The Other Barn at Oakland Mills
5851 Robert Oliver Place
Columbia, MD 21045
Services: Ceremony, Reception
Catering: Outside vendors welcome
Maximum capacity: 220
 
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (19)   FAQ    
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.8/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.9/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.8/5.0)
Value:
 (4.9/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.9/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We used the courtyard and the loft for our ceremony and reception respectively and loved the space! We were a bit slow with turning in some of the information (we made a very late decision to use the courtyard), but Susan was very accommodating! The room and ceremony area were all set up by the time the caterer's arrived which was great. Given the location of the venue, were were worried there would be a lot of noise and gawkers, but that wasn't the case at all! It's also one of the cheaper venues to rent in the area which is great for those couples on a budget.
Wedding: 10/19/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  4.5

wifeheather 2 Reviews
Susan and the rest of the staff at The Other Barn were FANTASTIC to work with. We had the option to do the ceremony in the courtard on site, however, being August we had enough room to do our ceremony and reception inside the facility. We were able to use the courtyard for photos.
They provided us with an hour during the week before the wedding to allow us to do a rehersal and on the day of the wedding, we arrived and all of the tables and chairs were already set up exactly the way we wanted!
Wedding: 08/10/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.5
  • Responsiveness:  4.0
  • Professionalism:  4.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  4.5
I found The Other Barn when I googled "barn weddings in MD",and I'm really glad I found it! The staff was great to work with, but Susan who is in charge of all wedding related things is out if the office a lot, so she doesn't always respond to emails quickly. Despite that, when it comes down to the big day, Susan is very helpful and quick to respond. I think I probably sent her about 15 emails between Friday and Saturday (we had weather related issues) and she responded to every single one. I looked around at several other venues, and for the price you really can't beat The Other Barn. They provide reception tables and chairs when you rent the space, and they will set them out for you according to your floor plan. I didn't like the look of the chairs that they had, so we rented other ones. They will also provide ceremony chairs, but there is a fee for that. These are the only things they provide, so everything else will have to be brought in by your other vendors. Overall I had a wonderful experience, if you want a casual wedding this is the place for you!
Wedding: 07/13/2013
Services Used: Event Rentals & Photobooths, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Ms. Charlotte, Reggie, and Susan were all X-factors in making my day a success and I am forever grateful!
Wedding: 09/14/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

~*Designin... 5 Reviews
I held My cocktail hour anda reception at the Other Barn. I have to say that the staff at omca is very attentive. Mrs. Susan and Mrs. Charlette made sure that My day went off smoothly. I had to make.some changes to My original plan to maintain my budget and they made it s very smooth transition. Mrs. Susan come ups with a way yo save me some money so that is always a Plus. I was a diy bride with a doc and I only wish I could have had more setup time before the event. We.could not get.in before 2 and the event started at 5. I Also wish the air conditioning was cooler because once the Party started it was a little warm. Overall I had a great time, the guests loved it, the decor was.amazing and they process the security depĆ³sito redunda really quickly. I had it back with on a week after the event
Wedding: 09/01/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
My husband and I had our wedding ceremony and reception at The Other Barn in the Loft. We were planning a courtyard ceremony, but due to the extreme heat, decided to hold it inside. We were still able to get some very nice pictures in the courtyard. We were absolutely thrilled with how everything turned out!

The Loft is lovely - high ceilings and a very pretty interior - much nicer than your average ballroom. It has a huge dance floor and is very spacious. We had plenty of room for our 80 guests. I believe they say the room can fit 180 people; however, I think it would be tight for more than 100-120.

We worked with Susan Azoulay, who was so helpful throughout our planning and right up to the wedding day. The support staff there on the day were great; bringing in some fans when the room was getting too hot and they were very communicative.

The best thing about The Other Barn was the value. It was much less expensive than most other venues in the Baltimore area. The rental price includes guest tables and chairs. Their prices may change, but we paid ~$1100 for 7 1/2 hours of use on a Sunday. The also allow you to use any caterer you choose or to self-cater and provide your own alcohol, which is a huge savings!! They do have a full kitchen on-site and there is a small bridal room you can use to get ready.

