Shane Godfrey Photography
    46 Reviews
176 Summer Street
Somerville, MA 02143  | map
Style: Contemporary, Photojournalism, Portraiture...
Packages: Albums, Custom Graphic Design, Digital Files, Flush...
Liability Insurance: Yes
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (46)   Photos   FAQ   Blog   Map    
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (5.0/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (5.0/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (5.0/5.0)
Value:
 (5.0/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (5.0/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Shane and his team had previously worked with our family, so we knew hiring him would provide the best photography possible. As soon as his team arrived they went above and beyond to assist with the little details. He made sure that we got every shot we wanted, but also took so many candids that truly capture the day. Shane and his team worked great with all members of the family As soon as we received our wedding photos we could not stop looking through them and smiling at every one. We are fortunate to have such beautiful photos and will cherish them for years to come.
Wedding: 06/28/2014
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 7 Reviews
Shane came highly recommended from many people and we were able to see him work firsthand at a friends wedding before ours. After seeing how he worked we knew we wanted to book him. Shane is calm, attentive, professional and easy to be around.

When our wedding day came, Shane was amazing. He kept a calm and light- hearted demeanor before the ceremony which was greatly appreciated since those tend to be the most tense moments. When the time came to take group photos in a public area, Shane kept everyone in the background moving to ensure that they would not interfere with a picture. We had many photos that we wanted and he was able to get through them with enough time to get additional bride and groom shots AND be at cocktail hour on time.

He captured every single moment of the day and then some! He stayed late into the night, despite the fact that he had already been there 10 hours to not miss any moment.

When the photos were complete, we were astounded. We knew he had captured great moments but it was beyond words once we actually saw his work. He has an amazing eye and didnt miss a beat.

An added bonus to all of this is that we knew Shane shot more than 8000 photos on our wedding day and he had edited them down in 2 weeks! It took us hours to go through all the pictures so we could not imagine how much time he put into editing after our wedding to get us the shots in such a timely fashion.

We would recommend Shane highly. You will not be disappointed with booking him!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
From the moment we met Shane we were impressed by his professionalism and attention to detail. He was extremely straightforward and easy to work with throughout the process and made a concerted effort to adapt his style to our needs. He was able to effortlessly accommodate the various requests we had for specific photos while simultaneously capturing countless candid moments throughout the night. His photos provided us with a genuine glimpse of the love we share and the joy of those who celebrated our day with us without the forced and manufactured feel of some photographers. We wholeheartedly recommend his talents to everyone!
Wedding: 05/25/2014
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 6 Reviews
I don't know what I would have done without Shane as our wedding photographer. He did a great job on our engagement and wedding pictures, I get compliments all the time! He's quick and thorough and is definitely one of the best wedding photographers in the Boston area.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 1 Reviews
We had Shane's colleagues, Jared and Rob shoot our wedding and they were phenomenal! They were organized and efficient in getting the formal photos and blended easily into the crowd for candids. Our photos were available quickly and are absolutely beautiful! The whole process was easy and enjoyable, from the first meeting with Shane to the numerous emails back and forth and finally the finished product. I would highly recommend Shane Godfrey Photography!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Planning a wedding can be a VERY stressful experience.

The preparation including the venue, menus, stationary, dress, the cat-like herding of the family & friends, primping and beautify, and endless other details all resulted in the the shortest and most magical whirlwind of a glorious 12 hours (not including after party) period I've ever experienced.

We didn't have a wedding party so we only wanted to have a few important semi-formal family photos. Our focus was to capture the candid moments of absolute JOY & FUN of the occasion, which Shane & Co did perfectly!

Shane is low key, easy to talk to, and most importantly, has a FANTASTIC end product. He understands your vision (or maybe sometimes lack-there-of) and delivers!

Easy to work with with excellent results! Thank you Shane!
Wedding: 05/03/2014
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 3 Reviews
Shane and Meg are phenomenally talented and incredible to work with. As a pretty "laid back" bride, my pictures were very important to me and I had full faith in Shane's work. His pictures capture the moments that you never want to forget and he has a clever eye for those sincere, unstaged moments. His photos are truly works of fine art photography. He had the groom and I in and out of our photo sesh in 20 minutes so we could enjoy the wedding. He hauled my ridiculously big dress around for me, and made me look like a Vogue model. What else could you ask for in a wedding photographer?
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Shane was wonderful to work with, and most importantly, his photographs are amazing. He did my daughter's engagement photos and they were beautiful. On the wedding day, he managed to capture every special moment while staying in the background. He has a very nice demeanor, which was also helpful to reduce stress and just added a very nice element to the day. He turned the photos around in about two weeks, which is amazing for photography. His photos are beautiful. I highly, highly recommend Shane.
Wedding: 10/12/2013
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Shane (and Meg!) were outstanding for our wedding on October 4th! Shane shot our engagement photos in February and we loved them, making us even more excited for our wedding pictures. Shane and Meg made our wedding day absolutely flawless, all of the pictures we have seen have been STUNNING thus far!

