The Riverhouse at Goodspeed Station
    151 Reviews
55 Bridge Road
Haddam, CT 06438  | map
Services: Bridal Shower, Ceremony, Engagement Party...
Catering: Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Maximum capacity: 300
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (151)   Photos   FAQ   Map    
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (5.0/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.9/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (5.0/5.0)
Value:
 (4.8/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.9/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The Riverhouse was the first place that we looked at and set the bar extremely high for all of the other places we looked. So much so that it was no question where we wanted to get married. From the first moment we walked in, with Jim meeting us at the door and knowing our names, it pretty much summed up the service we received the entire time along the way. From Hattie being very on point and organized, and helping a lot to ensure we had all of our bases covered, to Kelley and her staff on the day of the wedding who were absolutely fantastic. Unbelievable attention to detail and the place looked as beautiful as we had hoped for.

The food was excellent, there are so many options to choose from, that you should be able to keep everyone happy. From the selection you get to choose for the 6 passed hors d'oeuvres, to the harvest table, to the pasta bar option we chose, to all of the meal choices; it is insane!! We went with the filet mignon, statler chicken, macadamia encrusted mahi-mahi and veggie lasagna- all I've heard are great things about the food and service. The bartenders were great, drinks were definitely poured a bit heavy but I didn't see anyone complaining about that either!

I think what sets the Riverhouse apart though is their service and attention to detail. Kelley was an amazing coordinator and the rest of her staff made sure all of our guests didn't want for anything. The bridal attendants made us feel that we were the only ones there- we never had an empty drink, never were waiting for any food, and overall treated us like king and queen.

The Riverhouse itself is absolutely beautiful. We had about 150 guests and every space worked out perfect, never feeling cramped but also not feeling like we weren't filling the space well. Plus the bridal suite was a life saver for my wife, and the groomsmen suite is pretty awesome as well. Running out of room, but you will not be disappointed if you choose the Riverhouse!
Wedding: 03/28/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Nicole 2 Reviews
We had our wedding reception at the Riverhouse on March 8, 2014. I cannot say anything except WONDERFUL things about this venue. Everyone was so accommodating and they really made our wedding day PERFECT! The food is to die for! Hattie & Mary are life savers and made the entire evening run without a hitch! You allowed me and my husband to have the wedding of our dreams.

During the entire planning process, when speaking to anyone at the Riverhouse, they made us feel as if we were the only wedding going on there; it was so reassuring (especially the weeks leading up to the wedding). We could tell from the second we decided on the Riverhouse, there is so much thought and care put into each event here.

We cannot thank everyone at the Riverhouse enough for all of their hard work. We are STILL getting tons of phone calls about how amazing the venue was.

There is a reason why this venue is one of the top in CT!

Tyler & Nicole
Wedding: 03/08/2014
Services Used: Wedding Planning, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Rebecca 2 Reviews
I truly have nothing but wonderful things to say about our experience at The Riverhouse. My husband and I got married this past Friday, and our wedding was the stuff of dreams. Hattie was very responsive and helpful throughout the wedding planning process, and our day-of coordinator Kelly was phenomenol. Everything was seamless and smooth, from cocktail hour through dinner and dancing, and then wrapping everything up at the end of the night. We brought the items for the reception to our final details meeting and gave them free reign to set things up as they desired, and the outcome was just gorgeous. Our guests raved to us about the food all night long, and the staff was very gracious. Did I mention that The Riverhouse is absolutely breathtaking? It was a perfect night, and we have The Riverhouse staff to thank for it.
Wedding: 11/08/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Rebecca 1 Reviews
This place was amazing. It was the first venue I went to visit while planning my wedding and it was the only venue I visited! The place is beautiful. All of the staff at the riverhouse are phenomenal. I had the great pleasure of working with Hattie and occasionally Michelle, but talk about on point! These girls are top notch! If you ever need anything they were right on top of it. It's TOTALLY worth every single penny!!!. The food is amazing, not a single complaint from any of our guests and we all know how critical family can be! Truly one of the only places to have a reception, if you value your guests then this is the place for you!
Wedding: 10/26/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Liz 2 Reviews
The RiverHouse is just gorgeous. The picturesque view from the back decks for our late October wedding were breathe taking. The outside ceremony site was just what we wanted.
The food is outstanding. We have many finicky eaters in our family and our guests were just raving about the food. The options are limitless!
The bridal suite is perfect. Prior to the wedding my bridesmaids and I were able to relax listen to music and snack all while peeking out to see the guests as they arrived! The grooms room was also perfect with a big screen tv and poker table.
The staff is amazing. I can't say enough about the staff, from the moment we toured we knew this was the place for us! Hattie and Michelle answered all of our questions almost immediately and they were more than happy to accommodate any requests that we had. Honestly the days leading up to our wedding were super stressful and knowing that Kelley was going to be there for our big day put us completely at ease!


