Strut--Brides size 12+
Specializing in brides size 12+.
    64 Reviews
542 W. McDowell Road
Phoenix, AZ 85003  | map
Services: Bride, Bridesmaids
Accessories: Garters, Hair Accessories, Jewelry, Undergarments...
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (64)   Photos   Videos   Events   FAQ   Map    
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (5.0/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (5.0/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (5.0/5.0)
Value:
 (4.8/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (5.0/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
As I was taking a stroll down Atlantic on my lunch break I stumbled across this hidden gem. I am not in the market for wedding gowns at this time but being that I am a plus sized diva this really caught my eye. The gowns are beautiful and I couldn't wait to share my findings with all my plus sized friends, family and co-workers in the Los Angeles area. Now all I need is for him to pop the question and I will be back to do more than just window shop :)
Wedding: 12/13/2014
Services Used: Dress & Attire
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I came all the way from Southern California because I was told this is THE shop to go to. I wasn't feeling very confident that I'd find a dress because my budget was so low. We were late to my appointment, but were met by super friendly staff. Jill helped me. She was so patient with me, as I was indecisive. We had discussed how I found a dress online that I liked alot but didnt know my measurements. She even offered to just do my measurements so that I could order that dress. I ultimately fell in love with a dress that was a bit above my budget, but to my surprise they gave it to me at my max budget price.

This was an amazing experience all around. Again, super friendly, courteous, NO pressure whatsoever. My dress is gorgeous and I can't wait to wear it!!!

Thanks again, Jill! :-)

P.S. I came home today to find a thank you card in my mail from Jill. Made my day!
Wedding: 03/21/2014
Services Used: Dress & Attire
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Some friends and I who are all engaged had decided to have a girl's day so we could find the "Dress"! We had planned on going to David's Bridal because one of my friends had a good experience with her daughter when she was looking for a prom dress. I remember heading to that shop with a previous friend when she was for looking her dress. To make a long story short I was not looking forward to this day. After reading reviews on your shop and remembering I had visiited there before with a previous friend I talked to my friends and convinced them that we should give it a shot because I knew what kind of help she was given even without an appointment. When the day came and we walked into the shop I was a little nervous and hesitant. I didn't think this was going to be a good experience. I am not very girly and I didn't think I would find what I was looking for which I had really no idea what I was looking for. My appointment was set with Gigi and she was absolutely amazing. She made me feel beautiful right from the get go. She sat down with me and asked what I was wanting. I showed her a couple of pictures and she glanced at me and said I have a few ideas. She pulled out about four dresses for me to try on. I slipped into the first one and said it looks good. Then when she had me try on the second one and I stepped out of the dressing room and I saw my friends faces I knew this was the one. I have always hoped I would have that feeling that they have on Say Yes to the Dress. When I looked into the mirror and saw myself with the dress and the veil on I had that moment. I teared up and I had goosebumps all over. Thank you Gigi and Strut Bridal Salon for showing me that I am the beautiful bride I want to be. I look forward to the day when I can show all my friends and family how beautiful I am in this dress. No matter a bride's size I would recommend this shop to anyone.
Wedding: 03/15/2014
Services Used: Dress & Attire
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
If you are like most woman and wear bigger than a size 8 please go to this store for an amazing dress shopping experience! Thank you Ann for opening this store!! I just got my wedding dress here on Friday and had the most AMAZING, easy, hassle free experience! Going into it, I was dreading finding a dress because every store I called around to didn't have a size bigger than a 10 I any dress I wanted to try on, which is very frustrating!! Working with Ann was a dream. I got the most gorgeous dress and am so, so happy. She was even kind enough to work with my mom on the financial end of things because we were not expecting to actually find a dress that day. Love her, love the store, love it all!
Wedding: 01/25/2014
Services Used: Dress & Attire
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I'm beyond THRILLED with my dress I bought front Strut! When I first started looking for ideas of what kind of dress I wanted for my wedding I knew I wanted something different and unique that not very many people had seen. Unfortunately I knew this was going to be impossible if I went to a typical bridal store since plus sizes are very limited to styles which is why I was so excited to find Strut! Everyone was always so nice and extremely helpful! I just knew the day I went to try dresses on I was buying my dress that day since the one I had been eyeing was displayed in the front window! I can't even begin to express how happy & excited I am to wear my dress! Thanks to Ann & all of the ladies at Strut! I tell EVERYONE about Strut and I can't wait for them to see why! :)
Wedding: 12/07/2013
Services Used: Dress & Attire
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I truly enjoyed my experience at Strut. Jill and Ann both helped me find the perfect wedding dress! At my first visit, Jill and I discussed my wishlist. She pulled dresses that I had initially described, and after realizing that my vision was not quite coming together, she pulled a few other dresses. In that batch was "the one!" I checked out another dress shop before deciding and I can honestly tell you that the customer service was lacking compared to the great service I received at Strut. I returned to Strut a few weeks later to try it on again and make sure it was still "the one" and it was! It was reasonably priced and I even purchased my veil that day as well.

