Shane Godfrey Photography
    54 Reviews
176 Summer Street
Somerville, MA 02143  | map
Style: Contemporary, Photojournalism, Portraiture...
Packages: Albums, Custom Graphic Design, Digital Files, Flush...
Liability Insurance: Yes
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (54)   Photos   FAQ   Blog   Map    
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (5.0/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (5.0/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (5.0/5.0)
Value:
 (5.0/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (5.0/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We picked Shane for our wedding photography after a LOT of research and desire to have truly unique photos. We didn't want a lot of "posing" photos but wanted more creative, candid photos. We got exactly what we asked for, and more. From the moment Shane arrived at the house where we were getting ready, he was helping with the veil, cracking jokes with my family, and just generally fitting in as part of the party. He was a blast to be around.

Our photos arrived less than 3 weeks later, and are absolutely stunning. My favorite photos are ones that I haven't seen on other wedding websites or pinterest...ever. He is so creative and the fun of our day is expressed in each photo.

All in all, we couldn't have been happier to have chosen Shane to shoot our wedding...he comes HIGHLY recommended!!
Wedding: 10/11/2014
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Photography was at the top of our list, so it was the first thing we looked into after getting engaged. My husband and I wanted someone who could tell our story and capture the moment- someone who viewed photography as an art and not a job.

Enter Shane Godfrey. From our very first meeting in a small bar in Somerville, we knew Shane was our guy. His laid-back approach combined with the passion he has for his work and extreme knowledge is a winning combination.

Shane has photographed both our engagement and wedding- and his work truly showcases who we are as a couple. We have received tons of compliments from family and friends not just for the pictures but because Shane and Meg are both so easy to work with. They are the type of people you'd want as friends.

We will be using Shane to photograph our growing family for years to come. We highly recommend using Shane Godfrey Photography- they are simply the best.
Wedding: 10/05/2014
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Minus8 6 Reviews
We loved having Shane as our photographer! From the first meeting we felt relaxed with him and confident in his abilities. The pictures he took of us for both our engagement and wedding are amazing. He is professional, always willing to help if you need it, and was such a great addition to our day. Even our guests were commenting on how much they loved him after the wedding was over. He literally got along with everyone and made them feel and look relaxed in front of the camera. Just book him!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Shane was one of the best decisions we made for our wedding day. It's safe to say I did a LOT of research(/stalking) before we met with Shane before booking him. We knew that he'd be great to have at the wedding after our wonderful (and fun!) engagement photos, but I didn't realize how amazing the photos would actually be! Our wedding was absolutely perfect and Shane conveyed the mood, atmosphere, and experience through still frames...incredible. When we were sent the photos to download (less than two weeks after the wedding), I was so impressed with the various angles and styles. I had no idea Shane and Meg were even around most of the time (but when they were, it was such a happy and fun experience--they were like guests!) It was an extremely humid day (not a bride's favorite way to start a day), but Shane kept us calm, kept the mood light, got strangers out of the way, and got us through the necessary outdoor photos quickly so I could get back to the AC...:) And now to plan more events so I can hire Shane Godfrey Photography once again!
Wedding: 08/31/2014
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
After researching several photographers, a friend of a friend recommended Shane. We immediately loved his style and vision and actually pushed our (tentative) wedding date back a week to select a day he was available. Planning from a distance was a snap, as he was willing to chat over the phone or skype. He also was flexible in meeting us in person before the wedding when we were home in New England for the holidays.

I'm passionate about photography and knew this would be one of the few lasting pieces of our wedding day, which would capture the memories for a lifetime. I fully trusted his artistic vision (thank goodness, the last thing you want to worry about is photography!) and he exceeded our expectations. He is a calming, practical presence (I received a quick, effective lesson in how to walk in a big dress). As the day unfolded, our events progressed more slowly than we had planned, and fortunately Shane stuck around to the end.

We highly recommend him, you'll be very pleased with the results!
Wedding: 08/23/2014
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Outstanding! It look me a long time to find a photographer I really liked as it seemed everyone around Boston took photos that were stuffy, cheesy and just not what we were going for. I was so happy to find Shane and even happier when we met him. Shane was down to earth, approachable and really easy to be around the day of our wedding. He and his crew managed to capture everything we would have wanted, often without us even realizing they were there.They work quickly too which is great because it allowed us to enjoy so much of the day. We couldn't be happier with our photos (both portraits and candids), they came out beautifully have exactly the "feel" we wanted them to. Shane is incredibly talented and great to have around on your wedding day. We're so happy to have worked with him.
Wedding: 08/22/2014
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I already knew I wanted to hire Shane the moment I was engaged, because I had gone to photography school with him and knew his work was amazing. My wedding photography was the main concern of mine, being the part that holds the memories and tells the story for years to come. Shane did not let me down one bit, having great communication and being on top of all the photography details. My family and friends have complimented how well Shane and his assistants worked to get great images, while not intruding on the wedding. I would recommend Shane to any couple getting married.
Wedding: 08/03/2014
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Shane Godfrey is the best of the best. When my husband and I first met Shane to discuss our wedding and see if he was a good fit, I instantly knew he was the perfect person to capture our day. He was so easy going and kind and through our conversation I realized how smart and creative he was. I knew that on such a big day filled with so many different emotions, Shane would put me at ease and make the pictures one of the easiest and enjoyable parts of the day!