Book your event at the Riverhouse and you will be wowed and your guest will talk about it forever! Thank thank thank you Riverhouse our wedding was PERFECT!
Wedding: 10/25/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Alyssa 1 Reviews
The Riverhouse at Goodspeed Station was a fantastic venue for our wedding. Besides its obvious beauty enhanced by the setting on the river, everyone who works here is extremely helpful. Responses to my emails and questions were always prompt. We had both our ceremony and reception at the Riverhouse, both of which ran smoothly with great success. The food was amazing from cocktail hour to our sit down dinner. Everyone raved about it! The bar service was efficient and the drinks were great. Additionally, all of the servers were attentive to our guests and always available when you needed someone. They truly helped behind the scenes to make it extremely easy for my husband and I to have a blast at our wedding!
Wedding: 10/13/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Colleen 1 Reviews
My Husband and I had a dream wedding thanks to Michelle, Kelley and all the awesome professionals at the Riverhouse. The food and the service were AMAZING!! All our guests were well-fed and well taken care of!! Weeks later, we are still getting emails from all of our friends and family telling us what an amazing time they had.
For those brides out there who are stressing about where to have your wedding, you won't be disappointed at the Riverhouse. Everything was stunning and stress free. When we arrived to drop off our reception items the day before the wedding, we found that our framed seating chart had shattered. I was so worried, but Michelle and Kelley took it upstairs, and told me to go have fun. They said they would make it great.... and they did! It looked great and no one could tell that it was meant to be anything different. They are fantastic!!! I really can't say enough good things about my wedding and my experience!!!

Wedding: 10/12/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 1 Reviews
I could not have asked for a better wedding planning experience thanks to the staff at the Riverhouse!! Hattie was there for me along the way and always answered my questions in a timely manner. We had a day ceremony and reception at the Riverhouse which was absolutely amazing. The ceremony set up exceeded my expectations and was gorgeous!! The staff had the perfect amount of attentiveness to my husband and I the entire day. Mary was great and kept the day running smoothly. The food was delicious, and my friends were "arguing" over which hor devour was the best. My guests came up to me during the reception and said how much fun they were having and how perfect everything was. We are still receiving rave compliments about the day which I love. I would not hesitate to recommend the Riverhouse to anyone. You will not be disappointed! My only complaint is that I wish we had more time to party; the day flew by too fast :)
Wedding: 10/12/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Ginny 1 Reviews
We had the pleasure of choosing Riverhouse at Goodspeed for our wedding. From the first tour to the minute we left our wedding at the end of the evening, we were over the top pleased. The team were very pleasant to work with and always made us feel special and important. With every phone call, email, or visit by the venue we never felt like we were bothering them. They truly cared. They were invested in ensuring our wedding was everything we dreamed of. The day of the wedding was amazing. The food was delicious. To this day (granted it is only three weeks later) our guests are still talking about how the food was the best they have ever eaten at a wedding. The service left nothing unturned. Every time we turned around there was someone waiting to assist us with whatever our hearts desired. Our guests commented feeling the same way. I will certainly select the Riverhouse for any future events and I will definitely recommend it for a wedding venue to my friends. I could never say thank you enough for everything they did.
Wedding: 09/28/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Caroline 1 Reviews
The Riverhouse was beyond fabulous - everything felt special and personal, I put my complete trust in them and I couldn't be happier!
Wedding: 09/20/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Melissa 1 Reviews
Words will never express the amount of gratitude I have for the Riverhouse and their entire staff. I would never want to plan a wedding again but they made everything easy and ensured the day was more than magical. I would recommend them to the highest degree and would challenge anyone to find a better venue in Connecticut!
Wedding: 09/14/2013
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Planning, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
My husband and I had our wedding reception at The Riverhouse on August 24th and we were completely blown away! We are one of the few couples who can say we had a perfect wedding and it had alot to do with this venue.