Shane is such a talented photographer and what I love the best about the way he works is that he is always there, but never in the way -- not an easy task. :) Shane and Meg are both true professionals and you will be thrilled to work with them! We can't wait to work with them again in the future!
Wedding: 10/04/2013
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We live in Los Angeles but were getting married in Boston so I had to really rely heavily on samples of work for almost every vendor. Shane's website and pictures really stood out over all the others. His style is so beautiful and he captures moments and details in a way I didn't see on other sites.He responded so quickly and made it very easy to start the process of booking him from so far away. He is very detail oriented and makes it so you don't have to worry about him and his partner on the day of at all. He gets all the info he needs so that on your day he doesn't have to ask you any questions. His partner was also so amazing and she captured things from angles you wouldn't even think of. Along with pictures from the entire day, she took pictures of the guys all getting ready and going to the church that came out so beautifully.
One of the most important things to me was having someone who actually knew what they were doing and could do it quickly. I've been working in the modeling and entertainment industry in Los Angeles for over 9 years and it's really obvious who is an actual photographer and who just went out and bought a nice camera and decided to shoot to make some money. I've been to so many weddings where the photographer is constantly having to adjust the camera and re check their light etc. to a point where you start to wonder how long they've been shooting professionally. The minute you meet Shane and he starts shooting, there's not a doubt that he knows exactly what he's doing. He organized the group and family photos so fast and the result was amazing. The rest of the time you hardly know he's there. The candid pictures are like a surprise because you didn't know they were being taken. I can't say enough about what a pleasure it was to have him and his partner shoot the most important day of our lives together. He goes beyond your expectations
Wedding: 09/21/2013
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
If you are looking for a all around amazing photographer, you should work with Shane. He is extremely easy to work with pre wedding and has so many good suggestions that as a novice to wedding planning, came in so handy to me. On our wedding day he made taking all of our family photos and wedding party photos seem so easy and so quick without forgoing quality! Now that I have received the final product, I couldnt be any happier with the pictures. He not only captured all of the important moments of our wedding but all the tiny wedding details that were so important (not to mention time consuming) to my husband and I to have displayed at the wedding. I would recommend Shane to all my friends and family to use for their wedding day.
Wedding: 08/03/2013
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 7 Reviews
Shane was the epitome of easy to work with, from his obvious and impressive knowledge about all things wedding (including makeup names and brands, and how to remove a window valence for pictures) to capturing all of the perfect shots we wanted, and those we didn't even know we wanted. I always felt comfortable and happy when Shane was shooting our photos, never nervous or forced. In fact,most the time I found myself laughing and relaxed as Shane just snapped away! The result is that our pictures look like they belong in a movie or high-fashion magazine...they are absolutely stunning! Most the time I didn't even know Shane was there - he was a complete chameleon. When he had to organize group shots he was sweet and efficient about it. Shane captured both the elegance and the fun spirit of our wedding perfectly. I wish I could better put into words how wonderful he is, and how amazing his work product is. The best advice I had received in choosing a photographer was to pick someone you feel comfortable with, and who you would like to have as a guest at your wedding. Shane was these things and more. I highly recommend Shane - both as a person and as a photographer.
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
If you have the chance to book Shane for your wedding and don’t, you are making a mistake. The pictures he took of my wedding are absolutely amazing. I have received so many compliments and many people were surprised at how high quality all of the pictures are. He got all of my “must have pictures” and caught so many details of my wedding that I did not even notice myself. I could not be happier with the pictures (and I am a perfectionist).

Just as important, Shane is incredibly easy to work with. I am generally a high stress person but he totally put me at ease. He did everything from showing me how to walk in my wedding dress to doing up the buttons on my dress when my bridesmaids were having a hard time! Shane literally does everything. He was also super fast on posting my pictures, we were married Saturday and he had them up on Wednesday evening. A lot of my married friends were astonished at how fast the pictures were available. I cannot recommend him enough!
Wedding: 06/08/2013
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
From our first Skype conversation with Shane, we had a great feeling about him. We were planning from across the country and he was more than accommodating about scheduling times to talk that would work for us. He answered our many, many questions patiently and was extremely knowledgeable and professional. It was so helpful to be able to communicate with Shane by email and I was completely confident going into our wedding day that everything related to our photography would go smoothly.

From the moment Shane arrived at the hotel on our wedding day, I was beyond impressed. His attention to detail - from trimming loose threads on dresses, to giving my bridesmaids a quick tutorial on how to hold their flowers - was exceptional. The girls also had a great time with him and were talking for weeks after the wedding about how much fun they had with the photos. In addition to all of this, he still managed to keep everything running on time and everyone where they were supposed to be. Shane had a seemingly magical way of making everything just flow and was never at all intrusive (as I know some wedding photographers can be).

Now the photos themselves, of course we expected to be amazing, but they honestly went above and beyond our highest expectations. From the first glimpse we had on the digital screen on one of Shane's cameras, we could tell they were going to be AWESOME. When the digital versions were available online just 10 DAYS after our wedding, we were blown away. Since receiving our photos, I have had countess friends, co-workers, friends of friends,...random people ask me about our photographer. It's no wonder he books up so quickly! We would absolutely recommend him to anyone looking for gorgeous wedding photos by a photographer who is fantastic to work with!
Wedding: 06/01/2013
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Shane was absolutely wonderful to work with. When we met up with him for the first time, he answered all our questions before we even asked them. My husband was conserned that a photographer would be bossy, conspicuous, and slow. On the day of, we didn't even notice Shane was there, the formals went so quickly, and Shane was so easy going and delightful. The photography was something that we wanted to invest in because it's the one thing that lasts, and the pictures we got back make the wedding look even better than it looked in real life!
Wedding: 02/03/2013
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Working with Shane was an absolute pleasure. He is professional, creative and fun. My husband and I met with him for the first time the week before the weeding and immediately knew we had found someone special. His approach to the day is unique; it isn't about a set time but ensuring your special day is captured, no matter how long it takes. His pictures are natural, creative and absolutely beautiful. We were blown away by his skill and how he captured some of the most important moments of the day.

We cannot say enough great things about Shane. Having the opportunity to work with someone of his skill and abilities is a true privilege.
Wedding: 10/06/2012
Services Used: Photography
 617-903-7074
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors Find Me on Facebook
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0
out of 5.0