Selective Sound Entertainment
7809 first place
Oakwood Village, OH 44146  | map
Genres: 50s, 60s, 70s, 80s, 90s, Acoustic, Big Band, Classic...
Liability Insurance: Yes
 
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (57)   Photos   FAQ   Blog   Map    
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.7/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.7/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.8/5.0)
Value:
 (4.6/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.9/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

MrsStobe 2 Reviews
Jay was a pleasure to work with. He was energetic, professional and very willing to give his opinions and advice. He kept our guests up and on the dance floor all night (including the older crowd) and always knew when to speed it up or slow it down. He listened to the guests and kept everyone entertained.

As far as the flow of events we didn't even have a second of dead time. He kept it moving and made sure we were where we needed to be so the guests didn't get bored. Great MC and definitely knew what he was doing.

They have several DJs at the company and I'm sure all are great but Jay is simply phenomenal. I have guests telling me my wedding was the best they have ever attended and I know that was in a huge part because of Jay's skill.
Wedding: 03/22/2014
Services Used: DJ
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 3 Reviews
Had amazing song suggestions.
accommodated all our requests.
The dance floor was packed from start to finish (honestly) - young, old; fast or slow song.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We had Rich as our DJ. I cannot say enough great things about Rich and Selective Sounds in General. We had been assigned another DJ in the beginning and we originally did not feel a good connection between us and that DJ and we called JR at Selective Sounds and he took care of it immediately and found Rich for us which we felt very comfortable with. Rich totally understood what we wanted and made sure to walk us through the entire night at least a month before and again the week of the wedding. Being the undecisive bride I was, i made last minute changes and he never was annoyed or bothered. He gave me his cell phone number and was so professional and kind. He made our night AMAZING!!! Everyone was on the dance floor all night long and it was amazing!!!
Wedding: 11/09/2013
Services Used: DJ
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  2.5
  • Responsiveness:  4.5
  • Professionalism:  3.5
  • Value:  3.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
They're extremely nice and responsive and listen to your request. Our DJ was too nice and seemed a little insecure in what he was doing. The microphone kept going in and out during speeches, he pronounced names wrong and didn't play the right part of the intro song.
Wedding: 10/26/2013
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Best DJ around! One of the main party focuses on a wedding day is the dancing. Jay R kept the music flowing and played what the crowd wanted to dance to. He was very professional and well spoken during the entire night. This isn't the only wedding I have been apart of that Jay R was the DJ, and he never disappoints. Jay R was very prepared for our meetings and very helpful to make sure that the entire night went as planned. He had great ideas and helped when needed. You can tell he has years of experience and this wasn't his first time. If I ever need a DJ for anything else, I will definitely be using Selective Sound Entertainment - because I know the event will be a hit!
Wedding: 10/12/2013
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Jay R and the Selective Sound crew were amazing. The lighting was absolutely beautiful and the DJ kept the dance floor packed all night. They were super flexible with us as we were planning the wedding from out of town and they did awesome with all our requests. Definitely the best dj company at a wedding I've even to!
Wedding: 10/05/2013
Services Used: DJ, Lighting & Decor, Event Rentals & Photobooths
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Mic that was to provide sound during wedding kept fading in and out that is the only thing that went wrong
Wedding: 09/14/2013
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
From start to finish Jay R at Selective Sound was awesome. We felt at ease with the whole process and Jay R suggested a lot of the planning and preparation for the event from the music to the uplighting. Our guests told us that they 1. Had never seen uplighting like that before. 2. The music was awesome all night and the dance floor was packed from beginning to end- which was awesome. 3. The person who owns Roby Lees Reception Hall in Newton Falls was taking pictures of the hall as it was set up by Selective Sound. He stated he never saw his hall look like that before. What can we say it was an amazing evening and it would not have happened without Jay R and his crew- thanks again.
Wedding: 08/02/2013
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We worked with Jay R for our June wedding and there aren't enough good things to say about him! We were so comfortable from day one. He made us feel like he had our best interests at heart and really wanted us to have a spectacular evening.

