The Riverhouse at Goodspeed Station
    165 Reviews
55 Bridge Road
Haddam, CT 06438  | map
Services: Bridal Shower, Ceremony, Engagement Party, Reception
Catering: Offered in-house
Maximum capacity: 300
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (165)   Photos   FAQ   Map    
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (5.0/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.9/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (5.0/5.0)
Value:
 (4.8/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.9/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Incredible. I can't stop talking about the Riverhouse and how perfect of a venue they were for my wedding. The girls (Hattie, Kelley and Mary) were wonderful from beginning to end and I couldn't be happier with our experience (from planning to the day of). They were flexible, knowledgeable, fun, accommodating, and more. The food was amazing, my guests are STILL talking about it, and the venue is absolutely stunning. You will drop a pretty penny on this venue but it is SO worth it, I never had to worry about anything. Whenever I had a question or concern while planning the wedding Hattie respond immediately and did her best to accommodate and approve all the crazy ideas my fiance had to make our wedding special. The day of the wedding was so fun, the staff was stellar and top of the line, and Mary was always smiling and took care of everything - I didn't have a care in the world! My vendors (DJ and photog) were well prepared for the day and the Riverhouse made sure they were comfortable, fed, and set up for success. Well done Riverhouse, thank you for making our wedding day even better than we could have possibly imagined!
Wedding: 08/29/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Holly 1 Reviews
The Riverhouse is the most elegant wedding venue in the area with a beautiful river view off a full deck, a spacious terrace for ceremonies and banquet room that would be comfortable for 100 to 300 guests. While the venue is beautiful, the food is the real treat, tremendous variety, beautiful presentation and served professionally for all. They thought of everything when creating the Riverhouse, the bridal suite is spacious, and the groom's room downstairs is the nicest "man cave" a guy could have on his wedding day. We enjoyed every moment of planning our daughter's wedding because the staff helped with every detail. Their experience made every decision easy. The day of the wedding, I felt pampered by their attention to every detail. We felt very blessed to have this venue available for our daughters special day. Our day went perfectly, it was picture perfect.
Wedding: 08/24/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Linda 1 Reviews
The Riverhouse was amazing! They were flexible throughout the planning period and paid very close attention to detail. Our wedding day was perfect!
Wedding: 08/03/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Jenna 2 Reviews
My husband and I got married at the Riverhouse on 7/25/14. It was a perfect day, an absolute dream come true and we couldn't have been happier with the quality of service, the incredible food, the attention to every last detail, and the flawless operation they run. The venue itself is gorgeous but they will wow you with their behind the scenes work too! Everyone at our wedding commented on how incredible the day was and we feel so thankful that we chose to have our wedding here! It was a day we'll never forget.
Wedding: 07/25/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Riki 1 Reviews
I couldn't have asked for a better wedding experience than I had with the Riverhouse. The staff was SO attentive the entire night, making sure everything went off without a hitch. I was able to enjoy my night to the fullest without a care in the world because I trusted that they had everything under control (which they did.) I felt like I had my own private waitress with Leah, who was always coming up to me making sure I had everything I needed. The food was excellent and portions were very generous compared to other weddings I have been to. Mary worked tirelessly throughout the night making sure everything was perfect, and even helped clean my dress off after a red wine incident on the dance floor. Hattie and Kelley were always so helpful in the planning process and responded to emails super quickly no matter what time of day. I would absolutely recommend the Riverhouse to anyone for any event. It was truly a great experience and I could not have asked for more. Thank you all!!
Wedding: 07/18/2014
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Kathleen 1 Reviews
The staff at the Riverhouse was amazing. They were devoted to making our special day perfect! The venue was gorgeous. Many of our guests commented that it was the best wedding they ever attended!
Wedding: 07/03/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Everything was wonderful! Thank you!
Wedding: 06/28/2014
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Planning, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 1 Reviews
We had our wedding at the Riverhouse at Goodspeed Station on June 22nd, 2014 and it could not have been more amazing. The day was perfect and so organized. Hattie was our contact/event planner up until the day of the wedding and then Santiago was our day-of-coordinator. Hattie kept us so organized and was so flexible with any changes (some last minute changes as well) and any requests that we had. On the day of the wedding Santiago kept everything moving on time and answered any and all questions that we had. Our guests noticed all of the little details that we had planned and are still raving about the food, service, and the absolutely gorgeous venue. The whole day was absolutely perfect and we're SO happy that we chose to celebrate the best day of our lives at the Riverhouse.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Cory 1 Reviews
The river house staff was amazing right from the beginning. I recommend them to everyone who is hosting a party as they will make sure all the little details are taken care of and that everything runs smoothly.
Wedding: 05/03/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Alyssa 3 Reviews
I would absolutely 100%, every time someone asks me recommend the Riverhouse to everyone! There is not one thing they did wrong. They were helpful and informative through the entire process, extremely patient with the mailing of checks, emailing of forms and paperwork because I'm always late ;) . They day of our wedding, Mary went over and above for us. She was just fantastic the whole night, checking in with us regularly to see if we needed anything, she was just great. The waitstaff was fabulous, they were polite and helpful. Everyone raved about the evening and the food. Not one person had one complaint! We love love love the Riverhouse! Thank you for the best day of our lives!
Wedding: 04/26/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 1 Reviews
Hattie and her team were phenomenal. The Riverhouse was a dream venue and the staff provided 7-star service from the outset. We had a fantastic day and didn't have to worry about a thing. All of our guests have told us what a brilliant place, brilliant service and excellent food we had at our wedding. Thank you for such a memorable experience!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Catering, Lighting & Decor, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Megan 1 Reviews
I was confident in my choice of this venue when I picked it and throughout the whole planning process the staff and management were incredible. When the day had finally arrived they blew any expectation I had out of the water. Everything was AMAZING! The service was impeccable, the food was amazing and all my guests were taken care of and wanted for nothing. The Riverhouse was more than anything I could have imagined for my wedding!
Wedding: 04/05/2014
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The Riverhouse was the first place that we looked at and set the bar extremely high for all of the other places we looked. So much so that it was no question where we wanted to get married. From the first moment we walked in, with Jim meeting us at the door and knowing our names, it pretty much summed up the service we received the entire time along the way. From Hattie being very on point and organized, and helping a lot to ensure we had all of our bases covered, to Kelley and her staff on the day of the wedding who were absolutely fantastic. Unbelievable attention to detail and the place looked as beautiful as we had hoped for.