Ann and Jill were very helpful in making both me and my entourage feel welcome and comfortable! I can honestly recommend Strut to any girl (size 12+) that wants to find the perfect wedding dress and who is looking for that dream outing that consists of trying on sample dresses that fit!

Thanks Ann, Jill and Strut for making my dream wedding a reality!
Wedding: 11/09/2013
Services Used: Dress & Attire
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I can't say enough good things about Strut! Being a bigger girl, I had had a few horrible experiences trying dresses on at a few regular salons, so much so that I DREADED trying another dress on. What was supposed to be a great moment in my life turned out to be torture. I felt humiliated that I didn't fit into any dresses because I was bigger than a street size 8. Every store I went to had numerous dresses, but none that I could try on. I was told, "Well, just hold it up to your body to see what you would look like in it," and that was by the staff. I wasn't about to spend thousands of dollars on something that I couldn't even try on. I emailed salons asking about plus size sample gowns, and they would either never respond or say they have 2 or 3. And they actually did have only 2 or 3. I couldn't believe that in Los Angeles, one of the largest cities in the US, I could barely try on any dresses that fit.
I started looking online to see if any plus size bridal salons existed and that's when I came across Strut. Thank God I did!! I emailed them my story and asked a few questions. Ann, the owner, responded to my email, was very understanding and very accomodating. I made a road trip out of it and drove out there for a night with my mom. Ann had reserved a little extra time for me since she knew I was coming from far away. The experience was like what I see on TV. I was able to try on every dress in the store. I had so many options, it took me quite a while to pick which dress I wanted. Ann was patient with me, never rushing me and letting me try dresses on more than once so that I could make the best choice possible. She made made it the experience I dreamed of. I can't thank her enough not only for opening this kind of store, but for being the wonderful person she is! I recommend you all make an appt asap because you'll have the time of your life and I'm sure they'll have a dress you'll absolutely fall in love with! Thanks again Ann!
Wedding: 11/09/2013
Services Used: Dress & Attire
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
My sister (maid of honor) and I went though the drag of David's Bridal because we didn't know where to start, then we went to another boutique and were not impressed...but boy did we definately save the best for last...Strut Bridal on 7th ave & McDowell in Phoenix. The girls made us feel so welcome and comfortable. My sister and I found the perfect dresses. And I'm stoked my bridal gown wasn't one of those you can just find anywhere. I felt it was a perfect mix of the dresses I tried at other locations but they just didn't do it for me. Strut was PERFECT! From their help to trying on the dresses to referring a wonderful, reasonably priced alteration place to helping my sister when she called and asked questions. This bridal salon is WONDERFUL! Definately makes each bride feel special.
Wedding: 11/09/2013
Services Used: Dress & Attire
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I can’t say enough good things about Strut. Being a bigger girl at the time I began shopping for a wedding dress, I wasn’t expecting to have much luck finding anything pretty or flattering. I couldn’t have been more wrong. They had a wonderful selection of bridal gowns, all in plus sizes, making it easy to try on dresses and really get a good idea of how they would look on me (instead of trying on sizes that are way too small and not really having any clue!). Jill and Anne were so nice and easy to work with! They really know their stuff, and they didn’t make me feel like I was being judged. They also had a good range of prices and styles, and they didn’t try to push me past my price point. Plus, the shop is perfectly set up for that personalized, boutique experience that every bride dreams of. I had such a great experience buying my wedding dress that I decided to get my bridesmaid dresses there as well, and I am so glad I did. They came out beautiful and arrived with plenty of time to spare before the wedding. If you’re a plus size bride, don’t waste your time anywhere else!
Wedding: 11/01/2013
Services Used: Dress & Attire
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
It was so nice to go into a dress shop and try on dresses that fit. I dreaded this part of getting married until I heard about Strut from a friend. Knowing I would be able to try on a variety of dresses without trying to imagine what they would look like in my size was so comforting. The experience was a good one and I would recommend them to anyone. I never felt uncomfortable or ashamed in anyway and I appreciate that. The dress came out beautiful and I felt fabulous in it. I got so may compliments and most important my husband loved it. Thanks for opening up this store so that everyone can have the wedding dress shopping experience.
Wedding: 10/26/2013
Services Used: Dress & Attire
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
After shopping at other boutiques and dress shops and dealing with horrible customer service and limited dress selection ( like 2 dress) dress shopping was not fun anymore !! But I came across strut bridal from the moment i called to set my appointment they made me feel excited about my dress shopping! Strut made me feel like a every bride should feel when shopping for there wedding dress. BEAUTIFUL !!! Thank you Ann and Stephanie - Dana + Miguel 10/22/13
Wedding: 10/22/2013
Services Used: Dress & Attire
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Where can i begin?
Ann i cannot begin to thank her enough! I'm a plus sized girl and went to a store and all they had was 4, yes i said 4 dresses for me to try on and that was it. So i thought i found the dress but, i went home and thought wow im a bride and i can only try on 4 dresses and that is what i can pick from? NO! So i began to search where can i get a amazing gown for my type of body? Then i found STRUT! i thought man i wont be able to afford there dresses way out of my price range so my mom said lets go and see, we went and oh my GORGEOUS dresses and a lot of them in my price range. So we embarked on the journey trying dresses on, and after a few i was in shocked i fell in love (i thought) so we walked out and slept on it went back about a month ( after calling Ann a million time ) later to order my dress and then i tried a few more on and I FOUND IT I HAD THE BRIDE MOMENT. All thanks to Ann and STRUT BRIDAL. I thank them so much for making my day that much better because the dress i found is amazing. Thank you STRUT, Ann and the whole STRUT team ♥
Wedding: 10/19/2013
Services Used: Dress & Attire
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Heather S 8 Reviews
I found this shop through a friend whose daughter went here and bought her dress. Strut was the first place I went dress shopping and after trying on just a few dresses I found the one. The prices are great and the staff are so friendly and helpful!!

