The English Manor
    139 Reviews
One English Lane
Ocean, NJ 07712  | map
Services: Ceremony, Reception
Catering: Offered in-house
Maximum capacity: 200
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (139)   Photos   Videos   FAQ   Map    
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (5.0/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.9/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (5.0/5.0)
Value:
 (5.0/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.9/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
My son's wedding was held on 9/13/14 (Matt/Kerri Hehner) and I have to say it was such a wonderful experience - they were so professional and intuned to our needs and wants. It was suppose to be outside, unfortunately it rained, and they took care of making it the most beautiful occasion ever. I would recommend this venue to anyone and u can ask me any questions about their service, the food (was absolutely delicious) and any other detail u would want to know. If they had a 10 rating, they would have it from the Hehner's. English Manor - thank u for the wonderful day and the everlasting memories.
Wedding: 09/13/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
My daughter's wedding could not have been more beautiful. The English Manor staff could not have been more accommodating. And Lisa our hostess, words cannot explain how great she was. Thank you all.
Wedding: 09/12/2014
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
WOW! I can't even express our full gratitude here but I will try. The English Manor really made our wedding fantastic and perfect. Lisa and the whole team made it very clear that their goal and purpose was to make the whole day exactly what we wanted. The preparation and care that Lisa took in the days before the wedding really showed. She helped the whole day run so smoothly that we felt present during every point of the wedding. I had nothing I was worried about because they were one step ahead. They made sure the grandparents were where they had to be (with mobility issues); they made sure my husband and I ate; they were at my side the moment I got a questioning look on my face; and they helped load the car at the end of the night. I really cannot say enough about the service. We were treated like royalty and I am so so grateful.

The venue itself is exactly what we wanted. It is elegant yet homey. Since there is only one wedding at a time you really feel at home there. They set up the living room for a personal touch. We were lucky enough to have gorgeous weather and used the black gazebo for our ceremony (perfect) and had a spectacular outdoor cocktail hour (perfect). During our reception with 150 people and a photobooth there was plenty of room to walk between the tables and dance the night away. Our photographer also had plenty of gorgeous photo-op locations right on the property. Again...PERFECT.

The food....PERFECT. :) EVERYTHING was delicious. We chose a buffet style service and not only was one thing better tasting than the next but the buffet line (or room should I say) was always full and attended by English Manor staff.

