hattie being very on point and organized, and helping a lot to ensure we had all of our bases covered, to Kelley and her staff on the day of the wedding who were absolutely fantastic. Unbelievable attention to detail and the place looked as beautiful as we had hoped for.

The food was excellent, there are so many options to choose from, that you should be able to keep everyone happy. From the selection you get to choose for the 6 passed hors d'oeuvres, to the harvest table, to the pasta bar option we chose, to all of the meal choices; it is insane!! We went with the filet mignon, statler chicken, macadamia encrusted mahi-mahi and veggie lasagna- all I've heard are great things about the food and service. The bartenders were great, drinks were definitely poured a bit heavy but I didn't see anyone complaining about that either!

I think what sets the Riverhouse apart though is their service and attention to detail. Kelley was an amazing coordinator and the rest of her staff made sure all of our guests didn't want for anything. The bridal attendants made us feel that we were the only ones there- we never had an empty drink, never were waiting for any food, and overall treated us like king and queen.

The Riverhouse itself is absolutely beautiful. We had about 150 guests and every space worked out perfect, never feeling cramped but also not feeling like we weren't filling the space well. Plus the bridal suite was a life saver for my wife, and the groomsmen suite is pretty awesome as well. Running out of room, but you will not be disappointed if you choose the Riverhouse!
Wedding: 03/28/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Nicole 2 Reviews
We had our wedding reception at the Riverhouse on March 8, 2014. I cannot say anything except WONDERFUL things about this venue. Everyone was so accommodating and they really made our wedding day PERFECT! The food is to die for! Hattie & Mary are life savers and made the entire evening run without a hitch! You allowed me and my husband to have the wedding of our dreams.

During the entire planning process, when speaking to anyone at the Riverhouse, they made us feel as if we were the only wedding going on there; it was so reassuring (especially the weeks leading up to the wedding). We could tell from the second we decided on the Riverhouse, there is so much thought and care put into each event here.

We cannot thank everyone at the Riverhouse enough for all of their hard work. We are STILL getting tons of phone calls about how amazing the venue was.

There is a reason why this venue is one of the top in CT!

Tyler & Nicole
Wedding: 03/08/2014
Services Used: Wedding Planning, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Rebecca 2 Reviews
I truly have nothing but wonderful things to say about our experience at The Riverhouse. My husband and I got married this past Friday, and our wedding was the stuff of dreams. Hattie was very responsive and helpful throughout the wedding planning process, and our day-of coordinator Kelly was phenomenol. Everything was seamless and smooth, from cocktail hour through dinner and dancing, and then wrapping everything up at the end of the night. We brought the items for the reception to our final details meeting and gave them free reign to set things up as they desired, and the outcome was just gorgeous. Our guests raved to us about the food all night long, and the staff was very gracious. Did I mention that The Riverhouse is absolutely breathtaking? It was a perfect night, and we have The Riverhouse staff to thank for it.
Wedding: 11/08/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Rebecca 1 Reviews
This place was amazing. It was the first venue I went to visit while planning my wedding and it was the only venue I visited! The place is beautiful. All of the staff at the riverhouse are phenomenal. I had the great pleasure of working with Hattie and occasionally Michelle, but talk about on point! These girls are top notch! If you ever need anything they were right on top of it. It's TOTALLY worth every single penny!!!. The food is amazing, not a single complaint from any of our guests and we all know how critical family can be! Truly one of the only places to have a reception, if you value your guests then this is the place for you!
Wedding: 10/26/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Liz 2 Reviews
The RiverHouse is just gorgeous. The picturesque view from the back decks for our late October wedding were breathe taking. The outside ceremony site was just what we wanted.
The food is outstanding. We have many finicky eaters in our family and our guests were just raving about the food. The options are limitless!
The bridal suite is perfect. Prior to the wedding my bridesmaids and I were able to relax listen to music and snack all while peeking out to see the guests as they arrived! The grooms room was also perfect with a big screen tv and poker table.
The staff is amazing. I can't say enough about the staff, from the moment we toured we knew this was the place for us! Hattie and Michelle answered all of our questions almost immediately and they were more than happy to accommodate any requests that we had. Honestly the days leading up to our wedding were super stressful and knowing that Kelley was going to be there for our big day put us completely at ease!


Book your event at the Riverhouse and you will be wowed and your guest will talk about it forever! Thank thank thank you Riverhouse our wedding was PERFECT!
Wedding: 10/25/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Alyssa 1 Reviews
The Riverhouse at Goodspeed Station was a fantastic venue for our wedding. Besides its obvious beauty enhanced by the setting on the river, everyone who works here is extremely helpful. Responses to my emails and questions were always prompt. We had both our ceremony and reception at the Riverhouse, both of which ran smoothly with great success. The food was amazing from cocktail hour to our sit down dinner. Everyone raved about it! The bar service was efficient and the drinks were great. Additionally, all of the servers were attentive to our guests and always available when you needed someone. They truly helped behind the scenes to make it extremely easy for my husband and I to have a blast at our wedding!
Wedding: 10/13/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Colleen 1 Reviews
My Husband and I had a dream wedding thanks to Michelle, Kelley and all the awesome professionals at the Riverhouse. The food and the service were AMAZING!! All our guests were well-fed and well taken care of!! Weeks later, we are still getting emails from all of our friends and family telling us what an amazing time they had.
For those brides out there who are stressing about where to have your wedding, you won't be disappointed at the Riverhouse. Everything was stunning and stress free. When we arrived to drop off our reception items the day before the wedding, we found that our framed seating chart had shattered. I was so worried, but Michelle and Kelley took it upstairs, and told me to go have fun. They said they would make it great.... and they did! It looked great and no one could tell that it was meant to be anything different. They are fantastic!!! I really can't say enough good things about my wedding and my experience!!!

Wedding: 10/12/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 1 Reviews
I could not have asked for a better wedding planning experience thanks to the staff at the Riverhouse!! Hattie was there for me along the way and always answered my questions in a timely manner. We had a day ceremony and reception at the Riverhouse which was absolutely amazing. The ceremony set up exceeded my expectations and was gorgeous!! The staff had the perfect amount of attentiveness to my husband and I the entire day. Mary was great and kept the day running smoothly. The food was delicious, and my friends were "arguing" over which hor devour was the best. My guests came up to me during the reception and said how much fun they were having and how perfect everything was. We are still receiving rave compliments about the day which I love. I would not hesitate to recommend the Riverhouse to anyone. You will not be disappointed! My only complaint is that I wish we had more time to party; the day flew by too fast :)
Wedding: 10/12/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  4.5
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
If it was an option, I'd call The Riverhouse a 10/5. This place is simply the best. I loved the idea initially of an "all-inclusive" kind of place where we didnt have to worry about different packages. But it was more than that. It was a beautiful venue tucked away in the perfectly romatic and rustic setting for the perfect fall wedding. Moreover, my finace at the time was SO excited to have a Man Cave. Other places had offered for him to borrow an office to change in. Guys are important too ya know!! Hattie is super awesome and easy to work with and is SO knowledgable. Mary was amazing and ran a tight ship to ensure we were on time and happy with everything that was taking place. Our attendant Leah was over-the-top good!! I never went 5 seconds without an appetizer, a drink, a cupcake, coffee, champagne, you name it, she had it for me. It was truly amazing and the between our organization and theirs it came out to be the wedding of our dreams!
Wedding: 10/06/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
 860-345-4100
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors Find Me on Facebook
 
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9
out of 5.0