The day of our wedding couldn't have gone better. Shane was so easy to work with, as was Meg. He knew that my husband and I wanted to be a part of our cocktail hour and finish our pictures beforehand, and we got all the shots done in plenty of time. Shane makes the process feel very natural. During the reception, Shane and Meg were all over the dance floor getting great shots of the party. He never pulled us away from our reception to get more pictures and we were able to be a part of every minute of our wedding.

Just over a week after our wedding, the prints were posted. I was overjoyed with how the pictures came out. Everyone I have talked to that has looked at them has said the same thing: they tell a story and they capture every moment you would want to remember. I've had so much fun going through them and re-living that day. Shane's vision and skill is top-notch and he is an absolute professional. My husband and I are so glad we chose Shane to photograph the most important day of our lives, and are so happy we have his wonderful photographs to remember it forever. We highly recommend Shane Godfrey!
Wedding: 07/19/2014
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Shane and his team had previously worked with our family, so we knew hiring him would provide the best photography possible. As soon as his team arrived they went above and beyond to assist with the little details. He made sure that we got every shot we wanted, but also took so many candids that truly capture the day. Shane and his team worked great with all members of the family As soon as we received our wedding photos we could not stop looking through them and smiling at every one. We are fortunate to have such beautiful photos and will cherish them for years to come.
Wedding: 06/28/2014
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 7 Reviews
Shane came highly recommended from many people and we were able to see him work firsthand at a friends wedding before ours. After seeing how he worked we knew we wanted to book him. Shane is calm, attentive, professional and easy to be around.

When our wedding day came, Shane was amazing. He kept a calm and light- hearted demeanor before the ceremony which was greatly appreciated since those tend to be the most tense moments. When the time came to take group photos in a public area, Shane kept everyone in the background moving to ensure that they would not interfere with a picture. We had many photos that we wanted and he was able to get through them with enough time to get additional bride and groom shots AND be at cocktail hour on time.

He captured every single moment of the day and then some! He stayed late into the night, despite the fact that he had already been there 10 hours to not miss any moment.

When the photos were complete, we were astounded. We knew he had captured great moments but it was beyond words once we actually saw his work. He has an amazing eye and didnt miss a beat.

An added bonus to all of this is that we knew Shane shot more than 8000 photos on our wedding day and he had edited them down in 2 weeks! It took us hours to go through all the pictures so we could not imagine how much time he put into editing after our wedding to get us the shots in such a timely fashion.

We would recommend Shane highly. You will not be disappointed with booking him!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
From the moment we met Shane we were impressed by his professionalism and attention to detail. He was extremely straightforward and easy to work with throughout the process and made a concerted effort to adapt his style to our needs. He was able to effortlessly accommodate the various requests we had for specific photos while simultaneously capturing countless candid moments throughout the night. His photos provided us with a genuine glimpse of the love we share and the joy of those who celebrated our day with us without the forced and manufactured feel of some photographers. We wholeheartedly recommend his talents to everyone!
Wedding: 05/25/2014
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 6 Reviews
I don't know what I would have done without Shane as our wedding photographer. He did a great job on our engagement and wedding pictures, I get compliments all the time! He's quick and thorough and is definitely one of the best wedding photographers in the Boston area.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 1 Reviews
We had Shane's colleagues, Jared and Rob shoot our wedding and they were phenomenal! They were organized and efficient in getting the formal photos and blended easily into the crowd for candids. Our photos were available quickly and are absolutely beautiful! The whole process was easy and enjoyable, from the first meeting with Shane to the numerous emails back and forth and finally the finished product. I would highly recommend Shane Godfrey Photography!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Planning a wedding can be a VERY stressful experience.

The preparation including the venue, menus, stationary, dress, the cat-like herding of the family & friends, primping and beautify, and endless other details all resulted in the the shortest and most magical whirlwind of a glorious 12 hours (not including after party) period I've ever experienced.

We didn't have a wedding party so we only wanted to have a few important semi-formal family photos. Our focus was to capture the candid moments of absolute JOY & FUN of the occasion, which Shane & Co did perfectly!

Shane is low key, easy to talk to, and most importantly, has a FANTASTIC end product. He understands your vision (or maybe sometimes lack-there-of) and delivers!

Easy to work with with excellent results! Thank you Shane!
Wedding: 05/03/2014
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 3 Reviews
Shane and Meg are phenomenally talented and incredible to work with. As a pretty "laid back" bride, my pictures were very important to me and I had full faith in Shane's work. His pictures capture the moments that you never want to forget and he has a clever eye for those sincere, unstaged moments. His photos are truly works of fine art photography. He had the groom and I in and out of our photo sesh in 20 minutes so we could enjoy the wedding. He hauled my ridiculously big dress around for me, and made me look like a Vogue model. What else could you ask for in a wedding photographer?
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Shane was wonderful to work with, and most importantly, his photographs are amazing. He did my daughter's engagement photos and they were beautiful. On the wedding day, he managed to capture every special moment while staying in the background. He has a very nice demeanor, which was also helpful to reduce stress and just added a very nice element to the day. He turned the photos around in about two weeks, which is amazing for photography. His photos are beautiful. I highly, highly recommend Shane.
Wedding: 10/12/2013
Services Used: Photography
 617-903-7074
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors Find Me on Facebook
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0
out of 5.0