We LOVE THE ENGLISH MANOR! THANK YOU!!
Wedding: 09/07/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The only word I can think of to describe my experience with The English Manor is perfect. From the staff to the food to the look of the venue, my wedding was more beautiful than I had imagined it. Even though the threat of rain caused us to move the cocktail hour inside, I have zero complaints! People have called us to tell us how beautiful the wedding was, and how impressed they were by the English Manor. This was the perfect venue for us, and we have no regrets about holding our wedding there. You would be crazy to have your wedding anywhere else!!!!
Wedding: 08/31/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We had our wedding at the English Manor on Aug 15, 2014. Our ceremony and cocktail hour were outside, reception with buffet were inside. From the start, Lisa and her staff were incredibly welcoming and helpful. They seem to truly enjoy their work, which made planning much easier and our wedding day even more fun! The grounds, the manor, the details, everything was absolutely stunning. Half of our guests were vegetarian, half committed carnivores, and some just plain picky. The food was amazing, the variety was unbelievable, and Lisa went to great lengths to add special touches, including non-alcoholic champagne for some and a special bottle of scotch for my father. There is not a single thing that either of us would change about that day and Lisa and her staff are a huge part of it. They don't make you feel like clients, they make you feel like family.
Wedding: 08/15/2014
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue, Unique Services (Other)
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I can't say enough good things about our wedding at the English Manor on 7/4/14. Our Maitre D' Denise was amazing and made everything so easy for us! The drop off the night before was so easy, I really didn't tell them what to do with our stuff and they made everything look beautiful! Unfortunately, it rained all day, but it was a late ceremony and the rain stopped shortly before the ceremony, the sun came out and it was gorgeous outside. About 10/15 minutes before the ceremony Denise came to me and said if you want it to be outside we will set everything up outside and make it happen. I opted to keep it inside because I had already accepted it, but I couldn't believe they were willing to set it up so last minute! She had even gone out of her way to figure out a way to use the aisle decorations I made that were made specifically to hang on the outdoor chairs. She made everything go so smoothly, even after almost getting knocked out by a flying cork from a bottle of champagne that popped by itself (sorry Denise!!) she didn't miss a beat. Lisa was also amazing, she went out of her way to come and see me and add special unexpected touches to our wedding, and she even got special beer for a special family member to enjoy! Even though the ceremony was outside, our guests were able to enjoy the beautiful grounds during cocktail hour and we were able to get some beautiful bridal party pictures outside. The food was great - a couple months later we still have people commenting on how delicious the food was. I have been told by several people that it was the best wedding that they have been to and I 100% agree, thank you so much for making our wedding everything we hoped for and more!
Wedding: 07/04/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I fell in love with The English Manor as soon as I walked in the door. I loved the idea of one wedding at a time, and the Manor is such a warm, intimate setting that was very appealing to me. It was also important that in case of rain I had a Plan B that I was happy with, which I found at the Manor. Luckily we had great weather for our wedding day. The amount and quality of the food was outstanding, the grounds are gorgeous, and everything ran smoothly. There was one server in particular (Jill) who was always coming to see if we needed anything - she was fantastic and made me feel very special. I couldn't have wished for a better venue.
Wedding: 05/31/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I just got married at the English Manor and it couldn't have been more perfect. Their packages are extremely affordable and the venue is beautiful. Our maitre'd, Joann, worked very closely with us to streamline the day and make it carefree. Once I dropped off my favors, cake topper, etc the day before, I never had to worry about anything. We lucked out with a sunny day and all our guests raved about the cocktail hour on the deck. I was a little worried about there being enough space for a larger wedding, but there wasn't any problem. The food, drinks, and service were excellent. We even had our own server to fetch drinks and food. I really hope one of my husband's cousins decides to get married at The English Manor so I can experience it someday as a guest.
Wedding: 05/30/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Victoria 6 Reviews
I could go on for hours how amazing the venue truly was. Everything was prefect - from the setting outside in the garden for the wedding, to the amazing food and impeccable service. They made my wedding day spectacular!!
Wedding: 05/03/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
If I could rate the English Manor 100 stars instead of just 5 I absolutely would. It was the first & only venue I looked at for my wedding reception because from the moment I stepped foot onto the perfectly manicured grounds & was given a tour I knew there was no place else that could compare to the English Manor. The whole venue is like something out of a fairy tale & the amazing service provided by those who work there truly made me feel like a princess on my special day.

JoAnn, our Maitre'D & Lisa, the owner, made the entire planning process enjoyable & stress free. Every time we went there for a meeting both women treated my parents, my husband & I like family. Lisa went above & beyond to accommodate my tricky dietary restrictions (vegan/gluten free). She provided me, as well as my vegetarian guests, some of the best food I have ever had in my entire life. As a special treat, she even had a gluten free/vegan pizza from my favorite restaurant, Earth pizza, waiting in the bridal suite for me during cocktail hour. JoAnn made sure everything ran smoothly & perfectly. Even though there was a million things going on that day she remained organized & calm. I knew my wedding was in good hands with her & it was because of her that I was able to fully enjoy everything happening & not have to worry about a single thing.

Guests are still in awe from the food! I cannot even begin to say how many people raved about the delicious selections during cocktail hour or the PERFECTLY cooked meals from the sit down dinner. The servers & bar tenders were also outstanding & our guests were so pleased with the wonderful & friendly service they provided.

I have been told over & over by friends & family that my wedding was "The Best" wedding they have ever gone to & I am so thankful for Lisa, JoAnn & everyone at the English Manor for helping me earn that title.
Wedding: 04/25/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We had our reception at The English Manor on April 4th. From the beginning Lisa and JoAnn were wonderful! We were going outside the box with some of our ideas and they worked with us the entire way to make our dream wedding come true! Our goal was fun and that was what we got...they even made our idea of fun food come together on our special day! I even had one of my good friends say if I had come here for a wedding before I had mine, I would have had it here! From the cleanliness and elegance of the venue to the wonderful personalities of the staff and excellent food we are so happy we choose The English Manor...I want to do it all over again. I'd like to think we even made some friends along the way!
Wedding: 04/04/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I just had my wedding on March 22, 2014

As the bride I loved the classic antique feel of the venue and the grounds are beautiful to get photographs on the wedding day.
We got lucky with a beautiful day and got some great shots out in their two garden areas and out front near the barn like houses that they have.

