the flour child
    28 Reviews
646 union street
Columbia, PA 17512  | map
Dietary options: Gluten Free, Lactose Free
Desserts: Cookies, Cupcakes, Dessert Buffet, Fruit, Groom's Cake
Health license: Yes
Additional services: Consultations, On-site Delivery, On-site Setup...
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (28)   Photos   FAQ   Map    
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (5.0/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.8/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (5.0/5.0)
Value:
 (5.0/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (5.0/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Courtney 2 Reviews
The cake was not only amazing and delicious but it looked fantastic. I picked a cake off another website and gave her the place cards for ideas for design and the cake looked unique but it fit in perfectly. We had lots of left over cake since we made it bigger than we had to (not a problem to a cake lover like me) and it lasted for a week after the wedding. I will definitely use this bakery again for future events.
Wedding: 03/21/2014
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Emily 4 Reviews
Alixe is the best!!! The cake was absolutely fantastic and it looked beautiful. Exactly what I wanted! I highly recommend her to anyone!
Wedding: 11/30/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The flour child not only helped us design a cake that was perfect for our wedding day but were very helpful in making our ideas come to life. From the cake, to the cupcakes, to the grooms cake everything was beautiful and delicious. They worked with us on the cupcake holders we wanted, the ribbon we wanted. The cake was absolutely perfect!!!
Wedding: 11/08/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
omg I love her cakes. so much so much that I had to get almost every flavor she had. and she worked with me to make it happen.I wish I could download a pic of my wedding cake, it was gorgeous, my guest devoured it. I mean they came back for 3rds. it was perfect thank u so much. we r getting our sons 5th bday cake there as well and thankgiving.
Wedding: 10/12/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Veronica 2 Reviews
Our cake was AMAZING!!! We got so many compliments on how amazing the cake looked and tasted!!! We were so pleased with the quality!! Alixe took a picture of the cake we wanted and gave us exactly that! We will be getting all of our baked goods from her from now on!
Wedding: 10/05/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We worked with The Flour Child bakery through our reception venue. Alixe was extremely helpful when we went in for our tasting. She walked us through all of the filling and cake combinations. There were so many wonderful options we actually had trouble narrowing it down! I also had no idea what I wanted to cake to look like and Alixe was wonderful at talking me through it. The cake looked beautiful and tasted delicious! So many people complimented the cake and said that it was wonderful. I would definitely recommend The Flour Child.
Wedding: 09/14/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Amber 3 Reviews
The cake was DELICIOUS and beautiful. Our cake was decorate to look like a tree with our initials carved in it, and love birds as the cake topper.

I will use The Flour Child again and again - absolutely wonderful food and service, and can't beat the price!
Wedding: 06/15/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Alixe from the Flour Child Bakery was awesome to work with and let me tell you, her cakes and cupcakes are to die for!! She did a free taste testing with us before the wedding to allow us to choose which flavors of cake, filling and icing we wanted to go with! A lot of bakers charge to do this and Alixe does not charge! We had such a hard time narrowing down the flavors because everything was so delicious!

Alixe was also very friendly and easy to work with! She was very flexible when it came to making any changes to the cake after your initial selections were made. The day of the wedding, she arrived plenty of time before the reception to set everything up and worked with the florist to put some real flowers on the cake. Another highlight to working with the Flour Child Bakery is that Alixe prepares a fresh cake for the bride and groom on their one year anniversary instead of having to freeze the top layer of the cake, we will have a nice fresh cake on our 1 year anniversary!

It was a pure pleasure working with the Flour Child Bakery and I would work with them again for any future needs I have. The Flour Child Bakery really helped to make our wedding day very special!

A very happy bride,
Lindsay
Lebanon, PA
Wedding: 06/07/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Jamie 5 Reviews
Alixe made my dream wedding cake; not only was it delicious but it was beautiful and affordable. Her lemon pound cake with raspberry filling and marshmallow icing is to die for. I would recommend this bakery to any of my friends or family.
Wedding: 05/31/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Our wedding cake was beautiful, affordable, and tasty! Alixe did such a great job, and I highly recommend the Flour Child to all of those looking for truly delicious wedding cake.
Wedding: 05/04/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Our cake was absolutely delicious! We did two different flavors (vanilla and chocolate) with a raspberry buttercream filling and our guests just raved about how delicious it was. Not only did it taste great, it looked beautiful! In addition, we wanted to have pie at our wedding, so we also purchased Pecan and Apple pies for a dessert table! Everything was wonderful. Although our wedding was in Lancaster, we were planning most of it from Montana. Alixe was great to work with, allowing my parents and some friends to sample pies and cake options for me, since I wasn't able to be there. I would definitely recommend the Flour Child!
Wedding: 11/10/2012
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Angela 5 Reviews
Our cake was delicious! We had three types of flavors a vanilla/strawberry filling, Guiness chocolate with raspberry icing, and red velvet with cream cheese icing. The cake looked beautiful and tasted great, it was very easy to work with Alixie, she was professional and responded very quickly to emails.
Wedding: 09/15/2012
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Alixe and her cupcakes.... I have dreams about them!! Alixe held a great tasting for us, she was very helpful with choosing our flavors. She set up the cupcake drop off time with our caterer, and even arranged the cupcakes for us beautifully. And she makes about 1.5 cupcakes per guest so there were delicious leftover treats to take home with us! The coolest part of our cupcakes was that Alixe sourced some edible honeycomb as an accent for the top of one of our cupcakes, to go with our honeybee theme. So classy!! I recommend Alixe to anyone who ever needs a fun and easy dessert for an event.
Wedding: 08/18/2012
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Alixe made our wedding cake. It was absolutely gorgeous and delicious. She made it exactly the way we wanted. I would recommend Alixe not only for your wedding cake, but for any pastry needs you have.
Wedding: 08/18/2012
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The Flour child owner, Alixe is excellent. Even though we went to high school together, she was very professional when it came to the business of selecting cupcakes and a top cake for my wedding.

She let us choose 4 types of cupcakes & 4 toppings to decide what we like. The price is good!

The quality was excellent. The cupcake tier was beautiful & turned out exactly as she said it would. She gave many options to decorate the cupcakes. The taste was great!

She sets up and lends the tier out. She is professional, prompt, and provides quality service.
Wedding: 08/05/2012
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Alixe was awesome to work with! my cake was beautiful, delicious, and super fresh! She was very pleasant and easy going :) Prices are out of this world!
Wedding: 08/04/2012
Services Used: Wedding Cake
 717-431-8877
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0
out of 5.0