The shop it self is adorable. Such a nice experience. The great thing is that I persuaded them to let me order my dress 3 sizes too small (I knew I could lose the weight with the right motivation!) and sure enough when it came in 3 months later (one month early!!) it fit perfectly!! I can't say enough good things about this place. They also directed me to a wonderful seamstress in Scottsdale that was super to work with (and affordable!!).
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Dress & Attire
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Strut has been a godsend!
I was so afraid I would never find a dress that could fit me or that I would never look like the "beautiful bride" because I would have to just cut some holes in a sheet to wear.
I let all the negative doubts get to me so much that when I went shopping I didn't invite anyone to come with me because I didn't want to be embarrassed. I decided to go at the end of a sample sale.
The moment the first dress didn't fit I started crying and sending hopeless texts to my fiancee (who ended up calling a friend to come help me). The Strut Bridal staff was understanding and encouraging. Within minutes of my melt down I was smiling and laughing. I felt like a bride with options and really that's what I wanted. All my worries faded away and I found my dream dress. After my purchase I would call in and email with questions and the staff always took the time to answer and help anyway they could. If your a curvy girl looking for the ultimate "Bridal Experience" Strut is the only place to go!
Thank you Strut and good luck to all the future brides out there.
Wedding: 10/12/2013
Services Used: Dress & Attire
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Felt normal being a plus size bride... they actually had dresses that I could try on and feel comfortable.. I would recommend them to not only plus size ladies but anyone looking for a dress... they are affordable, friendly and professional... Thanks so much ladies. Carri Erwin/Dove 10/12/13
Wedding: 10/12/2013
Services Used: Dress & Attire
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 5 Reviews
Ann was great. She was really good at sorting through and helping me find my perfect dress. And their selection is wonderful for plus size dresses.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Dress & Attire
 602-252-4414
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9
out of 5.0