The food was excellent, there are so many options to choose from, that you should be able to keep everyone happy. From the selection you get to choose for the 6 passed hors d'oeuvres, to the harvest table, to the pasta bar option we chose, to all of the meal choices; it is insane!! We went with the filet mignon, statler chicken, macadamia encrusted mahi-mahi and veggie lasagna- all I've heard are great things about the food and service. The bartenders were great, drinks were definitely poured a bit heavy but I didn't see anyone complaining about that either!

I think what sets the Riverhouse apart though is their service and attention to detail. Kelley was an amazing coordinator and the rest of her staff made sure all of our guests didn't want for anything. The bridal attendants made us feel that we were the only ones there- we never had an empty drink, never were waiting for any food, and overall treated us like king and queen.

The Riverhouse itself is absolutely beautiful. We had about 150 guests and every space worked out perfect, never feeling cramped but also not feeling like we weren't filling the space well. Plus the bridal suite was a life saver for my wife, and the groomsmen suite is pretty awesome as well. Running out of room, but you will not be disappointed if you choose the Riverhouse!
Wedding: 03/28/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Nicole 2 Reviews
We had our wedding reception at the Riverhouse on March 8, 2014. I cannot say anything except WONDERFUL things about this venue. Everyone was so accommodating and they really made our wedding day PERFECT! The food is to die for! Hattie & Mary are life savers and made the entire evening run without a hitch! You allowed me and my husband to have the wedding of our dreams.

During the entire planning process, when speaking to anyone at the Riverhouse, they made us feel as if we were the only wedding going on there; it was so reassuring (especially the weeks leading up to the wedding). We could tell from the second we decided on the Riverhouse, there is so much thought and care put into each event here.

We cannot thank everyone at the Riverhouse enough for all of their hard work. We are STILL getting tons of phone calls about how amazing the venue was.

There is a reason why this venue is one of the top in CT!

Tyler & Nicole
Wedding: 03/08/2014
Services Used: Wedding Planning, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Rebecca 2 Reviews
I truly have nothing but wonderful things to say about our experience at The Riverhouse. My husband and I got married this past Friday, and our wedding was the stuff of dreams. Hattie was very responsive and helpful throughout the wedding planning process, and our day-of coordinator Kelly was phenomenol. Everything was seamless and smooth, from cocktail hour through dinner and dancing, and then wrapping everything up at the end of the night. We brought the items for the reception to our final details meeting and gave them free reign to set things up as they desired, and the outcome was just gorgeous. Our guests raved to us about the food all night long, and the staff was very gracious. Did I mention that The Riverhouse is absolutely breathtaking? It was a perfect night, and we have The Riverhouse staff to thank for it.
Wedding: 11/08/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Rebecca 1 Reviews
This place was amazing. It was the first venue I went to visit while planning my wedding and it was the only venue I visited! The place is beautiful. All of the staff at the riverhouse are phenomenal. I had the great pleasure of working with Hattie and occasionally Michelle, but talk about on point! These girls are top notch! If you ever need anything they were right on top of it. It's TOTALLY worth every single penny!!!. The food is amazing, not a single complaint from any of our guests and we all know how critical family can be! Truly one of the only places to have a reception, if you value your guests then this is the place for you!
Wedding: 10/26/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
 860-345-4100
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors Find Me on Facebook
 
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9
out of 5.0