We met in person a few times and Jay R was always accessible via email or telephone if we had questions. We used Selective Sound for both our DJ services and lighting. We got so many compliments on the lighting and our pictures turned out beautiful because of it!

We couldn't be happier for the services we received at such a reasonable price. We would highly recommend!
Wedding: 06/15/2013
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Kenny G Was The Best Dj Ever! He Went Above And Beyond...The Dance Floor Was Constantly Full!!! He Was The Best!! Thank You Kenny!!!
Wedding: 06/15/2013
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The Uplighting for our wedding reception was gorgeous and we absolutely loved the atmosphere the lighting created! Our expectations were truly met and definitely worth the cost. Jay R was great to work with throughout the process and was always available when it came to our emails.
Wedding: 06/07/2013
Services Used: Lighting & Decor
0.9 out of 5.0
0.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  0.5
  • Responsiveness:  0.0
  • Professionalism:  1.0
  • Value:  1.0
  • Flexibility:  2.0

Private User 5 Reviews
I was extremely unhappy with the service from Selective Sound. We never received a schedule of events for the evening from our MC, even though he told us he would. He continually needed to be prompted throughout the evening so that he would announce "events" like the Cake Cutting, First Dance, Toasts. He called out the wrong names for the toasts, and never called for my partner to give his toast where he planned on thanking my parents for their help.

What was most frustrating is he continually called me by my partner's last name, in spite of the fact that I specifically told him I was keeping my own last name. It was very important to me to be announced correctly so there was no confusion.
Selective Sound Entertainment responded with the following comments:
We have absolutely no idea who this is or what wedding or event this is referencing. In the past few years we have had no other contacts or feedbacks internally that remotely resemble anyone being this unhappy with our services. I don't know why someone would just put "recently married" and not reference there date? I am very sure this is not a bride or groom and someone trying to say not so nice things about our services by someone in the industry. Shame on you!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: DJ
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Christian and his assistant were fun and did a FANTASTIC job of keeping everyone on the dance floor. We loved that Christian asked us in advance for married couples names so that during 'glass clinking' a married couples name was drawn and they had to kiss before the bride and groom. Guests LOVED that special touch to the event, and so did we. I loved Selective Sound right from the beginning. The DJ and music were great and the uplighting was even better! Competition doesn't even compare to Selective Sound. "Overall, everything was great!

The only thing I feel I should mention was that:
We were told that a 3-4 minute 'dollar dance' was going to take place that evening to help us gain some more money for our honeymoon, and it never happened that night. Also, my fiance and his family are very polish and Polkas were requested online, and at the meeting with our DJ and we didn't get any played that night.
I hate even mentioning those minor things because the night went by so well, even without them!! They were just things that a couple days after the event, we were like 'oh yeah, that never happened!'

I would chose Selective Sound over again in a heart beat and I will tell everyone I know about this company and strongly suggest they go with Selective Sound for their special event. We are STILL talking about how we wish we could go back and relive the reception over and over again.

Thank you!!!"
Selective Sound Entertainment responded with the following comments:
Elise,

So glad you guys had an amazing time as we thought it was an incredible time. Our apologies for the misses regarding the dollar dance as the dance floor was packed all night and we on such a short time frame and when we went up to your husband and mentioned the dollar dance, he said skip it if it was going to keep guests on the dance floor. Im not quite sure what happened with the polkas as we will check into that as we didn't have any guest requests. We super appreciate your input and do everything we can to pack a dancefloor while making you, your husband and your family and friends happy all night long!
Wedding: 05/11/2013
Services Used: DJ, Lighting & Decor
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Anonymous 1 Reviews
I couldn't have asked for a better company!
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Anonymous 4 Reviews
Had a great experience with Jay R and Selective Sound!
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
JR was amazing to work with from the begining to the end. Christian was also great at the wedding. They music they played was fantastic and they made sure the dance floor was packed from the very start to the very end. Our guests can't stop raving about them. The drapping, lighting and custom monogram was also perfect and exactly what we wanted. We can't wait to use them again.
Wedding: 10/27/2012
Services Used: DJ, Entertainer, Lighting & Decor
 440-516-0020
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7
out of 5.0