the flour child
    35 Reviews
646 union street
Columbia, PA 17512  | map
Dietary options: Gluten Free, Lactose Free
Desserts: Cookies, Cupcakes, Dessert Buffet, Fruit, Groom's Cake
Health license: Yes
Additional services: Consultations, On-site Delivery, On-site Setup...
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (35)   Photos   FAQ   Map    
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (5.0/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.9/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (5.0/5.0)
Value:
 (5.0/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (5.0/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Amelia 3 Reviews
So happy that The Flour Child made the cake and cupcakes for our wedding! Everything was GORGEOUS and DELICIOUS! If you love buttercream icing (in so many wonderful flavors), you should definitely go with The Flour Child. Yum.
Alixe was a pleasure to work with, and understood my vision for the cake. Highly recommended!
Wedding: 08/30/2014
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Anonymous 2 Reviews
Alixe Ingoglia Hemerly, owner of The Flour Child made the process of choosing a wedding cake easy. It was exactly what I asked for. She provides options for all budgets! I would highly recommend this vendor for any event.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Wonderful -Fresh -moist- and very nicely presentation.
Wedding: 07/25/2014
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Alixe, where do I even begin?

You are such a wonderful person to work with. Your passion for making the most beautiful cakes just shines through the way you carry yourself, through emails and in person. I am SO blessed that you were the one to make our wedding cake so so beautiful.

But of course, I must comment on how YUMMY the cake was. Omgosh. Beautiful inside and out. WOW! I should have ordered another cake because there were zero leftovers. Cannot wait to open up our anniversary cake!


Alixe, from the bottom of my heart, Thank you.

Love,
Lena and Ryan!
Wedding: 06/21/2014
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 3 Reviews
The Flour Child has the BEST cake I have ever tried :) Even a guest at my wedding who does not typically like cake/cupcakes/etc. said that the cake was awesome! Alixe is so sweet, the cake trial was a lot of fun, the cake looked amazing (exactly what we wanted!), and the price was great! I highly recommend The Flour Child!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We LOVE TFC!! We have used them many times and have referred many friends to them who have chosen to use them for their weddings also!
They did our Shower cupcakes, wedding cupcake tower, 2 special b-day celebrations and we plan on using them for future celebrations as well.
Wedding: 04/19/2014
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The best wedding cake we ever had. If you are getting married in Central Pennsylvania, you should go to the Flour Child, speak with Alixe, and then order your cake.

We had some unorthodox ideas about our wedding cake. We wanted multiple flavors and we wanted cakes on every table. We were up for doing something different. After meeting with three separate bakers, all we were told was, "You shouldn't do that, just have one cake, maybe two flavors." No one wanted to think outside of their overpriced box. Once we met with the Flour Child, our ideas were met with enthusiasm and encouragement. Alixe provided more ideas and together we were able to come up with the idea of having a cake flight, three separate slices of cake on the same plate. It was a great solution for us. Then Alixe told us that there would be no additional charge for the cake flight.

There are value buys and then there are deals that enhance your wedding and make memories for a lifetime. We strongly recommend the Flour Child in Columbia, PA.
Wedding: 03/22/2014
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Courtney 2 Reviews
The cake was not only amazing and delicious but it looked fantastic. I picked a cake off another website and gave her the place cards for ideas for design and the cake looked unique but it fit in perfectly. We had lots of left over cake since we made it bigger than we had to (not a problem to a cake lover like me) and it lasted for a week after the wedding. I will definitely use this bakery again for future events.
Wedding: 03/21/2014
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Emily 4 Reviews
Alixe is the best!!! The cake was absolutely fantastic and it looked beautiful. Exactly what I wanted! I highly recommend her to anyone!
Wedding: 11/30/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The flour child not only helped us design a cake that was perfect for our wedding day but were very helpful in making our ideas come to life. From the cake, to the cupcakes, to the grooms cake everything was beautiful and delicious. They worked with us on the cupcake holders we wanted, the ribbon we wanted. The cake was absolutely perfect!!!
Wedding: 11/08/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
omg I love her cakes. so much so much that I had to get almost every flavor she had. and she worked with me to make it happen.I wish I could download a pic of my wedding cake, it was gorgeous, my guest devoured it. I mean they came back for 3rds. it was perfect thank u so much. we r getting our sons 5th bday cake there as well and thankgiving.
Wedding: 10/12/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Veronica 2 Reviews
Our cake was AMAZING!!! We got so many compliments on how amazing the cake looked and tasted!!! We were so pleased with the quality!! Alixe took a picture of the cake we wanted and gave us exactly that! We will be getting all of our baked goods from her from now on!
Wedding: 10/05/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We worked with The Flour Child bakery through our reception venue. Alixe was extremely helpful when we went in for our tasting. She walked us through all of the filling and cake combinations. There were so many wonderful options we actually had trouble narrowing it down! I also had no idea what I wanted to cake to look like and Alixe was wonderful at talking me through it. The cake looked beautiful and tasted delicious! So many people complimented the cake and said that it was wonderful. I would definitely recommend The Flour Child.
Wedding: 09/14/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Amber 3 Reviews
The cake was DELICIOUS and beautiful. Our cake was decorate to look like a tree with our initials carved in it, and love birds as the cake topper.

I will use The Flour Child again and again - absolutely wonderful food and service, and can't beat the price!
Wedding: 06/15/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Alixe from the Flour Child Bakery was awesome to work with and let me tell you, her cakes and cupcakes are to die for!! She did a free taste testing with us before the wedding to allow us to choose which flavors of cake, filling and icing we wanted to go with! A lot of bakers charge to do this and Alixe does not charge! We had such a hard time narrowing down the flavors because everything was so delicious!

Alixe was also very friendly and easy to work with! She was very flexible when it came to making any changes to the cake after your initial selections were made. The day of the wedding, she arrived plenty of time before the reception to set everything up and worked with the florist to put some real flowers on the cake. Another highlight to working with the Flour Child Bakery is that Alixe prepares a fresh cake for the bride and groom on their one year anniversary instead of having to freeze the top layer of the cake, we will have a nice fresh cake on our 1 year anniversary!

It was a pure pleasure working with the Flour Child Bakery and I would work with them again for any future needs I have. The Flour Child Bakery really helped to make our wedding day very special!

A very happy bride,
Lindsay
Lebanon, PA
Wedding: 06/07/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Jamie 5 Reviews
Alixe made my dream wedding cake; not only was it delicious but it was beautiful and affordable. Her lemon pound cake with raspberry filling and marshmallow icing is to die for. I would recommend this bakery to any of my friends or family.
Wedding: 05/31/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
 717-431-8877
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0
out of 5.0