I would recommend The Other Barn to anyone looking for an affordable, beautiful, flexible location in the Baltimore area.
Wedding: 07/01/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.0 out of 5.0
4.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  3.0
  • Value:  3.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Anonymous 4 Reviews
This venue definetly allows the bride with on a budget to have a Moet wedding on a beer budget. They have a very beautiful courtyard for outdoor ceremonies which unfortunately due to the weather I was unable to have my ceremony outside as planned but the staff was very helpful in accomodating us to having to move everything indoors, also a plus was that we did not have to pay an additional fee for use of the courtyard but having to pay for a required insurance and a fee to rent the chairs for the outdoor ceremony made up for that. My only gripe was the fact that I was under the impression that the cost for ceremony chair rental was included in the venue rental and did not find out otherwise until after I had already paid a deposit. A bonus for us was that you could bring in any caterer of your choice or even make your own food. The chairs could use a huge upgrade but we were able to cover them. Susan was mostly pleasant and very helpful during the planning process to answer the million questions that I had.
Wedding: 2+ years ago
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Anonymous 7 Reviews
The other Barn staff is amazing. Susan, Charlotte, and Will. There were other's but those 3 I had the most interaction with. The other barn is a great venue. The price is very affordable, It can accommodate max of 220 but i think that is without the catering/dj/anything else that you will need. I was able to get 20 tables that seated 8 people each and a moon table for the Mr and I. We had our wedding in the courtyard which is amazing in June and July. They have flowers that spring up for all seasons. I was able to fit 175 chairs in the courtyard, still had plenty of aisle space. Music/DJ can set up outside as long as the music isn't rowdy. We had classical. All I can really say is that they did an amazing job with the whole process, communication was fluent and they were very helpful and friendly.
Wedding: 2+ years ago
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I chose The Other Barn as my reception venue for several reasons, among them: location, the uniqueness of the venue, affordability (in an expensive area to have a wedding), a venue that allows everyone to be seated together in one room, and great reviews on Wedding Wire.

It certainly met all my expectations. After visiting the venue, I knew it would work perfectly. It even has an elevator for vendors to use to get things up to The Loft, or for older guests who can't use the stairs. After selecting a venue, though, the real kicker is customer service and the responsiveness of the coordinator working with you. Susan is a pleasure to work with. She's very detail-oriented and responsive, which offers much peace-of-mind when you're planning.

If you're looking for a unique venue for 150 guests (or less) that is also affordable, I would definitely recommend The Other Barn.
Wedding: 06/10/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The Other Barn was a great location for us to have our wedding and reception. The space was great as were the staff.
Wedding: 04/07/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The Other Barn was a unique and adorable location for my October wedding. The staff was incredibly helpful from the time I booked the venue to the very end of my wedding night, and they did not hold our catering disaster (see Bombay Nights) against us.
Wedding: 10/01/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Hope & John 1 Reviews
The venue was beautiful and the staff went above and beyond out of there way to make our day perfect!
Wedding: 2+ years ago
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
i had my wedding reception at the other barn, and it was wonderful! i chose it not only because it was absolutely beautiful inside but because it was so reasonably priced! the staff was so nice and helpful. Our food was cooked by family and friends and it was BYOB. i would recommend this venue!!
Wedding: 07/23/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Beautiful at a reasonable cost.
Wedding: 11/26/2010
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The Other Barn was a great find! You'd never look twice at it from the outside, but it's so big and beautiful inside! I had 170 guests and it was a bit squishy, but there was still plenty of room for 19 guest tables, caterer tables, and a big dance floor! Susan Azoulay, the events coordinator, was a huge help! She helped me with so much, including re-arranging the floor layout to maximize space. There's also a great courtyard right outside- I had my ceremony in it and I loved it! We were able to fit 160 chairs out there and the shade trees kept the sun and heat off the guests. You won't be able to find a better price either. As a bonus, I had my wedding on a Sunday and saved over $1000. I would definitely recommend checking out The Other Barn for your wedding!
Wedding: 09/19/2010
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  3.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  4.5
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I was so happy to find an affordable venue where I could have my dream wedding outside under the sun! The only hiccup for me was that they didn't setup the ceremony area, which would have helped my family get ready on time! But I loved the place for the price!!!
Wedding: 08/14/2010
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
 410-730-4610
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors Find Me on Facebook
 
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9
out of 5.0