My husband and I opted to do an inside wedding versus the outside option that they have available in the gazebo. (which is beautiful)
We were afraid the weather might not be warm enough for people to be outside for the duration of the ceremony.
Though we were not disappointed doing inside because the big windows let in so much natural light.

They did a great job setting up for the ceremony and taking down for the reception quickly.
During this time our guest got to enjoy the cocktail hour in which there is so much good food! (I had so many people rave about all of the food and how good it was!)
My wedding party and I stayed up in the bridal suite and they provided us with some appetizers and brought up anything we asked for that was downstairs in the cocktail hour.

The reception had great food as well that the guest raved about.
My husband got to have a meal separate from what we picked for our guest and they were willing to cater to the bride and grooms separate wants.
We did a chicken, beef and vegetarian option which they took seconds around for all of the guest.

Desert was great!
We had the delicious cake that the venue provided as part of the package that we got.
But that is not all…. The guest also got with the cake a cannoli and a chocolate covered strawberry!
Hold on that is not it…. They serve the most delicious mini ice-cream cones around to everyone towards the end of the night.
(I had a couple people after the wedding state that every venue should do this)

Special thank you to Lisa!
Wedding: 03/22/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
This place is just beautiful. I loved it. The only issue I had was that my guest list was a little too long for this place; yet, they were still able to make it work for me. I loved that they do one wedding at a time. I was assigned a maitre'd and she made sure everything went exactly how I wanted. The cake came from them and it was beautiful and good. The food was great, there was so much to choose from.
Wedding: 03/01/2014
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I had my wedding ceremony and reception at the English Manor on December 14, 2013. From beginning to end, I could not have asked for better service. Throughout the 7 month planning period, Kristi, Nancy, Joanne & staff were always responsive and helpful. All of my questions were promptly answered. Our face to face finalization meeting a few weeks before the wedding was stress free and fun. And most importantly, my wedding day went off without a hitch. I'd like to first mention how beautifully the English Manor was decorated for the holidays. Classic white lights were hung around the outside of the venue. Christmas trees, lights, ornaments, garland, bows, and wreaths filled the inside. Absolutely breathtaking! I was so excited for my guests to arrive and see the beauty. My ceremony didn't start until 5:30 so I decided to get to the Manor early and get ready in the bridal suite with my bridal party and Mom. If you have a smaller bridal party, I would suggest taking advantage of this amenity. It was so much fun spending the day there getting all dolled up. Kristi even brought us a lovely tray of fruits, cheeses and crackers to munch on. Our indoor ceremony was perfect. The room looked gorgeous. The windows were decorated with large wreaths and the snow could be seen falling out back. Joanne, our Maitre'd, ensured everything was organized and went as planned. The cocktail hour and reception were a blast! The food was plentiful and delicious and the drinks were flowing. Joanne, Sylvania and staff ensured the night was perfect. My guests raved about how much fun they had, how delicious the food tasted and how beautiful my wedding was. I couldn't be happier! If you are getting married in NJ, you have to go see the English Manor. The wedding packages are impressive. You get a lot of great choices and the prices are very affordable in my opinion. They even offer special winter packages if you are thinking of having a winter wedding. Thank you EM!!!
Wedding: 12/14/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The English Manor is amazing!!!! They were so flexible and did everything they could to make sure our night went smooth and perfect! Our guests arrived earlier than expected and JoAnn opened cocktail hour earlier than expected without missing a beat, they made it all happen! The food was outstanding!!!! The service was above and beyond the best! I cannot say enough great things about the entire team at English Manor. From the day we stepped foot in this place, we knew this was the perfect venue without going anywhere else and it definitely was everything we dreamed of and more!! Everyone is still raving about the amount of food, quality of food and how awesome everything was!!!! The English Manor team is over the top!!!! Thank you guys for the best night ever!!!
Wedding: 11/23/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The English Manor was a lovely place to hold our reception - especially for the price! We were very satisfied with every aspect of our wedding and were very relieved that we didn't have to worry about anything once we arrived. The set up was beautiful, the staff was attentive and accomodating, and our guests had a wonderful time. Thank you!
Wedding: 11/15/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
 732-776-8558
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors Find Me on Facebook
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0
out of 5.0