Hattie was our wedding planner and from the start she took incredible care of us! She went above and beyond: she was extremely helpful and accomodating.

At the reception itself, Leah was the personal server for the birdal party. We always had appetizers and drinks in the bridal suite, she was extremely attentive in the ballroom, packed up the reception items before I could even ask where everything was and never even missed a beat!

Mary was the event manager. She was very efficient, kept everything on track and gave clear direction/advice whenever she could.

This team is unbelieveable and was worth every penny! Our guests couldn't say enough about the food (it was absolutely out of this world - everyone's plates were hot and we had 220 people!) service and atmosphere. I could write a book about this place and would recommend it to anyone!! Thank you for everything!!
Wedding: 08/24/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Kaitlyn 1 Reviews
We could not have asked for a better wedding at The Riverhouse. From the very beginning, Hattie and Michelle were incredibly helpful, accomodating and the consummate professionals. They were always willing and able to answer our questions or concerns. On the day of our wedding the team was PERFECT. Kelley was amazing; so thoughtful, attentive, and sweet. Never overbearing, but always there just when you needed her. Leah and the rest of the catering staff were more than we could have asked for. We've received so many compliments from our guests on the wonderful staff, the fabulous food, and the unforgettable time they all had. We could not thank you enough for making this wedding all we could have asked for and more. THANK YOU!!!
Wedding: 08/23/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
If you are looking for an AMAZING venue, with unbelievable service and delicious food, then book The Riverhouse NOW! We really couldn't ask for a better venue. This was the first venue that looked at, and honestly, nothing compared. We actually changed the date of our wedding and put off our honeymoon a few months so we could have this venue. So worth it!

The whole place is beautiful - the ballroom, the deck (the view of the river!), the bridal suite. They made everything look gorgeous, from the table linens, to the decorations we had for the deck, to the candy bar.

The service was awesome. A huge thank you to Hattie, Michelle, Mary and Leah for making our day perfect. We had a lot of asks - keeping a keg of summer beer for us (none of this Fall beer in August), a particular soda my husband wanted, and special food requests. They made it all happen. The day of, Mary and Leah were great. They made sure we were fed and had a drink in our hands all night. They set everything up, and packed it so it was easy to bring home. I know I mentioned this above, but I was SO impressed with how they set up the candy bar. Wow, just wow.

The food - scallops wrapped in bacon and lobster mac and cheese...can you ask for better appetizers? The dinner was unbelievable. Most people got the filet and scallops and raved about it! Just perfect!

Everything was perfect and we could not have asked for a better venue or service!

Wedding: 08/17/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Everything went off without a hitch! Everything went so smooth! I would totally recommend. It was the perfect place for my daughter.
Wedding: 08/17/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Kimberly 3 Reviews
We could have not asked for better hospitality from the RiverHouse! We have had so many compliments from all of our guests on how amazing the food, service and venue was! I myself also had a great experience working with all of the staff at the RiverHouse, Hattie, Kelly and Michelle were always so helpful and very prompt with responding to all my questions and requests! They truly made the entire wedding planning process much easier for us! My husband and I would highly reccomend the RiverHouse for any and all events!
Wedding: 08/03/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
 860-345-4100
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors Find Me on Facebook
 
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9
out of 5.0